Ideas

Shortlist | The Defiant Fringed Pink: Feminist Art in Japan

Shortlists offer thematic selections from AAA’s Collection, including overviews and annotations by invited contributors. The following shortlist by Shimada Yoshiko traces the development of feminism and feminist art in Japan from the 1990s to the present. 

 

Image: Cover of <i>The Stakes of Exposure: Anxious Bodies in Postwar Japanese Art</i>, by Namiko Kunimoto.
Image: Cover of The Stakes of Exposure: Anxious Bodies in Postwar Japanese Art, by Namiko Kunimoto.

 

Pre-feminist Art: Before 1990s

Forms of feminism (or women’s movements) have existed in Japan since the Meiji restoration in 1868, and continued to develop during the consequent modernisation of the country. However, feminist art, made consciously in reference to feminist theory, came into existence only after the 1990s. There were a few forerunners such as Katsura Yuki, Tanaka Atsuko (of Gutai group), and Tabe Mitsuko (of Kyushu-ha group). However, apart from those who actively tackled the issue of women’s roles, body, and sexuality in Japanese society, most women artists’ works in the 1950s to 80s seem indistinguishable from those by male artists, particularly in the field of abstraction—perhaps because assimilation was the only way to be recognised in the art world at that time. Women artists sometimes formed groups (like women artists associations) and exhibited together, but it was not necessarily because they shared a “feminist consciousness”; rather, it was often in order to secure space to exhibit their works. Other times, it was because their works, often smaller in scale and in traditionally “feminine” mediums (watercolor, weaving, and other crafts), were considered “less serious” and were segregated from the “serious” works of the Masters.

Feminist Art and Exhibitions in the 1990s

There are well-known, important Japanese women artists such as Yoko Ono and Kusama Yayoi, but they were active in the US and largely ignored, even ridiculed, in the Japanese art world until their work and achievements were re-evaluated in the 1990s. It was also in the 1990s when some scholars, curators, and critics started to look at women artists’ works from a feminist point of view. Chino Kaori (1952–2001) was one of the first scholars that introduced feminist theory in Japanese art history. Her 1993 essay “Gender in Japanese Art” (later translated and collected in Gender and Power in the Japanese Visual Field, ed. Joshua Mostow, University of Hawaii Press, 2003) was the first on the subject. She started the “Image and Gender” study group in 1995, which supported and nurtured numerous feminist artists, scholars, and curators. With this theoretical development, the first “gender”-themed exhibition, Gender – Beyond Memory, curated by Kasahara Michiko, was held in 1995 at Tokyo Photographic Art Museum, followed by more gender- and women artists-related exhibitions. Toward these new concepts of “feminism” and “gender” in the art world, some male art critics reacted with open hostility. Santa Haruo wrote in L/R art magazine in 1996 that feminism was a “foreign idea” and had no relevance in Japan, and importing such ideas was a frivolous act. This so-called “gender controversy” did not develop into a constructive discussion, as Santa and other male art critics refused to take Chino’s argument seriously.

Apart from Kasahara’s gender- and sexuality-themed exhibitions, Tochigi prefecture Museum of Art’s Kokatsu Reiko also curated several exhibitions that revolved around a historical survey of women artists in the 1990s and 2000s. Although she identifies as a feminist, the exhibitions did not differentiate between women artists whose works reflected feminist ideas and those who did not. Under the unifying umbrella of “women,” Kokatsu seemed to celebrate “womenhood” in general, without presenting in-depth critiques of works that utilise feminist art theory.

The feminist artists’ collectives Women’s Art Network and Feminist Art Action Brigade organised two exhibitions: Women Breaking Boundaries (2000) and Borderline Cases (2005), respectively. Both exhibitions included not only Japanese feminist artists but also artists from Korea, Thailand, Pakistan, and Singapore, inspired by Womanifesto in Thailand and prominent activities of Asian feminist artists. They attempted to form an international coalition of feminist artists, scholars, and curators, but unfortunately both collectives were short-lived due to lack of membership and support.

 

Image: Cover of <i>PostGender: Gender, Sexuality and Performativity in Japanese Culture</i>.
Image: Cover of PostGender: Gender, Sexuality and Performativity in Japanese Culture.

 

Backlash

While feminism and related art exhibitions enjoyed short-lived prosperity in the 1990s, there came a huge backlash beginning in the early 2000s. A new “Basic Law for a Gender Equal Society” was introduced in 1999, which, while non-binding, still managed to enrage some conservative groups who claimed it would “destroy the beautiful Japanese traditional gender roles,” and so they waged a “gender bashing” campaign. One consequence was the cancellation of a lecture by a leading Japanese feminist Ueno Chizuko, after opposition from the local government’s objection to her potential use of the term “gender free.” During this time, historical revisionist groups were also fiercely denying the Japanese government’s involvement with so-called “comfort women” and other wartime crimes during WWII.

To make matters worse, Chino died suddenly in 2001. She was a central figure in the feminist art scene in Japan, and someone who could bring artists, scholars, and curators together. Since the backlash against feminism, it became increasingly difficult to even use the words “feminism” and “gender.” Some women artists’ works were celebrated for a while but in a rather dismissive manner. For example, the works of Nagashima Yurie and the colourful, pop images by other young female photographers in their twenties were labelled “girlie photos.” Meanwhile, works that leaned towards “feminist” by more senior artists, such as video art pioneer Idemitsu Mako, were largely ignored. Nagashima, dissatisfied with the way her works were received in Japan, left the country to study feminism. She has now returned and works as a feminist photographer, and, with support from feminist curator Kasahara Michiko, she presented a solo exhibition at Tokyo Museum of Photography in 2017, and is receiving more attention and appreciation.

After 2000, there were few exhibitions about feminist art, although there was an increased number of exhibitions about sex and sexuality. This was because the backlash made it difficult to organise an exhibition about feminism or feature only women artists, but meanwhile feminist theory was expanded to include LGBT- and other gender-related issues. Dumb Type’s S/N, which looked at AIDS, sexual minorities, and sex work, was ground-breaking in 1994, and opened the door for artists dealing with sexuality. But it should be noted that while the number of gay male artists exhibiting in major museums increased, there still seems to be little acceptance of lesbian artists. Ito Tari remains the sole “out” lesbian artist in Japan. This phenomenon is not limited to the art world. Compared to gay men, lesbians are nearly invisible in media, politics, and other aspects of Japanese society, due to the persistence of gender inequality even in the LGBT community.

Resurrection?

The backlash still prevails in Japan. In 2018, Japan’s gender equality ranked 110th among 149 surveyed in the world (based on the WEF’s global gender gap index), and Japan seems to be one of the few countries where the “Me Too” movement has had little effect. Any mentions of “comfort women” were taken out of school textbooks, and sexual harassment is not uncommon in Japanese institutions, including art schools. Representation of women artists in Japanese museum exhibitions and collections remains extremely low.

Will Japan remain a “black hole” of feminism in the world? Recently, Tomorrow Girls Troop has emerged as a self-identified “fourth-wave feminist art collective.” It was formed about three years ago in California by a Japanese woman and quickly gained support, with members all around the world. It now has members in Japan, Korea, the USA, and in South America, among others. They operate anonymously and mostly in cyberspace. They model themselves after the Guerrilla Girls and wear pink masks of rabbit-silkworm concoction when in public. Their works are concerned with social and feminist issues, such as sexual harassment on campus and “comfort women,” and take the forms of performance, public events (picnics, talks), campaign posters, and more. As they do not produce “art works” in traditional sense, the Japanese art world remains rather dismissive towards their activities. Even Japanese feminists seem to be suspicious of them because of their anonymity and their use of the internet.

There are also other collectives by young Japanese women artists concerned about the increasingly misogynistic, jingoistic, and xenophobic Japanese society. For instance, Back and Forth Collective, whose members are young Japanese female artists in Indonesia and Japan, deals with immigration, racism, and colonialism from the feminist perspective. Both TGT and FFC are multinational and multilingual. Their transnational and collaborative practices may be key to bring much needed changes in the Japanese art world and society at large, which remains quite conservative and intolerant.

 

Image: Cover of <i>Consuming Bodies: Sex and Contemporary Japanese Art.</i>
Image: Cover of Consuming Bodies: Sex and Contemporary Japanese Art.

 

Recommended Readings

 

Japanese Women Artists in Avant-garde Movements, 1950–1975 (Tochigi Prefectural Museum of Art) curated by Kokatsu Reiko [EX.JAP.JWA2]

This was a historical survey exhibition. Kokatsu appears to define this “avant-garde movement” as one that concerns Western-influenced modern art in postwar Japan, as 1950s social realism paintings by women artists such as Tomiyama Taeko and Akamatsu Toshiko (later Maruki Toshi), did not make an appearance. Featured here are also women artists from important collectives such as Fluxus, Jikken-kobo, Gutai, and Kyushu-ha, who were previously ignored. Yoshimoto Midori’s essay focuses on women in Fluxus and unearths works by some Japanese women artists in the group hitherto eclipsed by Yoko Ono. It is a well-researched history of women artists, but not necessarily that of feminist artists.

The Stakes of Exposure: Anxious Bodies in Postwar Japanese Art (Kunimoto Namiko, University of Minnesota Press)  [REF.KUN3]

This book covers the period from immediate postwar to the early 1960s. Kunimoto’s in-depth analysis of the relationship between political developments and the genderised body in post-war Japan reveals its complex power and desire. Works by two women artists, Katsura Yuki and Tanaka Atsuko, are discussed; but also those by a male artist Nakamura Hiroshi, which makes the argument of representation of the body much more layered and nuanced.

Women? Japan? Art? (edited by Chino Kaori and Kumakura Takaaki) [REF.KUT]

This is the first book in Japan on feminist art theory. It was based on a symposium at Keio University held in 1996. It covers various topics including art history, political theory, colonialism, pop culture, and art practices. Artists Morimura Yasumasa and Shimada Yoshiko also participated in a discussion about gender in their works. Some of the essays are also translated into English and collected in Gender and Power in the Japanese Visual Field (Mostow 2003).

Gender – Beyond Memory: The Works of Contemporary Women Artists (Tokyo Metropolitan Museum of Photography) curated by Kasahara Michiko [EX.JAP.GBM]

This was the first feminist art exhibition in Japan. Although there were “women only” exhibitions before, they were mostly women artists’ association exhibitions and did not have a unifying theme. This exhibition was the first one that was explicitly informed by feminism. Kasahara wrote, “[W]omen artists have been remarkably active in the field of expression. They have used the standpoint to question what women are and what it is they express while simultaneously trying to re-interpret and redefine their own image...and to create expressions that deal with contemporary problems related to sex, race, culture and class.”

Women Breaking Boundaries 21 [EX.JAP.WBB]

This is the first exhibition organised by a feminist artists’ collective, WAN (Women Artists’ Network). WAN was established by Ito Tari after her participation in Womanifesto in Thailand in 1997. This exhibition was also the first meeting of prominent feminist artists from Asia and their Japanese counterparts. However, the majority of participants from Japan were not professional artists and had no previous exhibition experience, which puzzled the participating artists from other Asian countries. There were two reasons for the lack of “professional” artists. One was that the organiser did not enforce “discriminatory” criteria for the participants—therefore anyone who wanted to participate got in—and the other was that quite a few Japanese women artists who were invited declined to participate as they did not want to labelled as “feminists.”

MOT Annual 2005: Life Actually (Museum of Contemporary Art, Tokyo) curated by Kasahara Michiko [EX.JAP.MOT.2005]

Another feminist art exhibition by Kasahara, featuring all Japanese women artists. The previous exhibitions she curated had more foreign artists than Japanese artists, but this time she concentrated on contemporary Japanese women and their everyday experiences. Okada Hiroko’s video piece features an ordinary housewife going slowing crazy, Idemitsu Mako’s video looked at the history of her family (a prominent oil company founder), and Sawada Tomoko’s work was a self-portrait that explored stereotypes of Japanese women. Perhaps this focus on the “everyday” is due to the backlash towards feminism. Instead of ostentatiously vocalising feminism, Kasahara chose to utilise small, daily occurrences to make the exhibition accessible to a wider audience.

PostGender: Gender, Sexuality and Performativity in Japanese Culture (Ayelet Zohar) [REF.ZOA]

This book is based on a conference and an exhibition of the same title in Israel in 2006. The essays in the volume deal mainly with bodies and sexuality. The majority of the artists featured here are male, and although the works of some feminist artists (Idemitsu Mako, Okada Yuko, Ishiuchi Miyako, Nakashima, Shimada) were discussed, there appears to be no direct mention of feminism. As the title indicates, “post” gender may imply gender without feminism. 

Consuming Bodies: Sex and Contemporary Japanese Art (edited by Fran Lloyd) [REF.LLF]

This book is an accompaniment to the exhibition Sex and Consumerism, which explored the issue of sex-work, sexuality, and memories in contemporary Japan. Some of the works discussed are the same as the ones featured in PostGender, but the focus here are the relationships between the sexualised, gendered body and the urban landscape, as well as how the private body becomes public property in hyper-capitalist societies. Aida Makoto’s grotesque painting of an amputated girl became controversial when the exhibition travelled to Wales, and gallery attendants refused to sit in the same room as the work.

n.paradoxa: International Feminist Art Journal #39 [PER.NPA]

Shimada Yoshiko and Amanda Heng are veteran feminist artists in Japan and Singapore. Here, they discuss the history of feminism and art in Asia (presided and edited by Eliza Tan). They both participated in the Women Breaking the Boundary exhibition in 2001 and pointed out the problematic lack of criticality in Japanese feminist art.

Tomorrow Girls Troop: A Fourth-Wave Feminist Art Collective” (AAA’s IDEAS Journal)

TGT is a fourth-wave feminist art collective. An overview of their work can be found in this essay on AAA’s IDEAS Journal, and on their website (in Japanese, Korean, and English). The group is currently promoting young Japanese women’s awareness of the “comfort women” issue. They are cooperating with artists to protest against the censorship of the After: Freedom of Expression? exhibition at Aichi Triennale. 

 

 

Shimada Yoshiko lives and works in Chiba, Japan. She graduated from Scripps College, USA, in 1982, and received her PhD from Kingston University, London, in 2015. Her artwork explores themes of cultural memory and the role of women in the Asia-Pacific War. Her works have been exhibited both nationally and internationally. In recent years, Shimada has been researching post-1968 art and politics in Japan. She has curated exhibitions, such as Anti-Academy (John Hansard Gallery, 2013), Nakajima Yoshio Syndrome (Atsukobarouh, 2015), and From Nirvana to Catastrophe (Ota Fine Arts, 2017), for which she wrote and edited the catalogues. She is currently working on the Matsuzawa Yutaka Archive in Nagano, and serving as Director of the Matsuzawa Yutaka Psi Room Foundation. She lectures on Japanese art and politics of the 1960s and 70s, and art and feminisms in Japan at The University of Tokyo.

 

Imprint

Author

SHIMADA Yoshiko, 嶋田美子

Topic
Collection Spotlight
Date
Wed, 21 Aug 2019

Relevant content

tgt home
Tomorrow Girls Troop: A Fourth-Wave Feminist Art Collective
Ideas | Essays

Tomorrow Girls Troop: A Fourth-Wave Feminist Art Collective

Reflections on activism, gender equality, and visual representation in Japan from an emerging feminist art collective

Shortlist | Japan
Shortlist | Japan
Ideas | Collection Spotlight

Shortlist | Japan

Recommended readings on Japanese contemporary art

sorimhome
Setting the Stage: Korean Women Artists on Performance and Beauty
Ideas | Essays

Setting the Stage: Korean Women Artists on Performance and Beauty

So-Rim Lee examines how two emerging feminist artists stage and politicise a hair salon and a cosmetics store

Shimada_List
Shimada Yoshiko | Art That Makes You Uncomfortable
Programmes

Shimada Yoshiko | Art That Makes You Uncomfortable

Mon, 28 May 2018, 1 – 2 PM

Shimada_list_02
Shimada Yoshiko | Gendaishicho-sha Bigakko: Alternative Art Education in Post-1968 Japan
Programmes

Shimada Yoshiko | Gendaishicho-sha Bigakko: Alternative Art Education in Post-1968 Japan

Wed, 30 May 2018, 7 – 8 PM

Shimada_list_01
Residency Programme | Residency | Shimada Yoshiko
Programmes

Residency Programme | Residency | Shimada Yoshiko

25 May – 4 Jun 2018

Yoshiko Shimada_Cover
Yoshiko Shimada
Monograph

Yoshiko Shimada

嶋田美子展
1996

藝文

離經叛道的粉紅:日本女性主義藝術

「推介館藏」為一系列主題性精選書單,選材來自亞洲藝術文獻庫館藏,由特約作者擬題及撰寫。以下推介館藏由嶋田美子撰寫,縱觀日本1990年代至今的女性主義和女性主義藝術發展。

 

Image: Cover of <i>The Stakes of Exposure: Anxious Bodies in Postwar Japanese Art</i>, by Namiko Kunimoto.
圖片︰《The Stakes of Exposure: Anxious Bodies in Postwar Japanese Art》封面,Kunimoto Namiko著。

 

前女性主義藝術︰1990年代前

在日本,各式女性主義(或女性運動)早在1868年明治維新期間已存在,並在其後的現代化進程中持續發酵。但真正具意識地指涉女性主義理論的女性主義藝術,則要等到1990年代以後才出現。Katsura Yuki(桂ゆき)、田中敦子(「具體派」成員),以及田部光子(桂ゆき)和田部光子(「九州派」成員)等人都是當時寥寥可數的先驅。不過,除了熱衷於解決女性角色、身體和性(sexuality)等議題的部分藝術家,其餘大多數活躍於1950至1980年代的女性藝術家的作品都無法與同期男性藝術家的作品區別開來,其中以抽象藝術尤甚。這也許是因為在當時的日本藝術界,女性藝術家只能透過融入來獲得認可。當時,也有女性藝術家組成不同群體(像是女性藝術家協會之類)並舉辦聯展,但這並不代表她們共享一種「女性主義意識」。此舉多時是為了確保自己的作品能夠出展,有時則緣於她們的作品通常規模較小、多運用傳統中的「女性化」媒介(水彩、編織和其他手工藝)而被歸納為「不那麼正式」的作品,因此與大師的「正式」作品區別開來。

1990年代的女性主義藝術和展覽

日本並非沒有如小野洋子和草間彌生般著名、舉足輕重的日本女性藝術家,只是她們主要活躍於美國的藝術圈,在日本藝術圈中反而備受忽略甚至奚落。直至1990年代,她們的作品與成就才獲重新審視。從那個年代起,學者、策展人以及藝評人也逐漸以女性主義角度剖析女藝術家的作品。千野香織(1952–2001)是首批將女性主義理論帶入日本藝術史的學者之一。她在1993年出版的論文〈Gender in Japanese Art〉(意譯「日本藝術中的性別」,後來被翻譯並編入由夏威夷大學出版社於2003年出版的《Gender and Power in the Japanese Visual Field》)就是以此為題的第一篇論著。她在1995年成立「Image and Gender」學習研討會,由此支持並孕育了不少女性主義藝術家、學者和策展人。與此同時,除了理論上的發展,笠原美智子於1995年在東京都寫真美術館策展了首個以「性別」為主題的展覽《Gender – Beyond Memory》。該次展覽後,更多與性別及女性藝術家相關的展覽接踵而來。「女性主義」、「性別」此等種種新觀念在藝術界嶄露頭角,惹來部分男性藝術評論人的惡意相向;Santa Haruo於1996年在藝術雜誌《L/R》寫道,女性主藝是「舶來品」,無法應用於日本,而嘗試引入這些觀念是輕佻之舉。但由於Santa和其他類似的男性藝評人都不願意認真正視千野的主張,這種所謂的「性別爭議」並沒有發展成具建設性的討論。

除了笠原美智子以性別及性(sexuality)為主題的展覽以外,來自宇都宮美術館的小勝禮子也曾策展了幾個圍繞1990及2000年代女性藝術家的歷史性綜合展覧。她雖然以女性主義者自居,但在展覽上,卻沒有以作品中女性主義意念的有無來區分參展女性藝術家。小勝禮子似乎是在籠統地頌揚「婦女」(womenhood),在「女性」一傘式術語下,未有對運用女性主義理論的作品展開深入批判。

女性藝術家群體Women’s Art Network和Feminist Art Action Brigade分別籌辦了《Women Breaking Boundaries》(2000)和《Borderline Cases》(2005)兩個展覽。除了日本女性主義藝術家外,參展者亦包括來自韓國、泰國、巴基斯坦和新加坡等受到泰國《Womanifesto》和亞洲女性主義藝術家各式運動啟發的藝術家。他們曾嘗試組成國際性的女性主義藝術家、學者及策展聯盟,卻不幸因為缺乏支持和參與者而很快便結束運作。

 

Image: Cover of <i>PostGender: Gender, Sexuality and Performativity in Japanese Culture</i>.
圖片︰《PostGender: Gender, Sexuality and Performativity in Japanese Culture》封面。

 

反撲

女性主義和相關的藝術展覽在1990年代有過短暫的熱潮,但在2000年頭便迎來了強烈的反彈。1999年,一部全新的、不具法律效力的「性別公平社會基本法」面世,惹來了不少保守派別的不滿,指斥這種舉措會「摧毀日本美麗的傳統性別角色」,並因此發動了「性別攻擊(gender bashing)」運動。日本女性主義者先驅上野千鶴子因可能採用「性別自由」一詞惹來 當地政府反對,講課因此被取消。其時,一些歷史修正主義組織更在強烈否認日本政府在二戰時與「慰安婦」關聯以及於其他戰爭罪行中的任何參與。

上野千鶴子在2001年的突然離世更是令事情進一步惡化。上野是日本女性主義藝術的中流砥柱,號召力強,能凝聚不同藝術家、學者和策展人。自從社會上出現對女性主義的強烈反撲,使用「女性主義」或「性別」這樣的字詞便變得越來越困難。某些女性藝術家曾受過坊間短期的讚賞,但當中通常夾雜著輕蔑,例如長島有里枝和其他以普普風格見稱的年輕女性攝影師的作品皆因色彩鮮明而被標籤為「少女氣的相片(girlie photos)」。同時,由更資深的藝術家——如錄像藝術先驅出光真子——所創作的「女性主義」向作品則備受忽略。長島後來因對自己作品在日本所受的評價感到不滿,轉而出國深造,鑽研女性主義。她現已以女性主義攝影師的身分歸國,在2017年更在策展人笠原美智子的支持下,於東京都寫真美術館舉行了個人展覽,比早年獲得更多關注及識賞。

2000年後只有少數與女性主義藝術相關的展覽,但卻出現了更多有關性(sex)和性(sexuality)的展覽。這是因為社會上出現的強烈反彈,令舉辦女性主義相關或只展出女性藝術家作品的展覽變得相當困難,但與此同時,女性主義理論的內涵又擴展至包括LGBT及其他與性別有關的議題。Dumb Type的《S/N》探討愛滋病、性小眾及性工作,在1994年面世時是非常破格的作品,更是為日後繼續致力探討性(sexuality)的藝術家鋪路。值得留意的是,雖然參與主要博物館展覽的男同性戀藝術家有所增加,但人們對於女同性戀藝術家的接受度仍然較低,伊藤塔莉(Ito Tari)仍是唯一一個「已出櫃」的日本女同性戀藝術家。這個現象並不止於藝術界,在政界、傳媒界等其他社會界別中,與男同性戀者所受到的關注相比,女同性戀者幾乎不存在。由此可見,即使在LGBT的社群中,也有嚴重的性別不平等。

重生?

在日本,這種反彈持續至今。根據2018年世界經濟論壇編製的性別落差指數,在149個國家之中,日本的性別平等指數排名第110。而且,日本似乎是少數沒有受「Me Too」運動太大影響的國家之一。日本的教科書中完全沒有提及「慰安婦」,制度內的性騷擾更是屢見不鮮,藝術學校也深受其害,女性藝術家在日本博物館展覽和收藏中的代表性仍然低企。

日本會否永遠是世界的女性主義黑洞?最近,以「第四波女性主義藝術群體」自居的明日少女隊出現了;這個來自美國加州、三年前由一名日本女士發起的群體很快就廣受注目,得到來自世界各地的隊員支持。目前,明日少女隊的隊員遍佈日本、韓國、美國和南美等國家及地區。她們大多在網路空間中以匿名身分行動,並以Guerrilla Girls為楷模,在公眾地方穿戴兔子樣式的粉紅色蠶絲質頭套。她們的工作主要涉及社會及女性主義議題,如校園內的性騷擾和「慰安婦」等,並以行為藝術、公眾項目(野餐、講座)及宣傳海報等形式進行倡議工作。由於她們並沒有製作傳統意義上的「藝術品」,日本藝術界對她們的活動持輕蔑態度。即使是女性主義者,也因為她們的匿名性質、運用網路推廣行動的形式而對其產生質疑。

現時,日本社會變得越來越厭女、排外,高舉沙文主義。除明日少女隊外,還有其他為此而生的年輕女性藝術家團體,例如是由日本、印尼的年輕日籍女性藝術家組成的Back and Forth Collective(BFC),主要以女性主義角度出發,處理移民、種族主義和殖民主義等問題。明日少女隊和BFC皆為跨國群體,同時使用多種語言,它們的跨國協作的實踐可能是改變較為保守和接受能力較低的日本藝術界的關鍵。

 

Image: Cover of <i>Consuming Bodies: Sex and Contemporary Japanese Art.</i>
圖片︰《Consuming Bodies: Sex and Contemporary Japanese Art》封面。

 

館藏推介

 

《Japanese Women Artists in Avant-garde Movements》,小勝禮子策展,1950至1975年,栃木県立美術館。[EX.JAP.JWA2]

此為歷史性綜合展覽。由於該次展覽並無展出1950年代的社會現實主義藝術家如富山妙子和赤松俊子(後來的丸木俊)等人的作品,小勝禮子似乎將這裡的「先鋒派藝術運動」定性為受西方影響的戰後日本現代藝術。同場加映有來自Fluxus、Jikken-kobo、具體派和Kyushu-ha等早年被忽視之著名藝術群體的女性藝術家。Yoshimoto Midori的論文主要探討來自Fluxus的女性,並讓群體內一些曾被小野洋子名氣蓋過的日本女性藝術家重見天日。這是個很全面的女性藝術家歷史研究,但並不全然與女性主義藝術家有關。

《The Stakes of Exposure: Anxious Bodies in Postwar Japanese Art》,Kunimoto Namiko著, University of Minnesota出版社。[REF.KUN3]

此書涵蓋戰後至1960年代日本。Kunimoto深入分析戰後日本的政治發展和性別化身體之間的關係,揭示其複雜的權力結構和欲望。除Katsura Yuki(桂ゆき)和田中敦子兩位女性藝術家外,書中亦有討論男性藝術家中村宏的作品,由此充實並深化了「身體的再現」這個論點。

《Women? Japan? Art?》,千野香織和Kumakura Takaakia著。[REF.KUT]

這是日本首本以女性主義藝術理為題的書籍,以1996年在慶應義塾大學一場研討會為基礎,涵蓋藝術歷史、政治理論、殖民主義、流行文化和藝術實踐等題目。藝術家森村泰昌和嶋田美子亦就其作品中的性別展開討論。當中某些論文亦被翻譯成英文,收錄於《Gender and Power in the Japanese Visual Field》(Mostow著,2003年)。

《Gender – Beyond Memory: The Works of Contemporary Women Artists》,笠原美智子策展,東京都寫真美術館。[EX.JAP.GBM]

這是日本首個女性主義藝術展覽。雖然日本早前亦出現過「只限女性」的展覽,但多時由女性藝術家協會所籌辦,並無統一主題,不如這個展覽般,明顯高舉女性主義思想。笠原美智子寫道,「女性藝術家一向無比積極於表達領域,並由此拷問女性的意義,審視她們在重新詮釋、重新定義其自我形象時所同時表達的信息……並創造不同的表達方式,以處理與性、種族、文化和階級相關的當代問題。」

《Women Breaking Boundaries 21》[EX.JAP.WBB]

這是第一個由女性主義藝術家群體WAN(Women Artists’ Network)組織的展覽。WAN由伊藤塔莉(Ito Tari)於1997年參與泰國《Womanifesto》後創立。這個展覽亦是來自亞洲其他地方與日本女性主義藝術家的首次會面。不過,大多數日本參展者皆非專業藝術家,亦無參展經驗,令來自亞洲其他地區的參與藝術家大感驚訝。這種「專業」藝術家從缺的原因有二︰第一,當時的籌辦方並無劃下「排斥」非專業藝術家的參展準則,所有申請參加者均獲接納;第二,當時有數位獲邀的日本女性藝術家都因為不希望被標籤為「女性主義者」而拒絕邀請。

《MOT Annual 2005: Life Actually》,笠原美智子策展,東京都現代美術館。[EX.JAP.MOT.2005]

由笠原美智子策展的另一個女性主義藝術展覽中,所囊括的女性藝術家則悉數來自日本。在笠原過往的展覽中,參展的外國藝術家一向比日本藝術家多。但在《MOT Annual 2005: Life Actually》中,笠原則專注於當代日本女性和她們的日常經驗。岡田裕子的錄影作品講述一名逐漸變得瘋癲的平庸家庭主婦、出光真子的錄像探究其顯赫的石油公司創辦人家族史,澤田知子則以自畫像探索不同日本女性典型。笠原或許是考慮到公眾對女性主義的反撲,才以「日常」為題——比起招搖地提倡女性主義,她選擇了運用日常瑣事來設計展覽,令之對公眾來說更容易消化。

《PostGender: Gender, Sexuality and Performativity in Japanese Culture》,Ayelet Zohar著。 [REF.ZOA]

此書根據2006年以色列一場同名的會議和展覽撰成,所收錄論文多圍繞身體和性(sexuality)。當時參展的主要是男性藝術家,而雖然文中亦觸及某些女性主義藝術家如出光真子、Okada Yuko、石內都、伽耶子和嶋田美子的作品,卻沒有直接提及女性主義。一如標題所揭示的,「後」性別可能指涉無女性主義的性別。

《Consuming Bodies: Sex and Contemporary Japanese Art》,Fran Lloyd編。[REF.LLF]

此書為展覽《Sex and Consumerism》的附冊,探討當代日本的性工作、性(sexuality)和記憶。當中論及的某些作品亦展於《PostGender》中,但此書的重點在於sexualised、gendered身體和都市面貌的關係,以及private body在hyper資本主義社會中如何成為公共財產。展覽輾轉至Wales,Aida Makoto所畫的一幅grotesque截肢女孩在當地引起爭議,參觀者更拒絕與該作品共處一室。

《n.paradoxa: International Feminist Art Journal》第39期 [PER.NPA]

Shimada Yoshiko and Amanda Heng都是日本和新加坡的veteran女性主義藝術家。在此書中,他們談論亞洲的女性主義和藝術歷史(由Eliza Tan presided及編輯)。她們都曾參與2001年展覽《Women Breaking the Boundary》並指出日本女性主義藝術中缺乏批判性的問題。

〈明日少女隊作為第四波女性主義藝術群體〉,亞洲藝術文獻庫刊物《藝文》。

明日少女隊是第四波女性主義藝術群體,其工作概覽可見於亞洲藝術文獻庫刊物《藝文》的論文及其網站(日本、韓文及英語版本)。明日少女隊現時正於年輕婦女間推廣「慰安婦」一議題,並正與藝術家合作,抗議愛知三年展展覽《After: Freedom of Expression?》的審查。

 

 

嶋田美子現駐日本千葉市。嶋田於1982年畢業於美國斯克利普斯學院,並於2015年於倫敦金斯頓大學取得博士學位。其藝術作品主要探索亞洲—太平洋戰爭的文化記憶以及婦女在當中的角色,曾展於各國家及國際展覽中。近年,嶋田主力研究日本後1968的政治及藝術。嶋田曾策展展覽《Anti-Academy》(John Hansard Gallery,2013年)、《中島由夫症候群(Nakajima Yoshio Syndrome)》(東京Atsukobarouh,2015年),在展覽《From Nirvana to Catastrophe》(東京Ota Fine Arts,2017年)中兼任圖錄的撰寫人及編輯。嶋田現任Matsuzawa Yutaka Psi Room Foundation總監,現時在長野縣整理松澤宥的檔案庫,並在東京大學講授1960及70年代日本藝術及政治,以及日本藝術與女性主義。

 

由黃珍盈翻譯自英文原文。

 

版本

作者

SHIMADA Yoshiko, 嶋田美子

主題
館藏推介
日期
2019年8月21日 (星期三)

相關內容

tgt home
明日少女隊作為第四波女性主義藝術群體
藝文 | 文章

明日少女隊作為第四波女性主義藝術群體

新晉女性主義藝術群體「明日少女隊」反思日本的行動主義、性別平權和視覺表徵

Shortlist | Japan
推介館藏 | 日本
藝文 | 館藏推介

推介館藏 | 日本

有關日本當代藝術的各個面向 (只提供英文版)

Shimada_List
嶋田美子 | 觸動神經的藝術
活動

嶋田美子 | 觸動神經的藝術

2018年5月28日 (星期一)
下午1時至2時

Shimada_list_02
嶋田美子 | 現代思潮社.美學校:1968年後的日本另類藝術教育
活動

嶋田美子 | 現代思潮社.美學校:1968年後的日本另類藝術教育

2018年5月30日 (星期三)
下午7時至8時

Shimada_list_01
駐場計劃 | 駐場計劃 | 嶋田美子
活動

駐場計劃 | 駐場計劃 | 嶋田美子

2018年5月25日(星期五)至6月4日(星期一)

Yoshiko Shimada_Cover
Yoshiko Shimada
專題著作

Yoshiko Shimada

嶋田美子展
1996