To illustrate our archive’s activity, we have included excerpts of two oral history interviews. One is by Kunie Sugiura, a conceptually-based photographer, whose interview was conducted in September 2008, with Reiko Tomii as a lead interviewer and myself as a second interviewer. We decided to interview Sugiura because she is one of the rare artists in her generation who moved to the US in the early 1960s to receive formal art education (in her case, studying photography at the School of the Art Institute of Chicago). The other artist we chose to include in this issue of Field Notes is Miyako Ishiuchi, a self-taught photographer. Having grown up in Yokosuka, where the US Navy is based, she was active in the student movement in the late 1960s. Her interview took place in December 2010, with Reiko Kokatsu as a lead interviewer and Izumi Nakajima a second interviewer.

Translated excerpts of each interview offer an interesting comparison between the photographic perspectives of the two artists. The two share certain biographical backgrounds, as each described in detail in her interview. Both of their mothers worked at US military bases. Sugiura’s mother worked at a PX (Post Exchange) of the US forces in Tokyo, and Ishiuchi’s mother worked as a driver at the Yokosuka base. While Sugiura had a good experience with friendly and generous American people, Ishiuchi’s mother was maltreated by her fellow Japanese people for working for the US forces. This might partly explain their future careers: Sugiura moved to the US at the age of twenty, continuing to live there today, whereas Ishiuchi debuted her first photobook on Yokosuka, and in recent years started a series on objects that survived the atomic bombing in Hiroshima.

However, reading the two interviews together reveals certain commonality between the two artists: Sugiura and Ishiuchi both faced a male-dominated value system of the art world, in Japan and in the US. Sugiura moved to the US, seeing no future for women with higher education in Japan, but she still had to confront her well-meaning male professor who thought women photographers should pursue documentary photography rather than contemporary experimental photography and assigned her to document a Japanese-American family’s life. In the case of Ishiuchi, she felt ill at ease first with the male-led student movement and then the male photographers' gaze on Yokosuka. This latter situation led her to decide to make her own photographs of her hometown from a female point of view.

Their situations are relevant to our own archival activities, too, as about 80 percent of Oral History Archives of Japanese Art interviewees are currently male, a fact which reflects the dominance of male perspectives in postwar Japanese art. Aware of this imbalance, we have tried to incorporate as many women’s voices as possible into our project. However, we chose these two interviews to be translated into English for Field Notes not simply because of their subject’s genders, but because of their excellent artistic achievements and the great clarity and intelligence they demonstrate in their interviews.

Imprint

Author

Hiroko IKEGAMI, 池上裕子

Topic
Essays
Date
Sat, 1 Dec 2012

Relevant content

AAA Project Space, Archiving Materials
Ideas is AAA's New Online Journal
Press

Ideas is AAA's New Online Journal

Asia Art Archive publishes new essays, interviews, and curated journeys through the research collections

爲了說明日本藝術口述歷史文獻庫的活動,我們節錄了當中兩篇口述史訪問稿。一篇是杉浦邦恵(Kunie Sugiura)的訪問,她以攝影為媒介從事概念藝術。訪問於2008年9月由富井玲子(Reiko Tomii)主持,我從旁協助。我們之所以訪問她,是因為1960年代初很少有人像她那樣移居美國受教育(在芝加哥藝術學院攻讀攝影)。另一篇訪問是無師自通的攝影師石內都(Miyako Ishiuchi),她在美國海軍基地橫須賀成長,1960年代後期積極參與學生運動;採訪於2010年12月由小勝禮子(Reiko Kokatsu )主持,中嶋泉(Izumi Nakajima)協助提問。

以下選譯的這兩篇訪問,可從中比較出兩位藝術家對攝影的不同看法,十分有意思。她們在訪問所透露的生平背景,不乏類似之處。兩人的母親都在美軍基地工作:杉浦的媽媽在東京美軍基地的零售商店做事,而石內的媽媽則在橫須賀基地當司機。杉浦媽媽遇到的都是友善大方的美國人,而石內媽媽卻因替美軍效力而給日本同胞欺侮。可能是這個原因,影響了兩人的未來職業:杉浦二十歲定居美國至今,而石內的第一本攝影集是關於橫須賀的,近年更著手拍攝在廣島原子彈爆炸後殘餘下來的物件。


不過,兩篇訪問合而觀之,可看出兩位藝術家的共同處境:就是同樣得抗衡藝術世界裏男性當道的價值體系,不管是在日本還是美國。杉浦眼看受過良好教育的日本婦女沒有前途,但搬去美國之後,仍得應付男教授的一番善意——那個男教授認為女攝影師應該從事紀實攝影,而不要碰當代的實驗攝影,於是指派她去記錄一個日裔美國家庭的日常生活。至於石內,先是對由男性領導的學生運動不以為然,然後對男攝影師觀看橫須賀的眼光深感不安,於是決定自己端起相機,用女性的角度拍攝家鄉小城。

他們的處境對我們文獻庫的活動也不無啓發,因為日本藝術家口述歷史檔案目前所訪問的人,約有八成是男性,表明戰後日本藝術界是男性的天下。我們意識到這不平衡的現象,已儘量在計劃中加入女性的聲音。而我們挑選這兩篇訪問來翻譯,不僅因為受訪者是女性,也因為她們有傑出的藝術成就,而在訪問中,她們的思路清晰、見解不凡。

版本

作者

Hiroko IKEGAMI, 池上裕子

主題
文章
日期
2012年12月1日 (星期六)

相關內容

AAA Project Space, Archiving Materials
文獻庫推出全新線上刊物《藝文》
新聞稿

文獻庫推出全新線上刊物《藝文》

逢星期一,亞洲藝術文獻庫會刊登新評論和專訪,以及介紹研究館藏內的精選項目