Essays

Viewed from a Train: Glimpses of the Artist as Hong Kong Citizen

In Hong Kong, during the third and fourth days of this year’s Lunar New Year holidays, an unusual festival was taking place in a small farming village in the New Territories. The village itself was in a somewhat strange state of semi-demolition: whitewashed homes with luxuriant flowers spilling over their walls, and swept courtyards where people sat enjoying tea and savories, were juxtaposed with abandoned houses, bulldozed fields, barrier fences and the rubble of demolished structures. Yet along the main pathway leading through the village, a diverse array of small paintings adorned the cement surfaces, and outdoor walls were plastered with a series of intriguing black-and-white photographs of young Hong Kong people prostrating themselves on urban streets, like Tibetan pilgrims in ritual prayer. Music came floating in from the distance, and a bend in the path revealed a surreal image of a rock band playing in the middle of what looked like a desolate, rock-strewn desert—all that remained of a once-flourishing papaya grove. Hundreds of people—villagers, visitors and artists alike—sat on blankets or stood in the shade of umbrellas relaxing and listening to the music played over two days by over 50 bands and musicians. At the edge of the field, suspended from a tall, withered tree, a gigantic straw-and-bamboo sculpture resembling a kind of totemic head trembled in the breeze. Just beyond, an abandoned area of semi-demolished structures had been reinvented as temporary museums of the written word, or as the sites of art installations and performance works. A cleared area with a dirt ground bordered by a security fence became a site for ‘Today’s Hong Kong Museum’, a kind of archeology of the future where visitors could imagine what might also be in store for them. 

There were no tickets to this event: no fees charged, no permits granted, no media coverage, no rules applied. But for these two days, from early afternoon to late at night, well over two thousand people travelled the distance to the village, to see the art and hear the music, to buy homemade snacks made by village volunteers, to watch films screened in the open air at night, or to listen to stories told by a village elder. They also had myriad opportunities to read the literature posted in a number of strategic spots, describing the contemporary story of this village—Choi Yuen Tsuen—as a politically and culturally contested site.

The semi-demolished state of Choi Yuen Tsuen was due neither to war nor natural disaster, but ultimately to the ideology of rapid urban 'renewal’ and ‘development’ that seems to be holding Hong Kong in thrall these days. Organisers of and participants in the art event, dubbed 'Choi Yuen Tsuen Woodstock: An Arts Festival among the Ruins', were a loose affiliation of villagers, and artists, musicians, writers, academics, and social activists from all over Hong Kong. Many of them, such as performance artist ger Choi (Choi Tsz Kwan), musicians Ah Kok Wong and Leung Wing Lai, writer Tang Siu Wah, and social worker Chu Hoi-dick, among a number of others, are at the forefront of what has come to be known as the ‘Post-80s generation’ of emerging cultural activists; while others, such as photographers Ducky Tse and Benson Tsang, literary theorist Mirana Szeto, people’s theatre activist YuenjieMARU , environmentalist and writer Zhou Zhaoxiang, music activist Kung Chi Shing, and members of the Woofer Ten art collective such as Luke Ching Chin Wai, Jaspar Lau Kin Wah, and Cally Yu, joined ranks from their own paths of committed cultural activism.

Their collective involvement in or support of the cause of Choi Yuen Tsuen can be seen as reflective of the condition that, for a growing number of Hong Kong citizens—and for many artists in particular—the official rhetoric of large-scale development has started to take on the semblance of some ominous, Matrix-like obfuscation of reality. Their aim is to join with the community and, through the medium of art, to present alternative, and viscerally comprehensible, ‘pictures of reality’ (to borrow a phrase from Wittgenstein). Their organisation of and participation in the arts festival was a joyful gesture of solidarity with the villagers, who were spending their last Lunar New Year in their homes before final eviction; and by attracting a large audience to this peaceful event within this contested site, one of the more powerful forms of civil action. 

To give some background, Choi Yuen Tsuen is being demolished and its community displaced in the name of a massive government infrastructure project, the HKD67 billion Hong Kong-Guangzhou Express Rail Link (XRL for short), to be constructed by the privately owned Mass Transit Railway Corporation (also a major developer). Informed by the government in late 2009 that their village was slated for demolition, the villagers, while given some monetary compensation, were also given a short deadline to leave their homes, which left them with few options of places to go. A significant number of farming households wanted to continue to farm, and asked for more time to locate land and build their homes before being evicted. The government refused. Social workers, and political and arts activists joined the villagers’ cause, forming the Choi Yuen Tsuen Concern Group, and in the process discovered many other aspects of the XRL project policies that they felt were questionable. A major protest was organised outside the Hong Kong Legislative Council in January 2010, a significant development of which was the appearance in full force of the ‘Post-80’s Youth anti-XRL’ movement’, formed of a loosely affiliated but closely collaborative association of young cultural activists, including artists, musicians, educators, students, writers, performing artists, and social workers—who coordinated via Facebook, and had already taken other anti-development causes under their wing. The black-and-white photographs exhibited during the arts festival at Choi Yuen Tsuen were, in fact, shot by Benson Tsang during this demonstration, and show the protest action undertaken by the Post-80’s group on that day.

***************************

At this point I would like to take a brief detour and revisit two quite different cultural events that took place in Hong Kong in the month before the Choi Yuen Tsuen festival, and where something of relevance emerges. On January 25th, a forum on the subject of ‘cultural leadership’ was held on the campus of the University of Hong Kong, co-organised by the British Council. The forum, entitled ‘Leading Change’, was presented as part of HKU’s new Advanced Cultural Leadership Programme, and included UK-based specialists from the Clore Leadership Programme, as well as a couple of artists. Among the latter was a young Irish choreographer and performance artist named Fearghus O’Conchuir, who gave a talk on the idea of ‘the artist as skilled citizen’. Stressing that artistic practice ‘should anticipate, react to and lead change not only in the cultural sector, but in the wider society,’ O’Conchuir talked about the importance of the artist’s ‘pioneering position at the edge of society’, where he or she may be ‘driven to attend to what is neglected by or invisible to the majority of people’. He also stressed the importance of recognising the ‘valuable centrality of [artists’] liminal perspective in any consideration of how to lead and foster a vibrant, diverse and sensitive civilisation.’ 

O’Conchuir is an artist particularly concerned with the ‘flowing’ relationship between bodies and buildings, and often performs in abandoned or contested architectural sites. Describing the implicit message of his work, O’Conchuir stated: ‘When I dance my strange idiosyncratic dance in these kinds of places, I claim my right and responsibility to be part of the big energy of change, my right to place art alongside all the other necessary activities of daily life and I proclaim, not shouting but not yielding, that these places in our changing cities in the corners and folds of someone else’s urban plans are by right places for others too to express their idiosyncratic individuality.’ 

*********************************

A few days after hearing O’Conchuir at the HKU forum, I went to a panel on art criticism held at Fotan, an old industrial district near Shatin, which has gradually developed into a thriving artists’ community. The panel was part of an event called ‘Writing Fotan’, a series of workshops, forums and panel discussions organised by a group of local artists, curators, and writers including Anthony Leung Po Shan, Jeff Leung, Enoch Cheng, and Vivian Ting, which focused on issues of artistic and critical practice in Hong Kong. Three guest speakers from Taiwan and Guangzhou had been invited to the event to share their views. At one point in her discussion, the Guangzhou-based editor and critic Wu Jianru made a unexpected and somewhat provocative observation: ‘I have been wondering about the question of why so many Hong Kong artists create art as part of some kind of social or political protest activity. Why don’t they just participate directly in the protest actions as protestors, rather than as artists, and then do their art apart from this? Is their intention in making protest art to somehow please or ingratiate new audiences?’  

****************************

In a recent conversation, Mirana Szeto pointed out that many of the artists and cultural activists involved in the Choi Yuen Tsuen festival and protest actions have been engaged in issues of heritage conservation and of communities threatened by ‘urban renewal’ for a number of years, with the watershed period being the six-month protest action against the demolition of the historic Star Ferry piers in Central in 2006. In an essay published in 2008, Carolyn Cartier, a specialist in human geography and issues of urbanisation in China who was based in Hong Kong for several years, gives a riveting description of witnessing one of the performance actions undertaken by artists during the Star Ferry protests:
 

When I visited the site in December 2006, the entrance to the piers had been boarded up, and cultural activists had mounted placards, information boards and banners all around. What caught everyone’s immediate attention though, in the middle of the roadway where taxis had queued, was a young woman sitting on top of a high ladder, dressed in taut black, looking towards the clock tower. Scissors in hand, she intermittently and methodically cut off pieces of her hair and gave them to the cold breeze. Police stood by and watched; news camera crews filmed her and bystanders with digital cameras put them on movie mode. She was having a mesmerizing effect, her silent performance speaking to Hong Kong people: the loss of the Star Ferry piers is deeply personal, like losing a piece of yourself.

The young woman in question was ger Choi (Choi Tsz Kwan), at the time a student of artist Kith Tsang Tak-ping, who was a main organiser of performance actions throughout the protest campaign. Cartier also quotes a statement issued by a group of students of Tsang at the Hong Kong Polytechnic University who participated in the protests, concerning their mission as activists:

Our art action responds to the urban environment; Our art action looks after the urban environment; Our art action brings history back to the forefront of urban spaces; Our art action aims at raising public awareness of caring for our own historical-urban environment; Our art action appeals to the public’s support to save the Star Ferry and the clock tower; Our art action questions why and how our histories have been systematically erased from both sides of the Victoria Harbour; Our art action welcomes public participation.

****************************

The week after the Choi Yuen Tsuen arts festival, I met with the artist Luke Ching and asked him his view on the idea of artist as citizen. 'Artists have an alternative way of engaging in the role of citizen,' he said. 'Because we don’t have democracy [in Hong Kong], we make use of the power of our imaginations to overcome power. We want to link with the people, to understand the way a farmer uses his tools, for example, and then to extend the associations, to stretch the space of imagination in order to open up new ways for people to understand the realities of their environment.’ When I asked him what he thought the Choi Yuen Tsuen arts festival had accomplished, he responded: ‘For me one of the most important effects was that it created more positive energy for the villagers at a difficult time. And it was another good example that the art culture should be developed from the bottom up.'

**********************

In 1934, the German philosopher and critic Walter Benjamin (1892-1940) presented a lecture entitled ‘The Author as Producer’ at the Institute for the Study of Fascism in Paris. 

In his text, Benjamin urged authors and artists to go beyond observation-response and ideological identification and to engage actively in social change as ‘producers’. In 2004 the curator and critic Okui Enwezor drafted a kind of response to Benjamin’s speech, in a lecture entitled ‘The Artist as Producer in Times of Crisis’. Enwezor describes ‘a visible turn that has become increasingly evident in the field of culture at large, that is the extent to which a certain critical activism in contemporary art has become a way to pose the questions raised seventy years ago anew through collective practices…To that end, recent confrontations within the field of contemporary art have precipitated an awareness that there have emerged in increasing numbers, within the last decade, new critical, artistic formations that foreground and privilege the mode of collective and collaborative production’.  Clearly, one can see the connections: artists in Hong Kong responding to a sense of urgency, engaging in collective social action, opening up alternative rooms for the imagination. 

One picture of reality that emerges is the high-speed railway as cultural metaphor: of the insane speed of ‘development’, which allows no time or space to see what has been leveled in its path; of the sense of being forced to board a fast train to a destination for which we never bought a ticket. 

 


1. English translation of Wu’s verbal comment is my own.
2. Carolyn Cartier, ‘Culture and the City’, The China Review, 2008, vol. 8, No 1.
3. The full text of Enwezor’s lecture can be found online at 16 Beaver, http://www.16beavergroup.org/mtarchive/archives/000839.php.

 

Editorial disclaimer - The opinions and views expressed in the Perspectives column do not necessarily reflect those of the Asia Art Archive, staff, sponsors and partners.

 

Valerie C Doran is a critic, curator, and translator in the field of contemporary Asian art with a special interest in cultural cross-currents and comparative art theory. She is presently Honorary Lecturer in the Centre for the Humanities and Medicine at the University of Hong Kong and is a contributing editor of Orientations magazine. She is an academic advisor of Asia Art Archive.

Imprint

Author

Valerie C. DORAN, 任卓華

Topic
Essays
Date
Tue, 1 Mar 2011
Cite as
Valerie C. DORAN, 任卓華, Viewed from a Train: Glimpses of the Artist as Hong Kong Citizen, Tue, 1 Mar 2011

Relevant content

AAA Project Space, Archiving Materials
Ideas is AAA's New Online Publication
Press

Ideas is AAA's New Online Publication

Each Monday, Asia Art Archive publishes new essays, interviews, and curated journeys through the research collections

文章

在火車上觀望︰香港藝術家作為市民

任卓華回顧菜園村藝術節以及藝術家回應社會議題的另類方法。

 

時值今年年初三、年初四,新界一條小村舉行了一場不尋常的藝術節。那條小村正處於一個奇怪的半清拆狀態︰刷白了的家園,牆上佈滿了盛開的鮮花,人們在經打掃的庭園中閒坐、喝茶進食。與這副情景並列的,是已然荒廢的房屋、被夷為平地的田野、欄柵和一堆頹垣敗瓦。但沿著貫穿小村的主路走,你將看到石屎表面上多幅不同的細小圖畫,和牆上一系列的黑白照。照片中,香港年輕人俯臥在城市的街道上,像虔誠地禱告的西藏朝聖者。音樂從遠方悠揚飄來,隨著路徑轉折,一幅超現實的景象映入眼簾︰一隊搖滾樂隊在一處佈滿碎石、看上去像荒涼沙洲般的地方表演──那曾是一片豐盛的木瓜林。過百名村民、訪客和藝術家在傘蔭下的毯上坐立,在兩日間觀賞逾五十隊樂隊在的演出,放鬆心情。一棵高聳、凋零的樹劃出了田野的邊陲,在那裡一個以稻草和竹製成、頭部像圖騰一樣的巨型雕塑在微風中顫抖。再站出一點就能見到一些半拆除的建築被重新改造成以文字為主的臨時博物館,或是展出裝置藝術、表演行為藝術的場地。安全圍欄圍起了一處已被清空的泥地,成為了「今日香港博物館」,靜待訪客來發掘,對未來進行「考古」。

這場活動沒有入場券、沒有入場費、沒有通行證、沒有媒體報導、沒有規則。那兩天內,由上午到深夜,總共有超過二千人千里迢迢到村裡去看藝術、聽音樂、買村中義工自家製的小食、看晚上的電影放映、聽村裡的老人講故事。他們去看到處張貼的文學,看當中有關這條村——菜園村——的當代故事,看它所歷經的文化和政治鬥爭。

菜園村的清拆並非源於天災或戰亂,而是源於香港近年來急速的市區「重建」和「發展」。上述藝術活動「新春糊士托.菜園滾滾來──大型廢墟藝術節」的組織者與參加者包括村民和來自全港各界的藝術家、音樂人、作家、學者和社運人士。他們之中有很多人——例如是行為藝術家蔡芷筠(Ger)、音樂人黃津珏、梁穎禮、作家鄧小樺和社會工作者朱凱廸——都是「80後」新晉文化社運圈的前線人員。其他來自不同文化社運路線的人——例如是攝影師謝至德和曾志浩、文學理論家司徒薇、人民戲劇社運人士Yuenjie Maru、環境保護主義者兼作家周兆祥、音樂人兼社運人士龔志成和活化廳成員程展緯、劉建華和俞若玫等——亦紛紛加入。

他們在菜園村事件中的集體參與反映了一種現象︰對於越來越多的香港市民——尤其是藝術家——來說,官方宣傳大型建設的口吻越來越讓人有「廿二世紀殺人網絡式」現實模糊化的不祥感。菜園村藝術節的組織者和參與者都希望與社區連結,並透過藝術作為媒介去呈現一個另類、可由心而發去理解的「現實圖像」(借用維根斯坦的說法)。透過在清拆前和村民度過在菜園村的最後一個農曆新年,他們都展現了和村民站在同一陣線的立場,並透過進行和平活動成功吸引群眾來到這個具爭議性的地方,是其中一種相對有力的公民行動。 

補充一點背景資料,政府因計劃興建廣深港高速鐵路(簡稱廣深港高鐵)而決定清拆菜園村及其社區。該項工程耗資六百七十億港元,由香港其中一個主要地產商——港鐵公司——承建。2009年末,政府已將菜園村劃出來做清拆,並表示將向受影響住戶提供經濟賠償。政府要求村民在短時間內遷走,很多村民在時間緊促的情況下都無法另覓新居。大量農民戶都表示希望繼續耕作,並要求政府給予他們更多時間在遷拆前尋找土地建屋,卻不獲准許。社工和政治、藝術社運人士組成了菜園村關注組,並在過程中發現廣深港高鐵項目轄下的不少政策皆非常可疑。2010年一月,立法會門外爆發大型抗議,令「80後反高鐵青年」運動達到高峰。「80後反高鐵青年」由一群緊密合作的年輕文化社運人士組成,當中包括藝術家、音樂人、教育家、學生、作家、行為藝術家和社工。他們透過Facebook進行協作,並早已回應過很多不同的反建設議題。菜園村藝術節中的黑白相片就是由曾志浩於抗議當日現場拍攝的。

至此,我想重新審視兩個於菜園村藝術節前後在香港發生的文化活動,當中所發生的事和菜園村藝術節頗為相關。1月25日,香港大學進行了一場由英國領事館協辦的有關「文化領導」的論壇。該論壇名為「引領改變」,是香港大學最新項目Advanced Cultural Leadership Programme的一部分,當中請來了來自Clore Leadership Programme的駐英國專家和藝術家。其中一位名為Fearghus O'Conchuir的愛爾蘭藝術家就著「藝術家作為熟練的(skilled)市民」一題發表演說,強調藝術實踐「不應止於文化界,而是應在整個社會中參與、回應和引領改變」。他說及藝術家在「社會尖端的先鋒位置」的重要性,因為藝術家可能會「被迫面對對一般人來說難以察覺的事物」。他也強調了「在考慮怎樣創建並推動一個具活力、多元化並敏感的文明時」,認可「藝術家二位一體之視野在當中扮演著中心角色」的重要性。

O'Conchuir特別關注身體與大廈間的「流動」關係,常在荒廢或具爭議性的建築場地進行表演。在形容自己所品所隱含的信息時,O'Conchuir說︰「當我在這些地方跳怪奇的舞蹈時,我重奪了成為推動改變的巨大動能之一的權利和責任,也重奪了我將藝術與其他日常活動並列的權利,我要宣佈——不是大嚷也不是退縮——在這個瞬息萬變的城市內、散落在各種角落、城市規劃的折疊中的地方,都應該是讓人自由地表現自己怪奇的獨特性的地方。」

在聽完O'Conchuir在港大的論壇後,我去了火炭的一場藝術批評研討會。火炭是沙田旁邊的一個舊工業區,近年已逐漸發展成蓬勃的藝術家社區。那次的研討會是活動「書寫火炭」的一部分,當中包括一系列由本地藝術家、策展人和作家組織的工作坊、論壇和研討會講座,組織者包括梁寶山、丁穎茵、梁展峰、鄭得恩等,集中討論香港的藝術文化實踐問題。有三位來自台灣和廣州的講座嘉賓更獲邀於活動中分享他們的看法。在某次討論中,駐廣州編輯兼藝評人吳建儒指出了令人意外亦頗為尖銳的一點︰「我一直都很好奇,為什麼那麼多香港藝術家都會將藝術當作是某種社政運動的一部分來創作。為什麼他們不直接以抗爭者的身分參與抗爭,另行在抗爭外以藝術家的身分創作藝術?他們創作這些抗爭藝術是不是企圖要取悅或討好新觀眾?」

司徒薇在近期的一次對話中指出,牽涉在菜園村一事中的很多藝術家和文化社運人士都早已被捲入「市區重建」的危機中多年,2006年長達六個月的保留舊中環天星碼頭事件更是整個氣候的分水嶺。在2008年的一篇論文中,在香港定居多年的人類地理學及中國城市化專家Carolyn Cartier就藝術家在天星碼頭事件中的舉措作出了引人入勝的描述︰

我在2006年12月到場視察的時候,天星碼頭的入口已被封起,文化界社運人士把告示牌堆起來,用資訊板和橫幅將地方圈起來。最搶眼的是,在排滿的士的道路中間,一個年輕女人坐在高高的梯子上,一身黑色,朝鐘樓望去。她手握剪刀,地把自己的頭髮逐點逐點剪下來,在冷風中鬆手,讓剪下來的頭髮隨風飄揚。警察保持警戒並旁觀著這一切,新來的攝影隊和圍觀的群眾上前把她拍下來。她有一種懾人的魅力,以安靜無聲的表演在告訴香港人︰失去天星碼頭,等於失去自己的一部分。

她的名字叫蔡芷筠。蔡當時是藝術家曾德平的學生,而曾是當時整場天星碼頭事件中許多表演行動的重要推手。曾德平的一班學生參與了運動,Cartier更引用了那些學生在香港理工大學發表的聲明︰

「我們的行動在回應市區環境;我們的藝術行動在照顧市區環境;我們的藝術行動將歷史帶回了市區空間的前線;我們的藝術行動旨在提高公眾保育市區內歷史痕跡的意識;我們的藝術行動在呼籲大眾支持保育天星小輪和鐘樓;我們的藝術行動質疑我們的歷史為何、怎樣被有系統地從維多利亞海港的兩側刪除;我們的藝術行動歡迎公共交通工具。」

菜園村藝術節舉行一週後,我和程展緯見面,並詢問他對藝術家作為市民這個概念的想法。「藝術家有參與市民身分的另類方法,」他說,「因為我們在香港沒有民主,所以我們需要運用我們的想像力來戰勝權力。我們想和人民連結,例如是去明白一個農民使用工具的方法,然後將關係推展開來,擴大人們理解其環境的現實之方式。」當我問到他覺得菜園村藝術節的成果為何時,他說︰「對我來說其中一個最重要的影響是,在這個艱難時刻,它為村民創造了更多的正能量。這是另一個藝術文化應由下而上的好例子。」

1934年,德國哲學家及評論人班雅明(1892-1940)在巴黎法西斯主義研究所發表了一場名為〈作家作為生產者〉的演說。班雅明在文中鼓勵作家和藝術家作為生產者主動參與社會變革,以超越「觀察-回應」和意識形態辨認的模式。2004年,策展人兼評論人Okui Enwezor對班雅明的講辭草擬了一篇回應,在名為〈The Artist as Producer in Times of Crisis〉的課上發表。Enwezor指出了「在文化界有一種轉變越來越明顯,那就是當代藝術中某種批判性行動主義漸漸透過集體實踐,成為了重啟舊時某些重要論述的方法……循此目的,近年有關當代藝術的爭論促進了一種意識︰在過去十年間有越來越多為集體、協作式生產鋪路的新批評和藝術形態。」明顯地,大家都看到那些連結︰香港藝術家正回應一種急切性、參與一種集體的社會行動、並開闢了想像的另類空間。

高速鐵路作為文化隱喻就是現實的其中一部分︰各種「發展」正以瘋狂的速度進行,人們根本無法抽空去看看什麼在過程中被夷平了,就像是被迫登上一架我們從沒買票的高速列車。

 

任卓華是亞洲當代藝術界評論人、策展人兼翻譯員,專門研究文化交叉流及比較藝術理論。任為現任香港大學人文醫學中心名譽講師,亦是雜誌《Orientations》的特約編輯,以及亞洲藝術文獻庫的學術顧問。

 

1. 吳建儒的發言先由作者自行轉譯為英文,後再譯為中文,可能和現實言論有出入。

2. Carolyn Cartier, ‘Culture and the City’, The China Review, 2008, vol. 8, No 1.

3. Enwezor的演講辭全文︰http://16beavergroup.org/articles/2004/04/15/garrett-okwui-enwezor-the-artist-as-producer-in-times-of-crisis/.

 

此文由黃珍盈翻譯自英文原文。

版本

作者

Valerie C. DORAN, 任卓華

主題
文章
日期
2018年10月25日 (星期四)

相關內容

AAA Project Space, Archiving Materials
文獻庫推出全新線上刊物《藝文》
新聞稿

文獻庫推出全新線上刊物《藝文》

逢星期一,亞洲藝術文獻庫會刊登新評論和專訪,以及介紹研究館藏內的精選項目