The Dhaka Art Summit, Institute for Comparative Modernities (ICM) at Cornell University, and Asia Art Archive, with support from the Getty Foundation’s Connecting Art Histories initiative, launch a new research project entitled Modern Art Histories in and across Africa, South and Southeast Asia. The project brings together a team of leading international faculty and emerging scholars to investigate parallel and intersecting developments in the cultural histories of modern Africa, South Asia, and Southeast Asia. 

These regions have been shaped by shared institutional and intellectual developments during the twentieth century, including the rise of modern art practices associated with the withdrawal of colonialism and the consolidation of nationalism, the founding of institutions such as the art school and the museum, and increasing exchange with international metropolitan centres via travel and the movement of ideas through publications and exhibitions. Viewing them in terms of statist and national art histories obscures their analysis in a comparative framework. By contrast, this programme emphasises a connected and contextualised approach to better understand both common developments as well as divergent trajectories. 

The curriculum will cover both core concepts and emerging perspectives from postcolonial, decolonial, transnational, transcultural, and global discourses, with seminar topics that range from art and social difference, creolisation, exhibition histories, postcolonial nationalisms, media and popular culture, multiple modernisms, pedagogy, and transnational networks, among others. Participants will be actively engaged in the sessions as experts in their own respective disciplines. By presenting two papers during the course of the programme, early career scholars will be encouraged to pursue their research informed by the theoretical and art historical contexts of this project. 

By integrating presentations by participants with core faculty lectures, the programme is envisioned as a reciprocal process of learning exchange. Presentations will also take place at peer institutions in Hong Kong and Bangladesh, as well as at the Dhaka Art Summit. Field trips such as collection, museum, and modernist architecture visits and guest lectures will be organised during both the Hong Kong and Dhaka sessions. With the goal of optimising the impact of in-person workshops, virtual meetings will be held in addition to the respective Hong Kong and Dhaka sessions. 

Emerging scholars from and with connections to Africa, South Asia, and/or Southeast Asia currently enrolled in a graduate programme in Art History, Architectural History, or Cultural Studies, or who have finished their graduate training in these fields in the last three years, were encouraged to apply. Twenty-one scholars were selected from a competitive international applicant pool. The scholars and their research proposals can be found on the right-hand column.

This is a closed-door event. The open call for participation ended on 28 Feb 2019.

Image: Muzharul Islam, College of Arts and Crafts, Dhaka. Photo: Randhir Singh.
Image: Muzharul Islam, College of Arts and Crafts, Dhaka. Photo: Randhir Singh.

 

Programme Partners:

 
 

Sponsor:

 
 

Relevant content

DAS2019_650x500_Webpage
Open Call | Modern Art Histories in and across Africa, South and Southeast Asia
Programmes

Open Call | Modern Art Histories in and across Africa, South and Southeast Asia

Application deadline:
Thu, 28 Feb 2019

Chungkinghomelist
Screening and Talk | Chungking Global
Programmes

Screening and Talk | Chungking Global

Sat, 17 Aug 2019, 11 AM – 1:30 PM

CuratingPlaceHomelist
Curating Place: A Conversation across Complex Geographies
Programmes

Curating Place: A Conversation across Complex Geographies

Mon, 19 Aug 2019, 7 – 9 PM

達卡藝術高峰會、康乃爾大學比較現代性研究所(Institute for Comparative Modernities; ICM)及亞洲藝術文獻庫在Getty 基金會旗下計劃Connect Art Histories的鼎力支持下,展開名為「區域及跨區域現代藝術史︰非洲、南亞及東南亞」的全新研究計劃。研究計劃聚集了國際頂尖的教授及新晉學者,共同研究現代非洲、南亞及東南亞文化歷史間平行或相交的軌跡。

該些地區在二十世紀的形成深受其相似的制度及知識發展所影響。當時,以殖民主權終結為題的藝術作品陸續興起、民族主義植根、藝術學院及博物館相繼創立、各式思想通過出版及展覽得以廣泛傳播,繼而促進國際都會交流。如果從國家主義及國族藝術史的角度著手,則無疑會令有關論述的比較分析變得模糊。相較之下,此計劃強調以突顯連結及脈絡化的方法,供人們更好地理解各國藝術史的共同發展和分歧軌跡。

本課程涵蓋後殖民、去殖民、跨國、跨文化及全球性論述的核心概念及新興觀點,研討題目包括藝術及社會差別、克裡奧爾化、展覽史、後殖民民族主義、媒體及流行文化、多元現代主義、教學法及跨國網絡等等。在各個環節中,參加者將以各自領域的專家身分作積極參與。課程期間,參加者須撰寫並匯報兩篇論文;我們鼓勵新晉學者運用本計劃的理論及藝術史背景,以繼續進行個人研究。

參加者的簡報將被整合並編入核心師資的講課內容中,以體現課程實踐雙向學習的願景。匯報亦將在位於香港及孟加拉的合作機構及達卡藝術高峰會中舉行。到訪香港和達卡期間,參加者將前往文獻庫、博物館及現代主義建築參觀,並出席客席講座。為完善親身參與工作坊的體驗,香港及達卡部分的活動將設網上會面一環。

本計劃邀得來自非洲、南亞、東南亞及與該區域有聯繫的藝術史、建築史、文化研究碩士或博士生,或完成以上課程不出三年的新晉學者申請參加。國際申請者眾,競爭激烈,二十一名學者脫穎而出,其姓名及研究計劃書請見右邊欄目。

此為閉門活動。項目的公開邀請早於2019年2月28日完結。

圖片:Muzharul Islam,達卡工藝美術學院。Randhir Singh攝。
圖片:Muzharul Islam,達卡工藝美術學院。Randhir Singh攝。

 

計劃伙伴:

 
 

贊助:

 
 

 

 

相關內容

DAS2019_650x500_Webpage
招募參加者 | 現代藝術史在與跨越非洲、南亞及東南亞
活動

招募參加者 | 現代藝術史在與跨越非洲、南亞及東南亞

截止申請日期:
2019年2月28日 (星期四)

Chungkinghomelist
放映與座談 | 重慶全球
活動

放映與座談 | 重慶全球

2019年8月17日 (星期六)
上午11時至下午1時30分

CuratingPlaceHomelist
講座 | 策展場域:一場跨地緣對話
活動

講座 | 策展場域:一場跨地緣對話

2019年8月19日 (星期一)
下午7時至9時