Ideas

Part-time Pedagogies: Introducing Three Places for Emancipatory Learning

Through annotated illustrations, Michael Leung reflects on the potential for emancipatory learning in Hong Kong

 

Image: Michael Leung, <i>Part-time Pedagogies Timeline</i>, 2018.
Image: Michael Leung, Part-time Pedagogies Timeline, 2018.

After eight years of part-time teaching, I would like to explore the potential for finding and building new sites for emancipatory learning in Hong Kong. This reflective text gathers my pedagogical experiences and explores a few questions: Does part-time teaching catalyse alternative pedagogical potential or stagnate it? Does full-time teaching limit contact with the everyday and the ability to connect with other terrans (people, animals, biodiversity, bacteria, etc.)?1 Can pedagogy as solidarity be effective, and what visibility and longevity does it have? These reflections are part of a process, relying on mutual exchanges between students, community, and faculty members; and serves as an invitation to others to reflect on their own pedagogical experiences and share them in the public domain–contributing notes and ideas that may influence future education.

 

Pang Jai Fabric Market, Hong Kong

In 2014 I started teaching part-time at the Academy of Visual Arts at Hong Kong Baptist University. During the 2014/15 academic year, I taught with Leung Mee-ping (Momo) in the MVA Interdisciplinary Practice for the Visual Arts course, which we decided to hold in Sham Shui Po. The course included a tour of the Pang Jai fabric market for postgraduate students—five of which selected it as the site for their project.

Through February to April 2015, students Aaron d’Aquino, Kristen Kam, Hong Liu, Gloria Poon, and Arabii So spent time surrounded by rolls of fabric and speaking with the fifty-three fabric sellers inside Pang Jai. The key part of their project came a few months later, when Mr. Ho (one of the fabric sellers) contacted Kristen and informed her that the Food and Environmental Hygiene Department (a government statutory body) told the fabric sellers they will be relocated in December 2015, and even asked Mr. Ho to vacate one of his market stall units.

I hadn’t spoken to those students for a few months, but when I received news that Mr. Ho called them for support, I was delighted to know that the relationship had evolved beyond their university project, into one of mutual aid. The former students were quick to organise an initial meeting with fabric sellers and Leung Chi Yuen from the Department of Applied Social Sciences, The Hong Kong Polytechnic University. At the next meeting, a Pang Jai Concern Group was formed to oversee an equitable and just future for the fabric sellers.

Half a year later, the Pang Jai Concern Group grew in size and conceived the idea of a Pang Jai Summer School, a series of five free sharings and a concluding group discussion that invited existing members of the concern group and the public (even new volunteers) to join.2 The speakers included the aforementioned Leung Chi Yuen; Ricky Yeung Sau Cheuk (artist and educator kindly invited by Arabii); Ng Mee Kam (Department of Geography and Resource Management, The Chinese University of Hong Kong); and myself (sharing social design and creative practices used within the Pang Jai movement).

The Pang Jai Summer School was a catalyst for bottom-up community planning and exemplifies a pedagogy of solidarity, one where students return to support those who once supported their university work. Such an alternative pedagogy can constantly be built upon, and I have since introduced another dimension of Pang Jai (it’s fauna and flora) as part of The Hong Kong Botanical Commons in 2017, a Hong Kong workshop with Zurich University of the Arts.3

Last November 2017 in Tokyo, at a three-day public art exhibition titled Teratotera, Pang Jai handkerchieves were embroidered in a street school conceived by researcher Kenichiro Egami.4 More recently in May 2018, another Pangkerchief embroidery circle was organised in an event called Stitching Commons in Osaka.5 Both solidarity workshops became platforms to share Pang Jai’s struggle and construct a collective knowledge through dialogue6—one that is intuitive, yet open to unpredictable encounters, revealing other struggles around the world.7

 

Kai Fong Pai Dong, Hong Kong

Kai Fong Pai Dong is a self-organised neighbourhood market stall founded in November 2015 and located on a Yau Ma Tei intersection that’s home to a fruit and vegetable market, hardware shops, and several nursing homes.

Since December 2015 I have been teaching “Relaxing English Lessons” at the stall.8 It was initially priced at give-what-you-think, but evolved to be something free and more accessible. Students have included neighbours such as Yeung, Lucille, Victor, Brian, and Bosco. The “relaxing” element of the lessons attempts to teach English (my primary language) in a “non-school-like” manner, which is often rote learning with textbooks, audio files, and exams. My lessons are tailored to the requirements of the students and involves the streetscape, as we are situated in a public space.

I recall a lesson with eleven-year-old Bosco, which included providing him with a 35mm film camera to take photos of people in the neighbourhood, then visiting a photo developing shop and kindly requesting processing, printing, and scanning onto a CD—all in English. This example of an embodied learning experience invites people to co-learn in the comfort of their own environment, becoming a mobile and expansive learning space. The urban pedagogy of Kai Fong Pai Dong’s events are accessible to anyone who walks past, and collectively build alternatives to spaces organised around more neoliberal behaviours.

 

Zone à Défendre, Notre-Dame-des-Landes, Nantes, France

Zone à Défendre (“Zone to Defend” in English, commonly known as the ZAD) is an autonomous territory located in Notre-Dame-des-Landes, west of France. Since 1968 the 2,000-acre rural land was threatened by the government’s plan to build another Nantes airport. In 2008, farmers welcomed anarchists to occupy the territory, collectively known as the ZADistes. Following one failed eviction in 2012, the cancellation of the new airport in January 2018, and a second partial eviction in April 2018, the ZADistes continue to live and farm on the land to create a new commune for the twenty-first century that opposes late capitalism, advocates the commons, and values small-scale farming that doesn’t exploit farmers and the land.9

At the ZAD, the commons exist in everyone's shared and collective way of life. For example, it is visible where collectives farm (the numerous collective gardens whose produce is shared with outside struggles and at the free Non-Market on Fridays) and produce knowledge (at the boat-shaped library and through the collective work and sharing of skills, such as foraging and cheese making).

This July I spent eight days at the ZAD.10 Working on the collective farms, we weeded carrots and applied mulch around courgettes, discussing recent evictions and brainstorming ideas on how to confront the militarised police in non-violent and creative ways. The conversations continued from plot to plot, and at an event called Confrontation Créative, where participants shared front-line protest experiences from Paris, Glasgow, and Istanbul.

This experience has led me to think about pedagogical possibilities that can happen within the land struggles in Hong Kong (including the North East New Territories and the Wang Chau Village), and how to expand upon last year’s Wang Chau banner-making workshop, which itself was inspired by INLAND and Casco Art Institute’s banners for the Monsanto Trial and People's Assembly in 2016 in The Hague.11

 

Previous Next

 

These different sites and communities create social epistemologies—some tangible, and some invisible in the moment. The learning process between student, community, and educator is mutual, especially in situations when no monetary transactions bind the encounter, as with the Pang Jai Summer School and “Relaxing English Lessons,” in contrast to the neoliberalised university.12 But alas, one has to survive and pay rent—and student loans—the precarity and complicity of part-time teaching in relation to pursuing autonomy and alternative pedagogies.

What is clear from the aforementioned three places is the importance of learning outside the conventional institutional environments, which may seem obvious, but then raises the question of which alternative spaces can encourage such alternative pedagogical potential? Which Hong Kong institutions have the (emotional) skills, resources, and imagination to offer inclusive and radical pedagogical platforms? I think of places like BAK (Utrecht), Autonome Schule Zürich (Zurich), and v-artivist (Hong Kong); and based on recommendations from friends, I have assembled other pedagogical platforms on a Graph Commons entitled “Pedagogy Now.”13

I hope this encourages others, especially faculty members of all levels, to reflect and share their experiences and gestures in the public domain—contributing to an alternative pedagogy at once intuitive and contagious across cultures, borders, and worlds.

 

Michael Leung is an artist/designer, urban farmer, and visiting lecturer in Hong Kong. His projects range from collective urban agriculture projects, such as The HK FARMers' Almanac, to Pangkerchief, a collection of objects produced by Pang Jai Fabric Market in Sham Shui Po.

 

Notes

1. “Maybe, but only maybe, and only with intense commitment and collaborative work and play with other terrans, flourishing for rich multispecies assemblages that include people will be possible. I am calling all this the Chthulucene–past, present, and to come.” (Donna Haraway, Staying with the Trouble: Making Kin in the Chthulucene)

2. Facebook event: https://www.facebook.com/events/269164220128762

3. The students also visited Wang Chau Village and were kindly invited by villager Ms Tong into her house to try her homemade fruit enzyme drink, which she later taught us how to make. www.tinyurl.com/HKBotanicalCommons

4. http://teratotera.jp/events/matsuri2017

5. https://www.facebook.com/events/226417728111026/?active_tab=discussion

6. Nathalia E. Jaramillo and Michelle E. Carreon, “Pedagogies of Resistance and Solidarity: Towards Revolutionary and Decolonial Praxis,” Interface: A Journal of Social Movements 1, vol. 6: 392–411. http://www.interfacejournal.net/wordpress/wp-content/uploads/2014/06/Interface-6-1-Jaramillo-and-Carreon.pdf

7. http://choyu.hatenablog.com/entry/2018/06/30/222825

8. http://paidong.tumblr.com/tagged/english

9. https://zadforever.blog/2018/04/24/the-revenge-against-the-commons

10. http://www.tinyurl.com/WorkingfortheCommons

11. http://tinyurl.com/jackfruitfest2018

12. Robert H. Haworth and John M. Elmore, eds., Out of the Ruins, The Emergence of Radical Informal Learning Spaces (PM Press, 2017), 225. See also: https://roarmag.org/essays/academic-alienation-cognitive-labor-capitalism

13. With special thanks to Marysia Lewandowska, Stevphen Shukaitis, Jennifer Teo, and Pelin Tan.

Imprint

Author

Michael LEUNG, 梁志剛

Topic
Notes
Date
Wed, 19 Sep 2018

Relevant content

15invitations_marysia
15 Invitations | Marysia Lewandowska | Property, Protest, Commons, and the Alternative Economies of Art
Programmes

15 Invitations | Marysia Lewandowska | Property, Protest, Commons, and the Alternative Economies of Art

Apr–May 2015

Very MK_Cover
Very MK
Collection

Very MK

好旺角

Solidarity Street_Cover
Solidarity Street
Collection

Solidarity Street

同心大道
Michael LEUNG, 梁志剛
2017

Wooferten's Art/Activist in Residence 2013 - 2015
Wooferten's Art/Activist in Residence 2013 - 2015
Collection

Wooferten's Art/Activist in Residence 2013 - 2015

活化廳藝術行動者駐場計劃 2013 - 2015
2016

藝文

業餘教育學︰為解放教育而設的三個場所

香港的解放教育有何潛力?以下為梁志剛透過圖文為你解答。

 

Image: Michael Leung, <i>Part-time Pedagogies Timeline</i>.
梁志剛,《業餘教育學大事表》。

經歷了八年的業餘教育生涯後,我想探索一下在香港尋找和建構解放學習場域的可能。此文收錄了我對過去教育學經驗的反思,並探索了幾個問題︰究竟業餘教學是激發了另類教育學的可能,還是令之停滯不前?全職教學是否限制了學生和日常事物、甚至是和人、動物、生物多樣性、細菌等不同場域的接觸?1以教育學來團結社區和人有效嗎?它的能見度有多高?又可以維持多久?學生、社區和學院成員之間的交流構成了一個過程,而這些反思都是過程的一部分,間接邀請讀者一同反思個人的教育學經驗並在公有領域進行分享,寫下可能影響未來教育的雜記和想法。

 

香港棚仔布市場

我自2014年開始在香港浸會大學視覺藝術學系兼職授課。在2014/15學年間,我和梁美萍(Momo)一同教授名為「視藝的跨學科實踐」的視覺藝術碩士課。我們最後決定在深水埗上課,並安排了一場棚仔布市場導賞團——該課中有五名學生均以棚仔布市場為研究對象。

從2015年二月到四月,Aaron d’Aquino、Kristen Kam、Hong Liu、Gloria Poon和Arabii So等學生花了不少時間在棚仔打轉,和五十三個布販對話。幾個月後,其中一位布販何先生告訴Kristen,食物環境衛生署已通知了所有布販,指布攤將於同年十二被重新安置,並要求何先生清空他其中一個攤檔。當時,我已好幾個月沒有和那些學生聯繫了,但在聽到何先生找他們幫忙時,便感到欣慰;因為他們之間萌生了超出研究關係的互助情誼。那些學生很快就聯同香港理工大學應用社會科學系的梁志遠博士,和布販進行了第一次會議。在下一次會議中,他們便已成立了棚仔關注組,以監察布販的未來發展並確保其公正。

半年後,棚仔關注組的發展愈趨成熟,成立棚仔暑期學堂的念頭亦逐漸成形。當時的構想是組織一連五個分享會和總結性討論,邀請關注組成員和公眾(甚至是新志工)參加。2講者則包括梁志遠、楊秀卓(由Arabii邀來的藝術家兼教育家)、伍美琴(香港中文大學地理與資源管理學系教授)和我自己(負責分享在棚仔運動裡用到的社會設計和創意實踐)。

棚仔暑期學堂激發了其他由下而上的社區計劃,並強化了一種團結的教育學——學生重返社區去幫助那些曾協助他們完成大學研究的人。這種另類教育學能不斷累積,而我自此便開始推廣棚仔的另一面向——動植物群——作為2017年The Hong Kong Botanical Commons(一個香港與蘇黎世藝術大學合辦的工作坊)的一部分。3

棚仔手帕的繡工在去年十一月東京一個為期三日的公共藝術展覽《Teratotera》上、一所由研究員Kenichiro Egami建立的街校裡完成。4今年五月,另一個《Pangkerchief》刺繡圈在大阪的活動Stitching Commons中成立。5 以上兩個團結工作坊都成為了分享棚仔奮鬥歷程的平台,並讓人們透過對話6 建構公有知識——這種對話是具直覺性、對所有未知保持開放態度的,並因此揭示了世界各地的鬥爭。7

 

香港街坊排檔

街坊排檔成立於2015年,是一個自發組織的街坊攤檔市場,位於油麻地一個由蔬果攤、五金舖和幾所老人中心組成的交界。

我自2015年十二月起已開始在攤檔教授「輕鬆英語班」,8初時以自由定價的形式進行,後來更免費辦教學,好開放給更多參加者。不少街坊如Yeung、Lucille、Victor、Brian和Bosco都是我的學生。這些課堂之所以「輕鬆」,是因為我希望以一個「非學校」的形式去教授英語(即我的母語),這和一般透過課本、錄音和考試來「死記硬背」的模式不一樣。我的課程都是根據學生需要設計,亦因為上課場地而多涉及與街景的互動。

還記得有一次,在課上,我給只有十一歲的Bosco一部35mm菲林相機,讓他在鄰里間中拍下一些人物,再到沖印舖友善地用英語請店員沖晒相片及將相片錄入光碟。這就是「具身學習」(embodied learning)的例子;人們得以在熟悉的環境中安心地共同學習,從而令該環境變成一個流動且寬廣的學習空間。街坊排檔活動的市區教育學讓任何一個途人都可以參與,共同在新自由主義形式以外的空間建立更多可能。

 

法國南特聖母荒地的Zone à Défendre

Zone à Défendre(英語為 「Zone to Defend」,意即「需捍衛的地帶」,縮寫為ZAD)是一個位於法國西部聖母荒地裡的自治區。自1968年開始,當地政府便一直計劃興建另一個南特機場,自此該地面積約二千公頃的農地便不斷受到侵擾。在2008年,農民們迎來當時被公認為「ZADistes」的無政府主義者,並歡迎他們佔據自己的土地。經過2012年迫遷行動失敗、2018年一月新機場興建計劃取消,和2018年四月第二次的部分迫遷後,ZADistes們繼續在該片土地上生活和耕作,以圖創造一個廿一世紀的新公社,來對抗晚期資本主義、提倡公有領域,並教導大眾珍惜以不剝削農夫及土地為前題的小型耕種。9

在ZAD,公有領域存在於所有人的共享或集體生活方式中,可見於人們的集體耕作(例如逢星期五將數個公有花園中的產物運到免費的「非市場」上與他人或其他抗爭團體分享)及知識生產(在船狀的圖書館中透過集體勞動和技術分享來生產知識,例如是覓食和芝士製作)等。

今年七月,我在ZAD逗留了八日。10我們在公有農場上耕作,一邊為蘿蔔除草、為小胡瓜塗覆蓋層,一邊討論最近的迫遷事件,並討論著該以何種非暴力、具創意的方法對抗武裝警員。這些對話一直沒有停止,在一塊地結束,就在另一塊地繼續。在一個名為《Confrontation Créative》的活動中,參加者分享了在巴黎、格拉斯哥和伊斯坦堡的前線抗爭經驗,更是延續了先前的討論。

該次經驗令我開始想像更多香港土地運動的可能(包括新界東北和橫洲),以及如何拓展去年舉行的橫洲橫額製作工作坊;而該工作坊本身也是受INLAND和Casco Art Institute在2016年於海牙為 Monsanto Tribunal and People’s Assembly所製的橫額啟發。11

 

Previous Next

 

這些不同的場域和社區創造了各種社會知識論——某些是在場可觸及的、某些是在場可見的。學生、社區和教育者之間的學習過程是雙向的,尤其是在棚仔暑期學堂、「輕鬆英語班」這些非由金錢交易促成的聚會中,情況便和以新自由主義形式運行的大學有所出入。12不過,令人慨歎的是,人們仍要過活,要交租,甚至要償還學生貸款——這是透過業餘教育來追求自主和另類教育學所需面對的苦況和複雜性。

上述三處皆體現了在常規體制外學習的重要性,這一點乍看是理所當然,但更引人深思的是,哪種另類空間能激活另類教育學的潛能?本港哪些機構具相應的(情感)技術、資源和想像來提供具包容性及改革性的教育學平台?我能想到的有BAK(烏得勒支)、Autonome Schule Zürich(蘇黎世)和V-Artivist (香港);根據朋友的建議,我也在Graph Commons上成立了名為「Pedagogy Now」的教育學平台。13

我希望可藉此鼓勵其他人——尤其是來自不同階層的學院成員——去反思並分享他們在公共領域中的經驗和取態,以對這場具直覺性和感染力的跨文化、跨邊界及跨場域另類教育學作出貢獻。

 

梁志剛為藝術家/設計師、都市農夫及客席講師,現居香港。他策劃的項目包括集體市區耕種活動如《香港農民曆》,以及《棚仔手巾》一類結合「本地生產」及「基層社群互助」的設計製作品牌。

 

1.「Maybe, but only maybe, and only with intense commitment and collaborative work and play with other terrans, flourishing for rich multispecies assemblages that include people will be possible. I am calling all this the Chthulucene–past, present, and to come.」(節錄自《Staying With the Trouble: Making Kin in the Chthulucene》,Donna Haraway著)

2. Facebook活動專頁︰https://www.facebook.com/events/269164220128762

3. 學生們亦探訪了橫洲村,並在村民唐小姐的盛情邀請下,品嚐她親手做的水果酵素飲品。其後,唐小姐更向學生授以製作方式。www.tinyurl.com/HKBotanicalCommons

4. http://teratotera.jp/events/matsuri2017

5. https://www.facebook.com/events/226417728111026/?active_tab=discussion

6. Nathalia E. Jaramillo and Michelle E. Carreon, “Pedagogies of Resistance and Solidarity: Towards Revolutionary and Decolonial Praxis,” Interface: A Journal of Social Movements 1, vol. 6: 392–411http://www.interfacejournal.net/wordpress/wp-content/uploads/2014/06/Interface-6-1-Jaramillo-and-Carreon.pdf

7. http://choyu.hatenablog.com/entry/2018/06/30/222825

8. http://paidong.tumblr.com/tagged/english

9. https://zadforever.blog/2018/04/24/the-revenge-against-the-commons

10. http://www.tinyurl.com/WorkingfortheCommons

11. http://tinyurl.com/jackfruitfest2018

12. Robert H. Haworth and John M. Elmore, eds., Out of the Ruins, The Emergence of Radical Informal Learning Spaces (PM Press, 2017), 225. See also: https://roarmag.org/essays/academic-alienation-cognitive-labor-capitalism

13. https://graphcommons.com/graphs/8da2116e-1d4c-4bff-851d-59e88e7b4aad?auto=true. 在此特別嗚謝Marysia Lewandowska、Stevphen Shukaitis、Jennifer Teo和Pelin Tan。

 

此文由黃珍盈翻譯自英文原文。

版本

作者

Michael LEUNG, 梁志剛

主題
札記
日期
2018年9月19日 (星期三)

相關內容

15invitations_marysia
15份邀請 | 財產、抗爭、公/共以及藝術的另類經濟
活動

15份邀請 | 財產、抗爭、公/共以及藝術的另類經濟

2015年4月、5月及9月

Very MK_Cover
Very MK
館藏

Very MK

好旺角

Solidarity Street_Cover
Solidarity Street
館藏

Solidarity Street

同心大道
Michael LEUNG, 梁志剛
2017

Wooferten's Art/Activist in Residence 2013 - 2015
Wooferten's Art/Activist in Residence 2013 - 2015
館藏

Wooferten's Art/Activist in Residence 2013 - 2015

活化廳藝術行動者駐場計劃 2013 - 2015
2016