Conversations

Interview with Zhan Wang

Diaaalogue Editor Sue Acret spoke with the Beijing artist about his artistic practice, "superstar" contemporary artists, and rocks in Louis Vuitton stores




Susan Acret: You grew up in Beijing and did not leave China as a number of artists did during the 1990s. How has this impacted on your art practice? And how has Beijing changed over the past ten years?

Zhan Wang: Actually, I did try to go abroad to study during the 1990s. I chose a sculpture college in New Jersey, in the United States. I did not get a letter from them accepting my application, so I thought they had rejected my application. I lost hope and tried to live my life in China. One year later, the college sent me a letter, asking me why I did not reply them. At that time I realized that the previous letter had been lost. By then I had made up my mind to develop my career in China, so I replied to the college, giving up this last opportunity.

Since 1993, I have put all my efforts into creating works. At that time, I had my first solo exhibition, which showed my series Mao Suits. My entry point for these works was the relationships between the self and society. In 1994, I noticed the large-scale rebuilding of Beijing city. I moved my focus to the modernization of Beijing. During this period, Beijing and I went through the same confusion, chaos, perplexity, development and changes. During this interaction between the city and its residents, I started to form my artistic pattern. I see this changing process as a period of transformation, where all kinds of emotions are involved. I adopt some methods of conceptual art, combining these with the medium of sculpture, with which I am most familiar, to development my artistic experiments.


Your work charts a path between the traditional and the contemporary, in so far as your artificial Jiashanshi, or ‘scholars’ rocks’ are made from stainless steel, rather than the stone objects traditionally placed in man-made garden environments. How do you feel about the razing of the old and the reign of the new in China?

My first ideas are never about inheriting traditions. My inspirations come from my conscious or unconscious observation of Beijing. The true problem is everything we have is messed up—the stone in a peaceful traditional garden is abandoned in front of a modern skyscraper. The past is gone. There is no longer true literati. In this cunning and opportunistic period of transformation, one needs strategy and wisdom to regain confidence; one needs to distinguish ‘truth’ and ‘popular truth’, and to have insights so as to re-establish one’s position. I position the literati culture in today’s society by deconstructing all the visual experiences related to it, and I hope to express my attitude towards modernization. My self, my being is the centre. I can subvert, tolerate and borrow other things, but I am always the centre. So I won’t call it inheriting.

To upgrade is necessary for everyone. It is like computer program—we need to upgrade our program faster because we cannot follow the system of other people. We need to upgrade faster and faster. No matter how we upgrade, the only purpose is to follow the pace, and to follow closely.


The reflections seen in your rocks are distorted ones. Is this an apt metaphor for many aspects of life in China today?

It’s not just about the condition in China; that is oversimplifying. The metaphor is actually one about the unrealistic imagination: that is to say, our natural ability for fantasy. This is a utopia born with our physical body, and opposite to that is the realistic world. Paradoxically, real things can be very illusory, and the illusions of the imaginary world are usually orderly and beautiful.


What do you think about the superstar status of the contemporary artist? You could argue that artists are becoming as famous and as sought after as rock and movie stars . . . Is this problematic for art? Or just symptomatic of living in a globalized, marketized world?

Everything is in process. If Van Gogh had lived to be 40 years old, he would have been a superstar. An artist goes through different stages in his life, including the market stage. To be popular in the market is the fortune of an artist. Should we celebrate an artist who dies at the age of 38 as a hero who hates money?

Anyway, human beings are absurd!


On the same topic, tell us about the placement of your rocks in Louis Vuitton stores in Hong Kong at the moment. The blurring of spaces for art occurs frequently today; is this a sign of the changing place of art and of the museum/gallery in the community?

I don’t think so. In the past, exhibiting venues were not limited. The biggest limitations come from the artists themselves. I set my own standard. It is not about whether it is a museum, a gallery or a luxury shop, it is about whether it suits me. No matter how different the exhibiting venues, art is still art. It is still what it is made to be.


You currently have a solo project at the Asian Art Museum in San Francisco. Tell me a little about that, and also about the major solo exhibition opening at the National Art Museum of China, Beijing, on 11 May, and the project at Long March Space in Beijing, beginning on 13 May.

I came up with the idea when the painter Liu Hong’s husband visited my studio. He used to work in gold mining in San Francisco. I wanted to invent a type of stone called the ‘San Francisco Stone’ (translator’s note: San Francisco in Mandarin is literally ‘Old Golden Mountain’, because a century ago many Chinese went there in pursuit of gold). The story behind this stone is the dreams of many Chinese people to discover gold in San Francisco. The title of the exhibition is ‘On Gold Mountain’. I want to express the meaning of a Chinese phrase: the things you walk for miles to find are usually just next to you.

‘Garden Utopia’, which will open at the National Museum of Art, Beijing, is an exhibition showing a series of works related to my Artificial Rocks series. The concept of utopia is overly politicized. Both the leftist’s utopia and the rightist’s anti-utopia work only for the purposes of politicians. They all make a fatal mistake: they consider people as ideological tools and ignore the biological needs of human beings. My utopia is a physical one. It is a desire of any time and place. It exists naturally in our mind, and can never be removed. I therefore use the word ‘garden’ to name it, as a non-political imagination. Moreover, I think such imagination is a universal one.

I am also making a new work in Long March Space, which does not have a lot to do with the two exhibitions mentioned above. In recent years I have often gone back to my hometown in Shandong to re-think the relations between my family history and the reality in today’s China. The genealogical chart of my family is one of the oldest in China. I can trace a history back 2000 years. My ancestor Zhan Jiqin is a saint. The temple that honours him has been damaged many times through its long history, purely because Zhan Jiqin believed in he (peace, harmony). However, the temple that honoured his brother Zhan Zhi, the ‘Saint Thief’, is never destroyed. I want to represent this phenomenon, which seems to be absurd, but actually reflects the eternal truth, by presenting to the audience the cycle of destruction and creation. The title of this work is 86 Divinity Figures. When I create the 86th statue, which is the last one, the other 85 statues will be smashed in Long March Space.


So, several of your works in the Beijing exhibitions deal with the idea of religion (Diety Medicine and 86 Divinity Figures). Can you tell me something about the ideas behind these works. Can you also discuss what role religion has in China today.

86 Divinity Figures doesn’t talk about religion, but ancestors (the statues of Chinese Taoism are usually the statues of ancestors). I made a mistake at first in calling the statues gods instead of saints. Saints, in China, are perfect people who morally surpass ordinary people. Such people do not exist, but the Chinese are usually willing to dream about the idea.

It is not true to say there is no religion in China. Religion in China is of many gods. It’s a religion of no religion, in which the spirit and practice are the same. This is very unique in today’s world. I would like to see if it can provide China or the world with a new possibility.


Your sculptural works may take the form of installation, performance or video. Clearly, your art is a means for presenting conceptual, abstract ideas in concrete form, and it seems you feel comfortable in using a variety of artforms to do this. Can you explain how you conceive your works, that is, what kind of process takes place when you are initiating a new project . . .

I usually start with observing, thinking, and discovering the pleasure of something. That is to see the meaning and absurdity, and start to design in my mind. It is like a blender, mixing up and re-constructing all the components. It is like a computer. Eventually, some day, unexpectedly, it all comes out, like shitting (sorry about the ungraceful language. I am altogether not a literati, but I know how to imitate a literati). The main point is that the process of stirring is very adventurous, and it takes a long time to get to the result. It is guaranteed to be new; like no one else has done before.


Can you comment on the art practice of the younger generation of artists in China today? How is today’s environment different from the environment you trained in?

It is totally different. Young artists of today start at a much higher point. They don’t have pressure from traditional art practices. They are free, unrestricted and confident, but they still lack money. This may be the only stress. I envy them, but it’s important that they understand their own advantages.

 

 

Translated from Chinese by Anthony Yung.



Imprint

Author

Susan ACRET

ZHAN Wang, 展望

Topic
Conversations
Date
Thu, 1 May 2008
Cite as
Susan ACRET and ZHAN Wang, 展望, Interview with Zhan Wang, Thu, 1 May 2008

Relevant content

Zhan Wang: Garden Utopia
Zhan Wang: Garden Utopia
Collection

Zhan Wang: Garden Utopia

展望: 園林烏托邦
2009

Zhan Wang: Garden Utopia
Zhan Wang: Garden Utopia
Collection

Zhan Wang: Garden Utopia

展望: 園林烏托邦
2008

‘Sculptural’ Intervention: Conference at Central Academy of Fine Arts
‘Sculptural’ Intervention: Conference at Central Academy of Fine Arts
Collection

‘Sculptural’ Intervention: Conference at Central Academy of Fine Arts

2008

對話

與展望對談

 

問 (Susan Acret):
你是北京人,九十年代期間很多中國藝術家出國發展,而你則選擇留在北京。這如何影響你的創作?這十年來北京又發生了怎樣的變化?

展望:
其實我在那時候也嘗試過出國留學,選擇的是美國新澤西州的一個雕塑技術學院,但是奇怪的是那個錄取我的通知書遲遲未接到,我誤以為學校不收了,也就沒有准備,漸漸的我的心裡卻准備了放棄,而且逐步適應了國內的情況。一年後,校方又給我發了封信,問我為什麼沒有回信,原來是那封信丟失了,但是這時的我已經准備好留在國內發展了,因此我回信放棄了這個最後的機會。

從1993年開始,我進入了全身心投入的創作階段,舉辦了第一次在北京的個人展覽,展出的是中山裝軀殼系列作品,從自我與社會的關係開始切入,到了1994年發現北京開始大規模的拆遷,於是,注意力又轉移到了北京的現代化變革這個主題上。於是在這十年中,我與北京幾乎是同步的經歷了迷茫、 混亂、困惑和發展,變化的階段,在這個個人與城市的互動中,我的藝術思考模式開始成型,我把這個變化的過程看成是一個轉型期,所有的喜怒悲歡都與此有關,在這過程中,我接受了觀念藝術的某些方法,並結合我的特長展開了我自己的藝術實驗。


問:
你的作品常常以當代方式繼承傳統元素,例如《假石山》就是以不鏽鋼造的傳統園林石雕。你對中國快速發展造成的更新替舊有什麼看法?

展望:
我不同意“繼承”這個詞,因為我原初的創作想法從來都不涉及繼承傳統這個意念,我的靈感來自於我對北京的有意或無意的觀察,非常現實的問題是我們固有的一切都被打亂了,傳統園林裡面安靜的石頭被拋棄在水泥玻璃大樓的前面,物是人非,沒有人是一個真正的文人,在這個狡猾與機會盛行的轉型期,重新尋找自信的原點也必須要有策略和智慧,要發現事物的本質與流行事物的本質,善於看透和揭穿,才能重新確定自身的位置。我以消解掉所有與文人文化有關的視覺經驗來重新審視所謂文人,找出與今天社會結合的契合點,並且希望對文明有所表態。我是以自我為主體的,對別的東西可以是顛覆的,包容和借用的,但是肯定是以我為中心的,所以這不叫“繼承”。

升級的需要是人性所需,一如電腦軟件,升級太快是因為別人使用的系統我們跟不上,所以必須三級跳,甚至5級跳,無論怎麼跳,目的只有一個,跟上,快跟上!


問:
你的石山反映的歪曲鏡像,是否能比喻今天中國的種種情況?

展望:
不是中國的狀況,這太簡單了,它所隱喻的實際上是非現實的想像,就是說我們對事物都有幻想的本能,這是一種生理上的烏托邦,與此相對的是現實的世界,毫無誇張變形的真實世界,也就是說,真實的東西可能更為誇張,而想像的世界反而誇張的有序而富於美感。

問:
近年中國當代藝術家受追捧的程度,幾乎不下於流行明星。你對這個現像有什麼看法?這對藝術本身又有什麼影響?或這只是在全球一體化、市場主導的世界中無可避免的現象?

展望:
一切都是過程,凡高如果活到四十幾歲也就成為明星了。一個藝術家的一生能夠經歷各種階段,包括市場階段,是這個藝術家的僥倖,如果38歲去世,是否我們都要評他一個不愛錢財的藝術英雄呢?
說到底,人是荒誕的!


問:
今天,藝術品的展示空間愈來愈多樣化,正如你的作品最近也在香港的Louis Vuitton展出。這是否表明了藝術品及美術館/畫廊的角色已經改變了?

展望:
不會的!只能說是又恢復了一種,因為在古代,藝術的展示空間從來都是不受限制的,最大的限制來自與藝術家自己,常常是藝術家自己限制自己。我的標准也是我自己制定的,這與博物館還是畫廊還是名牌沒關系,有關系的是他們是否適合我自己。我認為無論外在的展示花樣有多少,那些腳色仍舊會回到原點,他們事先要做的事情是什麼還是什麼。


問:
可否談談你最近一連串的展覽?包括在舊金山亞洲藝術館的個展、5月11日在北京中國美術館開幕的個展,以及5月13日在長征空間開展的計劃?

展望:
舊金山的個展是一個項目,源於畫家劉虹的丈夫到我的工作室訪問時一起聊出來的,他當年參與過淘金在舊金山,我也想給中國的石種增加一類外國石頭“舊金山石”,這種石頭背後的故事就是一百年前大批包括華人在內的淘金者的發財夢。我以“點石成金”作為展覽的主題,有一種踏破鐵鞋無覓處的感覺。

美術館的展覽主題是“園林烏托邦”,這是一個以假山石為引線發展出的系列作品的集中展現。“烏托邦”這個概念被過度政治化了,無論是左派的烏托邦還是右派的反烏托邦都是政治人士的政治操作,他們都犯了一個極大的錯誤,就是忽視人性中生理一面的需要,而把人作為意識形態的工具。我的烏托邦是生理的,是一種隨時隨地的需要,它天然存在於我們的思維中剔除不去,因此我用園林一詞與之相配,構成一個非政治化的想像,而且我認為這個想像將是全球性的。

同時,我在長征空間試驗一個新作品,這個作品與前兩個沒有直接的關系,他是我近幾年經常回山東老家,思考我的出身歷史和中國的現實關係的結果,我的家譜可以追述到兩千年前,是中國最古老的家譜,祖先展季禽是個聖人,這個聖人的寺廟在歷朝更變中,也不知被砸毀多少次,只因為他崇尚的是個“和”字,而他的兄弟“盜聖”,就是盜亦有道的鼻祖展跖廟卻還活的安詳。我想表現這個看似荒誕卻是永恆真理的現像,把這個破與立的輪回展示給觀眾。這個作品的題目是《第八十六尊聖像》,最後一尊是我立的,前面八十五尊將在長征空間被砸掉。


問:
在北京的展覽中,有一些作品涉及宗教的題材,如《佛藥》及《第八十六尊聖像》。可否談談這些作品的意念?又你認為宗教在今天的中國扮演什麼角色?

展望:
《第八十六尊聖像》涉及的是祖先,不是宗教(不過,通常中國道教的神像都是祖先像),一開始寫錯了一個字“神像”的神應該是聖人的聖。聖人在中國是一個理想化的標准人,指道德方面超出了凡人的人,這種人其實是不存在的,但無數的中國人都願意做這個夢,今天醒了,明天依舊。
中國並不是沒有宗教,中國是多神教,是無教之教。神形合一的宗教,這在今天的世界上很獨特,我想研究一下它能否為今天的中國或者世界提供一個可能。


問:
你的雕塑作品可以不同形式呈現,如裝置、行為和攝影。明顯地你的雕塑作品是以形像表達抽像觀念的,你也善於采用其他藝術形式表述意念。可以談談你構想一件作品或者一個計劃的過程?

展望:
通常我是先觀察,思考,發現其樂趣,就是我認為有意思的地方,荒誕的地方,然後才開始在心裡進行藝術處理,就像一個快速攪拌機,把各種信息無序的打亂,重組,活像一台計算機!最後,某天,常常是不知什麼時候,突然,就像大便一樣衝出來,(對不起,有點不雅,因為我壓根就不是個文人,但我可以裝文人的樣子)。關鍵是這個攪拌的過程充滿了歷險,直到最後概念的形成需要很長時間的醞釀期,確保是獨特的,別人沒有玩過的。


問:
你如何評價當下中國年輕藝術家的工作?今天的整體環境與你當年學習的時代又有什麼不同?

展望:
應該說是太不相同了,今天的年輕人起步很高,沒有傳統藝術的壓力,他們輕鬆、自在、自信,但還是缺少金錢,這可能是唯一的壓力。我羨慕他們,但還要看他們是否清楚自己的優勢。

 

 


(翻譯: 翁子健)


版本

作者

ZHAN Wang, 展望

Susan ACRET

主題
對話
日期
2008年5月1日 (星期四)

相關內容

Zhan Wang: Garden Utopia
Zhan Wang: Garden Utopia
專題著作

Zhan Wang: Garden Utopia

展望: 園林烏托邦
2009

Zhan Wang: Garden Utopia
Zhan Wang: Garden Utopia
專題著作

Zhan Wang: Garden Utopia

展望: 園林烏托邦
2008

‘Sculptural’ Intervention: Conference at Central Academy of Fine Arts
‘Sculptural’ Intervention: Conference at Central Academy of Fine Arts
CD/DVD光碟

‘Sculptural’ Intervention: Conference at Central Academy of Fine Arts

2008