Since 2000, Asia Art Archive (AAA) has been collecting primary and secondary materials surrounding recent art in Asia, with our growing Research and Library Collections containing over 80,000 records.

 

I. ABOUT AAA COLLECTION


Research Collections

Research Collections are developed with partners across the world. These archival projects look to appraise, arrange, digitise, and make accessible groups of material gathered from donated personal collections and focused research projects undertaken by AAA. The intent is not to build an authoritative record of an individual or organisation, but to highlight less documented narratives—in the process enriching and giving nuance to art history. Research Collections are predominantly digitised primary source material, which include photographs, letters, writing, ephemera, and video documentation. To date, our 34 Research Collections contain more than 34,000 records.

Some collections have physical components housed onsite at the AAA Library, as indicated in the cataloguing records. These materials are available to view through appointment via library@aaa.org.hk.

 

 

Library Collection

The Library Collection contains over 21,000 books and exhibition catalogues, 313 serial titles, 2,000 CD/DVDs, and over 10,000 ephemera covering recent art in Asia, from approximately the 1920s to the present. Highlights include catalogues and periodicals from East Asia in the 1980s through the 2000s, as well as non-ISBN independent publications from artists and independent art spaces around Asia. The Collection is built via donation, project outputs, purchase, subscription, and exchange relationships with partner organisations.

The AAA Library welcomes donations within our collecting scope. Please contact library@aaa.org.hk for enquiries.

 

 

II. COLLECTION SCOPE

 
Content Priorities

AAA’s Collection is developed through our research projects and library collection development policy, which in turn stem from AAA’s overarching content priorities. Our content priorities reflect AAA’s areas of interest, including those under-represented in wider art historical discourse. For more, read this “Building Asia Art Archive” series on AAA’s content priorities in relation to our organisational history; our research and work in India; and our China projects and collections.

 

 

Timespan

The earliest collection record goes back to 1923, but the core of the collection lies between the mid-1990s to the 2000s. Instead of trying to locate the various parallel histories of this region on one linear timeline, AAA attempts to identify archives and resources, and addresses them according to local, social, and artistic contexts. AAA began building its collection by documenting the artistic currents of the time. As the organisation has developed, it also collects retrospectively and strategically, with hopes to contextualise contemporaneous cultural production throughout the region.

 

Geographical Coverage

AAA collects materials primarily from and associated with Asia. The association can be contextual or informed by the background of the practitioners involved (e.g., artists from/based in Asia or diasporic artists). It is important to note that AAA takes “Asia” not as a fixed territorial concept, but as a constantly shifting and culturally-entangled notion. AAA also collects materials that go beyond the border, as long as it serves referential purposes to the study of visual arts in Asia—this often comes out of research or programmatic concerns.

 

Format

Materials in both physical and digital formats are collected, according to the respective collection scopes of the Library and Research Collections. These materials include printed matter (e.g., reference book, catalogue, periodical, and brochure), ephemera (e.g., invitation card, clippings), and multimedia (e.g., CD/DVD, born-digital material).

 

Language

Though the predominant language for the cataloguing system is English, AAA recognises the importance of collecting material in its original form and welcomes material written in all languages.

 

III. ACCESSING AAA COLLECTION


Search the Collection

All Collection materials are searchable via the AAA Website, with some material available for online viewing.

 

Visit the AAA Library

The AAA Library in Hong Kong is a free and publicly-accessible reference library. You are welcome to browse through our shelves for the Library Collection, or view primary source material from Research Collections on our workstations. We are open Monday to Saturday, from 10am to 6pm (to find us click here). For any specific access requests, please contact library@aaa.org.hk prior to your visit.

 

Copyright/Restrictions

AAA is the custodian of its Collection, not the copyright owner. For each item we use a rights statement to clearly show the copyright status of any item. While most materials are freely accessible for personal reference and research purposes, they are still under copyright but are accessible online based on partner agreements. Some items are restricted to onsite access due to third-party copyright issues or a donor-assigned access restriction. As an organisation committed to open accessibility, we work with our partners to use Creative Commons where the owner has the right to do so.

As we are not the copyright holder, we are unable to permit re-use for any material that is not under a Creative Commons licence. If you wish to use any part of our Collection beyond research or fair dealing (as defined in the HK copyright ordinance), please contact us at library@aaa.org.hk for further consultation.

自2000 年起,亞洲藝術文獻庫(「文獻庫」)一直致力收羅有關亞洲當代藝術的一手及二手資料。文獻庫的館藏仍在持續增長,截至目前為止已有逾80,000項研究及圖書館資料。

 

一、關於文獻庫館藏

 

研究館藏

研究館藏集有由文獻庫與藝術家、藝術專才及研究員合作的專題研究資料。這些從個人捐贈所得的材料經研究團隊評估、整理及數碼化後,將悉數被上載至文獻庫網頁開放予公眾閱覽。此舉目的並非為個別藝術家或機構建檔,而是為了將被忽略的藝術文獻及其所代表的論述重新帶入公眾視野,由此豐富藝術史的閱讀方式。研究館藏主要為經數碼化的第一手資料,當中包括照片、書信、手稿、活動單張和錄像等。文獻庫的34組研究館藏至今已合共收錄了逾34,000筆資料。

研究館藏以數碼資料為主,但文獻庫亦有保存部分原始實體資料,詳情可參考相關線上目錄。如有需要,可電郵至 library@aaa.org.hk預約閱覽。

 

 

圖書館館藏

圖書館館藏收錄了1920年代至今有關亞洲當代藝術的資料,當中包括21,000冊書籍及展覽目錄、313項期刊、2,000項視聽資料,以及超過10,000份短暫性活動印刷品。部分精選館藏包括1980年代至2000年代東亞地區出版之圖錄及期刊、亞洲藝術家和獨立藝術空間自行出版的非註冊刊物。這些材料經由捐贈、外購、訂閱及與亞洲地區其他藝文機構進行書籍交換計劃所得,亦有部分摘取自文獻庫研究計劃成果。 文獻庫圖書館歡迎公眾捐贈符合館藏範圍的書目。有意者請與館藏部門聯絡: library@aaa.org.hk

 

二、館藏範圍

 

「重點議題」

「重點議題」反映了文獻庫的關注所在,當中包括在主流藝術史中被低估的範疇。由之衍生出的各項收藏政策,為研究項目及圖書館館藏提供了發展方向。詳情請參閱網頁「藝文」部分的「建構亞洲藝術文獻庫」系列。

 

時間跨度

目前,1990年代中期至2000年代的資料是館藏的核心部分,但當中最早的紀錄可追溯至1923年。比起單一和線性史觀,文獻庫更傾向於嘗試以地域、社會和藝術脈絡去理解文獻的獨特性。文獻庫自始一直雙管齊下,在追本溯源蒐集史料的同時亦留心當下潮流,從而紀錄藝術之遞嬗,以脈絡化亞洲不同地區的當代文化生產及策略。

 

涵蓋地域

文獻庫主要蒐集來自亞洲或與亞洲相關的文獻。然而文獻庫並不視「亞洲」為地域概念,而將之視為一個內涵不斷改變且與文化連繫緊密的概念。因此,文獻庫亦曾因應研究或活動需求收集亞洲區外的資料,前提是該資料能為亞洲當代藝術研究提供參考。

 

媒體形式

文獻庫會根據圖書館館藏及研究館藏的收藏範圍蒐集實體和數碼材料,這些材料包括印刷品(如參考書、圖錄、期刊及小冊子)、單張(如邀請卡、剪報)及多媒體(如CD/DVD、原生數位資源)。

 

語言

文獻庫的館藏目錄雖由英語主導,但團隊仍致力收集原文為其他語言的文獻及圖書資料。

 

三、 使用館藏

 

搜索館藏

所有館藏資料紀錄均可透過文獻庫網站的線上目錄搜獲。部分館藏亦提供線上閱覽。

參觀文獻庫圖書館

設立於香港的文獻庫圖書館為免費開放予公眾的參考圖書館。本館歡迎讀者親臨圖書館查閱館藏,或使用圖書館內的電腦閱覽研究館藏。圖書館的開放時間為星期一至星期六早上10時至晚上6時。如欲查閱任何指定館藏,請電郵至library@aaa.org.hk 預約。

版權 / 限制

文獻庫僅為館藏之監管人,並非版權持有人。文獻庫中每項資料皆附有其權責聲明,清楚列明每項資料的使用權限。文獻庫館藏大多供公眾自由閱覽以作個人參考或研究之用途,但根據文獻庫與版權持有人之協定,部分線上資料仍受版權條款保障。另外亦有部分資料因受版權持有人所訂立之版權條款約束或涉及第三方版權問題,只供館內閱覽。文獻庫將努力與版權持有人商討對策,包括利用「共享創意」版權條款,以提升館藏資料的開放度。

由於文獻庫非版權持有人,無權允許任何不屬「共享創意」版權條款轄下的資料之傳播、出版或修訂。如欲取得相關資料及許可作以上或「公平處理(Fair dealing)」原則(詳情請參考香港《版權(修訂)條例》)以外之用途,請電郵至library@aaa.org.hk 作查詢。