Part I: Screening of excerpt from Many Undulating Things (dir. Bo Wang and Pan Lu, 2019), followed by a conversation with Bo Wang, Pan Lu, and Simon Soon
Date: 17 Aug 2019
Time: 11am–12:15pm
Venue: JC Cube, Tai Kwun

Chungking Global pt I
Asia Art Archive

Part II: Panel with Roberto Castillo, Innocent Mutanga, Eunice Seng, and Ming Tiampo. Moderated by Alice Jim.
Date: 17 Aug 2019
Time: 12:30–1:30pm
Venue: Tai Kwun Contemporary's Artists’ Book Library⁠—Room 03-206, Barrack Block

Chungking Global pt II
Asia Art Archive

This two-part programme takes as its hinge Chungking Mansions, a building in Tsim Sha Tsui, Hong Kong, made famous by Wong Kar Wai’s Chungking Express (1994). Chungking Mansions’ remarkably diverse population and status as a key business hub between Asia and Africa has led anthropologist Gordon Mathews to posit it as an alternate paradigm for the study of globalisation.

The first section features a screening of an excerpt from Bo Wang and Pan Lu’s collaboration Many Undulating Things (2019). The film’s third chapter, “Ferro Vitreous,” presents the contemporary state of Chungking Mansions in all its social and architectural complexities. Described as a political poem, the film concentrates on the circulatory system of Hong Kong, ultimately taking it as an archetype for other cities of globalised capitalism.

In the second part, panel speakers from the fields of art and architectural history, anthropology, and cultural studies discuss Chungking Mansions—from its beginnings in 1961 as a luxury residential development in Tsim Sha Tsui, to its current status as a centre of “low-end globalisation.” 

Free and open to the public with registration.

Image: Bo Wang and Pan Lu, <i>Many Undulating Things</i>, 2019, still image. Courtesy of Bo Wang and Pan Lu.
Image: Bo Wang and Pan Lu, Many Undulating Things, 2019, still image. Courtesy of Bo Wang and Pan Lu.

Part I 

Bo Wang is an artist and filmmaker based in Brooklyn, New York. Wang studied physics and mathematics as an undergraduate and cosmology for his Master’s, both at the Tsinghua University, Beijing. He later received his MFA in photography, video, and related media from the School of Visual Arts in New York. As an artist, his works have been exhibited internationally at venues including the Guggenheim Museum and Museum of Modern Art in New York, Garage Museum of Contemporary Art in Moscow, Visions du Réel in Switzerland, Image Forum Festival in Tokyo, Essay Film Festival at ICA in London, DMZ Docs in South Korea, CPH:DOX in Copenhagen, Times Museum in Guangzhou, BOZAR in Brussels, and others. A recipient of a fellowship from the Robert Flaherty Film Seminar in 2013, he was also artist-in-residence at ACC-Rijksakademie 2017–18 and NTU CCA in 2016. He teaches in the departments of Visual and Critical Studies and Art History at the School of Visual Arts, New York.

Pan Lu is a filmmaker and scholar based in Hong Kong. Pan received her PhD in Comparative Literature from the University of Hong Kong. Previously, she studied literature and cultural studies in Shanghai and Bayreuth. Her current research interests include visual culture, urban space, war memory, and theories of aesthetics. Pan was visiting fellow at the Technical University of Berlin, Harvard-Yenching Institute, Fukuoka Asian Art Museum, and Taipei National University of the Arts. She teaches Chinese-language cinema, literature, and cultural history as an assistant professor at the Hong Kong Polytechnic University. As Bo Wang’s creative collaborator, she received an Award for Excellence from the Image Forum Festival in Japan, an Honorable Mention by UCF/IAMCR Urban Communication Research Grant, and was granted the DMZ Documentary Fund from DMZ Docs in South Korea.

Simon Soon is a senior lecturer at the University of Malaya in Kuala Lumpur. His research focus includes nineteenth- and twentieth-century art and visual culture in Southeast Asia. Other research interests include global flows in art, architecture, and visual cultures of Asia (early modern, colonial, modern/contemporary), Latin American and Southeast Asian cultural networks and comparative frameworks, and abstraction and modernism in Asia and Africa. His doctoral dissertation investigated the spatio-visual practices of postwar left-leaning art movements in Singapore/Malaya, Indonesia, Thailand, and the Philippines from the 1950s to 1970s. Prior to undertaking academic research, he worked as a curator in the field of Southeast Asian modern and contemporary art. Soon is co-founder and a member of the editorial collective of SOUTHEAST OF NOW: Directions in Contemporary and Modern Art in Asia, a new peer-review journal published by NUS Press. He is also a team member of Malaysia Design Archive, an archival, research, and education platform on visual cultures of the twentieth century. 

Part II 

Roberto Castillo is Assistant Professor in Cultural Studies at Lingnan University in Hong Kong. He has been living, working, and researching in the Asian region since 2006. He is also trained in journalism, international relations, political science, and history. In 2009, when he was working as an editor for a branch of Xinhua News Agency in Beijing, he became interested in the increasing presence of foreigners in China and their transnational connections. Since 2010, he has been carrying out cultural research on Africans in Guangzhou. He also administers the website Africans in China. 

Innocent Mutanga is a Hong Kong-based Zimbabwean entrepreneur who champions social justice through raising awareness of the needs and conditions of the marginalised and the vulnerable in society. An anthropologist in the making, he has travelled to various developing countries, and in Hong Kong he is the co-founder of three social enterprises: The Wandering Voice, Africa Center Hong Kong, and Harmony HK. Through these efforts, he addresses issues faced by people of multiple disadvantaged identities such as refugees, female migrant domestic workers, non-Chinese sex workers, and LGBTQ ethnic minorities. 

Eunice Seng is Associate Professor and Chair of the Departmental Research Postgraduate Committee in Architecture at the University of Hong Kong; and Principal of SKEW Collaborative Shanghai-Hong Kong. She is a founding member of Docomomo Hong Kong and co-director of the Singapore Institute of Architects Archifest 2017. An architect and architectural historian, her work explores interdisciplinary intersections and questions of agency in architecture. A forthcoming book, Resistant City: Histories, Maps and the Architecture of Development (2020) explores urban resilience and architecture’s complicit role in Hong Kong.  

Ming Tiampo is Professor of Art History and Director of the Institute for Comparative Studies in Literature Art and Culture at Carleton University in Ottawa, Canada. She is a scholar of transnational vanguardism. She is author of Gutai: Decentering Modernism (2011) and co-curated the AICA award-winning Gutai: Splendid Playground (2013) at the Guggenheim Museum in New York. In addition, Tiampo has published on globalisation and art, multiculturalism in Canada, and the connections between Inuit and Japanese prints. She is currently working on two books: Decentering Globalism is an interdisciplinary and methodological analysis of World Art Studies, while Paris from the Outside In: Art and Decolonization considers Paris as a site of intersection to investigate the historical conditions of global modernism. Her interests and expertise in global modernism and decolonisation are deeply relevant to this project.

Alice Ming Wai Jim is Professor of Contemporary Art and University Research Chair in Ethnocultural Art Histories at Concordia University, Montreal in Quebec, Canada. As an art historian, curator and cultural organiser, her research interests include contemporary ethnocultural and global art histories, media arts, international art exhibitions, and critical curatorial studies. In 2018, she co-edited the fall special issue of RACAR, “What is Critical Curating?” A recipient of the 2015 Centre de documentation d'Artexte Award for Research in Contemporary Art, Jim co-convened the 2019 Global Asia/Pacific Art Exchange (GAX), Asian Indigenous Relationalities conference in Contemporary Art, in Montreal. 

 

Programme Partners:

Sponsor:

This event is part of an ongoing collaboration between Asia Art Archive and the Department of Cultural Studies at Lingnan University.

Co-presented by Asia Art Archive and Tai Kwun Contemporary.

 

Relevant content

CuratingPlaceHomelist
Curating Place: A Conversation across Complex Geographies
Programmes

Curating Place: A Conversation across Complex Geographies

Mon, 19 Aug 2019, 7 – 9 PM

 
Modern Art Histories in and across Africa, South and Southeast Asia
Programmes

Modern Art Histories in and across Africa, South and Southeast Asia

12–21 August 2019

DAS2019_650x500_Webpage
Open Call | Modern Art Histories in and across Africa, South and Southeast Asia
Programmes

Open Call | Modern Art Histories in and across Africa, South and Southeast Asia

Application deadline:
Thu, 28 Feb 2019

第一部分:電影《湧浪之間》(2019)選段放映,隨後兩位導演(王博、潘律)將與藝術史學者孫先勇對談。
時間:早上11時至下午12時15分
地點:大館賽馬會立方

第二部分:Roberto Castillo、Innocent Mutanga、成美芬及蔡宇鳴對談,由詹明慧主持。
時間:下午12時30分至1時30分
地點:大館當代美術館 藝術家書籍圖書館—營房大樓03-206室

節目分兩部分,內容圍繞因王家衛作品《重慶森林》(1994)而聞名於世的尖沙咀重慶大廈。重慶大廈是亞洲與非洲各國商人的匯聚處,住客國籍多元,被人類學家Gordon Mathews定位為全球化研究的另類範式。

節目第一部分為王博和潘律合導的《湧浪之間》(2019年)之選段放映。電影第三章「鋼鐵玻璃建築」介紹了現時重慶大廈錯綜複雜的社會意義及建築特色。該片被形容為一首政治詩,以全球化資本主義下的典型城市作框架,主力探討香港流通系統。

來自藝術及建築史、人類學和文化研究等領域的專家將出席第二部分的座談會,審視重慶大廈自1961落成至今、從原本的豪華住宅轉化為「低端全球化」中心的發展。

活動費用全免,歡迎公眾參與。

圖片:王博和潘律,《湧浪之間》劇照,2019年。由王博和潘律提供。
圖片:王博和潘律,《湧浪之間》劇照,2019年。由王博和潘律提供。

第一部分

王博為駐紐約布魯克林藝術家及電影製作人。王於清華大學取得物理數學學士及宇宙學碩士學位,後於紐約視覺藝術學院修讀攝影、錄像及相關媒體專業,取得藝術創作碩士學位。王以藝術家身分創作的作品曾於古根漢美術館、紐約現代藝術博物館、莫斯科車庫當代藝術博物館、瑞士真實影展、東京影像論壇電影節、倫敦當代藝術中心論文電影節、韓國非軍事區紀錄片電影節、哥本哈根國際紀錄片電影節、廣州時代美術館、布魯塞爾BOZAR當代藝術中心等一系列機構及盛事中展出。王是2013年Robert Flaherty Film Seminar(羅伯特弗拉哈迪電影研討會)的研究員,亦是2017–18年度ACC-Rijksakademie(光州亞洲藝術中心-荷蘭皇家藝術學院)聯合駐留項目、2016年南洋理工大學新加坡當代藝術中心的駐場藝術家。王目前任教於紐約視覺藝術學院視覺與批判研究系和藝術史系。

潘律博士是駐港電影製作人及學者。潘在香港大學取得比較文學博士學位,先前曾於上海和拜羅伊特修讀文學及文化研究。潘博士的主要研究方向包括視覺文化、城市空間、戰爭回憶和美學理論。潘是柏林技術大學、哈佛燕京研究所、福岡亞洲藝術博物館和台北國立藝術大學的研究員。潘現於香港理工大學擔任助理教授,任教華語電影、文學和文化史。作為王博的創意合作夥伴,潘曾獲日本影像論壇電影節卓越獎、UCF/IAMCR城市傳播研究榮譽提名,以及DMZ韓國國際紀錄片電影節「DMZ紀錄片基金」贊助。

孫先勇是吉隆坡馬來亞大學的高級講師,集中研究十九世紀和二十世紀東南亞的藝術和視覺文化,其他研究興趣包括早期現代、殖民及現當代時期亞洲的全球藝術流動、建築和視覺文化、拉丁美洲和東南亞的文化網絡和比較架構,以及亞、非洲的抽象及現代主義。孫的博士論文探討了1950至1970年代在新加坡/馬來亞、印尼、泰國及菲律賓的戰後左傾藝術運動之空間視覺實踐。投身學術研究前,孫曾在東南亞現當代藝術領域擔任策展人,亦是新加坡國立大學出版社出版、採用同行評審制的新期刊《SOUTHEAST OF NOW: Directions in Contemporary and Modern Art in Asia》的聯合創刊人兼編輯之一。孫是馬來西亞設計檔案館的團隊成員;該資料庫專門整理二十世紀視覺文化的檔案,並進行相關研究和教育工作。

第二部分

Roberto Castillo(陳古城)是香港嶺南大學文化研究系助理教授,自2006年起一直在亞洲生活、工作並進行研究。除文化研究外,陳亦涉足新聞學、國際關係、政治科學和歷史等學術範疇。2009年,陳在北京擔任新華社分社編輯,對日漸增多的居中外籍人士及其跨國聯繫產生興趣。自2010年以來,陳一直對活躍於廣州的非洲人進行文化研究,並營運「非洲人在中國」(Africans in China)網站。

Innocent Mutanga是駐香港的津巴布韋企業家,積極提倡社會正義,致力鼓勵公眾關注弱勢社群需求,了解其生活環境。Mutanga為新晉人類學家,曾到多個發展中國家遊歷,後來在香港合辦「流浪之聲」、「香港非洲中心」及「和諧香港」三個社會企業,謀求解決不同弱勢群體所面臨的問題,對象包括難民、女性外籍家庭傭工、非華裔性工作者和LGBTQ族群的少數族裔人士。

成美芬是香港大學建築系副教授暨研究生管理委員會主席,同時也是上海及香港偏建建築設計事務所(SKEW Collaborative)的創辦人之一。成亦是Docomomo HK(「記錄與保護現代建築運動」香港分會)的創始成員,並在2017年新加坡建築師學會的新加坡建築節中擔任聯合總監。成身為建築師和建築歷史學家,著作探索各種學科間的交匯和建築學中的代理問題。其最新著作《頑強之城:發展的歷史、地圖及建築》(暫譯)將於2020年出版,內容探討香港的城市韌性及建築在其中所扮演的角色。

蔡宇鳴是加拿大渥太華卡爾頓大學藝術史系教授暨文學藝術與文化比較研究所所長,專研究跨國先鋒派藝術,曾撰〈日本具體派:將現代主義去中心化〉(2011)一文,並於2013年在紐約古根漢美術館聯合策劃了「具體派:燦爛的遊樂園」展覽,並以此獲得國際藝術評論協會(AICA)獎。蔡過去的出版著作探討了全球化與藝術、加拿大的多元文化主義,以及因紐特人和日本版畫的關係,目前正撰寫《Decentering Modernism》和《Paris from the Outside In: Art and Decolonization》兩本書,前者以跨學科和方法論的方式分析世界藝術研究,後者則以巴黎為交匯點,研究全球現代主義的歷史條件。蔡在全球現代主義和非殖民化方面的興趣和專長皆與此研究項目密切相關。 

詹明慧是加拿大魁北克省滿地可協和大學當代藝術教授和民族文化藝術史大學研究講座教授。詹是藝術史學家、策展人及文化活動組織者,其研究方向包括當代民族文化和全球藝術史、媒體藝術、國際藝術展覽和批判策展研究。2018年,她協同編輯了RACAR秋季特刊《甚麼是批判策展研究?》(What is Critical Curating?)。作爲Artexte文獻中心當代藝術研究獎得主,詹在滿地可召開了2019年全球亞太藝術交流研討會(GAX),題為「當代藝術中的亞裔原住民關係性」。詹現時的研究計劃包括亞裔加拿大藝術史和亞非原住民未來主義美學。

 

計劃伙伴:

贊助:

是次活動由亞洲藝術文獻庫及嶺南大學文化研究系合辦。

是次活動由亞洲藝術文獻庫和大館當代美術館合辦。

 

相關內容

 
區域及跨區域現代藝術史︰非洲、南亞及東南亞
活動

區域及跨區域現代藝術史︰非洲、南亞及東南亞

2019年8月12至21日

CuratingPlaceHomelist
講座 | 策展場域:一場跨地緣對話
活動

講座 | 策展場域:一場跨地緣對話

2019年8月19日 (星期一)
下午7時至9時

DAS2019_650x500_Webpage
招募參加者 | 現代藝術史在與跨越非洲、南亞及東南亞
活動

招募參加者 | 現代藝術史在與跨越非洲、南亞及東南亞

截止申請日期:
2019年2月28日 (星期四)