After months of renovation, Asia Art Archive (AAA) is getting ready to reopen to the public with our new, expanded library. On this occasion, a series of programmes and previews will be held for visitors and educators as a prelude to the official reopening. 

Participants will have early access to our library and the latest exhibition, The Collective School, to learn how AAA Learning & Participation supports the teaching of contemporary art. Six experienced educators from local and international schools will share how they found inspiration for teaching from AAA, and how to use online and onsite library resources to design a variety of curricula. The speakers will also elaborate on how they introduced timely and seemingly obscure contemporary art to the classroom. Through hands-on activities, the speakers will demonstrate how teachers can apply inquiry-based learning to creatively address students' frustrations, when they are unsure where to begin in their creative processes, in order to motivate them to find their strengths and develop their works in more diverse ways.

We hope to develop a community of educators who can learn from and support each other in a relaxing environment. Through the programme, they can enrich their understanding of contemporary art, further develop their interests, and explore other possibilities of integrating art into their teaching. The programme is designed for local and international school teachers of visual arts, humanities and social sciences, and theory of knowledge. Teachers of other disciplines and pre-service teachers are also welcome.

Free with registration. If you would like to join, please register here

TEACHERS' PREVIEW | Cantonese

Saturday, 8 October 2022, 10am–1pm HKT
Speakers: Peggy Kwan, Carmen Kwok, Lam Mau, Florie Tse Siu Wah

Peggy Kwan: From Emotions to Creations
How can students make art from their interests, follow their emotions, and find inspiration from the inside? Peggy Kwan looks at how students can find creative ideas through AAA’s materials, and express their ideas and feelings through artworks. 

Carmen Kwok: Performance Art in the Classroom
Can performance art be carried out in the classroom? Carmen Kwok considers its myths and potentials.

Lam Mau: Getting Inspired by Artists' Archives and Start Making Art
Lam Mau looks at what paths student can take to explore their own identities and characteristics as they develop their themes and make artwork for the School-based Assessment. Lam talks about how, taking the artists’ archives as a starting point, students are motivated to reflect on the self and create their own archival research workbook.

Florie Tse Siu Wah: From Static Archives to Diversified Artistic Creations
Florie Tse discusses her teaching strategies, including how she uses AAA’s resources as a catalyst for creative inquiries. Taking the archives as a starting point, Tse demonstrates how students developed resonances and artistic connections with seemingly arcane archival materials—a process that allows them to diversify their works and gain motivation.

TEACHERS' PREVIEW | English

Saturday, 15 October 2022, 10am–12pm HKT
Speakers: Wendy Tai, Michelle Wang

Wendy Tai: Research by Visual Association: An Introduction to Using AAA Resources
Wendy Tai discusses how she uses AAA’s resources in her classes. She facilitates a short hands-on activity to familiarise participants with the archive, followed by a group brainstorming session on other approaches to using the resources available.

Michelle Wang: AAA as a Creative Platform: Curriculum Inspiration for Teachers
Michelle Wang shares how she adopts ideas from AAA artist workshops and integrates AAA resources into her teaching. She starts by exploring ways of reading and browsing collections, introducing programmes and workshops offered by AAA, and ending with a hands-on and playful activity to build a personal connection to the archive. This workshop is recommended for pre-IBDP courses.

VENUE: AAA Library, 11/F, Hollywood Centre, 233 Hollywood Road, Sheung Wan

REGISTRATION DEADLINE

Preview (Cantonese): Wednesday, 5 October 2022
Preview (English): Wednesday, 12 October 2022

The programme is part of AAA’s professional development programme designed for educators. A certificate will be given to participants upon request as proof of Teacher Continuing Professional Development.

About the Speakers 

Peggy Kwan is Panel Head of Visual Arts Department at Tang Shiu Kin Victoria Government Secondary School. She has been awarded the Chief Executive’s Award for Teaching Excellence of the Arts Education Key Learning Area in 2011–12 and 2016–17, and Outstanding Performance in the Basic Education National and Teaching Achievement Award (Hong Kong SAR) in 2018. She is currently the Arts Education Key Learning Area Coordinator, Chairman of the Hong Kong Examinations and Assessment Authority Subject Committee (Visual Arts), and Chairman of the CDC-HKEAA Committee on Visual Arts. 

Carmen Kwok is Visual Arts Department Panel Head at SKH Lam Kau Mow Secondary School. An art educator for over thirty years, she believes art education does not belong in an ivory tower, but has the power to inspire students, nourish their minds, and equip them for future challenges.

Lam Mau is Head of Visual Arts Department and Head of Publication Committee at Munsang College. With seventeen years of experience in visual arts teaching, she deeply understands the importance of art education for students’ personal growth and development. She hopes to help students explore themselves and achieve more possibilities through artistic thinking and practice.

Florie Tse Siu Wah is Head of Jockey Club Ti-I College Staff Professional Development Committee, a Specialist of the Hong Kong Council for Accreditation of Academic and Vocational Qualifications, a mentor with the CUHK Mentorship Programme, and a member of the Advisory Committee for AAA’s Ha Bik Chuen Archive Project. She received the Chief Executive’s Award for Teaching Excellence, Arts Education Key Learning Area from the Education Bureau in 2007, and the Basic Education National Teaching Achievement Award (China) in 2018. Tse led teaching research as the Leader of Chief Executive’s Award for Teaching Excellence Awardee Workshop.

Wendy Tai is a mixed-media artist. Her work ranges from quiet, personal introspection to playful, social engagement. Her current research interests include exploring the intersections between medicine, grief, healing, education, and art. She holds a BA in Fine Arts from the University of Pennsylvania; an MFA from Rinehart School of Sculpture, Maryland Institute College of Art; and a Postgraduate Diploma in Education from The Chinese University of Hong Kong. Tai divides her time between teaching art at Li Po Chun United World College, being a mother, and her studio practice in Hong Kong.

Michelle Wang is an educator of visual arts and science. She has taught for more than ten years in both private and international schools in Hong Kong and Canada. Her interests range from interdisciplinary education to sustainability and healing through art. She holds a dual degree from Queen’s University and a Masters of Education specialising in curriculum studies and development from Ontario Institute for Studies in Education at the University of Toronto. Wang currently teaches at the Canadian International School of Hong Kong, working on charitable art projects in the community.

 

The AAA Learning & Participation programme is supported by the S. H. Ho Foundation Limited.

AAA’s newly renovated library and The Collective School exhibition are open by appointment only starting Monday, 3 October. Register here to arrange a visit.

經過歷時數月的擴建和翻新,亞洲藝術文獻庫(文獻庫)即將以全新面貌與公眾見面。在開幕之際,文獻庫將以一系列活動及預覽作為序幕,為來訪者和教育工作者掀開新貌。

參與者可率先參觀我們圖書館及最新展覽《群策群學》,了解文獻庫學習及參與團隊如何支援當代藝術教育。此外,我們亦邀請了六位來自本地及國際學校、擁有豐富經驗的教育工作者,分享他們如何從文獻庫獲得教學靈感,以及利用線上和實體資源設計不同課程。講者亦會透過一系列練習,分享他們怎樣將貼近時下議題、但又看似難懂的當代藝術融入課堂教學,動手以探究式學習及創意,回應同學們「不知如何入手」的創作疑難,讓學生發掘所長達至多元發展。

在輕鬆的氛圍下,我們希望和老師共同建立一個互助的學習社群,讓老師增進對當代藝術的了解和興趣,進一步發掘結合藝術與教學的可能。是次活動爲本地及國際學校老師而設。歡迎視覺藝術、人文社會科學、知識理論(Theory of knowledge),以及其他學科的老師及職前老師參加。

活動費用全免。如欲參加,請按此登記。

 

教師預覽|廣東話

2022年10月8日(星期六)香港時間上午10時至下午1時
講者:關呂佩玲、郭筱怡、林謐、謝小華

關呂佩玲: 由情感帶動創作 
如何能令學生從興趣出發,順應情感帶動,找到靈感創作?關呂佩玲將探討學生怎樣利用文獻庫檔案尋找創作意念,通過藝術作品表達自己的思想和情感。 

郭筱怡:課室中的行為藝術
行為藝術可以在課堂中發生嗎?郭筱怡將拆解這種藝術表現形式的迷思和潛力。

林謐:從藝術家檔案尋找創作主題
林謐將以藝術家檔案作為出發點,啟發學生反思自我,繼而創作專屬自己的文獻檔案。她會分享學生如何從中探索個人身份及性格,為視覺藝術校本評核課業構思主題和創作。 

謝小華:從靜態檔案到多元藝術創作
謝小華將闡述她的教學方針, 並分享如何利用文獻庫資源進行創意探究。她亦會以檔案為出發點,展示學生如何與看似晦澀難懂的資料互動、產生共鳴和聯想,從而受啟發從多元角度創作。

 

教師預覽|英語

2022年10月15日(星期六)香港時間上午10時至中午12時
講者:戴媛婷、王雨然 

戴媛婷:初探文獻庫,由視覺聯想而生的研究
戴媛婷將討論在課堂上使用文獻庫資源的途徑。她會透過簡單的活動,讓參與者熟悉文獻庫,集思討論靈活運用文獻庫資源的方法。

王雨然:文獻庫作為創意平台,為教師提供課程設計靈感
王雨然分享如何從文獻庫藝術家工作坊中汲取靈感,將文獻資源融入教學。她將探索不同閱讀和瀏覽館藏的方法,並介紹文獻庫舉辦的活動和工作坊。她亦會帶領參與者進行有趣活動,與檔案建立個人連結。此活動適合國際文憑大學預科預備(Pre-IBDP)課程教師。

地點

亞洲藝術文獻庫圖書館(香港上環荷李活道233號荷李活商業中心11樓)

報名截止日期

教師預覽|廣東話:2022年10月5日(星期三)
教師預覽|英語:2022年10月12日(星期三)

是次活動為亞洲藝術文獻庫教師專業發展計劃的一部分。如有需要,我們將為參加者頒發證書,作為教師持續專業發展的證明。

 

關於講者

關呂佩玲現為鄧肇堅維多利亞官立中學視覺藝術科主任,曾獲2011-2012及2016-2017年度行政長官卓越教學獎(藝術教育學習領域)嘉許狀,並於2018年獲基礎教育國家及教學成果獎(香港特別行政區)優秀表現獎。她現任藝術教育學習領域統籌、香港考試及評核局科目委員會(視覺藝術科)主席,和課程發展議會—香港考試及評核局視覺藝術委員會主席。

郭筱怡現為聖公會林裘謀中學視覺藝術科主任。三十年的藝術教學經驗,令她相信藝術教育並非存在於象牙塔之中。她認為藝術潛移默化的特質能感染學生,滋潤和淨化心靈,讓他們能冷靜地應對未來的挑戰。

林謐現為民生書院視覺藝術科主任及學校出版委員會主席。她擁有17年視覺藝術教學經驗,深明藝術教育對學生個人成長及發展的重要性,希望透過藝術的思考及實踐協助學生探索自我,成就更多可能性。

謝小華現為賽馬會體藝中學教師專業發展委員會主席,並任香港學術及職業資歷評審局專家、香港中文大學師友計劃導師及亞洲藝術文獻庫夏碧泉檔案諮詢委員會成員。她曾獲2007年度行政長官卓越教學獎和2018年基礎教育國家級教學成果獎。她曾是首屆行政長官卓越教學獎卓師工作室組長,帶領教學研究。 

戴媛婷是混合媒體藝術家。她的創作形式多變,由靜謐的個人反思以至充滿玩味的社會參與不等。目前專注探索醫學、哀思、治療、教育和藝術之間的交叉點。她於賓夕法尼亞大學獲藝術學士學位,亦於馬里蘭藝術學院的Rinehart雕塑學院獲藝術碩士學位,以及香港中文大學教育學院深造文憑。戴氏目前在香港李寶春聯合世界書院任教,同時兼顧母職和個人藝術創作。 

王雨然是資深視覺藝術兼科學科教師,於香港和加拿大多間私立和國際學校任教逾十年。她的興趣包括跨學科教育、可持續性和藝術治療。她擁有加拿大皇后大學雙學位和多倫多大學安大略教育研究所教育碩士學位,主攻課程研究和發展。王氏目前任教於香港加拿大國際學校,亦在社區組織慈善藝術項目。

 

本活動為文獻庫「學習及參與計劃」的一部分,由何善衡慈善基金會有限公司慷慨贊助。

 

亞洲藝術文獻庫全新圖書館將由10月3日(星期一)起試營,屆時《群策群學》展覽亦會開放參觀,按此預約到訪。