The Documenting Contemporary Art of Northwest China (Lanzhou) Collection contains over 2,000 items. The majority of them are documentation of artworks, writings, correspondences, photos, and personal records dating from the early 1970s to 2016, which capture the work and lives of six contemporary artists from Gansu Province. The collection also comprises primary documents of ten art events that took place in Lanzhou, the capital city of Gansu, between 1981 and 2006. The collection was gathered by Asia Art Archive researcher Congyang Xie from 2017 to 2019, as part of a larger research and archival project that focuses on the understudied contemporary art practices in Gansu, Xinjiang, Qinghai, and Ningxia. The project addresses the lack of primary material on contemporary art in the vast regions beyond major art centres in China.

The collection is organised into two series. The first, Individual Files, consists of six subfolders, one for each of the following artists: Cheng Li, Gao Bo, Jin Le, Liu Xinhua, Ma Qizhi, and Yang Zhichao. The six individuals, all with different educational and social backgrounds, maintain a wide range of art practices. The majority of materials are photographs of artworks, portfolios, statements, drafts, documents, clippings, videos, and personal records that document the artists’ work. There are also artists’ documentation of their solo shows, as well as exhibitions they participated in outside of Lanzhou. Some folders contain correspondences, photographs, essays, and diaries that reflect the artists’ personal life. Highlights include Cheng Li’s diaries dating from 1976 to 1996; reproductions of early paintings by Yang, Liu, and Ma, who are more commonly known for their performances; and Jin Le’s photos of the Fuck Off exhibition (Shanghai, 2000). For the artists’ biographies and further information, please see descriptions of individual subfolders.

The second series, Lanzhou Art Events, is organised in chronological order, and contains primary documents of nine group exhibitions and events that took place in Lanzhou from 1981 to 2006. The bulk consists of ephemera, artist’s statements, and photographs and clippings of exhibitions held between the 1980s and early 1990s. They include the Sound of Spring Painting Exhibition of Young Artists (1981); Painting Exhibitions at Home (1982); 85.8 Modern Art Exhibition (1985); Rolling on Canvas (1987); the Art Show Fundraiser for the Asian Games (1990), and CCLL Art Show (1992). The files for Funeral, an event organised in 1992–93 by the art group Lanzhou Artist Army, are particularly comprehensive, and include photographs, texts, reproductions of props, scrapbooks, booklets, and other documents produced during the event.

As part of the research, AAA has produced video interviews with eleven art practitioners. Transcripts and selected videos of these interviews will be made available in late 2019.

Extent

191 Folders, 2038 Records

Share

《中國西北部當代藝術文獻與研究計劃(蘭州)》檔案包含超過2,000件文獻,大部分為六位甘肅省藝術家於1970年代至2016年間的藝術作品紀錄、寫作、書信、相片及個人資料,從中可一窺其生活與工作。檔案亦包含1981年至2006年間在甘肅省會蘭州舉辦的十個藝術展覽的一手資料。該檔案由亞洲藝術文獻庫研究員謝從暘於2017至2019年收集及整理,為一項更大型的文獻與研究項目之一部分;該項目關注甘肅、新疆、青海及寧夏未被充分研究的當代藝術實踐,以填補中國藝術中心城市以外廣大區域之當代藝術文獻的缺失。

檔案分為兩部分。第一部分「個人檔案」由六位藝術家的個別檔案組成:成力、高波、靳勒、劉新華,馬奇志和楊志超的社會及教育背景各異,藝術實踐各不相同。文獻主要為藝術家創作的作品之照片、作品集、藝術家自述、草稿、文件、剪報、錄像及個人檔案,也包括藝術家對個人展覽以及蘭州以外參加的展覽文獻所作的紀錄。其中一些檔案也包含書信、相片、文章和日記等反映藝術家私人生活的文獻。值得留意的文獻包括成力於1976至1996年間的日記、楊志超、劉新華及馬奇志等以行為藝術著稱的藝術家之早期繪畫作品,以及靳勒於2000年在上海舉辦的展覽《不合作方式》的現場照片。詳情請見六位藝術家的個人檔案簡介。

第二部分「蘭州藝術活動」包含1981至2006年間在蘭州舉辦的九個群體展覽和事件的一手文件,資料均按照時間順序排列。此部分主要由1980年代及1990年代初期的數個展覽之文獻組成,包括相片、展覽印刷品、藝術家自述、剪報等。這些展覽包括《春之聲青年畫展》(1981)、《家庭畫展》(1982)、《85.8新藝術展》(1985)、「滾畫布」(1987)、《迎亞運藝術品義賣大展》(1990)及《CCLL藝術展》(1992)。檔案中有關1992至1993年「蘭州藝術軍團」發起的「葬活動」的文獻尤為完整,包括照片、文字紀錄、道具、文件、剪貼簿和小冊子等等。

作為研究項目的一部分,文獻庫製作了對十一位藝術工作者的錄像訪問。訪問的逐字稿及部分錄像片段將於2019年底發佈。

檔案藏量

191 案卷, 2038 檔案

分享