Essays

Publics, Histories, Value: The Changing Stakes of Exhibitions

Note from the Editors

Exhibitions are where artworks meet their publics. In the context of Asia, with the general absence of systematic public collections and few academic art history departments, exhibitions are more than just sites of display and interaction. Exhibitions—and the curatorial strategies shaping them, institutional demands driving them, and art writing accompanying them—have become the primary sites of art historical construction.

The last decade has seen a surge in the business of remembering past exhibitions. We have seen different modes of restaging exhibitions; greater variety and frequency of colloquia, symposia, and conferences addressing exhibition history; a growing body of literature from anthologies to periodicals; burgeoning efforts at unearthing archives around landmark exhibitions; and new academic departments and electives in this emergent field. This fascination for exhibition histories / exhibition studies can also be viewed as a young profession (exhibition making) trying to give shape to its intellectual form at a time when the formerly formidable edifice of art history is struggling to keep pace with, in Irit Rogoff’s memorable phrasing, the "undisciplined" field of contemporary art.1 

Seen against this backdrop, the fourth issue of Field Notes, "Publics, Histories, Value: The Changing Stakes of Exhibitions," is a modest contribution to a collective effort in the construction of this art history. It takes as its point of departure, Asia Art Archive’s 2013 symposium "Sites of Construction: Exhibitions and the Making of Recent Art History in Asia" and carries the exploration forward to an expanded set of geographies, models, and ideas.2 The symposium, this issue of Field Notes, the many digitisation and research projects that underpin both, and a growing network of art historians, curators, artists, and others informing our efforts, signal our commitment to the study of exhibitions as a pool of possibilities.

This issue, therefore, is part of a combined and distributed effort towards formulating a multivalent answer to the question of how we remember exhibitions, and, by extension, what knowledge is gained through this process. The contributions found here whisper these questions—to reconsider the knowledge around exhibition histories, and make visible the entrenched structures systematically at play. To make the latent "frictions" rise to the surface: to become visible.

Art x Commerce x Public

The exhibition is where artworks are seen and consumed. It is also where art’s aspiring virtues and the economics of circulation are entwined in a tense knot. Through the exhibition, artworks, which travel both as ideas and objects, produce and accrue value as objects of exchange. They do this in conversation with other artworks, and thus their currency is always relational, mediated by the curatorial function. What remains constant is the need for an audience and a community of publics for the exhibition to secure validity and fulfil its purpose. That such legitimising publics may some times be found far from home, particularly when the local infrastructure is lacking, creates additional complications for "audience-building."

With this need for public engagement in mind, museums and galleries are under increasing pressure to adapt programming to engage new cross-sections of society for the "democratisation" of the arts. This phenomenon looks different in Euro-American societies with long established museum cultures than it does in most of Asia—where existing museums were often colonial interventions, and where new museums and attending audiences are being developed together. Such development is running parallel to the rapid emergence of new business models that inject art into a mix of wider property and commercial projects. At the same time, these non-conventional sites of display and modes of collection upset our colonised imaginings of what art infrastructure should look like and how it should function.  

The prominence of private museums, state investment in cultural districts, and the spread of art fairs and biennials are part of this rapidly changing landscape in Asia. But it is the emergence of the art mall that straddles art and commerce, collapsing perceived divisions between art and commodity, spectacle and affect, economics and aesthetics, which strains hardest against the limits of our current conceptions. Assisted by popular media, government plans, and private agendas, art is rapidly becoming part of the collective imagination with social desires playing out on various fronts. It is a status symbol, a marketing tactic, a political intervention, and a form of tradition, and by merging the exhibition with the mall, art and commodity culture, art’s potential for mass consumption is clearly in play—this then begs the question: is this not a truly successful model of "art for all"?  

But what is found and what is lost when accommodating all? Each exhibition can be viewed as a proposition for an alternative reality, responding to the limits of what is possible. How does the development of these new investment models in art infrastructure, and the audiences they serve, affect the potential of exhibitions to intervene into existing structures of knowledge production, disrupt old art histories, and generate new ones? The present state of affairs is reflected in a general commitment to testing established narratives through sharing research, archives, re-enactments, studies, propositions, subversions, and contributions from diverse sites.

Gleaned from the contributions in this issue of Field Notes, one finds collective action towards a more lateral, even oblique, method of formulating histories that is distributed across places and people. By looking at the exhibition’s form and its discursive, spatial, social, and economic formations through the varied perspectives of art historians, curators, artists, researchers, and architects—both real and imagined—this issue hopes to emphasise alternative ways of seeing and approaching exhibitions, and their contribution to the writing of multiple histories of art today. While a cluster of "conventional" institutions, mostly Euro-American, still dominate the existing citadels of art history, we are beginning to see some early signs of shifts amongst centres of knowledge production. How quickly these shifts take hold and disrupt the stranglehold on the mechanisms controlling the circulation of this knowledge will be key to determining the extent to which the hopeful potential of exhibition studies can be realised.


1. Iftikhar Dadi and Hammad Nasar, eds., Lines of Control: Partition as a Productive Space, Ithaca: Herbert  F. Johnson Museum of Art, Cornell University, 2012. Organised and published in association with Green Cardamom, London, p 108.

2. Details of "Sites of Construction: Exhibitions and the Making of Recent Art History in Asia," including video documentation of proceedings, can be found on http://www.aaa.org.hk/sitesofconstruction. A special issue of Yishu: Journal of Contemporary Chinese Art, vol. 13, no. 2 (March/April 2014), was dedicated to the symposium and presents edited papers from the event.

Publics, Histories, Value: The Changing Stakes of Exhibitions

Editors Lucia Kim, Hammad Nasar, Chantal Wong
Editorial support Ingrid Chu, Claire Hsu
Editorial Coordinator Cheung Tsz Hin, J. Marion Modi
Copy Editors Lucia Kim, Phoebe Wong
With thanks to Rana Anani, Yasir Anwar, Ingrid Chu, Sophie Hu, The Armory Show
Designer Sam Wong
Publisher Asia Art Archive. ©All rights reserved.
Cover image courtesy Harbour City Estates Limited

"Sites of Construction" is financially supported by the Arts Capacity Development Funding Scheme of the Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region. "Publics, Histories, Value: The Changing Stakes of Exhibitions" is part of Asia Art Archive’s "Sites of Construction" project.

The Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region provides funding support to "Sites of Construction" only, but does not otherwise take part in it. Any opinions, findings, conclusions, or recommendations expressed in the materials/activities (or by members of the GRANTEE’s team) are those of the organiser’s of "Sites of Construction" only and do not reflect the views of the Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region.

Imprint

Topic
Essays
Date
Wed, 1 Apr 2015
Download

FIELD NOTES 04 Publics, Histories, Value: The Changing Stakes of Exhibitions.pdf

Cite as
Publics, Histories, Value: The Changing Stakes of Exhibitions, Wed, 1 Apr 2015

Relevant content

AAA Project Space, Archiving Materials
Ideas is AAA's New Online Publication
Press

Ideas is AAA's New Online Publication

Each Monday, Asia Art Archive publishes new essays, interviews, and curated journeys through the research collections

'Rubber Duck', Florentijn Hofman.
The Changing Stakes of Exhibitions I: Maria Lind
Programmes

The Changing Stakes of Exhibitions I: Maria Lind

Sat, 16 May 2015

ChangingStakesII_list
The Changing Stakes of Exhibitions II: David Elliott
Programmes

The Changing Stakes of Exhibitions II: David Elliott

Thu, 21 May 2015

ChangingStakesIII_list
The Changing Stakes of Exhibitions III: Yung Ma & Yang Yeung
Programmes

The Changing Stakes of Exhibitions III: Yung Ma & Yang Yeung

Thu, 13 Aug 2015, 7 PM

marysialewandowska_list
Residency Programme | Artist-in-Residence | Marysia Lewandowska
Programmes

Residency Programme | Artist-in-Residence | Marysia Lewandowska

Sep 2014–Aug 2015

janePong_viztalk_list
Resident Talk | Jane Pong
Programmes

Resident Talk | Jane Pong

Wed, 12 Mar 2014, 12-2pm

janePong_viz_list
Residency Programme | Artist-in-Residence | Jane Pong
Programmes

Residency Programme | Artist-in-Residence | Jane Pong

May–Aug 2014

文章

公共、歷史、價值:展覽在藝術史書寫的位置

展覽是向大眾展示藝術作品的平台。亞洲向來缺乏有系統的藝術公共收藏和具規模的藝術史課程,因此區內歷年來的展覽,不單是陳列作品和與作品互動的場合,展覽背後的策展理念、籌辦機構的方針以及與展覽相關的書寫及文獻,統統成為建構地區當代藝術史的第一現場。

過去十年,有關回溯舊日展覽的項目有急劇增加的趨勢。重構舊有展覽的不同模式相繼出現,而探討展覽歷史的專題研討會及學術會議數目日益頻繁,題材越加廣泛。刊於論文集與期刊的相關專論亦與日俱增,企圖讓重要展覽的文獻重見天日的項目如雨後春筍。此外,學府更就此新興領域設立相關學術部門與科目。這種對展覽歷史/展覽研究的嚮往,可被視為一個新晉的專業領域──展覽實踐 (exhibition making),正努力為其學術形態勾勒具體面貌。從前高不可攀的權威藝術史,現在要努力地嘗試趕上這股新興潮流──借用Irit Rogoff的話來說,那是「無法以學科界定」的當代藝術領域。[1]

有見及此,第四期《搜記》「公共、歷史、價值:展覽在藝術史書寫的位置」略盡綿力,試圖共同建構這樣的一段藝術史。這個主題以亞洲藝術文獻庫於2013年的學術會議「建構場域:展覽與亞洲當代藝術史編寫」為起點,將討論延伸至不同地域、展覽模式與意念。[2] 該次學術會議、本期《搜記》以及支撐兩者的眾多數碼資料與研究項目,再加上眾多藝術歷史學家、策展人以及藝術家等的協助,讓我們得以致力於展覽研究,展現其充沛的可能性。

因此,本期《搜記》所孜孜矻矻的,是共同找出一個具有多重意義的答案,以回答「我們如何記憶展覽」這問題,並由此伸延,探討於這個過程中,我們有何知識上的得着。我們希望省思圍繞展覽歷史的知識,並且展現當中根深蒂固的主流結構。換言之,讓潛藏的「摩擦」浮上表面,顯露人前。

藝術 x商業 x公眾

展覽是觀賞及消費藝術作品的場所,它將藝術發人深省的特質與流通經濟牢牢地交織在一起。藉着展覽,藝術品──以意念及實物的形態流通──能生產及提升自身價值,成為交易物品。這個過程由策展功能引導,期間藝術品相互影響,產生出浮動不定的相對價值。唯一不變的是展覽對觀眾與公共群體的需求,以確保展覽有其正當用處,並得以達成自身目的。而觀眾有時可能要在本土以外尋找,特別是在當地相關基建不足的時候,會為「建立觀眾群」帶來更加複繁的問題。

美術館與藝廊明白公眾參與的必要性,因而面對日益沉重的壓力,須因應狀況調整項目,務求切合社會各階層的狀況,帶來藝術的「民主化」。這個現象與歐美社會的狀況並不一樣,當地的美術館文化歷史悠久,與亞洲大部分地區截然不同。在亞洲,大部分現存美術館都有殖民政府干涉的痕跡,而新設立的美術館則與觀眾處於共同成長的階段中。與此同時,新興的商業營運模式方興未艾,驅使企業將藝術元素引入地產及商業項目。此外,這種非傳統的展示場地與收藏模式衝擊了我們的殖民想像,激起了我們對藝術基建應該作何模樣與應該如何運作的思考。

在亞洲,私人博物館盛行,加上國家投資文化區域,以及藝術博覽展會和雙年展遍地開花,區內的藝壇景觀迅速改變。但直至藝術主題商場冒現,融合了藝術與商業領域,才令種種既定分野隨之崩塌,包括藝術與商品、奇觀與假象、經濟與美學,在挑戰我們既有的觀念。在大眾媒體、政府規劃以及私人項目的推波助瀾下,藝術迅速成為由社會慾望掛帥的集體想像。藝術成為了身份的象徵、市場推廣的策略、政治干涉,以及傳統的一種形式。一旦將展覽融合購物商場、將藝術揉合商品文化,藝術的大眾消費潛力已然開始運作。由此又引伸出一個問題:這難道不是「大眾的藝術」(art for all) 的理想模式嗎?

在照顧所有人的需要時,到底得到了甚麽,又失去了甚麽?每次展覽其實都是在擬想另一種現實,回應可能狀況的界限。這些新出現的藝術建設投資項目以及目標觀眾如何影響展覽、介入知識生產的現有結構、衝擊過時的藝術歷史,以及衍生新的藝術史的潛在功用?目前審視這個議題的辦法,在於藉由分享研究成果、文獻,提出各種重演 (re-enactments)、假設、顛覆,以及各個範疇的共同努力,廣泛地檢視現有的藝術脈絡。

本期《搜記》集合眾人之力,以橫向甚至多向的方式,建構出遍佈各地各人的歷史面貌。本期《搜記》從藝術史學家、策展人、藝術家、研究員及建築師──不論是現實與想像的──多個角度出發,探討展覽的形式,以及其論述、空間、社會及經濟建構過程,以帶出審視及接近展覽的另類可能,並強調展覽對豐富今天藝術史書寫的貢獻。縱然不少「傳統」藝術機構﹝主要為歐美地區﹞依然在藝術歷史中佔有主導地位,但我們已開始感覺到知識生產核心轉移的先兆。重點是,知識轉移得有多迅速,而且何時能站穩腳步,反抗控制知識流通的機制,這才能決定展覽研究的美好願景能實現多少。

 



1. Iftikhar Dadi、Hammad Nasar編,《邊界管制:隔離之為與不為》(Lines of Control: Partition as a Productive Space),Ithaca:Herbert F. Johnson Museum of Art, Cornell University,2012年。與倫敦Green Cardamom合作籌劃及出版,第108頁。
2. 有關「建構場域:展覽與亞洲當代藝術史編寫」研討會紀錄影片,可按此觀看。此外,《Yishu典藏國際版》第13卷第2期﹝2014年3月/4月﹞特別號,以是次研討會作專輯,收錄當中發表的論文。

 

主編  金世熹、Hammad Nasar、黃子欣
編輯團隊  朱珮瑿、徐文玠
編輯統籌  張子軒、J. Marion Modi
校對  金世熹、黃小燕
翻譯  彭錦耀、潘偉珊、Metis Concepts
謝  Rana Anani、Yasir Anwar、朱珮瑿、胡玥、The Armory Show


「建構場域」獲香港特別行政區政府「藝能發展資助計劃」的資助。「公共、歷史、價值:展覽在藝術史書寫的位置」是亞洲藝術文獻庫「建構場域」項目的其中一部分。

香港特別行政區政府僅為「建構場域」提供撥款資助,並無參與其中。在刊物/活動內(或獲資助者轄下計劃小組成員)表達的任何意見、研究成果、結論或建議,純屬「建構場域」的推行機構的觀點,並不代表香港特別行政區政府的觀點。

版本

主題
文章
日期
2015年4月1日 (星期三)
下載

fieldnotes_issue_04_chi_single.pdf

相關內容

AAA Project Space, Archiving Materials
文獻庫推出全新線上刊物《藝文》
新聞稿

文獻庫推出全新線上刊物《藝文》

逢星期一,亞洲藝術文獻庫會刊登新評論和專訪,以及介紹研究館藏內的精選項目

'Rubber Duck', Florentijn Hofman.
展覽在藝術史書寫的位置 | 展覽在藝術史書寫的位置(一) | Maria Lind
活動

展覽在藝術史書寫的位置 | 展覽在藝術史書寫的位置(一) | Maria Lind

2015年5月16日 (星期六)
上午11時至下午12時30分

ChangingStakesII_list
展覽在藝術史書寫的位置 | David Elliott | 種族主義年代的全球藝術
活動

展覽在藝術史書寫的位置 | David Elliott | 種族主義年代的全球藝術

2015年5月21日 (星期四)

ChangingStakesIII_list
展覽在藝術史書寫的位置 | 展覽在藝術史書寫的位置(三) | 馬容元及楊陽
活動

展覽在藝術史書寫的位置 | 展覽在藝術史書寫的位置(三) | 馬容元及楊陽

2015年8月13日 (星期四)
下午7時

marysialewandowska_list
駐場計劃 | 駐場藝術家 | Marysia Lewandowska
活動

駐場計劃 | 駐場藝術家 | Marysia Lewandowska

2014年9月至2015年8月

janePong_viztalk_list
數據可視化工作者 — 龐宇晴
活動

數據可視化工作者 — 龐宇晴

2014年3月12日 (星期三)
下午12時至2時

FN4
展覽在藝術史書寫的位置
活動

展覽在藝術史書寫的位置

2015

janePong_viz_list
駐場計劃 | 駐場藝術家 | Jane Pong
活動

駐場計劃 | 駐場藝術家 | Jane Pong

2014年5至8月