Essays

The Unsettled Pleasures of Viewing: Exhibition as a Meeting Point Between Our Bodies and Artwork

This essay first appeared in AAA's previous publication Field Notes, Issue 04. To read the "Note from the Editors" for full context, please click here.

 

This text collects fragmented notes related to my ongoing research on exhibition making in China. Part of this research has been compiled in the book A History of Exhibitions: Shanghai 1979–2006 and will soon launch in the Asia Art Archive website looking at artist-organised exhibitions in Shanghai between 1979 and 2006. The selection of exhibitions in the above mentioned archive is focused primarily on group exhibitions with a select number of solo exhibitions in which the artists had a specific interest in rethinking the way artwork was promoted and presented in public.

When talking about exhibitions, it is impossible not to think about institutions, so this text also hints at how the museum as an institution has been introduced to China. Today, exhibitions rather than museums act as the site of knowledge production, illuminating the very different role museums have in relation to the Western art historical context in which museums, the development of modern art, and the study of art history were and are still interconnected.

Furthermore, the notion of the white cube space that was introduced in the West after World War II was deeply linked to the institutionalisation of art; whereas in China, the white cube would not be introduced until after 2000 when it was closely linked to the commercialisation of the art scene. By re-visiting past exhibitions, we can understand their impact on exhibition making practice.



While the text below provides historical background for the images, the purpose of this essay is to encourage the reading of the images themselves. The images reveal the rarely described dynamics between exhibitions, viewer, and his/her body. The images suggest that an exhibition can be experienced not only intellectually, but also sensually, emotionally, and even sexually. Neither institutions nor artists can impose such direct and uniquely individual experiences. While studies have been made to map out and analyse these responses, it is difficult to capture and recreate the intimacy and immediacy of the relationship between work and viewer. I hope that these images provide a fragmented reading of that direct experience, and help to bring exhibition experience in to exhibition histories.

Image: <i>Continue to Write A Story</i> in the Exhibition Hall.
Image: Continue to Write A Story in the Exhibition Hall.
[Please view the video here. Password: liraninsfcca]

Established 200 years ago, a new exhibition ritual specific to democratic capitalist nations formed a set of values and parameters fundamental to western societies: a linear notion of time, the increased estimation of the individual, production of the material object, and its circulation through commerce. Similar to an exhibition, the museum provides structure for social governance and defines the space for ritual. In the above mentioned aspect of exhibition ritual and its core characteristics, I would also like to add that exhibitions ritualised the act of public viewing of the object.

Describing a Chinese artist's visit to a museum in Europe, Li Ran's work Continue to Write a Story in the Exhibition Hall argues that, rather than discourse, it is the very experience of the museum and the learned practice of exhibition viewing that introduced modernism to China. While I would argue that discourse and vivid exchange have existed for centuries, I agree with Li that the exhibition remains the most active vehicle of knowledge production in recent Chinese art history. Exhibitions are the very moment when works become public, and, when publics become "the public."

Early museums in China, established mostly by foreign entities, could be described as natural history museums, which also occasionally presented exhibitions of traditional Chinese painting and porcelain. In these museums, one can clearly identify a strong connection to the tradition of the Natural History Museum as conceived in Europe, as well as the so-called "curiosity cabinets" which attempted to present the world as a singular whole and likewise examined China as such.

The first domestic art museum in China was established in 1905 by Zhang Jian, a local entrepreneur and reformist, in the town of Nantong in Jiangsu Province (today a two-hour bus ride from Shanghai). In 1895, he proposed to the Qing Dynasty Court to build a museum in the capital city of Beijing as well as in each province across the country. Today, over one hundred years later, Zhang Jian's dream has partially come true. On average, nearly 100 new museums are being built annually across the country. During 2011, that figure reached a staggering 386 new museums—more than one per day.

Image: Nan Tong Museum, Yan Naizhao, 1908.
Image: Nan Tong Museum, Yan Naizhao, 1908. Courtesy of Nan Tong Museum.


The Daily News from May 1939 writes: "The exposition organized by Heude Museum to commemorate the 70th anniversary of its foundation continues to have outstanding success. Everyday, even before the door’s open, there is a long queue of people waiting to rush into various exhibition halls. 55,000 visitors have been registered for the first week."

Image: Feature in <i>The North-China Daily News</i>, 21 May 1939.
Image: Feature in The North-China Daily News, 21 May 1939. Reverend Father Piel, Director of the museum, addresses the guests attending the function held in the museum building, 221. Av. Dubail.


The North China Daily News also announces visitor numbers in its report on the RAS Shanghai Museum on June 6, 1939. The article titled "Greater Interest in Shanghai Museum—Record Number of Visitors During May, Campaign to Wipe Out Society Debt" states that "Interest in Shanghai Museum (RAS), one of the major activities of Royal Asiatic Society in this city, appears to be increasing by leaps and bounds especially amongst Chinese of the student class. During May, the number of visitors to this institution was 8,256, which is over 2,000 more than in April, itself a record month."

Image: RAS Shanghai Museum opening, 1933.
Image: RAS Shanghai Museum opening, 1933. Courtesy of Royal Asiatic Society in Shanghai.


Around the same time as these reports circulated on large-scale institutions, avant-garde artist groups around the country attempted and struggled to present self-organised exhibitions and draw audiences. According to artist Pan Xunqun, Storm Society's first exhibition in October 1932 that took place at Shanghai's Chinese Arts Students Society "was rather poorly located for drawing the attention of the general public and had inadequate light for showing the paintings." Storm Society continued to have exhibitions although the venue changed and the audience was limited to students and "friends from cultural circles." What actually expanded the outreach of these early avant-garde artists toward a larger audience was not an art museum, but a magazine called The Young Companion Pictorial which published works of contemporary artists regularly at that time, and through its content, ranging from lifestyle to art and culture, attempted to foster a yet-to-be-developed Chinese middle class. The Young Companion served as an exhibition platform for these avant-garde movements as well as a meeting point where a larger audience would encounter works of these artists for the first time.

Image: <i>The Young Companion Pictorial</i>, 1933. The Third Exhibition of Storm Society.
Image: The Young Companion Pictorial, 1933. The Third Exhibition of Storm Society. The Second Exhibition of Chinese Independent Artists Association.

Salon to Biennial: Exhibitions That Made History Volume 1 starts with Edouard Manet's quote: "To exhibit is to find friends and allies for the struggle." Like the avant-gardes in early twentieth-century China, artists of the 1980's also struggled for an audience. There is little available information of the audience they did have. Many early exhibitions kept notebooks in which visitors signed their names and left comments, but none of them have survived. From images published in A History of Exhibitions: Shanghai 1979–2006, we can surmise that the audience was comprised mainly of artists' peers and close circles. As such, exhibitions became an important site of communication and sharing between artists.

The 1979 Twelve Men Painting Exhibition has symbolic historical significance as the first artist-organised exhibition after the Cultural Revolution. According to Chen Juyuan, one of the organisers and participating artists, 2,000 people visited this exhibition per day, not all of whom were friends or peers of the artists. They eventually extended the exhibition period in response to its popularity.

Image: <i>Twelve Men Painting Exhibition</i>, 1979.
Image: Twelve Men Painting Exhibition, 1979. Courtesy of Chen Juyuan.

During the 1980s, it was often difficult to differentiate between viewers, participants, and artists. Many artist-organised exhibitions after Twelve Man Painting Exhibition made no clear distinction between viewer and artists officially participating in the exhibition. In the 1986 Concave-Convex Exhibition, the first exhibition in Shanghai to present a new concept of sculpture (what we would today interpret as installation and artists' attempts to create work in relationship with site), the Shanghai-based artist Yang Hui invited himself to participate. He made a series of interventions on-site, including the destruction of one of the other sculptures in the exhibition, tying up other works with rope, tying audience, etc.

Image: <i>Concave-Convex Exhibition</i>, 1986. Local artist Yang Hui (right), with a group of artists including Song Haoidong (left) and Shen Fan (middle), intervened during exhibition opening, tying up audience members on site.
Image: Concave-Convex Exhibition, 1986. Local artist Yang Hui (right), with a group of artists including Song Haoidong (left) and Shen Fan (middle), intervened during exhibition opening, tying up audience members on site.
Courtesy of Yang Hui.

First Exhibition of Nudes held in Shanghai Art Museum in 1988 was another rare example in the 1980s of an audience made up of people outside the artists' circle of peers. Gong Jianhua's beautiful, but also disconcerting photographs of this exhibition show males gazing at female bodies in the oil paintings. The exhibition became a site that reveals certain emotional aspects and desires that would not ordinarily exist in the public realm. The exhibition moved parameters of acceptance—what should or should not be presented in public in China. According to many reports related to this exhibition, Shanghai mayor Jiang Zeming made a visit to the exhibition in order to legitimise its importance, which hints at the important dynamic and power that exhibition had within the larger social framework.


In the September/October 2014 issue of Yishu Journal of Contemporary Chinese Art, Yang Chao states in his interview with Zheng Shengtian, that family and state constitute Chinese thinking entirely, and that there is no cultural space beyond it. Tied to neither, exhibitions exist temporally and spatially outside the two poles that frame life in China.

When I asked German artist Alexander Brandt, who organised many important exhibitions in Shanghai with Yang Zhenzhong, Xu Zhen, among others, to describe the audience that attended exhibitions organised in China from late 1990s–2006, he answered that he perceived that while the artists were getting progressively older, the audiences were getting younger. This demography is very telling of contemporary art exhibition audiences: It seems as though audiences, then and now, consist of young students or recent graduates who follow art-related events only for a certain time, eventually stopping after establishing their own families.

Image: <i>Jin Yuan Road Exhibition</i>, 1988.
Image: Jin Yuan Road Exhibition, 1988. Courtesy of Alexander Brandt.


In the last decade, the emerging Chinese middle class has increasingly embraced viewing exhibitions as a social ritual, usually as a consumer act that is encouraged as part of an individual’s social activities. Museums take these viewers as numbers—as a statistic hoping to break potential attendance records, turning people into masses and abstract economic charts.

The majority of exhibitions hope to raise the number of visitors who take selfies and immediately upload the images online to grow the museum's popularity. While this culture presents an interesting form of exhibition documentation, it seems that the viewers' direct experience with the artwork exists only at the precise moment the photo is taken—often with their backs to it, and not a second more. Exhibitions continue to turn into the static format of objects presented in a white cube space, providing ritualised structures that propose certain rules for behaving and "pressing the button" routine as Zygmunt Baumann states, distancing the viewer from their imaginative capacity, forgetting that every exhibition is a unique situation to encounter.

Biljana Ciric is an independant curator based in Shanghai.

Imprint

Author

Biljana CIRIC

Topic
Essays
Date
Wed, 1 Apr 2015
Cite as
Biljana CIRIC, The Unsettled Pleasures of Viewing: Exhibition as a Meeting Point Between Our Bodies and Artwork, Wed, 1 Apr 2015

Relevant content

AAA Project Space, Archiving Materials
Ideas is AAA's New Online Publication
Press

Ideas is AAA's New Online Publication

Each Monday, Asia Art Archive publishes new essays, interviews, and curated journeys through the research collections

文章

觀看的愉悅與浮躁:展覽作為身體與藝術作品的交匯點

本文較早前收錄於文獻庫期刊 《搜記》第四期,請按此閱覽《編者的話》了解文章的來龍去脈。

 

本文匯聚我以中國展覽實踐 (exhibition making practice)為題的研究的零碎記錄。相關研究仍在進行中,部分成果收錄於《展覽的歷史:上海1979-2006》(A History of Exhibitions: Shanghai 1979–2006)一書之中。此書檢視上海從1979到2006年由藝術家所組織的展覽;研究將上載到亞洲藝術文獻庫網站。書中談及的展覽以群展為主,亦有若干個人展覽。在這些展覽中,藝術家具體地反思在公共場域中推動及展示藝術作品的方法。
 
提到展覽,難免讓人想起藝術機制,本文因而對博物館這一藝術機制傳入中國的途徑有所指涉。時至今日,展覽已經取代博物館,成為生產知識的場域,而它點出在西方歷史語境下──博物館、現代藝術發展狀況與藝術史研究仍互相聯繫,博物館扮演着截然不同的角色。
 
此外,白盒子的空間是二戰後在西方出現的概念,與藝術體制化有着無法分割的關係;而在中國,白盒子則在2000年後才出現,並與藝術商業化擁有千絲萬縷的關係。透過重新審視過去的展覽,讀者不難明白這些展覽對於展覽實踐所起的作用。

儘管下文會為圖像提供其歷史背景,但本文的目的仍然是希望鼓勵讀者去閱讀圖像。它們展示了展覽、觀眾及其身體三者間鮮有提及的動態關係。下面的圖像揭示,展覽不僅可以藉由思想感受,亦可以透過感官、情感、甚至性慾來加以體驗。無論是藝術機構或藝術家,都無法向觀者施加如此直接、獨特的個人體驗。縱使不少研究嘗試勾勒、分析觀者的反應,但依然難以抓緊、重現作品與觀者之間親密、即時的關係。我希望,這些圖像能為該種直接體驗提供零碎的解讀,並將展覽體驗引入展覽歷史之中。

Image: <i>Continue to Write A Story</i> in the Exhibition Hall.
圖片:〈在展覽館繼續寫故事〉, 按此觀看錄像[PW1] ,密碼:liraninsfcca

兩百年前,一種新的展覽模式在民主資本主義國家興起,形成了一系列西方社會的基本價值與標準:直線發展的時間概念、日漸興起的個人判斷、物品的生產,以及物品在商業領域的流動。博物館與展覽有異曲同工之處,它為社會管治提供結構,為儀式界定空間。在上述的展覽儀式及其關鍵特質中,我認為展覽已成為一種儀式化的結構,予公眾在其中觀看物件。
 
李然的〈在展覽館繼續寫故事〉(Continue to Write a Story in the Exhibition Hall) 描述一位中國藝術家探訪歐洲博物館。他指出將現代主義引入中國的並非相關論述,而是博物館的體驗,以及從學習得來的展覽觀賞方式。雖然我認為論述與-交流由來已久,但我也同意李然的意見。在中國近代藝術史中,展覽依然是知識生產方面最為活躍的載體。當作品面向公眾,而公眾成為「公共」的時候,便是展覽形成之時。
 
中國早期的博物館大部分均由外國機構設立,形式如自然歷史博物館,偶爾則會舉辦傳統中國水墨畫及瓷器展覽。這些博物館明顯與歐洲設立自然歷史博物館的傳統有緊密聯繫;而西方的「奇珍櫃」(curiosity cabinets) 將世界微縮成單一的整體,與中國博物館檢視中國的手法亦見一脈相通。
 
中國國內首間美術館由當地實業家及政治改革家張謇於1905年設立,美術館位於江蘇南通﹝距今上海兩小時車程﹞。1895年,張謇向清廷建議於首都北京以及全國各省建立博物館。百多年後的今天,他的夢想實現了一部分:平均而言,全國每年興建近一百間博物館,而在2011年,全國新建的博物館達386間之多,即每天起碼建成一間。

Image: Nan Tong Museum, Yan Naizhao, 1908.
圖片:南通博物苑,嚴迺釗,1908年。影像提供:南通博物苑 Courtesy of Nan Tong Museum.

1939年5月﹝某天﹞的《字林西報》寫道:「震旦博物院 (Heude Museum) 舉辦的70周年院慶展覽,成績突出,聲勢持續。每天,在博物院還未開門的時候,趕着進場的人龍已排得很長。在首個星期,博物院已錄得55,000人次入場。」

Image: Feature in <i>The North-China Daily News</i>, 21 May 1939.
圖片:南通博物苑,嚴迺釗,1908年。影像提供:南通博物苑 Reverend Father Piel, Director of the museum, addresses the guests attending the function held in the museum building, 221. Av. Dubail.

《字林西報》在1939年6月6日亦曾報導過亞洲文會大樓上海博物院 (RAS Shanghai Museum) 的訪客人數,文章〈上海博物院勾起廣泛興趣──五月訪客人數破紀錄,推動清除社會債務〉指出:「上海博物院是皇家亞洲文會於上海最矚目的項目之一,眾多人士對博物院的興趣似乎越加濃厚,中國學生尤其如是。五月份,博物院的訪客總數為8,256人,比四月多逾2000人,再次打破訪客紀錄。」

Image: RAS Shanghai Museum opening, 1933.
圖片:1933年上海博物院開幕禮。影像提供:上海皇家亞洲文會 Courtesy of Royal Asiatic Society in Shanghai.

這些報導在大型機構中流傳的時候,全國不少前衛藝術組織扭盡六壬,嘗試自行籌備展覽,吸引觀眾入場。根據藝術家龐熏琹指出,決瀾社首個在1932年10月於中華學藝社舉行的展覽「位置不佳,未能吸引公眾興趣,展示畫作的燈光亦不足。」此後,決瀾社繼續舉行展覽,但場地已變更,而且觀眾只限於學生與「文化界好友」。而真正幫助這些早期的前衛藝術家接觸更多觀眾的卻並非博物館,而是一本稱為《良友》的畫報。《良友》的內容涵蓋生活、藝術及文化範疇,更會定期刊登當代藝術家的作品,以圖建構當時中國仍未形成的中產階級。《良友》為這股前衛藝術運動提供了展示的平台,也為更多觀眾帶來首次接觸這些藝術的機會。

Image: <i>The Young Companion Pictorial</i>, 1933. The Third Exhibition of Storm Society.
圖片:《良友》畫報,1933年,第107至112頁。 決瀾社第三次展覽, 中華獨立美術協會第二次展覽

《由沙龍到雙年展:創造歷史的展覽﹝卷一﹞》(Salon to Biennial: Exhibitions That Made History Volume 1) 一書以馬奈的說話開首:「舉辦展覽是在尋找並肩作戰的朋友和盟友。」如20世紀初的中國前衛藝術家一樣,1980年代的藝術家同樣為吸引觀眾而努力。他們吸引到的是否怎樣的觀眾,我們所知的並不多。很多早期展覽會設有筆記本,讓觀眾簽名和寫下意見,但是全部筆記本已經散軼。從《展覽的歷史:上海1979-2006》書中圖片來看,可以推斷觀眾大多為藝術家的朋友輩以及與其關係密切的人。由此可見,展覽成為了藝術家之間交流、分享的重要場所。
 
1979年舉行的《十二人畫展》是文化大革命後首個由藝術家籌備的展覽,標誌着重要的歷史意義。根據其中一位組織者兼參與藝術家陳巨源所指,展覽每天有2,000名觀眾入場,而且並非所有訪客都是藝術家的友人與同輩。鑑於畫展深受歡迎,展期因而延長。

圖片:<i>《十二人畫展》</i>,1979年。影像提供:陳巨源
圖片:《十二人畫展》,1979年。影像提供:陳巨源
Image: <i>Twelve Men Painting Exhibition</i>, 1979.
圖片:《十二人畫展》,1979年。影像提供:陳巨源 Courtesy of Chen Juyuan.

在1980年代,一般很難分辦觀眾、參加者與藝術家的角色。在《十二人畫展》之後,很多由藝術家籌劃的展覽並無明確劃分觀眾與正式參展的藝術家。1986年的《凹凸展》是上海首個展示新概念雕塑的展覽﹝即今日之裝置藝術,藝術家嘗試創作出與場地關聯的作品﹞,在這個展覽中,上海藝術家楊暉不請自來。楊暉在展覽場地中進行了一系列介入行動,例如破壞展覽中另一件雕塑、將其他作品用繩綁起來,以至綁起觀眾等。

Image: <i>Concave-Convex Exhibition</i>, 1986. Local artist Yang Hui (right), with a group of artists including Song Haoidong (left) and Shen Fan (middle), intervened during exhibition opening, tying up audience members on site.
圖片:《凹凸展》, 1986年。當地藝術家楊暉﹝右﹞與包括宋海冬﹝左﹞及申凡﹝中﹞等一眾藝術家介入展覽開幕日,即場綁起觀眾。影像提供:楊暉
Courtesy of Yang Hui.

1988年在上海美術館舉行的首個裸體藝術展又是另一個1980年代的少數例子,參觀展覽的觀眾竟然並非藝術家朋輩圈內的人。龔建華於展覽中拍得的相片,展現了男性對油畫中的女性胴體的凝視,相片雖然美麗,卻令人心神不靈。展覽揭示了某種在公共領域中不常見的情感及慾望,挪動了公眾對事物接納與否的準則,影響甚麽能在中國公共場域中展示的規限。根據不少當年的展覽報導,上海市長江澤民更親自到訪,以確認其重要地位,顯示了該展覽在整體社會中的重要動力與權力。

在《Yishu典藏國際版》的9月/10月號中,楊超在與鄭勝天的訪談中指出,家庭與國家觀念組成了中國的思維模式,而在此以外,再無其他的文化空間。展覽與兩者都無關,其存在的時空位於這個框限中國生活模式的兩極觀念之外。
 
德國藝術家飛蘋果(Alexander Brandt)曾在上海與楊振中及徐震等人籌辦過不少重要展覽。當我邀請他描述中國1990年代後期至2006年的展覽觀眾時,他指出,藝術家越來越老,觀眾卻越來越年輕。這種年齡分佈點出了當代藝術展覽觀眾的重要特質:無論是從前還是現在,觀眾大多是年輕學生或剛畢業的年輕人,他們只會參與藝術活動一段時間,在成家後便會抽身離去。

Image: <i>Jin Yuan Road Exhibition</i>, 1988.
圖片:《晉元路展覽》,1988年。影像提供:飛蘋果(Alexander Brandt) Courtesy of Alexander Brandt.

過去十年,冒起的中國中產階層日益將參觀展覽視為一種社交習慣,他們被鼓勵以消費者的形式,將之視為社交活動的一部分。而對博物館來說,這些參觀者只是一堆統計數字,它們裝載着打破入場紀錄的期望,把人們化為面目模糊的群眾與抽象的經濟圖表。

大部分展覽皆希望能吸引那些會將自拍相片立即上傳的訪客入場,以提高博物館的知名度。雖然這種文化是一種頗為有趣的展覽紀錄方式,但觀者直接感受藝術作品的時刻似乎僅限於拍照的一瞬。在那一瞬,拍攝者也只是背對着作品,而且那一刻稍縱即逝。展覽依然成為了展示靜態物件的一個白盒子空間,以儀式化的結構界定行為規則,而套用Zygmunt Baumann的話來說「按下拍攝鍵」的流程,割裂觀者以及其想像能力,令人忘記每個展覽其實均是一次獨特的處境體驗。

Biljana Ciric是活躍於上海的獨立策展人。

版本

作者

Biljana CIRIC

主題
文章
日期
2015年4月1日 (星期三)

相關內容

AAA Project Space, Archiving Materials
文獻庫推出全新線上刊物《藝文》
新聞稿

文獻庫推出全新線上刊物《藝文》

逢星期一,亞洲藝術文獻庫會刊登新評論和專訪,以及介紹研究館藏內的精選項目