Teaching Materials

Learning at Home | Experiments with Zines

This series of home-based, creative exercises reexamines the role of art during moments of crisis in the contemporary world.

In light of class suspensions in Hong Kong during the coronavirus outbreak in spring 2020, AAA has invited local artists to design a range of educational activities for teachers to help students carry out at home. These exercises encourage teachers and students to reflect upon their experience of the virus outbreak, relevant social issues, and the purpose of art in times of emergency.

Artist and independent publisher Beatrix Pang introduces zine-making as a way for students to record their daily observations, and immediate feelings and thoughts. This exercise also encourages students to express themselves and explore their subjects of interest through zines. 

Teachers are invited to share the process and result of students practising these exercises on Learning & Participation's Facebook group: Contemporary Art in Asia: Teachers’ Community.

Image: A zine workshop by Beatrix Pang for secondary school students. Asia Art Archive, 2017.
Image: A zine workshop by Beatrix Pang for secondary school students. Asia Art Archive, 2017.

 

Topic: A Reading Experiment with Zines (make an eight-paged zine from one sheet of paper)

What is a “Zine”?

A “zine” serves as a prototype for a “book,” with myriad experimental potentials waiting to be explored. A book is created out of papers through processes of folding, cutting, and binding. It entails a unique reading experience shaped by aesthetic and design concerns, unique in a way where the contents conceived by the author dictate how the book is designed and read. It is an interesting experience that involves communication between people.

The production of a zine is a solo work of creation performed by the authors themselves. Thanks to the vast multitudes of contents and formats, produced to serve different purposes, zines defy easy categorisation. Each zine tells a little story, it is a “space” or an outlet for the author to unleash creative thinking, without the urge for profits or compromise. There are no rules in conceiving the contents—each author can have their own way according to their feelings and skills, nor is it a matter of right or wrong as there are no predefined formats to zines: drawing, writing, photography, collage, cutting, and printing are just some of the approaches.

In this experiment with zine-making, we start by folding an A4 paper (21 x 29.7cm) into eight equal parts in rectangular shape, on which the contents are to be placed. This is followed by folding, cutting, and binding to turn the sheet into an A7 size (7.43 x 10.5cm) zine.

Why Make Zines?

At a time when schools have been suspended starting Lunar New Year due to the virus outbreak, what have you absorbed and perceived from the information received on the internet and television, or from family, classmates, and friends? Let’s take this unusual opportunity to make an eight-page zine (of course you can make more than one) to record this “epic long wait” using the techniques of collecting and observing.

Materials

  1. A4 printing paper
  2. Scissors
  3. A stapler
  4. A glue stick/liquid glue
  5. Pencils, pens, and colours (choose the common kinds)
  6. A mobile phone/digital camera
  7. A black and white/colour printer (if available)

 

Preparation
*Here are some examples; students are free to create in their own ways.

Collect

  1. The most commonly heard words or phrases in this period
  2. The words that interest you most in the news of the pandemic on the internet, TV news, newspaper, and magazines
  3. Write down and collect these words (contemplation of repetition)

Observe

  1. The tables and desks at home
  2. A scene behind the window (a street corner, a window of the opposite residential building, the sky, etc.)
  3. Observe it at fixed intervals each day and take pictures of them with a camera (built-in cameras on mobile phone or any digital cameras), or use drawings to document the changes over time (contemplation of time)

 

Make a Zine (see appendix for instructions)

  1. Fold an A4 paper three times with the raised sides facing in and unfold it to create a 2x4 grid.
  2. Explore different ways of folding (I have discovered twelve kinds) that transform the A4 sheet into a booklet with eight rectangular pages.
  3. Different ways of folding produce different reading orders.
  4. After collecting and observing materials, define a theme for the zine, e.g., distance/ quarantine/ lockdown/ solitude/ loneliness/ illness/ friends/ missing someone/ masks/ washing hands/ unemployment/ Zoom/ online learning, etc.
  5. Lay out relevant materials on the eight pages arranged according to your preferred way of folding.

 

Reference:

  1. Hsieh Teh-ching: thoughts on time and restrictions

“He confined himself in a wooden cage and did nothing for a year”

“Hsieh Teh-ching: The most important time of my life is wasted”

  1. The column “Aesthetics of Zines” by ZINE COOP on Ming Pao Education ection
  1. Instagram of ZINE COOP
  1. David Bonanni, “Little Books”, 2015

 

Notes to Teachers 

The zine-making experiment allows students to record their “immediate” or “ephemeral” thoughts and feelings, while book-making is more exacting in terms of time and patience. Each zine is distinctive, in that it reflects the characters and subjects of interest of the student author. The major difference between a zine and other visual arts homework is that the former is a lighter medium that allows more freestyle and impromptu creation, therefore justified in employing different criteria of assessment. Teachers are encouraged to discuss with their students on their chosen themes, creative experiences, and methodologies (such as the relationship between the themes and the collected materials, or between the methods of folding/binding and the contents, etc.).

About the Artist

Beatrix Pang Sin Kwok is a visual artist and founder of Small Tune Press, an independent publisher of artists’ books and zines with focus on organising exchange and education activities as well. She is also a co-founder of a local zine collective ZINE COOP and Queer Reads Library.

 

Publishing date: 16 Apr 2020 

 

The AAA Learning and Participation Programme is supported by the S. H. Ho Foundation Limited.

Relevant content

home zine
Off the Shelf | Somewhere, Someone Just Wanted to Let You Know
Ideas | Collection Spotlight

Off the Shelf | Somewhere, Someone Just Wanted to Let You Know

An exploration of AAA's collection of zines on the ongoing political movement in Hong Kong

Shortlist | The Semi-Autonomous Zine
Shortlist | The Semi-Autonomous Zine: Charting Margins and Peripheries in Independent Publishing
Ideas | Collection Spotlight

Shortlist | The Semi-Autonomous Zine: Charting Margins and Peripheries in Independent Publishing

Recommended readings on zine and independent publishing cultures in East and South East Asia

教學材料

在家學習|小誌實驗

這系列在家進行的創意練習旨在重新審視藝術在現今世代、尤其是面對危機時的角色。

在新型冠狀病毒疫情擴散的陰霾下,2020年度的春季學期一再停課。有鑑於此,文獻庫邀請本地藝術家設計不同活動,供老師指導學生在家進行。這些練習引導師生反思疫情下的個人經歷、社會議題,以至藝術在窘境中的意義。

藝術家兼獨立出版人彭倩幗通過這個練習,介紹小誌作為記錄日常觀察、當下情感和想法的媒介,並鼓勵同學以小誌表現自己的性格和探索關心的事物。

我們亦誠邀老師把學生的練習過程和成果上載到學習及參與Facebook 群組「亞洲當代藝術:教師社群」,與更多教育工作者分享。 

圖片:中學生小誌工作坊,由彭倩幗帶領。亞洲藝術文獻庫,2017年。
圖片:中學生小誌工作坊,由彭倩幗帶領。亞洲藝術文獻庫,2017年。

 

主題:一張紙摺八頁的小誌閱讀實驗

甚麼是「小誌」?

「小誌」是「書」的雛型,它具有各種實驗的可能。「書」從「紙張」開始,通過各種的 「摺疊」、「裁剪」及「釘裝」的方法而構成,其中包含各種對美學和視覺的考量與設計 產生不同的「閱讀」經驗。每本書都有獨特的閱讀方式,根據「作者」賦予的「內容」而設計,這是包含一種人與人「溝通」的有趣經驗。

「小誌」是屬於個人創作,制作小誌的人是作者本人。小誌的內容及形式繁多,沒有特定的分類,因每個人做小誌的原因各有不同。每本小誌都在說一個小故事,它沒有圖利的目的,也沒有需要妥協的理由,就是作者盡情地發揮想法的「空間」或出口。內容的構成沒有準則,按照自己的感受及能力來發揮,也沒有對與錯,因小誌本身並沒有既定的方式:繪畫、寫作、攝影、拼貼、剪裁、打印等都是大家都能参與的方法。

在這個​小誌創作的實驗裡,我們透過使用一張A4(21 x 29.7 cm)尺寸的紙張,按比例平均畫分8個方格。每個方格便是放入內容的空間。可以使用​「摺疊」、「裁剪」及「釘裝」的方法,把這張分有8份長方格,造成一本A7(7.43 x 10.5 cm)尺寸的​小誌。

為甚麼要造小誌?

同學們自今年農曆新年年假開始,因疫症肆虐而停學至今,從網上、電視、家人、同學及友人的各方信息中,大家一直在接收和理解到的甚麽?我們來趁著這個不尋常的經歷,嘗試以​收集​、​觀察​的方式做一本8頁的小誌(當然可以不只做一本),作為對這個「漫長等待」的個人記錄及考察。

所需材料

  1. A4打印紙
  2. 剪刀
  3. 釘書機
  4. 漿糊筆/膠水
  5. 各種顏料及筆,選較常用的
  6. 手提電話/數碼相機
  7. 黑白/彩色打印機(如有)

 

準備
*以下為一些例子,學生們可自由選擇創作方式

收集

  1. 最近從日常中聽到最多的字眼
  2. 從網上及電視新聞,報章及刊物中有關疫症的消息中取下讓你感興趣的字眼
  3. 把這些​字詞記下並收集起來(對於重覆的思考)

觀察

  1. 家中的桌子(飯桌、書桌等)
  2. 找窗外的一個景物(一個街角、對面住宅的窗戶、天空)
  3. 每一天選幾個固定的時間進行觀察,並用相機(手機內置或是任何數碼相機)拍下, 或以繪畫​記下每個時間內的變化(對於時間的思考)

 

造本小誌(摺疊方法看附件

  1. 把一張A4紙向內對摺三次,攤開後便摺出八個方格
  2. 嘗試發掘不同的摺疊方法(我的經驗有十二種),讓這張A4紙摺成由八個方格組成的小書
  3. 不同的摺疊方法也就是小書不同的閱讀方向
  4. 在收集和觀察後找一個主題,舉例:距離/隔離/關閉/孤獨/寂寞/疾病/朋友/ 思念/口罩/洗手/失業/Zoom/網上學習,等等
  5. 利用小誌內的八個方格,把有關的素材放進去,可以根據喜歡的一種摺疊方法來完成小誌

 

參考資料

1. 謝德慶:對於時間及限制的思考

2. ZINE COOP在明報教育版專欄《小誌美學》

3. ZINE COOP Instagram 專頁

4. David Bonanni,Little Books​〉,2015

 

給老師的話

小誌創作能讓同學們把一些「即時」或「短暫」的想法和情感記錄,對比書本創作需要較長的時間及耐性才完成。每本小誌因應每位學生的性格、關心的事物和喜好各有不同,重點在於這種創作會不同於視藝科的作業及評審標準,小誌是一種較輕巧、隨心所欲及自由的載體。另外,在跟同學們討論他們所創作的小誌時,可以就他們所選作小誌的主題的構思、 創作經驗和方法來討論,例如主題跟收集素材的關係、摺疊/釘裝方法和閱讀內容的關係 ,等等。

關於藝術家

彭倩幗,視覺藝術家,獨立出版人,專營藝術出版社Small Tune Press,主要為香港文藝創作者出版及製作藝術類書誌,熱衷策劃和組織各種文化交流和教育活動。 近年和友人共同創辦以推廣香港小誌文化的團體ZINE COOP,及為創造多元性別能見度的閱讀平台「流動閱酷」

  

上載日期:2020年4月16日

 

亞洲藝術文獻庫「學習及參與計劃」由何善衡慈善基金會有限公司及CK and Kay Ho Foundation贊助。

 

相關內容

home zine
尋文覓藝 | 某年某月某地,某人想告訴你
藝文 | 館藏推介

尋文覓藝 | 某年某月某地,某人想告訴你

張嘉倫探索文獻庫中有關目前社會運動的小誌館藏。

Shortlist | The Semi-Autonomous Zine
推介館藏 | 半自主小誌︰走在獨立出版的邊緣與外圍
藝文 | 館藏推介

推介館藏 | 半自主小誌︰走在獨立出版的邊緣與外圍

是次推介館藏主題為東亞及東南亞地區的小誌和獨立出版文化。