The Zubeida Agha Archive includes a selection of published texts, catalogues, administrative documents, clippings, and miscellaneous ephemera surrounding the legacy of the Pakistan modern artist Zubeida Agha (1922-97). The materials, taken exclusively from her Islamabad studio and residence, sheds light on Agha’s work as a patron and founding member of Pakistani art institutions, and provide insights into the foundational years of the country’s art scene.

Born in Lyallpur (present-day Faisalabad) in 1922, Agha belonged to the first generation of modern painters in Pakistan. She was instrumental in founding and running Art Galleries, Society of Contemporary Art, considered to be the first art gallery in the country, which became a hub for promoting emerging and established artists across East Pakistan (present-day Bangladesh) and West Pakistan. Later she helped set up Pakistan’s National Art Gallery, which finally opened in 2007 — ten years after her death at the age of seventy-five.

The archive explores four areas in Agha’s career: the formation of the early fine art societies; the establishment of Art Galleries, Society of Contemporary Art; the inception of the National Art Gallery; and an introduction to Zubeida Agha’s own practice as a painter.

This research project was made possible through the Lahore Biennale Foundation Research Fellowship Award that was granted to Saira Ansari in its inaugural cycle. The digitisation of the material was done with the support of The Citizens Archive of Pakistan (Pakistan), in conjunction with Asia Art Archive (Hong Kong). The project was supervised by Ifikhar Dadi (Associate Professor, Department of History of Art, Cornell University).

Extent

30 Folders, 93 Records

Share

本檔案收錄了巴基斯坦籍現代藝術家Zubeida Agha(1922-97)的已出版文章、展覽圖錄、畫廊檔案、相關剪報與活動印刷物。以上資料收集自Agha在伊斯蘭瑪巴德的故居,從中可一窺Agha的生前工作,了解她創辦及贊助某些巴基斯坦藝術組織的歷程,見證巴基斯坦當代藝術的草創期。

Zubeida Agha 生於1922的萊亞普爾(現為費薩拉巴德)。身為巴基斯坦的第一代現代畫家,她曾創辦及經營國內第一所畫廊Art Galleries, Society of Contemporary Art;該畫廊後來發展成推廣東巴基斯坦(現為孟加拉國)及西巴基斯坦藝術家的重鎮。Agha享年七十五歲,臨終前一直致力協助籌建國立美術館;該美術館最終在Agha離世十年後於2007年開幕。

本檔案呈現了Agha藝術生涯的四個面向:除了上述的Art Galleries, Society of Contemporary Art(位於拉瓦爾品第)和國立美術館,還有早期巴基斯坦美術協會的成立,以及Agha作為畫家的藝術實踐。

此研究項目得以成功,實有賴各團體及人士鼎力支持,當中包括將首輪獎金頒予Saira Ansari的Lahore Biennale Foundation Research Fellowship Award、亞洲藝術文獻庫(香港)、The Citizens Archive of Pakistan(巴基斯坦),以及項目總監Ifikhar Dadi(康乃爾大學藝術史系副教授)。

檔案藏量

30 案卷, 93 檔案

分享