A short guide for Documenta 11_Platform 5. Okwui Enwezor, Artistic Director of Documenta 11, commented in his preface that almost fifty years after its founding, Documenta found itself confronted once again with the specters of yet another turbulent time of unceasing cultural, social, and political frictions. In order to meet the challenge of making a meaningful articulation of the possibilities of contemporary art in such a climate, Documenta 11 was presented in a series of five Platforms of public discussions, conferences, workshops, books, and film and video programs.

Images of the artist's works are accompanied by individual texts. The guide also includes brief information about Documenta11_FilmProgram and Documenta11_Radio.

Other participating artists/art groups included: Georges Adeagbo, Eija-Liisa Ahtila, Chantal Akerman, Gaston A. Ancelovici, Fareed Armaly, Michael Ashkin, Asymptote, Kutlug Ataman, The Atlas Group, Julie Bargmann & Stacy Sevy, Artur Barrio, Bernd & Hilla Becher, Zarina Bhimji, BlackAudio Film Collective, John Bock, Ecke Bonk, Frederic Bruly Bouabre, Louise Bourgeois, Pavel Braila, Stanley Brouwn, Tania Bruguera, Luis Camnitzer, James Coleman, Constant, Hanne Darboven, Destiny Deacon, Stan Douglas, Cecilia Edefalk, William Eggleston, Maria Eichhorn, Touhami Ennadre, Cerith Wyn Evans, Chohreh Feyzdjou, Yona Friedman, Meschac Gaba, Giuseppe Gabellone, Carlos Garaicoa, Kendell Geers, Isa Genzken, Jef Geys, David Goldblatt, Leon Golub, Dominique Gonzalez-Foerster, Renee Green, Victor Grippo, Le Groupe Amos, Jens Haaning, Thomas Hirschhorn, Candida Hofer, Craigie Horsfield, Huit Facettes, Pierre Huyghe, Igloolik Isuma Productions, Sanja Ivekovic, Alfredo Jaar, Joan Jonas, Issac Julien, William Kentridge, Johan Van Der Keuken, Bodys Isek Kingelez, Ben Kinmont, Igor & Svetlana Kopystiansky, Ivan Kozaric, Andreja Kuluncic, Glenn Ligon, Mark Manders, Fabian Marcaccio, Steve McQueen, Cildo Meireles, Jonas Mekas, Annette Messager, Santu Mofokeng, Multiplicity, Juan Munoz, Gabriel Orozco, Olumuyiwa Olamide Osifuye, Ulrike Ottinger, Ouattara Watts, Park Fiction, Manfred Pernice, Raymond Pettibon, Adrian Piper, Lisl Ponger, Pere Portabella, Raqs Media Collective, Alejandra Riera with Doina Petrescu, Dieter Roth, Doris Salcedo, Gilles Saussier, Allan Sekula, Yinka Shonibare, Andreas Siekmann, Simparch, Lorna Simpson, David Small, Pascale Marthine Tayou, Jean-Marie Teno, Joelle Tuerlinckx, Luc Tuymans, Nomeda & Gediminas Urbonas, Jeff Wall, Nari Ward.
Alternative title

Documenta11_ Platform 5: Ausstellung/ Exhibition (Short Guide)

Access level


Location code EX.GER.DOC



Publication/Creation date


No of pages




No of copies


Content type


Documenta 11_ Platform 5: Ausstellung/ Exhibition (Short Guide)
Rights statement

In Copyright

What does this mean?

This item is covered by one or more copyrights. It is available for research only or use within Hong Kong’s fair dealing rules. Please do not copy, re-use or reproduce this item without the permission of the copyright holder.

Documenta 11_ Platform 5: Ausstellung/ Exhibition (Short Guide)

In light of the current COVID-19 situation, AAA Library will be temporarily closed from 7 January to 22 January.