Video (59min)

Keepers of the Waters was a community-based water activism initiative founded in 1991 and directed by the artist and environmental activist Betsy Damon. This talk brings artists Dai Guangyu and Zhang Xin—who were participants of the initiative—in discussion with art historian Jane DeBevoise and researcher Cici Wu.

Damon initiated two instances of Keepers of the Waters: one in Chengdu, Sichuan Province (1995), and the other in Lhasa, Tibet Autonomous Region (1996). She invited local and international artists—including Song Dong, Yin Xiuzhen, and Zhang Shengquan (Datong Dazhang)—to create performance art and installations to raise awareness about water protection.

For the Chengdu edition, Dai Guangyu—who also acted as a co-organiser of the project—created Long-abandoned Water Standards (1995), a durational piece where he placed portraits of participating artists in metal trays filled with polluted water, causing the prints to decay over time. For the Lhasa edition, he developed a performance entitled Listening (1996), inviting the public to write on a white cloth that created a path to the Lhasa River, and later lay prostrate with his body immersed in water, as a traditional Tibetan gesture of reverence. Also at Lhasa, Zhang Xin performed Sowing (1996), during which she threw dirt and planted seeds on the road outside an army base.

This talk draws on the Betsy Damon Archive to discuss the context in which these performances were created, and how Keepers of the Waters, as a series of collaborative, participatory, and community-driven performances, enriches the art historical canon about performance art in China.

This talk also builds on the public programme organised by Asia Art Archive in America with Betsy Damon in March 2018, and on Asia Art Archive’s research initiatives on performance art, women in art history, exhibition histories, and the development of regional contemporary art in China.

Free and open to the public with registration.

Dai Guangyu is an artist based in Beijing. A leader of the ’85 New Wave movement, Dai was one of the initiators and organisers of avant-garde art in southwest China. He has participated in exhibitions including China/Avant-Garde Exhibition (1989) organised by the National Art Museum of China, as well as the China! (1996) exhibition held by the Museum of Modern Art in Bonn, Germany. Since Keepers of the Waters (1995–96), Dai has organised dozens of contemporary art events in Chengdu, transforming the city into a centre of Chinese contemporary art in the mid–1990s.

Zhang Xin is an artist based in Shanghai. She graduated from the Shanghai University Fine Arts College in 1990, and later joined the Shanghai Oil Painting and Sculpture Institute. Group exhibitions include Portrait of the Times: 30 Years of Chinese Contemporary Art (2013), Shanghai Contemporary Art Museum; Hot Pot: Chinese Contemporary Art (2001), Kunstnernes Hus; Text & Subtext: International Contemporary Asian Women Artists Exhibition (2000), Earl Lu Gallery; Half of the Sky: Contemporary Chinese Women Artists (1998), Bonn Women’s Museum; and Keepers of the Waters (1996), Lhasa.

Jane DeBevoise is the Chair of the Board of Directors of Asia Art Archive.

Cici Wu is a researcher with Asia Art Archive in America.

 

 

Relevant content

BetsyDamon_cover
Betsy Damon Archive: Keepers of the Waters (Chengdu and Lhasa) 貝特西達蒙檔案:水的保衛者(成都與拉薩)
Collection

Betsy Damon Archive: Keepers of the Waters (Chengdu and Lhasa) 貝特西達蒙檔案:水的保衛者(成都與拉薩)

PetraPolzl_Talk_List
Petra Poelzl | The Heaven is High and the Emperor is Far Away
Programmes

Petra Poelzl | The Heaven is High and the Emperor is Far Away

Tue, 21 Nov 2017

Action in China: Performance Art from 1980s to 1990s
Action in China: Performance Art from 1980s to 1990s
Reference

Action in China: Performance Art from 1980s to 1990s

中國行動: 八十年代到九十年代的行為藝術

Transience: Chinese Experimental Art at the End of the Twentieth Century
Transience: Chinese Experimental Art at the End of the Twentieth Century (Revised Edition)
Exhibition Catalogue

Transience: Chinese Experimental Art at the End of the Twentieth Century (Revised Edition)

WU Hung, 巫鴻
2005

水的保衛者

「水的保衛者」為水資源保育運動,由藝術家兼環境保護主義者貝特西達蒙於1991年發起及指導。是次講座主講者包括曾參與「水的保衛者」的藝術家戴光郁和張新、藝術史家杜柏貞及研究員武雨濛。

達蒙分別在成都(1995)和西藏自治區拉薩(1996)兩地發起活動,邀來戴光郁、宋冬、尹秀珍、張盛泉(大同大張)和張新等中國本地及國際藝術家,共同進行行為藝術及裝置藝術創作,以提高大眾對水資源保育的意識。

於「水的保衛者」(成都)中,身兼計劃協辦者的戴光郁創作了延時作品《擱置已久的水指標》(1995)。戴把參展藝術家的肖像放在盛滿污水的金屬盆內,由得肖像隨時間腐爛。在拉薩的活動中,戴構思出題為《傾聽》(1996)的行為藝術表演,鋪好延至拉薩河的道路般的長白布,邀請公眾在布上書寫,然後做出在西藏傳統中表示崇敬的姿勢,俯伏在地上,身體浸於水中。張新亦在拉薩表演了《播種》(1996),在一個軍事基地旁的道路上撒塵播種。

是次講座中,講者將依據貝特西達蒙檔案的資料討論以上行為藝術表演的創作背景,並探討「水的保衛者」作為一系列由社區推動的協作式、參與式的表演,如何豐富了中國行為藝術的藝術史觀念。

是次講座建基於數項亞洲藝術文獻庫的往日工作,當中包括文獻庫(美國)在2018年3月與貝特西達蒙合辦的公共項目,以及文獻庫有關行為藝術、女性藝術家、展覽歷史及中國地區性當代藝術發展的多個研究計劃。

活動費用全免,歡迎公眾報名參加。

戴光郁 為駐北京藝術家。戴為85美術新潮時期的先驅,被公認為四川先鋒藝術的主要推手之一。戴分別參加了1989年由中國美術館舉辦的《中國現代藝術展》以及1996年由德國波恩現代藝術美術館舉辦的《China!》藝術展。從「水的保衛者」(1995–96)開始,戴在成都舉辦了數十次當代藝術活動,令成都成為1990年代中期的中國當代藝術重鎮。

張新 為駐上海藝術家。張曾就讀於上海大學美術學院雕塑系,在1990年畢業後加入上海油畫雕塑院。張曾參與的聯展包括《時代肖像︰當代藝術三十年》回顧展(上海當代藝術館,2013)、《煲︰中國現代藝術大展》(Kunstnernes Hus,2001)、《文本與次文本:當代亞洲女性藝術家》群展(Earl Lu Gallery,2000)、《瑪雅國際藝術雙年展》(1999)、《半邊天》中國當代女藝術家聯展(波恩女性博物館,1998)及《水的保衛者》(拉薩,1996)。

杜柏貞是亞洲藝術文獻庫董事會主席。

武雨濛是亞洲藝術文獻庫(美國)的研究員。

 

 

 

相關內容

BetsyDamon_cover
Betsy Damon Archive: Keepers of the Waters (Chengdu and Lhasa) 貝特西達蒙檔案:水的保衛者(成都與拉薩)
館藏

Betsy Damon Archive: Keepers of the Waters (Chengdu and Lhasa) 貝特西達蒙檔案:水的保衛者(成都與拉薩)

PetraPolzl_Talk_List
Petra Poelzl | 天高皇帝遠
活動

Petra Poelzl | 天高皇帝遠

2017年11月21日 (星期二)
下午7時至8時

Action in China: Performance Art from 1980s to 1990s
Action in China: Performance Art from 1980s to 1990s
參考書

Action in China: Performance Art from 1980s to 1990s

中國行動: 八十年代到九十年代的行為藝術

Transience: Chinese Experimental Art at the End of the Twentieth Century
Transience: Chinese Experimental Art at the End of the Twentieth Century (Revised Edition)
展覽圖錄

Transience: Chinese Experimental Art at the End of the Twentieth Century (Revised Edition)

WU Hung, 巫鴻
2005