Notes

Lo Ting and Hong Kong Cultural Identity: Part Two

Oscar Ho reflects on the conceptualisation, audience reactions, and afterlives of his exhibition about Lo Ting and the ancestral myth of Hong Kongers.

Part Two of a series of notes by Oscar Ho, written for an AAA public programme on Facebook that coincided with the launch of his archive. The bilingual posts and Facebook interactions are available here on IDEAS Journal: Parts One, Three, and Four.

 

The Resurrection of Lo Ting

Following the discussion about the background and conceptualisation of the Lo Ting exhibition in Part 1, this week we will further examine its execution, audience reactions, and subsequent influence. The purpose of the exhibition was to introduce the ancestral myth of Hong Kongers. It was also meant to be critical of the authority and narration in historical writing, and by extension the relevant curatorial thinking surrounding the topic.

It took efforts to integrate elements like history, legends, imaginations, and mythological metaphors in an exhibition. To toy with the authority of conventional museums, the exhibition had to be produced conventionally. The curatorial statement, for instance, plagiarised from the jargonistic preface of Hong Kong Museum of History, with inserts of my curatorial ideas for the show.

The first part of the exhibition introduced Lo Ting through creative/historical expressions, such as texts and ancient records and poems. In order to present a compelling reality, we invited art practitioner Keung Chiming to create a life-sized Lo Ting sculpture. We intertwined historical events, such as the rarely mentioned Massacre of Lantau Island in 1197, with legends and creative expressions, in order to construct the history and cultural mythologies that we believe represent Hong Kong. Based on these mythologies, we invited artists to create “artefacts” as historical evidence. Under the title “We Came from the Sea,” this part illustrated the origin of our ancestors.

Another part of the exhibition was about the Tanka people—allegedly the descendants of Lo Ting. Since ancient times, the Tanka have lived between land and sea, suffering from the court and British oppressions. The long period of oppression, and subsequently the adaptability, remains pertinent to all those who consider themselves living in the state of “in-between.”

The exhibition also reflected upon the false authority of cultural institutions, which is engendered by the sense of elitism evidenced in a vast array of curatorial approaches. From the solemn exhibition spaces to the excessive use of jargon, art often leaves the public in confusion—as if the curators alone had already decided what is good and what is true. The Lo Ting exhibition conveniently adopts such an authoritative demeanour, telling Hong Kong ancestral history through a monumental Lo Ting sculpture, a large oil painting of the 1197 Massacre, and nicely cased antiquities relevant to Lo Ting. The exhibition was designed to make the counterfeits authentic. To make it even more convincing, Eric Wear, an American friend of mine, was invited to shoot a video where he explained the historical significance of the newly discovered Lo Ting antiquities in front of a bookshelf wearing a bow tie. Endorsement by foreign experts was a useful tactic to make the show credible.

I was observing the audience during the opening; their reactions varied. Some decided immediately that the show was fictitious—with all the effort and time put into composing the stories, I was certainly disheartened. Yet, I felt even more conflicted when audience members bought the curatorial narration unreservedly. I overheard a father explaining the lives of our “ancestors,” and felt immense guilt for deceiving the audience, especially the kids. I could not help but to reflect upon the purpose for the show. After much deliberation, I figured the goal was to confuse the audience as they finished the exhibition. The state of confusion initiates curiosity and critical thinking, as the viewers begin to ponder between truth and falsity. It is also very much the essence of Lo Ting as we speak about this in-between quality.

Unfortunately, most of the public and the media were rather indifferent towards the exhibition. Originally, we planned to host Lo Ting exhibitions for five consecutive years, as an attempt to further develop the myth, and to make it viable. The plan was to focus on a different topic each year, for instance the way mythologies were popularised, or how they had become commodified. The second show in the following year was still not well-received; then we further reduced the scale of the third show due to insufficient funding. In the end, we decided not to pursue the project anymore.

Strangely, after more than a decade, Lo Ting has now resurfaced. In 2014, Theatre Horizon staged Century-old Dreams of a Fishing Harbour – Episode I at Edinburgh International Festival, and later Hong Kong. It was a play featuring Lo Ting as the protagonist. Lo Ting remained the leading figure in the two plays that followed: Nightmare, performed in 2016, and The Awakening in 2018. The plays discussed the fate and political circumstances in Hong Kong, and drew much attention from the public. Lo Ting has also appeared on mass media. In 2011, an episode of TVB series, Hong Kong Enigmata, was titled “In Search of Lo Ting Footprints.”

Later in 2014, Hong Kong Vomic released The Legend of Hong Kong Mermaid: Lo Ting. In 2018, three local and mainland critics argued that the main character in Stephen Chow‘s film The Mermaid was modelled after Lo Ting. Fruit Chan’s Three Husbands (2018) also featured a female lead that was considered a descendant of Lo Ting. Over the years, artists such as Clara Cheung, Ellen Pau, and Lam Tung Pang, have also created works dedicated to Lo Ting.

I am certainly flattered by the resurrection of Lo Ting. Yet, why does it resurface right here right now?

(I also want to mention that the three Lo Ting exhibitions cannot be made possible without the generosity and support from friends in the culture, academic, and art communities. The exhibition series was by no means my personal achievement; I’d like to clarify that, and extend my gratitude to all who have supported the initiative.)

 

 

[Screenshots of Oscar's post and interactions on Facebook]

 

 

Oscar Ho Hing Kay (b. 1956) is an artist, curator, art critic, and educator. He has held various prominent positions in established arts organisations and higher education institutions in Hong Kong and China since his return from the US in 1984. He has recently retired from his position as the Programme Director of the MA programme in Cultural Management at the Chinese University of Hong Kong. He was appointed the Exhibition Director at the Hong Kong Arts Centre, the Senior Research Officer at the Home Affairs Bureau of the Hong Kong Government, Founding Director of Museum of Contemporary Art in Shanghai, and a member of the Museum Advisory Group for the West Kowloon Cultural District, just to name a few. His curatorial practice and writings advocate for an understanding of art in the broader context of visual culture, as well as art’s accessibility to the public, highlighting its role in the construction of Hong Kong’s cultural identities.

 

Imprint

Author

HO Hingkay Oscar, 何慶基

Topic
Notes
Date
Fri, 24 Sep 2021

Relevant content

thumbnail_0
Ask the Curator: Oscar Ho's Curatorial Projects
Series

Ask the Curator: Oscar Ho's Curatorial Projects

Notes by Oscar Ho Hing Kay on cultural identity, social inclusion in the arts, and Hong Kong visual culture

Talkover_2007_list
Back to the Future: Contemporary Art and the Hong Kong Handover
Ideas | Notes

Back to the Future: Contemporary Art and the Hong Kong Handover

What two Hong Kong exhibitions reveal about the handover, identity, and contemporary art

oscar ho home
Hong Kong: A Curatorial Journey for an Identity
Ideas | Essays

Hong Kong: A Curatorial Journey for an Identity

Oscar Ho narrates his shift from seeking a distinctive cultural identity for Hong Kong, to working to dismantle this very concept

Oscar Ho Hingkay Archive Banner
Oscar Ho Hing Kay Archive 何慶基檔案
Collections

Oscar Ho Hing Kay Archive 何慶基檔案

Hong Kong Reincarnated: New Lo Ting Archeological Find 香港三世書之再世書:盧亭考古新發現
Collections

Hong Kong Reincarnated: New Lo Ting Archeological Find 香港三世書之再世書:盧亭考古新發現

Lo Ting: New Discovery on 1197 Massacre 盧亭:1197大屠殺新發現
Collections

Lo Ting: New Discovery on 1197 Massacre 盧亭:1197大屠殺新發現

antique2
Ask the Curator: Oscar Ho’s Curatorial Projects
Programmes

Ask the Curator: Oscar Ho’s Curatorial Projects

5–30 Jul 2021

(Deconstruct and Edit - Oscar Ho on Curatorship)
Deconstruct and Edit: Oscar Ho on the Art of Curating
Artist Monograph

Deconstruct and Edit: Oscar Ho on the Art of Curating

拆拆剪剪 - 何慶基展覽策劃故事
HO Hingkay Oscar, 何慶基
2016

Mapping Identities: The Art and Curating of Oscar Ho
Mapping Identities: The Art and Curating of Oscar Ho
Artist Monograph

Mapping Identities: The Art and Curating of Oscar Ho

身份何在:何慶基的策展工作及藝術
2004

札記

真真假假、非人非魚話盧亭(二之二)

何慶基思索其「盧亭」展覽的前世今生,以及觀眾迴響。

此札記系列輯錄了何慶基為文獻庫的Facebook專頁活動「與策展人語: 拆拆剪剪何慶基」而撰寫的帖文,以及他與留言者的互動。帖文當時與「何慶基檔案」同期發布。此札記為本系列的次篇,請在《藝文》閱讀首篇第三篇末篇

 

盧亭復活

上回講到盧亭展覽的背景和基本構思,今回進一步看其實際安排、觀眾反應及影響。展覽基本目的,是介紹港人這非人非魚的祖先傳說,也有反思歷史的虛假權威和撰寫模式,和相關的策展思維 。

展覽混合史實、傳說、創意和神話隱喻等多方元素,其鋪排倒要花點心思。為把玩傳統博物館的權威,展覽盡量套用傳統展覽模式。因為喜歡玩弄那些說了等如沒說的「行貨」話,展覽導言基本上照抄歷史博物館關於歷史的導言,當然中間要插入些我要說的重點,否則未能交待展覽理念。

首部份以文字、古籍詩歌等創意/歷史表述來介紹盧亭。為求製造有說服力的真實感,邀請了藝術工作者姜志明製作真人般大小的盧亭雕塑。展覽首部份從歷史事件,包括真實發生但無人提及歷史如1197年大嶼山大屠殺,當中滲入傳說、創意表述等不同形式的隱喻,建構我們認為代表香港的歷史、文化的神話,之後交予不同創作者製作古物作歷史證據。此部份的展覽標題叫「我們由海上而來」,解說我地祖先嘅獨特起步點。

展覽另一部份關於蜑家人。一直有傳說話盧亭乃蜑家人直系祖先,而蜑家人自古以來,均存活於水陸之間,受盡歷朝及英人壓迫,處處引證這非此非彼、游走不同空間而長受壓迫的命運從未終斷。 

展覽也觸及文化機構如博物館的假權威。特別是在藝術精英化年代,嚴肅的展場、策展人的艱深胡言亂語,往往令公眾感無知無力,假權感遂隨勢而生,任由策劃人告知誰優誰劣、孰真孰假。展覽設計利用博物館語言的權威,例如巨大盧亭模型、展場中委托繪製的1197大屠殺大型油畫,還有鋪上絲絹典型展覽箱內的盧亭古物,即使是假的也被展場氣氛和擺設變真。為再加強說服力,請來美國朋友Eric Wear攝製錄像,他戴上煲呔坐於書架前,講解新近發現盧亭古物的歷史意義。經過打煲呔鬼佬認真確認,定可強化盧亭的「真實性」。

開幕後我特意在展場觀察,發現觀眾反應迴異。有人看完後肯定展覽作假,努力構思的故事瞬被否定,自然不悅。但當觀眾全然相信展覽述說的歷史時,我感覺更複雜。有位爸爸認真向女兒解說:「哪,舊陣時我地嘅祖先就係咁生活嘅啦!」聽到這說話我理應開心,但對欺騙他人特別是小朋友,又感到無比內咎。不禁自問我策展這展覽「究竟想點」?想了好一段時間,發覺我要的,是觀眾走出展場後腦袋混淆,未辨真假。這種脫掉「權威真實」的含糊狀態,正是步進搜尋、獨立思維第一步,而這非此非彼的混淆狀態,是醒覺的第一步,也是典型的盧亭。

遺憾的是,展覽開幕後除小撮人外,公眾及傳媒反應冷漠且不明所以。原打算連續五年舉辦相關盧亭展覽,看能否把神話變成深入人心,最後變得真實。計劃中每年聚焦不同題目,如神話如何被潮流化,或被扭曲商品化等。第二年的盧亭展覽反應仍冷淡,第三年展覽因缺資金已大為縮小,當然不為注意,之後心灰意冷,決定放棄繼續。

奇怪的是,盧亭消失了十多年後忽然復活。2014年天邊外劇場( Theatre Horizon)在愛丁堡國際藝穗節,以盧亭為主角演出《盧亭》,隨後在港演出《漁港夢百年:初入夢鄉》。2016年演出二部曲「噩夢連場」和2018年第三部曲「大夢初醒」,均以盧亭為主角,探討香港的歷史命運及當前處境,引來熾熱討論。之前盧亭亦有在流行媒體出現,2011年無線電視的《香港玄案》,有一集以「尋找盧亭人足跡」為題。

2014年香港動漫頻道製作「香港美人魚傳奇:盧亭」於網上發表。2016年有三位國內及本地評論人指出,周星馳的電影《美人魚》中主角實乃盧亭。2018年陳果導演的《三夫》,直指女主角小妹乃盧亭一族,而多年來視覺藝術工作者如張嘉莉、鮑藹倫、林東鵬等,紛以盧亭為題創作。 

盧亭復生,當然令我受寵若驚,但更值得深思的是,為何盧亭忽然復活?

(順便一提,當年三個盧亭展覽均獲不少文化、學術和藝術界朋友慷慨參與和支援,這系列展覽絕非我個人成就,這裡得說明並向他/她們致謝。)

 

 

[以下截圖是何慶基的Facebook帖文及與留言者的互動]

 

 

何慶基(1956–)身兼藝術家、策展人、藝術評論家和教育工作者,自1984年從美國回流後,於香港及國內多個著名藝術組織和高等教育機構擔任重要職位。他退休前為香港中文大學文化管理碩士課程主任,曾任香港藝術中心展覽總監、香港民政事務局高級研究主任、上海當代藝術館創館館長,以及西九龍文化區博物館顧問小組成員等。其策展和著作提倡從更宏觀的視覺文化脈絡理解藝術,以及藝術應該貼近群眾,開拓香港文化身份的想像。

版本

作者

HO Hingkay Oscar, 何慶基

主題
札記
日期
2021年9月24日 (星期五)

相關內容

thumbnail_0
與策展人語: 拆拆剪剪何慶基
系列

與策展人語: 拆拆剪剪何慶基

本札記系列輯錄何慶基在2021年七月份於文獻庫的Facebook專頁發表的中英雙語帖文,帖文當時與「何慶基檔案」同期發布

Talkover_2007_list
回到未來時:當代藝術與香港回歸
藝文 | 札記

回到未來時:當代藝術與香港回歸

陳建濃、黃湲婷、李嘉傑

oscar ho home
香港——追尋身分的策展之旅
藝文 | 文章

香港——追尋身分的策展之旅

何慶基記述他由尋找香港獨特的文化身份,到努力消弭這觀念的轉變。

Oscar Ho Hingkay Archive Banner
Oscar Ho Hing Kay Archive 何慶基檔案
館藏

Oscar Ho Hing Kay Archive 何慶基檔案

Hong Kong Reincarnated: New Lo Ting Archeological Find 香港三世書之再世書:盧亭考古新發現
館藏

Hong Kong Reincarnated: New Lo Ting Archeological Find 香港三世書之再世書:盧亭考古新發現

Lo Ting: New Discovery on 1197 Massacre 盧亭:1197大屠殺新發現
館藏

Lo Ting: New Discovery on 1197 Massacre 盧亭:1197大屠殺新發現

antique2
與策展人語: 拆拆剪剪何慶基
活動

與策展人語: 拆拆剪剪何慶基

2021年7月5日至30日

(Deconstruct and Edit - Oscar Ho on Curatorship)
Deconstruct and Edit: Oscar Ho on the Art of Curating
藝術家專集

Deconstruct and Edit: Oscar Ho on the Art of Curating

拆拆剪剪 - 何慶基展覽策劃故事
HO Hingkay Oscar, 何慶基
2016

Mapping Identities: The Art and Curating of Oscar Ho
Mapping Identities: The Art and Curating of Oscar Ho
藝術家專集

Mapping Identities: The Art and Curating of Oscar Ho

身份何在:何慶基的策展工作及藝術
2004