The Joan Lebold Cohen Archive of 16,453 digitised slides forms a collection of primary documents about art and artists in and from Mainland China, and to a lesser extent Vietnam, Taiwan, and Hong Kong, dating from the 1970s to the early 2000s. The structure of this archive follows Cohen’s original organisational system and consists of forty-six boxes of slides. Each box is divided into thirty compartments, with approximately 200 to 600 slides per box, and each box is labeled according to categories devised by Cohen: region, artist, significant exhibition, public art, and everyday life.

AAA selected these boxes from a larger collection of slides taken by Cohen through her travels and daily life. With materials spanning a time when few Mainland Chinese owned cameras and few foreign visitors to China were interested in the emerging art scene, the Joan Lebold Cohen Archive features rare colour documentation of studio visits (including artists alongside their artworks); artist collectives and communities; art students and teachers in academies; local and overseas exhibitions of contemporary art; public murals and sculptures; and snapshots of city views and social life. Altogether the archive provides a unique window into artistic production in Mainland China and beyond (both in the large coastal and smaller regional cities) from the late 1970s to the mid-1990s.

The Joan Lebold Cohen archive was released in two phases. The highlights of the first phase (approximately 300 slides, made available in February 2017) include slides of over fifty women artists, the April Photo Society from the 1970s, the Beijing airport murals from 1979, and artists in Vietnam in the 1980s and 1990s. The second phase consists of the remaining 16,153 slides made available in March 2020. The slides feature contemporary artists and art groups from Chengdu, Hangzhou, Suzhou, Beijing, Wuhu, Shenyang, Xi’an, Dalian, Harbin, Nanjing, Xiamen, Shenzhen, Guangzhou, Shanghai, Kunming, Wuhan, Xinjiang, and Inner Mongolia. It also contains early exhibition and event documentation, including the 1979 Beihai Park Photography Exhibition, 1980 National Youth Art Exhibition, 1987 Chinese Oil Paintings presented by Robert Hefner in New York, 1995 World Conference on Women in Beijing, and 1995 Women’s Art Exhibition at the National Gallery. Extensive documentation of early artworks made by Yuan Yunsheng, Qiu Deshu, Han Xin, and Kong Baiji is also included.

Joan Lebold Cohen is a photographer, art historian, and curator who specialises in Chinese art and film. A regular visitor to Asia since 1961, Cohen lived in Japan, Hong Kong, and China, where she was a witness to the post-Cultural Revolution period from 1979 to 1981. Her book The New Chinese Painting: 1949–1986 was one of the first English-language publications to introduce recent generations of Chinese artists to the West. In addition, Cohen’s first-hand reports on the early development of Chinese contemporary art were published regularly in the Asian Wall Street Journal, Art News, and Asian Art News, as well as other newspapers and magazines.

For an interview about her experience in China, click here. To listen to a conversation at Smith College between Joan Lebold Cohen and Jane DeBevoise of Asia Art Archive, with the participation of the artist and curator Kong Chang’an, click here.

Extent

190 Folders, 1638 Records

柯瓊樂檔案收藏約16453張數碼幻燈片,包涵由1970年代至2000年代初,主要來自中國內地、其次來自越南、台灣及香港地區的藝術及藝術家的第一手資料。這批文獻保持了柯氏原有的組織整理架構,共有46盒幻燈片,每盒分成30個區塊、幻燈片數量由200到600張不等;並按地域、藝術家、主要展覽、公共藝術和日常生活等逐盒分類標記。

檔案由亞洲藝術文獻庫選輯自記錄柯瓊樂的生活與旅遊部份的幻燈片。這些資料採集自只有少數中國人擁有照相機的時代,當時的外國訪客,極少對當地新興藝術環境感興趣。柯氏以當時少見的彩色照片形式紀錄了工作室訪問(包括藝術家與其作品的合照)、藝術群體與社群、藝術學院的師生、本地及海外的當代藝術展覽、公共壁畫與雕塑,以及城市景觀與人們的社交生活。這份檔案為人們提供了一個了解1970年代至1990年代中期,在中國大陸及之外(包括沿海區域的大城市與較小的地方縣市)藝術創作情况的獨特視角。

柯瓊樂檔案內容已經分兩個階段開放。第一階段公開的幻燈片已於2017年2月上載,包括大約300張幻燈片。內容主要包括超過50名女性藝術家的幻燈片、1970年代的四月影會、1979年北京首都機場的壁畫,以及1980年代到1990年代的越南藝術家。於2020年3月,第二階段上載了剩餘的16153張幻燈片,其內容主要關於來自成都、杭州、蘇州、北京、蕪湖、瀋陽、西安、大連、哈爾濱、南京、廈門、深圳、廣州、上海、昆明、武漢、新疆與內蒙古等地的當代藝術家與藝術團體,並包括早期展覽與活動的相關資料,如1979年北海公園攝影展、1980年全國青年藝術展、1987年由羅伯特赫夫納在紐約組織的中國油畫展、1995年在北京舉辦的世界婦女大會,以及1995年於中國美術館舉辦的女性藝術家展覽。第二階段內容也涵蓋大量關於袁運生,仇德樹,韓辛以及孔柏基早期藝術作品的記錄。

柯瓊樂身兼攝影師、藝術史學家及策展人,主要研究中國藝術及電影。自1961年起,她定期到訪亞洲,並曾於日本、香港及中國定居,見證1979年至1981年的後文革時期。柯瓊樂的著作《新中國繪畫:1949至1986》是第一本向西方世界介紹中國現代藝術家的英文書籍。柯氏經常在華爾街日報亞洲版、藝術新聞和亞洲藝術新聞等報刊雜誌撰文,發表大量關於中國當代藝術發展初期的第一手文獻資料。您可點擊這裡閱讀她的訪問,內容有關她在中國的經歷。如欲觀看柯瓊樂與藝術家兼策展人孔長安及亞洲文獻庫的杜柏貞在史密斯學院的對話,請點擊這裡

檔案藏量

190 案卷, 1638 檔案

分享