Asia Art Archive hosts presentations by Martina Köppel-Yang, Zhao Chuan, and Chiang Poshin—the second AAA Researchers-in-Residence for The Robert H. N. Ho Family Foundation Greater China Research Programme.

Martina Köppel-Yang | ”Performing Identity, Cultural Policy, and Artistic Strategies in China, 1978 to Today”
(In residence 16 to 23 June 2018)

The Paris-based scholar and curator’s research focuses on the relation between politics and cultural and artistic strategies. Köppel-Yang’s time at AAA will be used to research the Zheng Shengtian Archive. Her new research project traces the development of different artistic strategies in response to changes in Chinese cultural policy during the last four decades. Assuming that change starts from every individual, Köppel-Yang’s research focuses on significant personalities of the Chinese art world, including artists, curators, and figures in the institutional system.

Martina Köppel-Yang is a member of the editorial board of Yishu: Journal of Contemporary Chinese Art, a member of the advisory board of randian, and an academic advisor for Asia Art Archive. Köppel-Yang has published extensively on the subject of contemporary Chinese art, including Semiotic Warfare: The Chinese Avant-Garde, 1979–1989 (2003); Becoming Intense, Becoming Animal, Becoming … (2009); and I Often Do Bad Things: Yang Jiechang, Texts and Works, 1982–2016 (2017). She has curated and co-curated numerous exhibitions, including The 5th International Ink Painting Biennial of Shenzhen (2006), "Onda Anomala," Rahmenprogramm Manifesta 7 (Trento, 2008), and The Writings of Today are a Promise for Tomorrow (Venice, 2015).

 

Zhao Chuan | “Chinese Performance Artists in Asia”
(In residence 7 to 16 June 2018)

The Shanghai-based independent writer and advocate of experimental theatre will use materials in AAA’s Collection to investigate the practice of Asian performance artists of Chinese descent; performance art as a marginal activity that blurs the boundaries between art and society; and the recent revival of performance art, the expanded theatre, and the complex relationship between performative works and museums.

Zhao Chuan is a theatre maker, writer, art critic, and curator based in Shanghai. He is the founding member of the self-organised theatre collective Grass Stage. His major theatrical works include Unsettling Stones (playwright and director, 2012–13); World Factory (playwright and director, 2014–17); and Wild Seed (director and performer, 2018). His writings on contemporary Chinese art have been published in periodicals such as Yishu, Art World (Yishu Shijie), and ARTCO Monthly; and in publications including On Radical Art: The 80s Scene in Shanghai (2014) and The Body at Stake: Experiments in Chinese Contemporary Art and Theatre (2013). His curatorial projects include Staging Alterity: Dialogues on Different Worlds / Different Theatres at Shanghai Mingsheng Art Museum in 2016; a performance project at OCAT Shenzhen in 2014; and Action Asia, a performance, seminar, and research programme for Rockbund Art Museum from 2011 to 2012.

 

Chiang Poshin | “Whats Ahead? Reinterpreting Time in Chinese Art Communities in the Context of the Cold War”
(In residence 16 to 23 June 2018)

During the Cold War, there was a short period when Hong Kong and Taiwan (the “free China” as called by some then) were in close contact. Since the late 1950s, poets and painters in these two places used periodicals as a platform to introduce translated materials and debates on modern art. In this residency, Chiang uses the collections of Asia Art Archive and the Modern Literature Archive of CUHK to investigate what Taiwanese artists published in Hong Kong periodicals during the 1960s—revisiting how Chinese-speaking artists reinterpreted “Chinese-ness” and the periodisation of its art history, so as to reclaim a national discourse. The investigation does not aim at organising a pre-history of contemporary Chinese art; rather, it attempts to observe how, during the Cold War, the art community resisted a singular discourse of time, and how a practice of anti-modernism served as a reference for the avant-garde.

Chiang Poshin is Associate Professor in art history at Tainan National University of the Arts, and Director of the Art Archive Center in Taiwan. He is also Chief Editor of Art Critique of Taiwan (ACT), a jury member for the Taiwan National Awards of Art, and Chair of the international jury team for the Taishin Arts Award. Chiang has specialised in Taiwan art history since the 1990s. Recent academic forums and symposia he has organised include Archival Turn: East Asian Contemporary Art and Taiwan (1960–1989), Southeast Asia and Taiwan: Modernity and Postcolonial Manifestations in Visual Art, and The Renaissance of Cultural Memory: Reconstructing Art Histories in Contemporary Taiwan, among others. He is currently working on artistic exchange in East Asia during the modern period, theory and practice of art archives, and the understanding of contemporary in Taiwan art history.

Free and open to the public with registration.

Venue: Asia Art Archive A Space, 10/F, Hollywood Centre, 233 Hollywood Road, Sheung Wan

Image: Zhao Chuan, <i>Write at Will</i>, performance at <i>M Conceptual Art Performance Exhibition</i>, 1986. Courtesy of Zhao Chuan.
Image: Zhao Chuan, Write at Will, performance at M Conceptual Art Performance Exhibition, 1986. Courtesy of Zhao Chuan.

Sponsor:

亞洲藝術文獻庫邀請楊天娜趙川蔣伯欣主持講座,三人同為第二屆獲邀參與何鴻毅家族基金中華研究獎金研究員駐留計劃。

楊天娜,《1978年至今中國的身份表演、文化政策與藝術策略》
(在港駐留期:2018年6月16至23日)

楊天娜是一位駐巴黎的學者及策展人,專門研究政治、文化及藝術策略的關係。在文獻庫駐場期間,楊天娜將集中研究文獻庫中的鄭勝天檔案。其最新研究旨在追溯近四十年間,不同藝術策略在應對中國官方文化政策轉變過程中的發展。楊的研究重視個人作為研究單位,聚焦數位中國藝術界巨擘,其中包括藝術家、策展人及藝術體制內人士。

楊天娜是亞洲藝術文獻庫的學術顧問,也是《Yishu》及《燃點》的編輯顧問。她在當代中國藝術方面的寫作出版甚豐,其中包括《Semiotic Warfare – The Chinese Avant-garde 1979 – 1989》(2003年)、《Becoming Intense, Becoming Animal, Becoming...》(2009年),及《I often do bad things. Yang Jiechang: Texts and Works 1982 – 2016》(2017年)等。同時,楊活躍於策展工作,曾策劃的展覽包括:《第五屆深圳國際水墨雙年展》(深圳,2006年),《“Onda Anomala", Rahmenprogramm Manifesta 7》(特倫托,2008年),《現在的書寫是對未來的承諾》(威尼斯,2015年)。

趙川,《華人行為藝術家在亞洲》
(在港駐留期:2018年6月7至16日)

駐上海的獨立作家、實驗劇場推手趙川將藉文獻庫館藏研究亞洲各地華人行為藝術家的實踐性活動如何模糊藝術與社會的分界線、近年行為藝術的復興、劇場擴展,以及表演性作品與博物館之間的複雜關係。

趙川為駐上海的劇場工作者、作者、藝術評論及策展人。他是民間劇團「草場班」的創辦人之一。他的主要劇場作品包括《不安的石頭》(劇本及導演,2012-2013年)、《世界工廠》(劇本及導演,2014-2017年)及《野草》(導演及演出,2018年)等。趙所著有關中國當代藝術的文章可見於《YISHU》、《藝術世界》、《典藏今藝術》等期刊,以及專著《激進藝術小史》(著作者,上海三聯,2014年)和《The Body At Stake: Experiments in Chinese Contemporary Art and Theatre 》(《身体的角力》,聯合編輯、著作者,德國Transcript, 2013年)。趙的策展項目包括:《他者的舞台:關於不同劇場/不同世界的對話(上海民生美術館,2016件)、《2014表演項目》(深圳OCAT當代藝術中心,2014年)及《亞洲生動》(上海外灘美術館,2011-2012年)等。

蔣伯欣,《我們的前面是什麼?冷戰格局下漢字藝術圈的時間連帶》
(在港駐留期:2018年6月16至23日)

冷戰前期,被稱為「自由中國」的香港、台灣曾短暫地共享過一段交流密集的時期。1950年代後期開始,詩人和畫家透過雜誌期刊的編輯翻譯,分享現代藝術的諸種思潮的譯介與論戰。駐場期間,蔣將利用亞洲藝術文獻庫及香港中文大學「現代文學資料庫」的藏品,以考察1960年代台灣藝術家在香港報刊的文字與作品發表,以比較角度,重探漢字文化圈藝術家如何在冷戰期間重編中國性、創造藝術的歷史階段論,以拯救戰後的國族敘事。此次考察重點並非要替中國當代藝術找出一段史前史,而是希望觀察冷戰下的藝術社群如何抵抗時間的同質化,考察其反現代主義的蹤跡,作為冷戰下前衛精神構造的參照。

蔣伯欣是國立臺南藝術大學藝術史學系助理教授兼臺灣藝術檔案中心主任、《藝術觀點ACT》主編暨召集人。歷任國家文藝獎評審、台新藝術獎國際決審團主席。蔣自1990年代開始發表台灣藝術史研究,近年策劃的學術專題與會議包括「檔案轉向:東亞當代藝術與台灣(1960-1989)國際學術研討會」、「東南亞與台灣:視覺藝術的現代性與後殖民表現」、「共再生的記憶:重建臺灣藝術史學術研討會」等。其近期關注的議題包括:東亞近現代藝術交流、藝術檔案理論與建置,以及台灣藝術史的當代性。

活動費用全免,歡迎公眾參加。

地點:亞洲藝術文獻庫 A Space 上環荷李活道233號荷李活商業中心10樓

Image: Zhao Chuan, <i>Write at Will</i>, performance at <i>M Conceptual Art Performance Exhibition</i>, 1986. Courtesy of Zhao Chuan.
趙川,〈隨意書寫〉,在《M觀念藝術表演展》的行為藝術作品,1986年。

贊助: