Betsy Damon is a feminist, performance artist, and environmental activist. 'Keepers of the Waters' is a community-based water activism initiative, which was founded and directed by Damon in 1991, and traveled to China in 1995 to 1996. The artist invited local and international artists to create public performances and installation art to raise awareness of source water protection, particularly the Funan and Lhasa rivers.

The core of this research collection is documentation of the two iterations of 'Keepers of the Waters' that took place in Chengdu, Sichuan (1995), and Lhasa, Tibet Autonomous Region (1996). Comprised of slides, audio-visual recordings, newspaper clippings, and interviews, this collection is related to performance art, women artists, exhibition histories, and the development of regional contemporary art in China.

The material in this archive connects with Petra Poelzl’s research on performance art in Sichuan, sponsored by The Robert H. N. Ho Family Foundation Greater China Research Grant, and includes Poelzl’s interview with Betsy Damon and Dai Guangyu in spring 2017.

Download Dataset in XML

Download dataset in XML

Download in Excel

Download dataset in Excel

Download in JSON

Download dataset in Excel

 

 

For each of these collection items, we applied a description to facilitate ease in search and access. Every item has a title, access level, rights statement, description and the folder and path within the archive structure. This includes the URL to the webpage and URL to the items with online access. The metadata is predominantly in English, with some supplementary title and descriptive information in other languages.

This information has been exported from the database as Excel, XML, and JSON files.  

Notice to Users

Please acknowledge and attribute Asia Art Archive as the publisher of the data sets.

This information is made available for research use at the user’s own risk under the guidelines of CC0 and our Terms and Conditions.

Please do not use AAA’s logo, fonts, or other trademarks. Do not misrepresent the data sets or use them to mislead others. If you change, modify, or transform the information found within these data sets for your project, you must make it clear that you have made alterations to the source material.

Items Under Copyright or Other Restrictions

While the data sets are freely available for use under CC0, each collection item described within has its own rights statement with specific restrictions on rights and reproductions.

Please respect the copyright of each item. If you wish to use any item beyond what is permitted in the rights statement please contact the Collections team.

Contact Information

We would love to see what you do with our data sets, so please get in touch. As well, if you identify possible inaccuracies in the metadata please notify us and we will investigate.

E-mail: library@aaa.org.hk

 


Credit for XML logo

en:User:Dreftymac

貝特西達蒙是一名女性主義者及行為藝術家,活躍於環境保育。1991年,達蒙女士創辦了以社區為本的「水的保衛者」計劃,在期間一直擔任指導角色,致力保育水資源,並於1995至1996年間將計劃推行至中國。達蒙於該次活動中邀來本地和國際藝術家,一同於府南河和拉薩河附近進行公共行為藝術及裝置藝術創作,以提升大眾對水資源保育的意識。

本文獻檔案集中記錄了於四川成都(1995)和西藏自治區拉薩(1996)反覆進行的兩場「水的保衛者」活動,資料包括幻燈片、紀綠片、剪報及相關訪談片段,供以檢視當代中國的行為藝術發展、女性藝術家、展覽歷史及地區性當代藝術。

檔案亦收錄了Petra Poelzl 於2017年初與貝特西達蒙和戴光郁的訪談內容。此訪談為Poelzl研究四川行為藝術的一部分,由何鴻毅家族基金中華研究獎助計劃贊助。

下載XML檔案

Download dataset in XML

下載Excel檔案

Download dataset in Excel

下載JSON檔案

Download dataset in Excel

為便於搜索,每項館藏資料皆包含以下資訊: 標題、訪問級別、權限聲明、檔案描述以及該檔案於文獻庫的所屬位置和存取路徑,包括檔案網址。有關數據的編寫語言以英文為主,亦會配以第二語言作補充。此資料已以Excel,XML和JSON文件檔案形式從文獻庫數據庫中存取。

 
使用者須知
請註亞洲藝術文獻庫為此數據集的發布者。此資料開放于公眾作研究用途,使用者請參考CC0以及亞洲藝術文獻庫的使用條款自行承擔有關風險。
請勿使用AAA的徽標,字體或其他標誌。 亦請避免歪曲數據集或以它們誤導他人。 如閣下更改、修改或轉換數據內容,則必須明確說明您已對資料作出更改。
 
 
館藏版權或其他限制
雖然數據集在CC0下可供自由使用,但每項館藏資料都有個別的權限聲明,並附有關權限與出版的特制條款。
請尊重每項館藏資料的版權。 如閣下希望使用的項目在其權限聲明的限制下不允許使用,請聯絡館藏部。
 
 
聯絡我們
歡迎與我們分享閣下如何使用我們提供的數據集。同時,如閣下發現數據中可能存在不准確內容,請通知我們,我們會進行調查。
請電郵至:library@aaa.org.hk
 

相關內容

BetsyDamon_cover
Betsy Damon Archive: Keepers of the Waters (Chengdu and Lhasa) 貝特西達蒙檔案:水的保衛者(成都與拉薩)
館藏

Betsy Damon Archive: Keepers of the Waters (Chengdu and Lhasa) 貝特西達蒙檔案:水的保衛者(成都與拉薩)