Asia Art Archive (“AAA”) is an independent non-profit organisation initiated in 2000 in response to the urgent need to document and make accessible the multiple recent histories of art in the region. Through the course of its affairs AAA has produced and collected a large body of relevant digital material which it describes, preserves, and makes available to the public at no cost via the Internet and physical library locations. AAA holds these digital works but their respective creators or owners retain their copyright until the items lapse from copyright protection.


Because of the relatively short time period between the creation of the records and their retention at AAA the majority of the collection is still covered by one or more copyrights. As an organisation that wishes to employ best practices, AAA respects the rights of the copyright holder(s) and has a series of policies and procedures in place to ensure their rights are not infringed upon through AAA’s programmes and functions by others.


AAA acknowledges that the creator, author or assignee of an original work retains the copyright for a fixed duration as set out in the Hong Kong Copyright Ordinance (Cap. 528) or other applicable copyright law. These rights allow the owner to licence, grant, and restrict access to the work as well as the right to format the work across media including digitisation. For AAA to make its collections available to the public it acknowledges it must do so subject to the terms of relevant copyright laws.


Where AAA retains the rights to material it has produced, AAA will ensure the material is made available to the public by the most open license as reasonably possible. Where the rights are retained by AAA and any third party, AAA has or will obtain the relevant permissions from third parties and signed authorisations from copyright holders before making the works available. To meet this commitment AAA has adopted the Creative Commons licencing schedule and will licence the use of copyrighted works accordingly. If AAA is unable to obtain the necessary permission or authorisations, it will only make the deposited works available at its physical locations in Hong Kong or New York.


For works with no known copyright, or works where the rights holder(s) is untraceable (orphan works), AAA will make best efforts to locate and clear any rights subsisting in the work. If these efforts do not result in the locating of the rights holder(s), AAA will (in its sole discretion) decide if the work will be made available to the public and will bear the sole burden in the event of any claim of copyright infringement.


All deposited works, with known and traceable copyright holder(s), made available through AAA’s digital channels (website, applications, API, promotional materials) will have signed authorisations from the rights holder(s) giving AAA the right to make these available. If AAA is unable to obtain authorisation to make a work available online it will be restricted to access of the deposited work via Asia Art Archive’s physical locations (Hong Kong and New York).


AAA will not knowingly distribute, modify, or allow unauthorised access to copyrighted works in its collection without the authorisation of the rights holder(s).


If AAA wishes to use copyrighted works in any use beyond its existing agreements with the rights holder(s) it will obtain a new authorisation in writing.


Any requests for permission to access a copyrighted work by a third party beyond the existing AAA authorisations will be referred back to the rights holder(s).


In the event of a reasonable complaint relating to the copyright subsisting in a work, AAA will immediately remove the digital item from web-based access until it (in its sole discretion) has ascertained whether the copyright claim is valid based on documentary support provided to AAA. If the copyright claim is deemed to be valid by AAA, AAA will either make best efforts to obtain permission to make the work available or restrict access to the deposited works on-site only. If AAA deems the claim to be frivolous it will be in AAA’s sole decision to allow access to the work as well as the level of access tol be given to the work.


On the lapsing of the copyright protection AAA will make the works available as in the public domain ‘without copyright’ protection. AAA will not assert any copyright through the acts such as digitisation, migration across formats or platforms, or other ‘sweat of the brow’ measures which could create a new copyright in the work. Where a new copyright is justified, AAA will licence such work under the appropriate Creative Commons licencing regime.

AAA relies on your generous support to grow, activate, and make freely accessible our collection of materials on art in Asia. Please consider making a small donation to our 2021 Annual Fundraiser, ending on 29 Oct.

亞洲藝術文獻庫數碼版權政策

本文件只供參考。如本翻譯版本與英文版有任何歧義,則本數碼版權政策的精神、意圖和含義,概以英文版本為準。

 

亞洲藝術文獻庫 (「文獻庫」) 是一個獨立的非牟利機構,成立於2000年,旨在保存亞洲近代藝術的多重歷史,並促進相關資源的流通。自2000年創辦至今,文獻庫製作和收集了海量的數碼資料,並透過互聯網和實體圖書館展示、保存、以及讓公眾免費瀏覽。該等數碼資料由文獻庫管有及收藏,其版權則仍屬於作品的原作者或擁有人,直至該等作品的版權保護期滿為止。

由於該等數碼資料由創建至文獻庫蒐藏的時間相距較短,現時大部分均仍然受到最少一個版權保護。

文獻庫一直以樹立最佳實務典範為己任,尊重所有版權擁有人的權利,並且實施一系列政策和程序,確保版權擁有人的權利不會因任何文獻庫活動或第三者行為受到侵犯。

文獻庫確認任何原作的版權均為其創造者、作者或代理人持有,版權的期限根據香港《版權條例》(第528章)或任何適用版權法例而定。這些權利容許作品的擁有人授權、批准或限制作品的存取,並且透過不同媒介對作品進行格式化或數碼化。文獻庫確認向公眾提供其館藏之前,必須按照相關版權法例的條款予以執行。

由文獻庫製作的資料,如版權由文獻庫擁有,文獻庫將透過可能範圍內的最公開授權方式,向公眾提供該等資料。如資料的版權由文獻庫及任何第三方擁有,文獻庫在提供該等資料之前,將確保已向或將向第三方索取相關許可,並與版權擁有人簽訂授權書。為切實執行此等承諾,文獻庫已採納共享創意特許條款所訂的時間表,並將因之授權版權作品的使用。如文獻庫無法取得所需許可或授權,則只會在香港、印度及紐約的實體資料庫提供已存庫作品。

對於並無已知版權的作品,或無法追溯版權擁有人的作品(孤兒作品),文獻庫將盡力尋找並釐清該等作品的存續版權。如經過上述行動仍然未能找出版權擁有人,文獻庫將會自行決定是否向公眾提供該等作品,並且會就任何一旦出現的侵犯版權申訴負上全權責任。

對於擁有已知及可追溯的版權擁有人的已存庫作品,文獻庫在透過其數碼渠道(包括網站、應用程式、API及推廣資料)向公眾提供該等作品前,將向相關版權擁有人索取已簽署的授權書。如文獻庫無法取得可在網上向公眾提供作品的授權,該等已存庫作品的閱索權限,將只限於文獻庫位於香港及紐約的實體資料庫。

文獻庫不會在已知的情況下,在未經版權擁有人授權之前,發佈或修改館藏裡的所有版權作品,或容許對該等作品進行任何未經授權的存取。

如文獻庫欲使用版權作品,而該等用途超出與版權擁有人的現有協議範圍,文獻庫將會向相關版權擁有人索取新的書面授權。

如第三方有任何存取版權作品的要求,而該等要求超出文獻庫獲授權的現有範圍,文獻庫會將該等要求轉介至相關版權擁有人。

文獻庫一旦接獲關於作品存續版權的合理投訴,將會馬上移除該等數碼作品的網上存取,直至文獻庫自行確認已透過該等版權申訴的相關文件,決定該等申訴有效與否為止。如文獻庫認為該等申訴有效,將會盡力索取向公眾提供相關作品的許可,或是只限現場存取已存庫作品。如文獻庫認為該等申訴屬瑣碎無稽,文獻庫將自行決定是否容許存取相關作品,以及可存取該等作品的程度。

作品的版權保護一旦期滿,文獻庫將會以公眾領域「無版權」保護的方式,向公眾提供該等作品。文獻庫不會透過數碼化、轉移作品格式或平台、或其他足以令作品產生新版權的「辛勤原則」方式,聲稱擁有該等作品的版權。如必需新版權,文獻庫將會根據適當的共享創意特許條款授權該等作品。

文獻庫有賴您的支持,得以擴展和活化館藏,讓它們可被公衆免費查閱。適逢2021年周年籌款現正舉行,如閣下有意小額捐助,我們將深表謝意。籌款將於10月29日完結。