I have been asked to look back over the past year and to make a review of reviews, to analyze and comment on the monthly op.ed. 'Diaaalogue' that appears in AAA's monthly newsletter. And all of a sudden I'm part of it - no longer looking from the outside but adding my own ideas, prejudices, concerns… And this makes me wonder, 'what kind of conversation is this - a dialogue or a monologue? To whom exactly are we addressing all our words? Each other, to fellow archivists and art specialists, or to a cyber vacuum that is capable of swallowing and digesting almost anything?' Maybe if you fill a room full of monologues, lock the door and throw away the key, they will eventually start to talk to each other. But the reverse can always happen - they could coagulate into a vast incoherent monolithic monologue lasting for days, weeks, months, years …

My impression while reading and rereading these reports was that they are more 'Letters from the Front' than dialogues - reports that emanate from many different places and throw a fresh, sometimes quirky, perspective on aspects of Asia and its culture. And of course it's an impossible category - Asia that is - in that it is so diverse, wide-ranging, and rich in culture that anything you say or write can be immediately contradicted. I guess that's the point.

But before discussing content, - let's look at the distribution of where the different pieces come from and, sure enough, the essays reflect a mixture of news n' views about significant ideas, exhibitions and events relating to Asia throughout the year. In all of this South East and Eastern Asia do rather well with the exception of both Koreas, Cambodia, Laos, Malaysia, Indonesia, Myanmar, and then of course there is Siberia, Eastern Russia, the former Soviet Central Asian Republics, The Himalayan Kingdoms, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Afghanistan, the Middle East, Turkey, and I've probably missed some out. It's an impossible category - Asia.

The general tone of the essays is informative but opinions are also expressed - sometimes strongly. In this respect I liked Lee Weng Choy's piece on 'Criticism and "the essence of contemporary Asian art"', which started the year. In this he unpacks some of the trickiness in ideas of cultural 'asianness', particularly when these are co-opted by governments - in this case Singapore - for promotion and hype. Good criticism should be lifeblood of art but unfortunately in Asia, as in many places elsewhere, it can be extremely difficult to find.

The majority of other essays did not have the theoretical ambitions of Lee Weng Choy and tended to be more reports on a status quo that was not so widely known. Brian Wallace wrote about how The Red Gate Gallery in Beijing had helped set up residencies at the Art Academy, initially for Australian artists but then with other institutions and for other nationalities, including Chinese. The speed with which things have changed in Beijing becomes clear in his narrative, which also follows the rapid development of artists' spaces. Robert Lee's piece on the Asian American Arts Center, which for over thirty years has been working in Chinatown in New York, was complete news to me and although I have no doubt that 'Asian Americanness' must be a pretty inclusive church, I was particularly impressed by Lee's discovery of the Philippine painter Vernancio C. Igarta, who stopped working in the early 1960s and nearly destroyed everything. He has been working again since the early 1980s and has now become a cultural icon back in his native country.

Matthew Turner's well-argued piece on the West Kowloon Cultural District in Hong Kong touched on my own experience, as I was one of the assessors of the tendered proposals for the competition. It was clear to all that the scheme had been badly conceived from the start and Turner's analysis of the dangers of unreflective 'value extraction' from culture and creativity hit the nail on the head. There's never such a thing as a free lunch - whoever's paying. In April Simon Winchester introduced us to his new family - or that's what it felt like - as he described his new baby, the relaunched quarterly Art AsiaPacific. It was a spirited read, as one would expect from such an established writer, but the metaphor of making a baby permeated the essay to such an extent but I was left in complete confusion as to what kind of relationship the mummy and daddy actually had.

This was a about as racy as it got during the year and in the following month we were presented with emerging 'scenes and scenarios' from Ho Chi Minh City by Sue Hadju. It was useful to learn the extent to which the city had changed since I was last there in 2000 with more commercial galleries and an artists'-run space and studios, but I had heard that yet another biennale was planned for the city and it would have been good to have learnt whether this was just another ugly rumour.

In June Oscar Ho bade a temporary farewell to Hong Kong as he headed off to run the new MOCA in Shanghai and, in the process, made, although from a different perspective, similar points on the Hong Kong art climate to those already made by Mathew Turner. After opening the new museum he returned to Hong Kong because the building and staffing resources there were not adequate to sustain it. Unfortunately, the same is true of visual arts infrastructure throughout a large part of Asia.

A similarly sad infrastructural story permeated Peter Nagy's account of setting up the first Pavilion of Indian Art at the Venice Biennale. Initially a group of enthusiasts wanted to show the human face of India against the background of the BJP's hysterical Hindu fundamentalism. When the government changed and the Congress Party again took control it seemed that there was a glimmer of hope that the government would also put its weight behind the pavilion. But then the tradition of centuries of Mughal and British bureaucracy took their toll and according to a carefully worked out policy of masterly inaction no answer was received from the government. It is to be hoped that by the 2007 Biennale at least some moral support will be forthcoming.

In August Raiji Kuroda, Chief Curator at the Fukuoka Asian Art Museum, brought us up to speed on the 3rd Fukuoka Asian Art Triennale. This and the collection of the Museum have become important landmarks on the contemporary Asian art scene and the selection of artists this time seemed to be more consciously cutting edge than merely representative. Here there were works from Pakistan that touched on issues of Islamic fundamentalism as well as on other significant political and social events in the region over the previous three years. Another theme that emerged was the pervasive, seductive and possibly pernicious influence of popular culture in many parts of the region.

For ten years now Thailand has been one of the most dynamic and impressive producers of art in South-East Asia and Phatarawadee Phataranawik's article reprinted from The Nation on the new Art and Cultural Centre planned by the city for Bangkok's central Siam Square was good news. Activist artists' groups have been lobbying for this for years. Let's hope that this does eventually get built, as well as the new National Museum of Contemporary Art, also planned for Bangkok.

Bettie-Sue Hertz's essay about solo endurance performance art in contemporary Asia highlighted a category to which I had not previously given much thought. It has certainly become a significant element in contemporary Chinese art - although the writer refrained from recounting some of the more disgusting examples relating to the consumption of human tissue. But in the fast moving Chinese art world this tendency seems to have peaked about three years ago when the artistic community itself seems to have decided not to push the boundaries further. I am a little doubtful, however, about including Japanese artist Kazuo Shiraga in this category as, although the documentation of Challenge to the Mud 1955 looks as though it was an act of endurance, in effect, I think that the ‘performance' had more to do with the aesthetics of American action painting.

In November Hu Fang, Curator of the Vitamin Creative Space in Guangzhou, informed us about the 'Great Leap Forward' of culture in the Pearl River Delta. The jump, however, to which he referred was not to that of Mao Zedong but to the title of a book by Rem Koolhaas, a more recent ideologue, which provided a theoretical starting point for the curators of the second Guangzhou Triennale. Personally I find such slogans unusable unless suffused by a lacerating irony, but there was little sign of that here and Hou Hanru, Hans Ulrich Obrist and Guo Xiaoyan, the curators of the show, were well advised to use the more open title 'Beyond' for their new project. The exhibition was visualized as a process or discourse - as an urban, cultural and aesthetic laboratory informed by a series of workshops on such issues as urban sustainability that could continue as long as there was a need for them.

But the renewed cultural activity in the Pearl River Delta did not stop in Guangzhou. The annual international photo festival in Lianzhou set out to complement the Triennale in a more traditional way by revealing 'the duality in historical and humanist development through an image-based visual display that contains different types of media… '. Part of this included a selection of the war photographs of Shao Fei, a Chinese equivalent of the Soviet photographer Dmitri Baltermans, who documented the Eighth Route Army's skirmishes with the Japanese. Again I wondered 'is someone trying to be ironical?' because the terminology evoked echoes of a previous, almost forgotten age. I guess probably not. Although some of the nuance may have been lost in translation, Chinese art cannot, and perhaps should not, be completely expurgated of its Maoist past. In the New Economic Development Zone of Shenzhen, however, a different scent was in the air - the OCT Contemporary Art Terminal, a new industrial-type space, hosted former Hangzhou Art Academy enfant terrible, New York-based Gu Wenda's vast installation Forest of Steles - Retranslation & Rewriting of Tang Poetry. No humanist dialectic there.

The year closed with Binghui Huangfu, the Director of the Asia Australia Arts Centre in Sydney, who compared methods of cultural control in Cultural Revolution China, Singapore at the beginning of the millennium, and Australia now. The moral seemed to be 'better the devil you know than the one that dissembles', as well as the fact that the seemingly liberal multiculturalism of the west grows fat on mechanisms of exclusion and isolation - particularly now when our new enemy is terror itself, which is surely deep inside every one of us. She is right to be critical of all our capacities for stereotyping and suggested that the exhibition 'Asian Traffic', which started in Australia and travelled throughout the region, was a paradigm for avoiding this by promoting diversity as one of the greatest strengths of Asian culture. Rather than diluting any exotic Asian essentialism, diversity reaches out by increasing the possibilities for interaction of all kinds.

I found her sense of sense of mission and avowed intention of 'continually challenging the status quo' an infectious shot of energy at the end of the year. But the fact that she managed to organise an international touring show on a cash budget of $87,000 should be rapidly suppressed. Sydney should be able and prepared to pay a better price to get to know its Asian neighbours.

David Eilliott is the Director of Mori Art Museum, Tokyo. This piece was originally written for the AAA's annual printed newsletter.

Imprint

Author

David ELLIOTT

Topic
Notes
Date
Sat, 1 Apr 2006

Relevant content

AAA Project Space, Archiving Materials
Ideas is AAA's New Online Journal
Press

Ideas is AAA's New Online Journal

Asia Art Archive publishes new essays, interviews, and curated journeys through the research collections

我這次是應亞洲文獻庫的邀請對去年作一回顧,並藉此評論、分析和談論《文獻庫通訊》每月的特寫版 — 《藝談》。想不到,我竟搖身一變成了局內人 — 不僅無法置身事外,更要提出自己的想法、偏見、關注……我不禁心生疑竇:「這到底是哪門子的交談?這是對話抑或獨白?到底誰是我們的聽眾?莫非這只是小圈子內的對答?聽眾是不是只有文獻界的同儕及藝術專家們?或是一個足以吞噬及消滅一切的網絡黑洞?」也許,人們若用獨白填滿一個房間,並把門關上,然後將鑰匙扔掉,這些獨白最終仍會展開對話。但我們也不能排除一個截然相反的可能性——這些獨白可能會凝結成一個語無倫次但堅如磐石的龐然巨物,盤桓數天、數周甚至經年累月......。


我反復細閲這些報告後的觀感是,與其將之形容為對話,倒不如喻之為「前線來函」—— 它們來自五湖四海,而且都能以全新(有時甚或是怪誕)的角度,來詮釋亞洲及亞洲地區的文化。當然,以亞洲面貌之多變、涵義之廣、文化內涵之豐富,若想一言蔽之,真可謂難如登天,因此任何這方面的言論或文章都可能即時招來非議。這,可能正是問題的癥結所在。

但在探討內容之前,讓我們先來看看各路文章的來龍去脈,一看之下果不其然,它們談的正是過去一年裡,各位作者對某些重要理論、展覽及活動的匯報及觀感。總的來説,東南亞及東亞國家成績斐然,表現較為遜色者包括南北韓、柬埔寨、老撾、馬來西亞、印度尼西亞、緬甸,此外當然還有西伯利亞、東俄羅斯、前蘇聯中亞共和國、喜馬拉雅王國、巴基斯坦、孟加拉、阿富汗、中東、土耳其......,説不定我還數漏了幾個國家。説到亞洲,這個題目可真不好説。

這些評論大多資料詳盡,但文中也有議論 —— 當中更不乏立場鮮明者。就此而言,我很欣賞去年文獻庫通訊印刷版(笫一卷)刊登的《「當代亞洲藝術的本質」及藝術評論》。在文中,作者李永財闡釋了「亞洲化」這類概念的刁鑽棘手之處,當政府企圖生搬硬套以收宣傳炒作之效時,由此衍生的問題尤為突出,新加坡政府便是最佳例證。優秀的評論作品本應是藝術賴以生存的泉源,但可惜的是,無論是在亞洲還是其他地區,此類佳作均難得一見。

相對而言,其他作者都沒有像李永財般在理論方面多落筆墨,他們大多選擇報導一些人們較為陌生的情況。布朗·華萊士在文中提到,北京紅門畫廊如何協助訪華藝術家在中央美術學院物色理想居所,該計劃起初專為澳洲藝術家而設,但後來有其他機構陸續加入,而服務對象亦擴大至其他國家的人士,後來連國內藝術家也包括在內。北京變化之快,藝術家空間的快速擴張,在他文中一目瞭然。Robert Lee向讀者介紹的是美國紐約的「亞美藝術中心」 —— 一家在紐約華人區擁有逾三十年歷史的藝術中心,文中所述對我來説可謂別開生面,雖然我對「亞美文化」一詞的涵蓋面毫無懷疑,但我為欽偑的是他竟然找到了菲律賓畫家伊高爾塔(Vernancio C. Igarta),這名畫家在上一世紀六十年代初擱筆,並毁掉了自己大部份的作品。但他終於在八十年代初重拾畫筆,如今更被視為菲律賓文化界的泰斗。

田邁修(Matthew Turner)關於香港西九龍文化區的文章條分縷析、論理清晰,由於我恰好是該次項目的投標建議書評核人之一,所以我對文中所述有切身的體會。眾所周知,這個項目的構思先天不足,對於某些人未加思考便企圖藉文化和創意來進行「價值萃取」,田邁修在文中分析了這種做法的種種弊端,其見解可謂一針見血。即使我們毋須自掏腰包,但世上仍然沒有免費午餐這碼事。時至四月,Simon Winchester終於把他的新家庭成員 —— 或許這只是我們作為讀者的觀感 —— 介紹給大家認識,並在文中講解了他的心血結晶 —— 即復刊後的季刊 《亞太藝術》(Art AsiaPacific) —— 的情況。作者行文生動活潑,可見這位成名作家並非浪得虚名;然而,由於通篇都是關於生兒育女的比喻,以至我在掩卷之際,對「孩子」父母之間的關係仍摸不著頭腦。

年內各方面的藝術評論進行得如火如荼,在接下來的月份,Sue Hadju為大家介紹了近來在胡志明市浮現的一些「場景和事態發展」。我曾經在2000年到過胡志明市,這次這次通過 Sue Hadju 的文章,我很高興得知這個城市變化良多(例如,期間有許多商業畫廊相繼成立,並出現了藝術家自行經營管理的藝術空間和工作室);但我也曾聽説過,胡志明市有意籌辦另一項雙年展活動,希望這消息純屬訛傳。

何慶基六月暫別香港,前赴上海執掌新成立的上海當代藝術館,期間他提出了對香港藝術環境的一些意見,其評論角度雖與田邁修有別,但兩者的見解大致相同。但新博物館剛剛啟用,何慶基便啟程回港,原因是當地的建築及人力資源均左右支絀。今人扼腕嘆息的是,大部分亞洲地區的視覺藝術基建均面臨相同的困境。

Peter Nagy撰文講述了首次在威尼斯雙年展設置印度展廳的過程,該次事件亦關係到藝術基建的問題,過程同樣讓人唏噓不已。起初,一群熱心人家士打算在印度人民黨歇斯底里地鼓吹印度教原教旨主義的背景之下,藉藝術來展現印度人性化的面貌。其後江山易幟,國大黨得以再次掌權,當時人們心存希望,期待新的執政者會更積極地支持設立印度展廳的計劃。但是,數百年的莫卧兒傳統和英式官僚積習此刻終於佔了上風;政府當時採取了不議不決的態度,對所有詢問均置若罔聞。於此,我們衷心希望,在2007年的威尼斯雙年展拉開序幕前,印度政府至少能給予藝術家們一點精神上的支持。

在八月,黑田雷兒(Raji Kuroda,福岡亞洲美術館總館長)向我們展示了第三屆福岡亞洲藝術三年展的最新動態。在亞洲當代藝術界,這項活動及該美術館的藏品均被視為重要的藝術指標。在遴選過程中,主辦單位似乎愈來愈重視參展藝術家們的創意,而不是僅著眼於代表性。在參展作品當中,一些來自巴基斯坦的作品探討了伊斯蘭原教旨主義的問題,以及該地區在過去三年內所經歷的一些重大的政治和社會變革。此外,是次展覽還談到流行文化對多個亞洲國家的滲透、誘惑乃至毒害。

過去十年內,泰國一直是東南亞最具活力和最令人讚嘆的藝術生產基地之一。根據Phatarawadee Phataranawik撰寫並轉載自泰國《國家報》(The Nation)的一篇文章,曼谷市政府計劃在市中心暹邏廣場興建一個全新的藝術文化中心,這的確是可喜可賀。事實上,許多藝術團體已為這個項目奔走多年。我們衷心希望,這項計劃和市內另一興建項目 —— 國家當代藝術館 —— 都能早日落實。

Bettie-Sue Hertz的評論是以當代亞洲的個人極限行為藝術為題,透過這篇文章,我得以進一步了解這個以往未暇細想的藝術類別。無疑,這類表演已成為中國當代藝術的一個重要環節 - 但作者顯然極為克制,絕口不提吃死胎這類較為駭人聽聞的事例。中國藝術界的發展雖日新月異,

但這方面的進展似乎已在三年前被推往極致,行為藝術家當時似乎都認為至此應告一段落。此外,作者亦將日本藝術家白髮一雄(Kazuo Shiraga)納入個人極限行為藝術家之列,對此我有所保留;在我看來,1955年的《泥之戰》(Challenge to the Mud)的表演記錄雖然近似一場極限行為藝術的演出,但我認為該次「表演」與美國行動畫派的美學觀點淵源更深。

時至十一月,胡昉(廣州維他命空間的策劃人)向我們展示了珠江三角洲出現的一場文化「大躍進」。但是,此躍進與毛澤東時代的大躍進毫無關聯;相反,作者所指的是建築師、理論家雷姆·庫哈斯(Rem Koolhaas)一本近作的名稱,此書為第二屆廣州三年展的策展人提供了一個理論上的起點。我個人認為,此類口號不宜多用,除非它們本身含有多重的反諷譏刺意味,但這次的三年展卻毫無這方面的用意。三名策展人(即侯翰如、漢斯·尤利斯·奥布里斯特及郭曉彥)最終決定採用另一個更為開放的主題 — 「別樣」(Beyond),這誠然是明智之舉。這次展覽是以一種過程或論述 —— 一個關於都市、文化及美學的實驗室 —— 的方式推行,並輔以一系列相關的專題研討(例如城市發展的可持續性),這類討論可以一直延續下去,直至人們對相關議題不再為止。

但是,珠江三角洲新一輪的文化活動並非以廣州作為終點站。以連州國際攝影年展為例,它旨在以較傳統的方式來配合三年展的活動,並提出「通過以圖像為中心,同時容納多種形式的視覺展示,[…]來揭示歷史與人文發展當中的雙重性,[…]」。攝影展的其中一個環節摘選了中國攝影人家邵飛的戰地攝影系列,這些作品記錄了八路軍與日軍的一些小規模戰鬥,其拍攝風格近似前蘇聯攝影師德米特里·巴爾特曼(Dmitri Baltermans)。由於這類術語很容易牽扯到一個幾被遺忘的年代,因此我不禁心生疑問:「當中莫非有借古諷今之意?」。據我猜測,可能性應該不大。儘管一些微妙的涵義可能會在轉換過程中散失,但中國藝術不能(或許也不應該)完全摒除毛澤東時代的影響。與此同時,深圳的經濟特區卻呈現了另一番新氣象。當地的OCT當代藝術中心(一個由舊廠房改建而成的新藝術場館)舉辦了一項大型裝置藝術作品展「文化翻譯:谷文達《碑林—唐詩後著》展」,谷文達曾被視為原浙江美術學院的壞孩子,多年來旅居美國紐約。然而,是次展覽並沒有任何古典文學方面的辯證意圖。

皇甫秉惠(澳洲悉尼亞澳藝術中心總監)的評論為去年劃上了句號。她在文中評比了文化大革命時期的中國、千禧初期的新加坡及當前澳洲的文化監控措施。此文似乎帶出了一個「偽君子不若真小人」的訊息,此外作者亦指出,鼓吹多元文化的西方社會看似民主,其實骨子裡仍然是用排斥和孤立的手法來鞏固勢力 —— 此言尤其適用於當前的形勢,因為我們最大的敵人正是盤踞在每人心中的恐懼。她批評西方社會喜歡將亞洲國家定型,此言非虛;她還指出,《亞洲交通》(Asian Traffic)這項以澳洲為起點並在區內巡迴展出的活動,呈現了亞洲文化萬象紛呈、多姿多采的面貌,因此有助於消除西方人士對亞洲文化的成見。多元化的趨勢絕不會淡化亞洲的文化本質,事實上,透過更頻繁的交流活動,各方人士都會因此獲益。

在一年將止之際,皇甫秉惠的使命感和矢志「不斷挑戰現狀」的決心令我倍受鼓舞。但是,當我得知她僅動用了87,000美元,便成功籌辦了一次國際巡迴展,我認為此事確是不宜鼓勵。我相信,悉尼政府絕對可以承擔且樂意提供一筆更理想的資金,藉此了解它的亞洲鄰國。

 

版本

作者

David ELLIOTT

主題
札記
日期
2006年4月1日 (星期六)

相關內容

AAA Project Space, Archiving Materials
文獻庫推出全新線上刊物《藝文》
新聞稿

文獻庫推出全新線上刊物《藝文》

逢星期一,亞洲藝術文獻庫會刊登新評論和專訪,以及介紹研究館藏內的精選項目