Notes

No Respect, No Hierarchy: “We Don’t Know How To Paint!”

Oscar Ho considers more expansive definitions of art, and some provocations around curatorial gatekeeping and authority.

Part Three of a series of notes by Oscar Ho, written for an AAA public programme on Facebook that coincided with the launch of his archive. The bilingual posts and Facebook interactions are available here on IDEAS Journal: Parts One, Two, and Four.

 

In 1993, I organised an exhibition titled ‘We Don’t Know How To Paint’ An Exhibition By People Who Think They Don’t Know How To Paint, which showcased works by creatives who claim that they don’t know how to paint. Professional arts organisations are naturally expected to exhibit works by serious, trained, and professional artists; being an important arts platform at the time, is it not discrediting for the Hong Kong Arts Centre to organise such an exhibition? In fact, the conceptualisation of this exhibition is rather complicated; it also originates from my own understanding of the arts, so allow me to elaborate.

Why do we create art yet emphasise our lack of knowledge? Perhaps it is not that we don’t know, but that we believe we are not up to par. It seems that society has a standard for deciding what is considered art and what is not, yet no one can clearly articulate what those standards are (dowdy statements such as “art must be beautiful” can be ignored). In any era, contemporary art is convoluted and controversial, without any clear rules; Duchamp’s urinal (The Fountain, 1917) and Manzoni’s canned faeces (Artist’s Shit, 1961) have already been included in the art history canon. It’s absurd that there are still egotistical people who will claim what is or isn’t art with conviction—but I met many such people within the art community when I returned to Hong Kong from the United States.

My question is, why are we still so insistent on defining what art is? In reality, if we were to give up on having a definition, the ecosystem would crumble; the rare “talented” and “genius” artist would cease to exist in a time where anyone can be an artist. As for the collectors who are looking to make a profit to show off their knowledge and taste, collecting becomes pointless.

However, if we cannot draw a line, how can we tell if one “knows how to paint”? From another perspective, though trying to grapple with a standard for art is a real head scratcher, we still seem to have certain methods to determine if something leans towards the better or the worse, and if they’re genuine or not. This type of obscure decision-making comes from positions of authority and expertise: reputable organisations, academics, curators, and art critics (of course, we’re only talking about the influential ones!)—and for authoritarian countries, the power falls to the leaders. The weirder contemporary art becomes, the more our confuzzled audiences will rely on such experts. It doesn’t matter if there isn’t a standard—as long as there are authoritative organisations and people, it’s enough. Whenever the New York Museum of Modern Art organises blockbuster solo exhibitions, the artist’s work is automatically deemed to be good art, and all the more with the museum’s name attached. Perhaps there are some people who would disagree with such curation, but most of the general audience would accept these archetypes. If the crowd can’t understand an exhibit or work, many would just resign themselves to the notion that they just “don’t know art,” and give up, leaving it to the “experts.” My exhibition on Lo Ting actually also touches upon this issue.

When I returned to Hong Kong in the mid-1980s, this situation was very prominent in the city; the public lacked knowledge and interest in art, and the small yet isolated art community continued to feed into elitism. Riding on the back of the notion of Hong Kong as a refined society, nepotism grew and a hierarchy was developed. Ink art dominated official art institutions, and while there were the occasional young art practitioners working with contemporary art, it was difficult for them to be a part of the mainstream.

I should probably explain my artistic background. When I was studying art as an undergraduate in Canada, I was deeply interested in the newly trending “new art history,” and believed that other than analysing visual forms and styles, we should adopt broader political, cultural, and social perspectives, and to remain critical of the hidden power structures within. The idea of viewing art with a more expansive attitude was also influenced by the anthropological departure from binary thinking, since creative expression is an indispensable and natural activity of any community.

When I was in graduate school at University of California, Davis, the school was the main hub of California Funk Art. Teachers such as Wayne Thiebaud, Roy DeForest, and Robert Arneson liked to take inspiration from folk, mainstream, and pop culture. For them, things are just the way they are; a child’s hobby is soccer, beer girls like to dress up, a chubby boy likes to draw—what is the point of being pretentious? Such an artistic view had clearly opposed the artistic elitism from the East coast.

Carrying this training with me back to Hong Kong to face this hierarchical and condescending cultural community, it’s not hard to imagine the clash I experienced. Yet I enjoyed challenging this conservative sensitivity. And so, for the first exhibition I organised as the newly appointed Exhibition Director of the Hong Kong Arts Centre in 1988, we flirted with the topic “Is This Art?” Living with Art was the first exhibition I was tasked with, and the show takes after the Royal Academy of Art’s annual Summer Exhibition, a highly respected event in which the works are judged by a selection committee, showcasing the United Kingdom’s latest art scene each year. However, given how small and elitist the art scene is in Hong Kong, it would soon be the same group of people at the top over and over again—so boring. At the time, I needed to establish a selection committee to choose the exhibiting works and immediately I was faced with the big question: Who has the right to decide what is art? With the responsibility to appoint the selection committee members, my power was even greater. Back then, the main exhibition spaces in Hong Kong were the forerunner of the Hong Kong Museum of Art at City Hall, and the perceivably “more progressive” Hong Kong Arts Centre. Being the curator of a central arts platform, naturally there was considerable power to evaluate and define art, and to be the guiding light for the public to learn from. It’s quite arrogant and egotistical to say this; but during the development of this small cultural community, there really was a certain amount of power on my part.

There are people out there who would enjoy such authority but I, on the other hand, felt infinite stress. Not only does this attitude betray my own art view, but I also didn’t feel ready to carry this burden. With so many different perspectives and motivations in looking at art, why is it that some people have the privilege to criticise art? In order to disseminate this power, I decided to just demolish the selection committee—anyone who participated would have their work exhibited. Of course, such a move within a highbrow institute like the Hong Kong Arts Centre was rather bold, and it took me a lot of effort to have to explain this to the team. I said since there weren’t many professional creatives, as I mentioned earlier, we should instead take on a sociological perspective and look at the distribution and categories of creative programmes. When the Arts Centre opened its doors, the public flooded in to participate, filling the exhibition space with works all the way to the staircase outside the room—participants came from all lines of work. The only ones who didn’t take part were artists. The art industry obviously wasn’t happy with my first exhibition; South China Morning Post art critic Nigel Cameron wrote that he hoped there wouldn’t be a next time. Though professor Matthew Turner from the Hong Kong Polytechnic University quite liked the show.

It was a historic opening night, with grandparents, parents, and children coming to take photographs of their family’s participating works, which ranged from children’s drawings to laborious imitations. If we were to abandon elitism and observed how different community sectors created “art” and what kinds of issues they were concerned with, it would be just as interesting.

It was within my expectations that the cultural sector and press media would be apathetic, but my biggest challenge? If we don’t need to pick and choose, why do we need curators? If every exhibition ditched all standards and allowed anything to be exhibited, it would only take a few of these to make them all essentially the same exhibition. None will come to see them either. I had forced myself into a corner with the first exhibition, after which I was thrown into a complicated process of struggle, of contemplation, and searching of answers—I’ll clarify this in the next part if I can.

We Don’t Know How To Paint! extends this train of thought, allowing a group of self-proclaimed unschooled people to show their work, to let them fully immerse themselves in the process—does it not motivate you to reflect on what meaning and motivation creativity has outside of technique and profundity? It was self-contradictory for the “Arts” Centre to openly invite people who don’t know how to paint to showcase their work, but it was only through such a move that we could provoke reflection.

I kept grappling with and ruminating on my curatorial projects in my first few years as Exhibition Director, especially with regards to the conservative arts community. My anti-prejudicial attitude on art has not changed. Instead, it developed in a multitude of directions. For example, like we did with community art, we brought comics onto the pedestal of art. During those early years, I organised a number of exhibitions that challenged the existence of art, curators, and institutions. Though there were still many other issues that popped up as time went on, this area of exploration remained. It seems that the tendency to provoke, and to turn things on their heads, is an innate characteristic of mine, so if you must find a reason, you can blame my mother la!

 

 

[Screenshots of Oscar's post and interactions on Facebook]

 

 

Oscar Ho Hing Kay (b. 1956) is an artist, curator, art critic, and educator. He has held various prominent positions in established arts organisations and higher education institutions in Hong Kong and China since his return from the US in 1984. He has recently retired from his position as the Programme Director of the MA programme in Cultural Management at the Chinese University of Hong Kong. He was appointed the Exhibition Director at the Hong Kong Arts Centre, the Senior Research Officer at the Home Affairs Bureau of the Hong Kong Government, Founding Director of Museum of Contemporary Art in Shanghai, and a member of the Museum Advisory Group for the West Kowloon Cultural District, just to name a few. His curatorial practice and writings advocate for an understanding of art in the broader context of visual culture, as well as art’s accessibility to the public, highlighting its role in the construction of Hong Kong’s cultural identities.

Imprint

Author

HO Hingkay Oscar, 何慶基

Topic
Notes
Date
Fri, 24 Sep 2021

Relevant content

thumbnail_0
Ask the Curator: Oscar Ho's Curatorial Projects
Series

Ask the Curator: Oscar Ho's Curatorial Projects

Notes by Oscar Ho Hing Kay on cultural identity, social inclusion in the arts, and Hong Kong visual culture

list_2005_06_pers
On My Way
Ideas | Notes

On My Way

Oscar Ho reflects on art infrastructure and curatorial management in Hong Kong and Shanghai

Oscar Ho Hingkay Archive Banner
Oscar Ho Hing Kay Archive 何慶基檔案
Collections

Oscar Ho Hing Kay Archive 何慶基檔案

'We Don't Know How to Paint' An Exhibition by People Who Think They Don't Know How to Paint「我地唔識畫㗎!」覺得自己不會畫畫的人的畫展
Collections

'We Don't Know How to Paint' An Exhibition by People Who Think They Don't Know How to Paint「我地唔識畫㗎!」覺得自己不會畫畫的人的畫展

antique2
Ask the Curator: Oscar Ho’s Curatorial Projects
Programmes

Ask the Curator: Oscar Ho’s Curatorial Projects

5–30 Jul 2021

(Deconstruct and Edit - Oscar Ho on Curatorship)
Deconstruct and Edit: Oscar Ho on the Art of Curating
Artist Monograph

Deconstruct and Edit: Oscar Ho on the Art of Curating

拆拆剪剪 - 何慶基展覽策劃故事
HO Hingkay Oscar, 何慶基
2016

Mapping Identities: The Art and Curating of Oscar Ho
Mapping Identities: The Art and Curating of Oscar Ho
Artist Monograph

Mapping Identities: The Art and Curating of Oscar Ho

身份何在:何慶基的策展工作及藝術
2004

札記

冇大冇細、尊卑不分:《我哋唔識畫畫㗎!》

何慶基思考何謂「藝術」、「策展」的取捨,以及評核和界定藝術的權力。

此札記系列輯錄了何慶基為文獻庫的Facebook專頁活動「與策展人語: 拆拆剪剪何慶基」而撰寫的帖文,以及他與留言者的互動。帖文當時與「何慶基檔案」同期發布。此札記為本系列的第三篇,請在《藝文》閱讀首篇次篇末篇

 

1993年我搞咗個《「我地唔識畫㗎!」覺得自己不會畫畫的人的畫展》,展品來自自稱不懂繪畫但仍堅持創作的人。專業藝術機構,理應展出認真、訓練有素且專業投入的藝術家的作品。作為當時重要藝術平台的藝術中心忽然搞這樣展覽,是否要自拆招牌?其實這展覽構思複雜,也源自我對藝術的延綿思維,請聽我細說。

為何學人搞藝術又強調自己不懂?或許未必真的不懂,而是自覺未夠班。社會好像有準則決定什麼是藝術什麼不是,但又沒人能清晰說明基於那些什麼準則(要靚才是藝術這類大媽言論大可不理)。何況現代、當代藝術錯縱複雜、眾說紛紜,從沒清晰準則,杜象(Duchamp)的尿兜、曼佐尼(Manzoni)的罐頭屎,早已走進藝術史。如果仍有人以為自己抓着真理,煞有介事的說這是藝術那不是,實有點荒謬。偏偏那時候剛從美國回港,本地藝術圈卻遇上好些這類人。

我想問,為何仍執著於什麼是藝術什麼不是?現實是如果放棄界定藝術,再沒有罕有天才精英藝術家,任何人搞的都是藝術時,唔少人會仆哂街,因為炒賣藝術來賺錢或演嘢,展示知識才華和品味,就變得無意義。

但如果準則未能界定,又何來「識唔識畫畫」?另一方面,準則雖然唔清唔楚令人丈八金剛,但我們似乎又有些方法界定孰優孰劣、是真是假。這隠晦的藝術界定來自權威:權威機構、學者、策展人和藝評人(當然係知名嗰啲啦!),而極權國家則由領導人決定。當藝術變得越古靈精怪,迷惘的公眾得便越倚賴權威,沒準則不重要,有權威機構、人物即可。當紐約現代藝術館展搞藝術家大展時,她/他的作品定是優秀藝術,藝術館名聲為作品加上榮光。更重要的是策展人,她/他根據自己準則決定選擇某藝術家時,已經界定了什麼是優秀藝術,可能有些人不接受這選取,但大部份人會接受這權威準則。如果睇唔明,很多人也只會自我否定地講聲「唉,藝術依味嘢,我真係唔識」,然後自我放棄,交俾「專家」決定(其實我的盧亭展覽也觸及這問題)。

上世紀八十年代中回港時,這情況在香港很強烈。公眾對藝術缺認知也沒興趣,自成一國的細小藝術圈不單充斥精英主義。文質彬彬的友善背後,大佬文化強烈,地位高低尊卑鮮明。水墨雄霸官方藝術機構,當時徐徐出現搞當代藝術的年輕藝術工作者,但他們很難走進官方主導的藝術圈。

這裏得交代我的藝術背景。在加拿大讀藝術本科時,我對剛興起的「新藝術史」深感興趣,相信除形式風格外,也應從更寬的政治、文化和社會角度看藝術,對當中隱藏的權力架構更持批評態度。而對藝術採極寛廣的看法,亦受人類學那跳出高低優劣裁判,視創意表述為任何社群不可或缺的自然活動的思想影響。

我在加州大學戴維斯學院讀研究院時,該校藝術系當時是加州 Funk Art 的大本營,老師如 Wayne Thiebaud、Roy De Forest及Robert Arneson等喜歡從民間、通俗及流行文化中獲取靈感。他們認為,小明鍾意踢波,啤女喜歡扮靚,肥仔最愛繪畫,就是這樣,何必大條道理扮哂嘢?這藝術觀擺明與東岸的精英藝術主義對著幹。

帶著這背景返到香港這高低鮮明、看不起「鄙俗」的文化圈,所遇衝擊不難想像,但我又偏偏喜歡挑戰這保守心態。上任藝術中心後的首個展覽,正要把玩這「是不是藝術」議題。1988年底於藝術中心上任的首個展覽,是接手前任已安排的《藝術化生活》公開展。展覽原是模仿倫敦皇家藝術研究院(Royal Academy of Arts )每年舉辦的《夏天藝展》(Summer Exhibition)公開展,透過評選展出,每年一目睹英國藝術新景象,備受各方重視。但香港藝術圈細小且精英心態濃烈,搞上去很快便會來來去去都是那群人,必然悶死。當時我要設立評選委員會評選參展作品,我馬上面對大問題:誰有資格決定這是藝術那不是?我更要負責選擇評選員,權力更大。當時香港主要展場只有大會堂的香港藝術館和被視為較「進步」的香港藝術中心。作為這核心平台的策展人,自然有強大評核和界定藝術的影響力,引導公眾認知藝術。說來好像有點跨張兼自大,但在尚待發展的細小文化圈,這影響力切實存在。

有人會享受這權力,我反而感壓力無限,不單因這態度違背我藝術觀,更覺未能承擔這重任。看藝術各有觀點取捨動機,為何有些人別具指點江山的大權?為了拆解這權威架構,我決定乾脆取消評審團,任何人參加都會展出。當然此舉在形象相當精英的藝術中心來說,是相當大膽,我要花唇舌作內部解釋,例如前述的專業創作人不多,因而改從社會學角度,看創意活動的分佈和類別。藝術中心大開中門,公眾洶湧參與,展場至外邊樓梯也擠滿展品,參加者各行各業什麼人都有,只是欠了行內藝術家參加。我首個展覽便搞這玩意,藝術界自然不滿,南華早報藝評人金馬倫(Nigel Cameron)說,希望只此一次下不為例。反而理大教授田邁修(Mathew Turner)極喜歡展覽。

開幕夜盛況空前,因有家人參展,阿爺阿嫲一家大小都全出動拍照,由兒童畫至模仿的,形形式式應有盡有,如能夠放棄精英定義,以另一角度觀察不同社群搞什麼「藝術」、關注什麼議題,也可以趣味盎然。

文化界、傳媒反應冷淡,正如所料,但我的最大挑戰是,如果不用刪選取捨,要策展人來幹啥?假如每個展覽都放棄標準任由展出,搞上一兩個便會一模一樣,到時真是搵鬼嚟睇。第一個展覽我便把把自己迫埋死角,隨後連串的掙扎、思維和尋找答案過程頗複雜,容後有機會再細談。

《我哋唔識畫㗎!》延續這思維,請來一班自稱不懂繪畫的人展出作品,他/她們的全情投入,令人反思除了技巧和高深內容,創作尚有何意義和觸動力?「藝術中心」高調請來不懂藝術的人來展出,分明是自打嘴吧,但只有這類的行動,才能激發反思。

初任策展人的幾年,對策展工作有不少反思和掙扎,特別是在當時封建保守的藝術圈,這反狹窄眼光看藝術的態度一直沒變,而且向多方面發展,例如參與社群藝術,把漫畫帶進藝術高台。起初幾年,搞了好幾個挑戰藝術、策展人以及藝術機機本身的展覽,其後雖然多了其他議題,但這方面的探索一直存在,因為撩是鬥非,喜歡反轉事物來看的性格是天生的,要怪就怪我阿媽啦!

 

 

[以下截圖是何慶基的Facebook帖文及與留言者的互動]

 

 

何慶基(1956–)身兼藝術家、策展人、藝術評論家和教育工作者,自1984年從美國回流後,於香港及國內多個著名藝術組織和高等教育機構擔任重要職位。他退休前為香港中文大學文化管理碩士課程主任,曾任香港藝術中心展覽總監、香港民政事務局高級研究主任、上海當代藝術館創館館長,以及西九龍文化區博物館顧問小組成員等。其策展和著作提倡從更宏觀的視覺文化脈絡理解藝術,以及藝術應該貼近群眾,開拓香港文化身份的想像。

版本

作者

HO Hingkay Oscar, 何慶基

主題
札記
日期
2021年9月19日 (星期日)

相關內容

thumbnail_0
與策展人語: 拆拆剪剪何慶基
系列

與策展人語: 拆拆剪剪何慶基

本札記系列輯錄何慶基在2021年七月份於文獻庫的Facebook專頁發表的中英雙語帖文,帖文當時與「何慶基檔案」同期發布

Oscar Ho Hingkay Archive Banner
Oscar Ho Hing Kay Archive 何慶基檔案
館藏

Oscar Ho Hing Kay Archive 何慶基檔案

'We Don't Know How to Paint' An Exhibition by People Who Think They Don't Know How to Paint「我地唔識畫㗎!」覺得自己不會畫畫的人的畫展
館藏

'We Don't Know How to Paint' An Exhibition by People Who Think They Don't Know How to Paint「我地唔識畫㗎!」覺得自己不會畫畫的人的畫展

antique2
與策展人語: 拆拆剪剪何慶基
活動

與策展人語: 拆拆剪剪何慶基

2021年7月5日至30日

(Deconstruct and Edit - Oscar Ho on Curatorship)
Deconstruct and Edit: Oscar Ho on the Art of Curating
藝術家專集

Deconstruct and Edit: Oscar Ho on the Art of Curating

拆拆剪剪 - 何慶基展覽策劃故事
HO Hingkay Oscar, 何慶基
2016

Mapping Identities: The Art and Curating of Oscar Ho
Mapping Identities: The Art and Curating of Oscar Ho
藝術家專集

Mapping Identities: The Art and Curating of Oscar Ho

身份何在:何慶基的策展工作及藝術
2004