Revolving around “response,” this talk introduces the independent art space research project by Asia Art Archive (AAA) in Taiwan, and invites four speakers—John Tain, Wu Ma-li, Cheng Mei-ya, and Amy Cheng—to discuss several key phenomena relating to independent art spaces in Taiwan, and how they’ve responded to the evolution of cultural policies, technology, and the curatorial ecology since the 1980s. 

John Tain will contextualise the “Independent Art Spaces of Taiwan” project by sketching out some elements in the development of independent spaces across different parts of Asia. Wu Ma-li will talk about the historical context of the late 1980s, describing how Taiwanese artists organised themselves, and how their self-organisation was linked up with physical art spaces via cultural subsidy schemes in the 1990s. Cheng Mei-ya will discuss how artists’ assemblages and artistic explorations extended from physical to digital spaces as internet culture emerged in the 1990s. Amy Cheng will unravel the context within which independent art spaces, such as TheCube Project Space established in 2010, gradually become sites for praxes of curating, creative experimentation, and knowledge production. 

The first public event of the “Independent Art Spaces of Taiwan” series, this talk is collaboratively held by C-LAB and AAA. In addition to promoting art archive research, the series highlights the latent publicness in the research process, stimulates discussions on the history of art spaces, and strengthens connections between artistic communities in Taiwan and Hong Kong.

Image: <i>Space as Response: Taiwan Perspectives after the 1980s</i>, 2022. Courtesy of C-LAB.
Image: Space as Response: Taiwan Perspectives after the 1980s, 2022. Courtesy of C-LAB.

 

John Tain is Head of Research at Asia Art Archive. His recent projects include Translations, Expansions at documenta fifteen (2022); Art Schools of Asia (2021–22); the exhibition Crafting Communities (2020); and MAHASSA (Modern Art Histories in and across Africa, and South and Southeast Asia, 2019–20), a collaboration with the Dhaka Art Summit and the Institute for Comparative Modernities at Cornell University. He is an editor for the Exhibition Histories series with Afterall and others. He also serves as an advisor for Asia Forum, an ongoing discursive programme. He was previously a curator for modern and contemporary collections at the Getty Research Institute in Los Angeles. 

Wu Ma-li graduated from Kunstakademie Düsseldorf in Germany. She currently teaches in the Graduate Institute of Interdisciplinary Art at the National Kaohsiung Normal University. Wu’s avant-garde artistic practice and research focus on the interventions of art in the public sphere. She has engaged in social and political critique from a feminist perspective through her works since the 1990s. She has also run a series of community-based projects on new public art since 2000. She won the National Award for Arts, Taiwan, in 2016. In recent years, Wu has been working with ecological issues, bridging culture and nature through art. 

Cheng Mei-ya is a freelance curator interested in looking at power structures and systems behind artistic institutions. She was involved in the first internet media experiment of art in Taiwan: the ET@T Web TV Site (1999), as well as in the initiation, establishment, and operation of the Taipei Contemporary Art Center (TCAC) (2009–22). She also organised Curating Now and the Institutions (TCAC, 2013) and Going Public–Common Tasks (Museum of National Taipei University of Education, 2016). Her curatorial works include The 6th Queens International (in collaboration with Hitomi Iwasaki, Queens Museum, New York City, 2013) and Public Spirits (Centre for Contemporary Art Ujazdów Castle, Warsaw, 2016). 

Amy Cheng is co-founder of TheCube Project Space. Working within the praxis of “outreach curating,” Cheng has devoted herself to cooperation with artists, cultural activists, and researchers, and developed long-term research and curatorial plans. Her curatorial work primarily focuses on Asia’s history and geopolitics as well as its relation to the world. Since 2010, she has promoted research on modern sound culture in Taiwan, and expanded TheCube Project Space into a platform of exhibition, publishing, online database, and internet radio. 

Moderator: Nicole Wang, Researcher, Asia Art Archive


Organiser
 

Taiwan Contemporary Culture Lab

Joint Organiser 
Asia Art Archive 

Sponsor 
Kwang Hwa Information and Culture Center 

Relevant content

home_diaaalogue_int_11_10
Interview with Wu Mali
Ideas Journal | Conversations

Interview with Wu Mali

Wu Mali talks about her work, her collaborations with communities, and the art scene in Taiwan  

Shortlist | Taiwan
Shortlist | Taiwan
Ideas Journal | Collection Spotlight

Shortlist | Taiwan

Recommended readings on Taiwan contemporary art

list_ArtandCorporatesInitiatives
Lai Hsiangling | The Merging of Art and Corporate Initiatives: The Visual Art Field in Taiwan as a Case Study
Programmes

Lai Hsiangling | The Merging of Art and Corporate Initiatives: The Visual Art Field in Taiwan as a Case Study

Thu, 7 Mar 2013, 6:30 – 8 PM

Independent Initiative File (Taiwan): TheCube Project Space
File

Independent Initiative File (Taiwan): TheCube Project Space

自主藝術團體/計劃檔案 (台灣): 立方計劃空間

AAA Library is currently closed for renovation. Please stay tuned on our social media for the opening date. We look forward to welcoming you back.

本講座將介紹亞洲藝術文獻庫在臺灣的獨立藝術空間研究;同時以「回應」為主題 ,邀請譚鴻鈞、吳瑪悧、鄭美雅與鄭慧華等四位藝術工作者以自身經驗剖析臺灣的獨立藝術空間自1980年代至今的關鍵現象。講座將討論這些空間如何回應藝文政策、科技發展,以及策展生態。 
 
譚鴻鈞將勾勒出有利亞洲區獨立空間發展的要素,並以此解讀「臺灣獨立藝術空間檔案計劃」的背景及源起。吳瑪悧將從1980年代末談起,描繪臺灣當時的藝術家的自我組織,以及它們如何隨著1990年代的藝文補助機制與實體空間掛鉤。鄭美雅則會談論1990年代興起的網路文化浪潮,如何令藝術家的集結與藝術探索從實體空間延伸至數位空間。鄭慧華將以2010年成立的「立方計劃空間」為例,探討此類獨立藝術空間怎樣逐步成為大型機構之外的策展、實驗創作與知識生產的場域。 

本場講座是「臺灣獨立藝術空間檔案計劃」的首場公共活動,由臺灣當代文化實驗場與亞洲藝術文獻庫共同舉辦,期望推動藝術檔案研究,彰顯研究過程的公共性,促進藝術空間歷史的討論,並強化港臺藝術社群的連結。 

活動將於台灣舉辦,有關視頻將於活動結束後上載到本網頁。

圖片:空間作為一種回應:1980後的臺灣經驗,2022年。由C-LAB提供。
圖片:空間作為一種回應:1980後的臺灣經驗,2022年。由C-LAB提供。


譚鴻鈞 

譚鴻鈞為亞洲藝術文獻庫研究總監。他近期參與之活動包括第十五屆卡塞爾文件展的展覽《翻越》(2022年)、亞洲藝術學院(202122年)、《社群築織》展覽(2020年),以及與達卡藝術高峰會及康乃爾大學比較現代性研究所合作的「區域及跨區域現代藝術史︰非洲、南亞及東南亞」(201920年)計劃。譚鴻鈞也是AfterallExhibition Histories》系列的編輯與「亞洲論壇」顧問,並曾任蓋蒂研究所現代和當代館藏的策展人。 

吳瑪悧 

畢業於德國杜塞道夫藝術學院,目前任教於國立高雄師範大學跨領域藝術研究所。吳瑪悧的研究及創作延續前衛傳統,關注藝術在公領域中的積極介入。其作品自1990年代起從女性主義角度進行政治社會批判,並於2000年展開以社群為本的新形態公共藝術策劃。吳瑪悧於2016年獲得國家文藝獎,近年持續關注生態環境議題,並以藝術作為人文與自然的中介,展現藝術型態的多樣可能與藝術家的豐沛能量。  

鄭美雅 

獨立策展人,關注藝術機構的系統與權力結構。鄭曾參與臺灣第一個藝術網路媒體實驗「在地實驗網路電視台」(1999年),以及台北當代藝術中心的成立及運作(200922年),並在該中心策辦「策展與機構論壇」(2013年)。此外亦參與國立臺北教育大學的平台交流計畫「走向公眾──共同課題」(2016年)。策展經歷包括「第六屆皇后雙年展」(與岩崎仁美共同策展,紐約皇后美術館,2013年)及《公共精神》(Ujazdów Castle當代藝術中心,華沙,2016年)。 

鄭慧華 

鄭慧華是立方計劃空間的共同創辦人,以「拓展策展」為實踐,致力與藝術家、文化行動者及研究者深度合作,並發展長期的研究及策展計劃。鄭慧華的策展關注亞洲與世界的關係、歷史及地緣政治。自2010年起,她共同推動臺灣現代聲響文化的研究,並以立方計劃空間為平台,將研究延伸至展覽、出版、線上資料庫及網上廣播電台等文化形式。 
 
主持: 汪怡君,亞洲藝術文獻庫研究員

主辦單位 / 
臺灣當代文化實驗場

合辦單位 / 
亞洲藝術文獻庫 

活動贊助 / 
光華新聞文化中心 



相關內容

Shortlist | Taiwan
推介館藏 | 台灣
藝文 | 館藏推介

推介館藏 | 台灣

有關台灣當代藝術的各個面向

list_ArtandCorporatesInitiatives
賴香伶 | 藝術與企業的遇合:以台灣視覺藝術的發展為例
活動

賴香伶 | 藝術與企業的遇合:以台灣視覺藝術的發展為例

2013年3月7日 (星期四)
下午6時30分至8時

Independent Initiative File (Taiwan): TheCube Project Space
資料夾

Independent Initiative File (Taiwan): TheCube Project Space

自主藝術團體/計劃檔案 (台灣): 立方計劃空間

文獻庫圖書館現正進行裝修工程,暫停開放。我們將會在社交媒體公布再度開放日期,請密切留意。我們期待以新面貌與閣下見面。