AAA invites artists Frédéric Dialynas Sanchez, Verina Gfader, and Elaine W. Ho to lead workshops in conjunction with Form Colour Action: Sketchbooks and Notebooks of Lee Wen, currently on view at AAA Library. The workshops will engage with Lee’s interest in writing, his multidisciplinary practice, and his work as an archivist. 

Workshop with Frédéric Dialynas Sanchez
27 April 2019, 11am–1pm
Language: English

This workshop focuses on Call of the Red, a sketchbook by Lee Wen from 2013, in which the colour red is the subject of various abstract and figurative compositions. A continuation of his project RED (2014–ongoing), Frédéric Dialynas Sanchez invites participants for a writing session about the colour, in dialogue with Lee Wen’s writings and drawings. The result will transform the archived object into a zine, using a photocopy of the Singaporean artist’s sketchbook with which one can add references and thoughts.

There will be an exhibition walkthrough at 10:30am before the workshop. Please click here to register.  

Workshop with Verina Gfader
25 May 2019, 2–4pm 
Language: English

This two-part workshop explores Lee Wen’s deep engagement with paper, which served as the foundation and material support for his development as a performance artist. It celebrates the conceptual and practical possibilities of support structures as a foundation of one’s practice, time, material surface, and technology of display, and also explores alternative chronologies. The workshop concludes with a collective act of mourning in memory of Lee Wen.

There will be an exhibition walkthrough at 1:30pm before the workshop. Please click here to register. 

Workshop with Elaine W. Ho
29 June 2019, 11am–1pm 
Languages: Cantonese and English

This workshop looks at ideas of multiplicity in relation to the creation of meaning and form. Elaine W. Ho invites participants with sympathies for the obsessive and repetitive to share their collections and compulsions. In conversation with Lee Wen’s work, the workshop will explore the use of seriality as method by the collector, the artist, and the archivist, via the making of a publication and performative reading.

There will be an exhibition walkthrough at 10:30am before the workshop. Please click here to register.

Each workshop is limited to fifteen people on a first-come, first-served basis. Free and open to the public with registration.

Image: Lee Wen, <i>Call of the Red</i>, 2013, detail. Lee Wen Archive, Asia Art Archive Collection. Courtesy of the artist’s estate.
Image: Lee Wen, Call of the Red, 2013, detail. Lee Wen Archive, Asia Art Archive Collection. Courtesy of the artist’s estate.

Frédéric Dialynas Sanchez is an artist working between Saigon and Sète. His practice engages with curatorial forms and focus on abstraction, collective identities, craft, design, recyclage, and transformation. His project RED is a remake of Bob Nickas’ exhibition in the context of Asia and has taken place in Saigon, Shanghai, Fujiyoshida, and Tokyo. Since 2014, he has been working on a research-based art project about judo, and the connections among Japanese culture, monochrome painting, and minimalism.

Verina Gfader is as an artist and writer who orchestrates her practice as organised fields of research aided by drawing, models, text performance and fabulations, and fictional institutions. After obtaining a PhD in Fine Arts at Central Saint Martins, she undertook research on independent Japanese animation at Tokyo University of the Arts. She is co-director of the international animation network Animate Assembly, and Creative Director of EP, a book series across art, architecture, and design from Sternberg Press, Berlin. The artist book and edited volume Cloud Chamber (2017) is based on her performance project at the 11th Shanghai Biennale (2016–17). 

Elaine W. Ho works between the realms of time-based art, experimental publishing, and language. She is the founder of artist-run project space HomeShop in Beijing (2008–13) and continues to ask questions about the sociopolitics of syntax, more recently via ongoing collaborations with Display Distribute, • • PROPAGANDA DEPARTMENT, and Widow Radio Ching. Her work has been presented on a boat named Eleonore, docked along the Danube River (Linz, 2016), at Hamburger Bahnhof Museum für Gegenwart (2017), Seoul Mediacity Biennale (2017), the Power Station of Art (2016), Guangdong Times Museum (2015), Spring Workshop (2015), Tate Modern (2014), and on various street corners.

 

Sponsors:
Eunei & Ron Lee; Yvonne Wang & Alex Turnbull; and The St. Regis Hong Kong

Verina Gfader's workshop is generously supported by the Austrian Consulate General.

 

Relevant content

Lee Wen Archive
Lee Wen Archive
Collection

Lee Wen Archive

diaaalogue-pers-12-10-4
How To Change The World Without Really Trying: Reflections On Performance Art Today
Ideas | Essays

How To Change The World Without Really Trying: Reflections On Performance Art Today

Lee Wen considers whether performance art has lost its edge in resistance to mainstream culture

lwe-p31
Form Colour Action
Programmes

Form Colour Action

13 March–13 September 2019

文獻庫邀來Frédéric Dialynas Sanchez、Verina Gfader及何穎雅主持一系列工作坊,內容圍繞現正於文獻庫圖書館進行的「形.色.動」展覽。參加者將於工作坊上探討李文的寫作、跨領域創作,以及他在管理檔案方面的工作。

形.色.動 | 工作坊(Frédéric Dialynas Sanchez主持)
2019年4月27日,上午11時至下午1時
語言:英語

是次工作坊將以李文2013年的速寫本《紅色的呼喚》為題,審視當中各種以紅色為主題的抽象及人像草圖。作為計劃 《RED》(2014年至今)的延續,Frédéric Dialynas Sanchez將邀請參加者圍繞紅色寫作,以此跟李文的寫作及畫作展開對話。參加者將於速寫本的影印本上加上註釋及想法,將被存檔的物件轉化為小誌。

工作坊前於上午10時30分將設展覽導賞,請按登記。

形.色.動 | 工作坊(Verina Gfader主持)
2019年5月25日下午2至4時
語言:英語

是次工作坊分為兩部分,旨在探討紙張如何在李文的行為藝術發展中成為基礎及素材。此工作坊亦頌揚支撐結構在概念上及實際上作為創作基礎、時間、物料表面和展示科技的可能性,並探索另類時序。工作坊將以悼念李文的群體行為作結。 

工作坊前於下午1時30分將設展覽導賞,請按登記。

形.色.動 | 工作坊(何穎雅主持)
2019年6月29日上午11時至下午1時
語言:廣東話及英語

是次工作坊審視多樣性相關的概念,以及其與意義及形式的創造之關係,歡迎易於對各種事物著迷、喜好重複性事物的人士參加,並分享各自的收藏與強迫性行為。工作坊將探索序列性如何被收藏者、藝術家及檔案員運用於創造出版物及行為性閱讀上,以此與李文的作品展開對話。 

工作坊前於上午10時30分將設展覽導賞,請按登記。

每輪工作坊只限15人參加。名額有限,先到先得。

圖片:李文,《紅色的呼喚》,2013年。 李文檔案,亞洲藝術文獻庫館藏。由李文的遺產管理人提供。
圖片:李文,《紅色的呼喚》,2013年。 李文檔案,亞洲藝術文獻庫館藏。由李文的遺產管理人提供。

Frédéric Dialynas Sanchez為往返於賽尼翁及塞特港兩地之間的藝術家,其藝術實踐創作多牽涉策展形式,並聚焦抽象化、集體身分、工藝、設計、回收再用及轉化等議題。他透過計劃《RED》將Bob Nickas的展覽重置於亞洲的語境中;該計劃曾於賽尼翁、上海、富士吉田市及東京展出。現時,Sanchez正專注於一項於2014開展的藝術研究計劃,其內容圍繞柔道以及日本文化、單色畫作及簡約主義之間的連結。

Verina Gfader為藝術家兼作家,常結合繪畫、模板、文字演出及擬造(fabulation)以及虛構機構,將其藝術實踐策劃成有組織的研究範疇。Gfader於中央聖馬丁藝術與設計學院取得藝術博士學位,後於東京藝術大學研究獨立日本動畫。她是國際動畫聯網Animate Assembly的聯合總監,身兼橫跨藝術、建築和設計、由柏森Sternberg Press出版的書籍系列《EP》之創意總監。其藝術家書《Cloud Chamber》(2017)建基於她在第十一屆上海雙年展(2016–17)的行為藝術計劃。

何穎雅的創作橫跨時基藝術、實驗出版及語言。何於北京創辦了藝術家運營空間「家作坊」 (2008–13),近期透過與「展銷場」、「點點宣傳部」及「鄭氏廣播電台」合作,持續探討句法學中的社會政治學。她的作品曾在停泊多瑙河岸的船隻Eleonore號上展出(林茨,2016),其他展出場合則包括Hamburger Bahnhof Museum für Gegenwart(2017)、首爾媒體城市雙年展(2017)、上海當代藝術博物館(2016)、廣東時代藝術館(2015)、Spring Workshop(2015)、泰特現代藝術館(2014)以及街頭各處。

 

贊助: 
Eunei & Ron Lee; Yvonne Wang & Alex Turnbull; The St. Regis Hong Kong

Verina Gfader主持的「形.色.動」工作坊獲奧地利駐香港領事館慷慨贊助。

 

相關內容

Lee Wen Archive
李文檔案
館藏

李文檔案

lwe-p31
形.色.動
活動

形.色.動

2019年3月13日至6月29日