Notes

Lo Ting and Hong Kong Cultural Identity: Part One

Oscar Ho reflects on 1990s Hong Kong, the mythological figure Lo Ting, and the stakes of writing art history.

Part One of a series of notes by Oscar Ho, written for an AAA public programme on Facebook that coincided with the launch of his archive. The bilingual posts and Facebook interactions are available here on IDEAS Journal: Parts Two, Three, and Four.

 

Background

In the 1990s, Hong Kong was in a state of disarray. After 1989, immigration waves rippled through the city. People were concerned whether the city’s system, routine, and culture would be preserved. While local culture had previously garnered little interest among Hong Kong arts and cultural practitioners, it slowly became a widely discussed topic by the 1990s. Local history and cultural identity were amongst the more pressing issues.

During the last century, cultural workers and academics have neglected local culture. Therefore, to catch up on its research under these unfavourable circumstances was no easy task. At the time, other than investigating overlooked local history, I was also searching for Hong Kong mythologies—in particular, mythological figures. Their tales exist in many communities and ethnographies, and while ancient lore is not “historically accurate,” these stories are goldmines filled with nuggets of metaphors and wisdom, and can reflect a community’s personality, experience, and history. On some level, they could even be more accurate than historical records.

Even though Beijing had entrusted its mainland scholars to rewrite the history of Hong Kong, the city was starting to search for its own history. Hong Kong people were attempting to piece together a local history through their own personal experiences. Authors such as Ng Ho and Lo Kam wrote histories of urban myths and folklore. In terms of popular culture, the sixties nostalgia film 92 Legendary La Rose Noire became an unexpected box office hit, and reflected the mentality of Hong Kongers at the time.

 

Lo Ting

After searching far and wide for years for a local mythological figure, one was still yet to be found (though there are quite a few local ghost stories—after years of knowing each other, Yasi and I organised a “Ghost Culture Festival”). It was only by accident that I found a fully Hong Kong mythological figure. Its name was Lo Ting.

Lo Ting was half-man, half-fish, and was a strange creature that travelled between land and sea. It hailed from Daxi Mountain (modern day Lantau Island), and was mentioned here and there in historical and regional chronicles in Guangdong.

What was intriguing about Lo Ting was not only that it was the only local mythological creature I knew, but also that it was neither fish nor man. Being “in-between,” Lo Ting was able to survive and roam between two different worlds, the embodiment of a typical Hong Konger. Having to flee to Hong Kong, and to turn this unfamiliar place into a home is the manifestation of a Hong Konger’s experience. So I conceived an exhibition about the past, present, and future of Hong Kong’s history, titled Hong Kong Incarnated: History, Community, Individual, which opened at Hong Kong Arts Centre on 30 June 1997. It was the night before the 1997 Handover of Hong Kong, which took place across the road at the Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre.

The exhibition was split into four parts. The first part, “The Prelude,” invited ninety-seven local art practitioners to create small works that responded to the Handover. In the centre was a small temple with a door that said, “You’re On Your Own—Good Luck! (自求多福).”

“Individual” commissioned three art practitioners to converse with the residents of Sham Shui Po and understand their perspectives on the Handover. This was because most of the opinions that we had been hearing about the Handover were from the elite and the middle class. Therefore, the exhibition aimed at showcasing some of the viewpoints from the grassroots community.

“Community” was originally set up to collect items for a Hong Kong Memorial Hall in the year 2047. It invited the general public to lend items they believed to be memorable and representative of Hong Kong, to be placed in a time capsule after the exhibition closed, and be displayed again fifty years later. Other than typical Hong Kong citizens, celebrities such as Emily Lau and Anthony Wong also lent items for the exhibition, creating a simple and fragmented impression of colonial Hong Kong. It was a pity that we couldn’t find a place to bury the time capsule. Though we had to return the items after the show closed, the exhibition was still able to feature items that represented our different recollections of the city.

If “Individual” was related to the present, and “Community” extended it to the future, then “History” was the core, as both the present and the future were rooted in history. And Lo Ting was its centrepiece.

Sparse information, the lack of credibility of myths, as well as added metaphors and apocrypha over the years, means that the history of Lo Ting is an organically collaborative and creative endeavour. I invited academics, and art and cultural practitioners who cared about Hong Kong, to recreate our ancestral history, and to expand it according to the little information we had. This was not just mythical fabrication or invention; the supplementary information we added reflected what we thought were metaphors for Hong Kong’s unique cultural history.

This method of history-writing also challenged the subject itself: out of all the events of an era, what should be recorded as “History”? Who has the right and power to choose and write history? Must history be listed chronologically the way dynastic and monarchic wars were recorded? Could we record histories the way we do with mythologies, through the use of metaphors? Could history be written according to the general public’s perspective rather than that of an “academic expert”?

After devising the historical story, we invited a few local art practitioners to create archaeological artefacts according to the complete and combined history of Lo Ting. This newly created account of Lo Ting invited creatives to insert their own imagination. While these imagined artefacts would have increased the sense of authenticity, it would also be contradictory—but isn’t history always full of contradictions, blurring the real and unreal? For the exhibition, we commissioned artist Wang Hai to paint the Massacre of Lantau Island from 1197, an event that happened but was never documented in the history of Hong Kong. In the end, it was up to the audience to decide whether “History” was real or not.

“Truth becomes fiction when fiction is true; the real becomes not-real when the unreal is real.”

 

 

[Screenshots of Oscar's post and interactions on Facebook]

 

 

Oscar Ho Hing Kay (b. 1956) is an artist, curator, art critic, and educator. He has held various prominent positions in established arts organisations and higher education institutions in Hong Kong and China since his return from the US in 1984. He has recently retired from his position as the Programme Director of the MA programme in Cultural Management at the Chinese University of Hong Kong. He was appointed the Exhibition Director at the Hong Kong Arts Centre, the Senior Research Officer at the Home Affairs Bureau of the Hong Kong Government, Founding Director of Museum of Contemporary Art in Shanghai, and a member of the Museum Advisory Group for the West Kowloon Cultural District, just to name a few. His curatorial practice and writings advocate for an understanding of art in the broader context of visual culture, as well as art’s accessibility to the public, highlighting its role in the construction of Hong Kong’s cultural identities.

Imprint

Topic
Notes
Date
Fri, 24 Sep 2021

Relevant content

thumbnail_0
Ask the Curator: Oscar Ho's Curatorial Projects
Series

Ask the Curator: Oscar Ho's Curatorial Projects

Notes by Oscar Ho Hing Kay on cultural identity, social inclusion in the arts, and Hong Kong visual culture

Talkover_2007_list
Back to the Future: Contemporary Art and the Hong Kong Handover
Ideas | Notes

Back to the Future: Contemporary Art and the Hong Kong Handover

What two Hong Kong exhibitions reveal about the handover, identity, and contemporary art

oscar ho home
Hong Kong: A Curatorial Journey for an Identity
Ideas | Essays

Hong Kong: A Curatorial Journey for an Identity

Oscar Ho narrates his shift from seeking a distinctive cultural identity for Hong Kong, to working to dismantle this very concept

Oscar Ho Hingkay Archive Banner
Oscar Ho Hing Kay Archive 何慶基檔案
Collections

Oscar Ho Hing Kay Archive 何慶基檔案

Hong Kong Incarnated—Museum 97: History‧Community‧Individual 香港三世書—九七博物館:歷史・社群・個人
Collections

Hong Kong Incarnated—Museum 97: History‧Community‧Individual 香港三世書—九七博物館:歷史・社群・個人

antique2
Ask the Curator: Oscar Ho’s Curatorial Projects
Programmes

Ask the Curator: Oscar Ho’s Curatorial Projects

5–30 Jul 2021

(Deconstruct and Edit - Oscar Ho on Curatorship)
Deconstruct and Edit: Oscar Ho on the Art of Curating
Artist Monograph

Deconstruct and Edit: Oscar Ho on the Art of Curating

拆拆剪剪 - 何慶基展覽策劃故事
HO Hingkay Oscar, 何慶基
2016

Mapping Identities: The Art and Curating of Oscar Ho
Mapping Identities: The Art and Curating of Oscar Ho
2 Images

Mapping Identities: The Art and Curating of Oscar Ho

身份何在:何慶基的策展工作及藝術
2004

札記

真真假假、非人非魚話盧亭(二之一)

何慶基省思90年代香港、神話人物「盧亭」,以及書寫藝術歷史的重要性。

此札記系列輯錄了何慶基為文獻庫的Facebook專頁活動「與策展人語: 拆拆剪剪何慶基」而撰寫的帖文,以及他與留言者的互動。帖文當時與「何慶基檔案」同期發布。此札記為本系列的首篇,請在《藝文》閱讀次篇第三篇末篇

  

背景

上世紀九十年代,香港紛亂不安,移民浪潮浮現。港人對未來能否維持現有制度、運作模式以至文化特色,均充滿懷疑。以往本地文化界鮮有討論本土文化,至九十年代,本土文化則逐漸成為文化界研究創作的重要主題,當中,本土歷史和文化身份的討論尤其盛行。

百多年來,政府、文化界和學者大都冷漠對待本土文化,在缺乏資料搜集和整理的情況下,要急起直追並不容易。當時我除了研究備受冷落的本地藝術史外,亦努力搜尋香港神話,特別是神話人物,因為很多文化和部族都有其神話人物,這些神話雖不是所謂「歷史真實」,但往往是充滿智慧的隱喻,反映出該文化的性格丶經驗和歷史,某程度上比所謂「歷史真實」還真實。

那段日子香港進入歷史搜尋年代,一方面北京委托國內學者重寫香港歷史,另一方面香港民間又有人根據個人經歷努力重構本土歷史,例如吳昊、魯金的民間地區史大行其道。於流行文化層面,六十年代懷舊電影《92黑玫瑰對黑玫瑰》忽然大受歡迎,雖然出人意表但也反映當時的港人心態。

 

盧亭

上窮碧落下黃泉努力搜尋本土神話人物多年,仍茫茫不見(本地鬼故卻不少,悉之多年後我同也斯搞咗個《鬼文化節》)。有次意外地搵到個百分百香港神話人物,佢叫盧亭。

盧亭者,乃半人半魚,游走於海洋陸地間的奇特動物,原聚居大溪山(即今大嶼山),廣東多份史籍和地方誌均有零碎提及。 

盧亭吸引我之處,不單是我所知的唯一本地神話人物,也因那亦人亦魚、不是這不是那、游走於兩不同空間但仍能靈活生存,像是典型港人的化身。逃難至港,把這陌生地方變成家,是徹底的港人縮影,於是構思咗個關於香港過去、現在、將來的歷史展,叫《香港三世書——九七博物館:歷史、社群、個人》,在1997年六月三十日晚,香港主權移交儀式喺對面會展中心舉行之際,於藝術中心開幕。

展覽分四部份,第一部份「序曲」,邀請九十七個本地藝術工作者,製作呼應回歸小作品,中間有門口寫上「自求多福」小廟宇。

「個人」部份,委托三位藝術工作者與深水埗居民對話,認識佢地對回歸的看法,事關一直以來,聽到對回歸的看法,好似都係來自有錢同中產階層,想展示點草根社群的看法。

「社群」部份原打算為2047年設立的香港紀念博物館搜集藏品,邀請公眾借出其認為最值得紀念又能代表香港的東西,展覽後放進時間囊,五十年後在香港紀念館展出。借出展品除一般市民外亦有名人如劉慧卿、黃耀明等,算是個簡約零碎的前九七香港民間歷史印象。可惜因找不到地方讓我們埋藏時間囊,展覽後唯有物歸原主,但仍能一睹港人心中回歸前的香港印象。

「個人」部份關於現在,「社區」把現在伸展到未來,而核心部份是「歷史」,因為現在和將來均來自歷史。這部份的歷史,以盧亭為主。

因為有關盧亭的資料相當零碎,況且神話從來不「真實」,不同年代不斷有不同老作加添意思隱喻,是個隨年代發展出的集體創意組合。我邀請些關心香港文化的學者、藝術工作者、文化人等,在零碎史料上加料,製造並深化我們的祖先歷史,這過程絕不是胡亂吹水玩嘢,附加的絕非無厘頭,而是要反映我們認為是香港歷史文化特色的隱喻。 

這種寫歷史方法,也在挑戰歷史撰寫的問題:我們應如何為年代存證?怎樣的記錄最能代表「歷史」?什麼人有權選擇及撰寫歷史?歷史是否一定要以朝代、君主大臣戰爭等「史實」,沿時間表列出?可否像神話般以隱喻形式表述?可否由群眾根據其看法共同撰寫而不是全為「專家學者」獨有? 

構思好歷史故事後,我們邀請一些本地藝術工作者,根據整合後的盧亭歷史,製作些相關的古物。這新建構的盧亭史,仍有很多空間讓創作者加入個人想象,這些古物可強化歷史真實性,但也會製造矛盾,但歷史又何嘗不是充滿矛盾和真假難分?展覽中我們委托了畫者王亥繪畫沒有香港史正式提及卻真實出現的1197年大嶼山清島大屠殺。「歷史」真真片假假,最後還得透過由觀者決定。

正是「假作真時真亦假,無為有處有還無」,展覽開幕及其後發展如何,請待下回分解。

 

 

[以下截圖是何慶基的Facebook帖文及與留言者的互動]

 

 

何慶基(1956–)身兼藝術家、策展人、藝術評論家和教育工作者,自1984年從美國回流後,於香港及國內多個著名藝術組織和高等教育機構擔任重要職位。他退休前為香港中文大學文化管理碩士課程主任,曾任香港藝術中心展覽總監、香港民政事務局高級研究主任、上海當代藝術館創館館長,以及西九龍文化區博物館顧問小組成員等。其策展和著作提倡從更宏觀的視覺文化脈絡理解藝術,以及藝術應該貼近群眾,開拓香港文化身份的想像。

版本

主題
札記
日期
2021年9月24日 (星期五)

相關內容

thumbnail_0
與策展人語: 拆拆剪剪何慶基
系列

與策展人語: 拆拆剪剪何慶基

本札記系列輯錄何慶基在2021年七月份於文獻庫的Facebook專頁發表的中英雙語帖文,帖文當時與「何慶基檔案」同期發布

Talkover_2007_list
回到未來時:當代藝術與香港回歸
藝文 | 札記

回到未來時:當代藝術與香港回歸

陳建濃、黃湲婷、李嘉傑

oscar ho home
香港——追尋身分的策展之旅
藝文 | 文章

香港——追尋身分的策展之旅

何慶基記述他由尋找香港獨特的文化身份,到努力消弭這觀念的轉變。

Oscar Ho Hingkay Archive Banner
Oscar Ho Hing Kay Archive 何慶基檔案
館藏

Oscar Ho Hing Kay Archive 何慶基檔案

Hong Kong Incarnated—Museum 97: History‧Community‧Individual 香港三世書—九七博物館:歷史・社群・個人
館藏

Hong Kong Incarnated—Museum 97: History‧Community‧Individual 香港三世書—九七博物館:歷史・社群・個人

antique2
與策展人語: 拆拆剪剪何慶基
活動

與策展人語: 拆拆剪剪何慶基

2021年7月5日至30日

(Deconstruct and Edit - Oscar Ho on Curatorship)
Deconstruct and Edit: Oscar Ho on the Art of Curating
藝術家專集

Deconstruct and Edit: Oscar Ho on the Art of Curating

拆拆剪剪 - 何慶基展覽策劃故事
HO Hingkay Oscar, 何慶基
2016

Mapping Identities: The Art and Curating of Oscar Ho
Mapping Identities: The Art and Curating of Oscar Ho
2 圖片

Mapping Identities: The Art and Curating of Oscar Ho

身份何在:何慶基的策展工作及藝術
2004