This folder contains photos and documents on Yang Zhichao’s major works during different stages, including ink paintings and sketches made during his school years in the early 1980s, documents of twenty-one performances realised between 1989 and 2011, and a small number of Yang’s illustration works.

Also included are selected photographs that document Yang’s family, travels, and art activities dating from the 1970s to 2012, and a small batch of magazine and newspaper clippings Yang preserved from the 1980s, which the artist said had inspired his art.

For textual descriptions of Yang’s performance in the 1990s, such as Love Stories (1996), Jiayu Pass (1999), and Within the Fourth Ring Road (1999), or Yang’s writings on performance art, please see Document 3 [REF.WWG], Yang Zhichao Works 1999-2008 [MON.YZC], Foam (No. 4, December 2001) [ZIN.FLS], and Li Xianting Archive at Asia Art Archive, as these materials are not included in this collection. The majority of Yang’s illustrations are also not included in this collection, but can be found in Yang’s monograph, The Northern Travels of Kongbu, Dingzi.

Yang Zhichao was born in 1963 in Yumen city, and grew up in Jiayuguan of Gansu Province. From 1982 to 1986, Yang studied at the Department of Fine Arts at Northwest Normal University. After graduation, Yang worked as an art teacher at a middle school, and actively experimented with various art forms. In 1987, he co-initiated Rolling on Canvas with Zhang Xiangming. He was a member of the Lanzhou Artist Army group and participated in Funeral (1992–93). In the 1990s, Yang carried out several durational performances in Gansu and Beijing, including Professional Nurse (Lanzhou, 1995–96), Walking Within the 4th Ring Road (Beijing, 1999), and Jiayu Pass (Jiayuguan, Gansu, 1999–2000). From 2000 to 2008, Yang carried out a series of extreme performances, including Iron (2000), Planting Grass (2000), Pub (2003), and the Revelation Series (2004–7), to name a few. Since 2009, his enduring project and installation Chinese Bible has been exhibited globally. Yang won the China Contemporary Art Awards prize in 2002.

Extent

31 Folders, 145 Records

Share

In light of the current COVID-19 situation, AAA Library will be temporarily closed from 7 January to 22 January.

檔案包含了楊志超各個階段主要作品的相片及文件,包括1980年代初求學期間創作的水墨畫和草圖、1989至2011年實踐的21個行為藝術作品文獻,以及少量插畫作品。

檔案亦包含攝於1970年代至2012年的照片,記錄了楊的家庭、旅行和藝術活動。檔案另含少量楊保存的1980年代雜誌和報紙剪報。藝術家指出,這些資料曾為他的創作帶來影響。

《愛情故事》(1996)、《嘉峪關》(1999)及《四環以內》(1999)等作品的文字紀錄,以及楊志超關於行為藝術的文章均未錄入此檔案,但可透過以下出版物及平台查閱:《現場3》[REF.WWG]、《楊志超作品:1999–2008》[MON.YZC]、《水沫》(2001年12月,第四期)[ZIN.FLS]及亞洲藝術文獻庫《栗憲庭檔案》。楊志超的大部分插畫作品均未收錄於此檔案。這些作品已於楊志超個人專集《孔不、丁子北漂記》集結出版。

楊志超於1963年生於甘肅玉門,於嘉峪關長大。1982至1986年在西北師範大學藝術系學習。畢業後,楊於一所中學任美術教師,期間積極地探索多種藝術形式,包括繪畫、詩歌和行為藝術等。1987年,與張向明共同發起「滾畫布」。楊志超為「蘭州藝術軍團」成員」(1992–93),並積極參與「葬活動」。1990年代,楊在甘肅和北京創作了一系列行為藝術作品,包括《職業保姆》(蘭州,1995-96)、《四環以內》(北京,1999)及《嘉峪關》(嘉峪關,1999–2000)。2000至2008年期間,楊志超實踐了一系列包含極端體驗的行為藝術,包括《烙》(2000)、《種草》(2000)、《吧》(2003)、「啟示錄」系列(2004-07)等。2009年開始,他持續進行的《中國聖經》項目於全球多個地點展出。2002年,楊志超獲得CCAA中國當代藝術獎。

檔案藏量

31 案卷, 145 檔案

分享

因應新冠病毒疫情現況,文獻庫圖書館將於1月7日至22日暫時關閉。