AAA is participating in documenta fifteen, led by Jakarta-based collective ruangrupa. It is organised around the concept of lumbung (“rice barn”), which refers to communal buildings in rural Indonesia where the harvest is stored and distributed to the community. Collectivity and resource distribution constitute the main values and principles for the structure and working methods.  

Organised as part of AAA’s programmes at documenta fifteen and co-presented with Goethe-Institut Hongkong and Gudskul, this event brings together Hong Kong–based artists May Fung and Tang Kwok Hin with Gudskul and ruangrupa to discuss artist-led models of resource sharing, with a focus on sharing spaces in Hong Kong and Indonesia. How might the shared spaces serve collective practices and learning? How might their contributions be sustainable?  

May Fung speaks about her experience running the Foo Tak Building in Hong Kong, where artists and collectives with similar urgencies share spaces and resources. Tang Kwok Hin introduces 1983, a gathering space for artists and thinkers, which he transformed from his ancestral home in an 800-year-old village. farid rakun and Angga Wijaya discuss how ruangrupa started sharing living rooms in the early 2000s, and the space-sharing models that ruangrupa and Gudskul have developed in recent years.  

This talk contributes to Gudskul’s collective study programme at documenta fifteen, inviting arts collectives from the Asia-Pacific region that run educational programmes and activities to their space.    

The livestreamed programme will be held onsite at Fridericianum, Kassel, and is free and open to the public with registration.

The programme will also be livestreamed at Goethe-Institut Hongkong as an in-person event moderated by Wong Ka Ying. To register for in-person event, please visit Goethe-Institut's website.

Image: Entrance of 1983. Courtesy of 1983.
Image: Entrance of 1983. Courtesy of 1983.
Image: Medical Equipment Factory at Gudskul Hall, 2020. Courtesy of Jin Panji.
Image: Medical Equipment Factory at Gudskul Hall, 2020. Courtesy of Jin Panji.
Image: Photo of Foo Tak Building. Courtesy of Jane Choi.
Image: Photo of Foo Tak Building. Courtesy of Jane Choi.
Image: Gudskul. Courtesy of Jin Panji and Gudskul.
Image: Gudskul. Courtesy of Jin Panji and Gudskul.
Image: ruangrupa's early years. Courtesy of ruangrupa.
Image: ruangrupa's early years. Courtesy of ruangrupa.

 

May Fung is the Founder of Art & Culture Outreach (ACO), an independent bookstore in the Foo Tak Building. ACO manages other spaces in the building, renting them out to artist initiatives and cultural practitioners at a nominal rent. Before her retirement, she was Creative Education Director, Acting Principal, and Deputy School Supervisor at HKICC Lee Shau Kee School of Creativity, the first arts-only senior secondary school in Hong Kong. Fung is also an independent filmmaker and video and media artist.

Tang Kwok Hin is the founder of 1983, a space that blurs various socially established borders among people from Hong Kong and overseas. Tang is a cross-disciplinary artist. He received his Master of Fine Arts from the Chinese University of Hong Kong (2008), and developed his artistic practices from his own experiences as an indigenous inhabitant. He was awarded the first prize at Hong Kong Contemporary Art Biennial in 2009 and was also a grantee of Asian Cultural Council in 2013. 

Angga Wijaya is a member of Gudskul: Collective Study and Contemporary Art Ecosystem, a public learning space formed by three art collectives in Jakarta, including ruangrupa, Serrum, and Grafis Huru Hara (GHH). Since the early 2000s, the three collectives have been active in the field of contemporary art by exercising collective and collaborative work. In 2015, these collectives agreed to form a joint ecosystem adapting values emerging from the collective process, such as equity, sharing, solidarity, friendship, and togetherness. Gudskul will present Sekolah Temujalar, the fourth and fifth edition of their annual collective study programme at documenta fifteen

farid rakun is a member of ruangrupa, the Artistic Directors of documenta fifteen. Established in 2000, the Jakarta-based artists’ collective promotes artistic ideas within urban and cultural contexts, so as to open up critical observations and perspectives on contemporary urban problems in Indonesia. ruangrupa produces collaborative works in the form of art projects such as exhibitions, festivals, workshops, and publications. 

Moderators: JJ Adibrata, Gudskul; and Susanna Chung, Programmes Manager and Head of Learning & Participation, Asia Art Archive

 

Relevant content

thumbnail
Gudskul Art Collective: Learning while Nongkrong, Nongkrong while Learning
Ideas Journal | Notes

Gudskul Art Collective: Learning while Nongkrong, Nongkrong while Learning

Angga Wijaya reflects on the Jakarta-based art collective’s belief in togetherness and experience-based pedagogy

aco
Art Should Not Be Sensible: In Conversation with May Fung
Ideas Journal | Conversations

Art Should Not Be Sensible: In Conversation with May Fung

May Fung discusses the relationship between art and space, and her experience building art education programmes in Hong Kong

Image: ruangrupa: Toko Pura-Pura for 15 Invitations, 26 Aug–30 Sep 2016. Courtesy of ruangrupa.
Ruangrupa | Toko Pura-pura
Programmes | 15 Invitations

Ruangrupa | Toko Pura-pura

Aug–Sep 2016

CraftingCommunities_homelist
Crafting Communities
Programmes

Crafting Communities

16 Jul–28 Nov 2020

list_artistsrunspace
Parallel, Alternative, or Historically Particular? - Roundtable on Archiving Artist-run Spaces
Programmes

Parallel, Alternative, or Historically Particular? - Roundtable on Archiving Artist-run Spaces

Fri, 28 Jun 2013, 6-8pm

AAA at documenta fifteen | Translations, Expansions
Programmes

AAA at documenta fifteen | Translations, Expansions

18 Jun–25 Sep 2022

Almost Famous - May Fung
clipping

Almost Famous - May Fung

Clare TYRRELL
8 Nov 2002

AAA Library is currently closed for renovation. Please stay tuned on our social media for the opening date. We look forward to welcoming you back.

亞洲藝術文獻庫參與駐雅加達團體ruangrupa主導的「第十五屆卡塞爾文獻展」。展覽以「穀倉」(印尼語為「lumbung」)為主題,借用印尼農民將農作物存放於公用穀倉的概念,闡述文獻展以集體協作和資源共享為核心價值和操作架構的宗旨。  

此活動由文獻庫與香港歌德學院及Gudskul攜手主辦,是文獻庫參與卡塞爾文獻展的環節之一,邀請駐香港藝術家馮美華和鄧國騫,與Gudskul和ruangrupa展開對話,以香港和印尼的共享空間為例子,討論藝術家主導的資源共享模式。究竟共享空間可以如何惠及集體創作和學習?它們的貢獻如何能永續? 

馮美華將講述她於香港富德樓經營藝術村,與有相似迫切需要的藝術家和團體共享空間和資源的經驗。鄧國騫將他介紹如何將擁有八百年歷史的祖屋闢作藝術家與思辯家的共享空間「一九八三」的經驗。farid rakun與Angga Wijaya則探討ruangrupa如何於2000年代初開始共享客廳,以及ruangrupa與Gudskul近年發展的空間共享模式。 

此講座是Gudskul在卡塞爾文獻展​中舉辦的集體研習活動的一部分,活動聚集亞太區內籌辦教育項目的藝術團體。

此講座將於德國卡塞爾弗里德利希阿魯門博物館(Fridericianum)舉行,同時於Zoom串流直播。請於網頁右方登記以索取直播連結。

屆時,香港歌德學院亦將會現場直播講座,並由黃嘉瀛擔任主持。如欲參與,請按此向香港歌德學院登記。

圖片:1983入口。由1983提供。
圖片:1983入口。由1983提供。
圖片:Guskul會堂的醫療裝備製作工場,2020年。由 Jin Panji提供。
圖片:Guskul會堂的醫療裝備製作工場,2020年。由 Jin Panji提供。
圖片:富德樓大堂。由 Jane Choi提供。
圖片:富德樓大堂。由 Jane Choi提供。
圖片: Gudskul一隅。由Jin Panji及Gudskul提供。
圖片: Gudskul一隅。由Jin Panji及Gudskul提供。
圖片: ruangrupa早期成員留影。由 ruangrupa提供。
圖片: ruangrupa早期成員留影。由 ruangrupa提供。

馮美華是位於灣仔富德樓的獨立書店艺鵠的創辦人。艺鵠亦負責管理富德樓其他空間,以低廉租金出租予藝術團體和文化工作者。馮氏退休前為香港兆基創意書院的創意教育總監、署理校長和副校監。她亦是獨立電影人,以及錄像和媒體藝術家。

鄧國騫是一位跨界藝術家,他創辦的共享空間「一九八三」令香港本土和海外居民之間的社會界線變得模糊。鄧氏是香港中文大學藝術碩士(2008年),其藝術實踐融入他作為新界原居民的切身經驗。他於2009年獲頒香港當代藝術雙年獎優秀獎,亦是2013年亞洲文化協會獎助金得主 

Angga Wijaya是Gudskul: Collective Study and Contemporary Art Ecosystem的成員。這個公眾學習空間由雅加達三個藝術團體組成,包括ruangrupa、Serrum和Grafis Huru Hara(GHH)。三個群體自2000年代初已活躍於當代藝術領域,積極參與集體及協作項目。2015年,三方組成一個聯合生態系統,以公平、共享、團結、友誼及和睦等衍生自協作過程的價值為宗旨。Gudskul將於「第十五屆卡塞爾文獻展」中發表第四及第五期年度集體研究項目「Sekolah Temujalar」。 

farid rakun是ruangrupa的成員。ruangrupa是「第十五屆卡塞爾文獻展」藝術總監,這個駐雅加達藝術團體成立於2000年,旨在於城市及文化語境中推廣藝術意念,從而引進批判性觀點,應對印尼當代都市問題。Ruangrupa以展覽、藝術節、工作坊及刊物等藝術項目的形式進行集體創作。 

主持:Gudskul成員JJ Adibrata,以及亞洲藝術文獻庫項目總管暨參與及教學策劃總監鍾玉文

 

 

相關內容

aco
藝術不講理性:與馮美華對談
藝文 | 對話

藝術不講理性:與馮美華對談

馮美華探討藝術與空間的關係,以及分享建構本地藝術教育的經驗

Image: ruangrupa: Toko Pura-Pura for 15 Invitations, 26 Aug–30 Sep 2016. Courtesy of ruangrupa.
ruangrupa | Toko Pura-Pura(類似的店)
活動 | 15份邀請

ruangrupa | Toko Pura-Pura(類似的店)

2016年8月至9月

CraftingCommunities_homelist
社群築織
活動

社群築織

2020年7月16日至11月28日

list_artistsrunspace
平衡、另類、還是無法類比? — 探討關於藝術家營運空間的文獻記載
活動

平衡、另類、還是無法類比? — 探討關於藝術家營運空間的文獻記載

2013年6月28日 (星期五)
6-8pm

文獻庫參與「第十五屆卡塞爾文獻展」| 翻越
活動

文獻庫參與「第十五屆卡塞爾文獻展」| 翻越

2022年6月18日至9月25日

Almost Famous - May Fung
剪報

Almost Famous - May Fung

Clare TYRRELL
8 Nov 2002

文獻庫圖書館現正進行裝修工程,暫停開放。我們將會在社交媒體公布再度開放日期,請密切留意。我們期待以新面貌與閣下見面。