Betsy Damon is a feminist, performance artist, and environmental activist. 'Keepers of the Waters' is a community-based water activism initiative, which was founded and directed by Damon in 1991, and traveled to China in 1995 to 1996. The artist invited local and international artists to create public performances and installation art to raise awareness of source water protection, particularly the Funan and Lhasa rivers.

The core of this research collection is documentation of the two iterations of 'Keepers of the Waters' that took place in Chengdu, Sichuan (1995), and Lhasa, Tibet Autonomous Region (1996). Comprised of slides, audio-visual recordings, newspaper clippings, and interviews, this collection is related to performance art, women artists, exhibition histories, and the development of regional contemporary art in China.

The material in this archive connects with Petra Poelzl’s research on performance art in Sichuan, sponsored by The Robert H. N. Ho Family Foundation Greater China Research Grant, and includes Poelzl’s interview with Betsy Damon and Dai Guangyu in spring 2017.

AAA relies on your generous support to grow, activate, and make freely accessible our collection of materials on art in Asia. Please consider making a small donation to our 2021 Annual Fundraiser, ending on 29 Oct.

貝特西達蒙是一名女性主義者及行為藝術家,活躍於環境保育。1991年,達蒙女士創辦了以社區為本的「水的保衛者」計劃,在期間一直擔任指導角色,致力保育水資源,並於1995至1996年間將計劃推行至中國。達蒙於該次活動中邀來本地和國際藝術家,一同於府南河和拉薩河附近進行公共行為藝術及裝置藝術創作,以提升大眾對水資源保育的意識。

本文獻檔案集中記錄了於四川成都(1995)和西藏自治區拉薩(1996)反覆進行的兩場「水的保衛者」活動,資料包括幻燈片、紀綠片、剪報及相關訪談片段,供以檢視當代中國的行為藝術發展、女性藝術家、展覽歷史及地區性當代藝術。

檔案亦收錄了Petra Poelzl 於2017年初與貝特西達蒙和戴光郁的訪談內容。此訪談為Poelzl研究四川行為藝術的一部分,由何鴻毅家族基金中華研究獎助計劃贊助。

文獻庫有賴您的支持,得以擴展和活化館藏,讓它們可被公衆免費查閱。適逢2021年周年籌款現正舉行,如閣下有意小額捐助,我們將深表謝意。籌款將於10月29日完結。