Asia Art Archive welcomes Nicole M. Nepomuceno (Ning-Ning) and artist duo Alice Tsang Hiu Tung and Keung Hoi Ling to our Try Try Zine Residency 2024. The two proposals were selected from a pool of tremendously enthusiastic open call responses relating to AAA’s digital and physical collections. This residency will support and develop zine-making activities more broadly at AAA, while encouraging artists to engage with and activate AAA Collections. The residency will culminate in a public programme held at AAA’s library.  

Nicole M. Nepomuceno (Ning-Ning) extends her ongoing research on Hong Kong migration histories and peripheral communities. Ning-Ning will map traces of the South and Southeast Asian diaspora in AAA’s Hong Kong Room and broader Collections. Created alongside generous collaborators, the zine will annotate, enrich, and decentre Hong Kong (art) history. The publication will be a continuously expanding shared body of work.  

Alice Tsang Hiu Tung and Keung Hoi Ling’s collaboration originates from their participation in the Somatic Movement Workshop led by dancer and educator David Leung, held as part of AAA’s library exhibition "mould the wing to match the photograph." Alice and Hoi Ling will explore different ways of connecting with the body to investigate its potential through zine-making and improvisational dance workshops. The residency will explore the intimacy of bodily connections, foster a safe space for dialogue with one’s own self, and encourage an experience of the body’s intricate structure while awakening a sense of unity with all things. 

Nicole M. Nepomuceno (Ning-Ning) is a writer and researcher focusing on themes of migration and peripherality in Hong Kong art and history. Her work has been driven by two questions: How can approaching Hong Kong art history through the lens of migration expand its perimeters beyond ethnonationalism and toward greater variety, abundance, and access? And how can we create enriching, supportive, and sustainable spaces for peripheral experiences within the arts? 

Alice Tsang Hiu Tung is a graphic and multimedia interactive designer and illustrator. Her works convey thoughts through materials encountered in daily life and involve tactile experiences. She believes in the power of art to heal, gather, connect, and ground living creatures and spirits in recursive relationships.She sees the body as a garden and medium full of possibilities, where refraction and fermentation occur internally. Through painting, she explores light, the trajectory of life, and her relationship with the world. Tsang’s works were shortlisted for the 17th Arte Laguna Prize in Venice, Italy. She received a grant from the Hong Kong Arts Development Council for a solo exhibition titled I’m Watching Your Photosynthesis in Taiwan, and participated in the 2023 editions of Taipei and Bangkok Art Book Fair. Tsang earned a BA in Communication Design from Hong Kong Polytechnic University. Currently, she manages the creative page “Not.in.the.tank.”

Keung Hoi Ling is a movement artist whose practice revolves around teaching, exploring space with the body, and the unfolding of daily life. The Cantonese name Keung Hoi Ling means "triumphant returns," which describes her unwavering determination to carve her own path in an unknown landscape. She is committed to promoting diversity and accessibility in the arts. Keung considers the body a mutable entity, and is committed to ensuring that individuals of all abilities can participate in dance arts to the fullest extent possible. She has performed site-specific solo dance works at La Bas Cros Studio in France, and was an artist-in-residence at the Hong Kong Arts Centre. Keung has studied at the Hong Kong Academy for Performing Arts, Northern School of Contemporary Dance, and the Salzburg Experimental Dance Academy. Keung is currently a full-time artist-in-residence at Unlock Dancing Plaza. 

Keung Hoi Ling’s participation in Try Try Zine Residency 2024 is by kind permission of Unlock Dancing Plaza.  

Relevant content

zine-residency_try2_home list
Open Call | Try Try Zine Residency 2024
Programmes

Open Call | Try Try Zine Residency 2024

Deadline 11 Dec 2023

zine-residents
Try Try Zine Residency Sharing
Programmes

Try Try Zine Residency Sharing

Sun, 7 May 2023, 4–6:30pm HKT

 Nam2 Haa5 Zine_homelist
Nam2 Haa5 Zine: Tête-à-tête between Zines and Books in AAA Library
Programmes

Nam2 Haa5 Zine: Tête-à-tête between Zines and Books in AAA Library

21 May to 23 July 2021

jic_Homelistimage
Just In Case: New Arrivals at AAA Library
Programmes

Just In Case: New Arrivals at AAA Library

6 Dec 2021–25 Jan 2022

Zine_009
Cata-log-in Zines
Programmes

Cata-log-in Zines

Tue, 9 Apr 2019, 7 – 8:30 PM

David Leung-home list
Somatic Movement Workshop
Programmes

Somatic Movement Workshop

Sat, 28 Oct 2023, 11am–1pm HKT

Crip Zine issue 01: How may I address you?
Crip Zine issue 01: How may I address you?
Zine

Crip Zine issue 01: How may I address you?

殘誌 01: 我可以如何稱呼你?

Intriguing
Intriguing
Zine

Intriguing

耐人尋味
Jay LAU Ka Chun, 劉家俊

亞洲藝術文獻庫歡迎Nicole M. Nepomuceno(Ning-Ning)以及由曾曉童和姜凱翎組成的藝術家二人開展為期三個月的2024年小誌駐場計劃。我們透過公開招募選出以下兩個駐場提案,回應文獻庫的和實體館藏是次駐場計劃鼓勵藝術家及小誌創作人館藏互動,並支援他們的小誌製作和相關活動包含及後文獻庫圖書館舉的公項目 

Nicole M. Nepomuceno(Ning-Ning在駐期間延續她對香港移民史和邊緣的研究。聚焦文獻庫「香港特藏室」和其他館藏追溯南亞和東南亞流散跡。Ning-Ning將與不同參與者分享共同創作挑戰香港的(藝術)史,為其,使之變得更加豐富  

曾曉童和姜凱翎的合作緣於舞者梁嘉能就《形影相生》展覽而舉行的身心律動工作坊。二人將透過小誌作和即興舞蹈作坊,邀請參與者展開身體與意識的對話,研究身體所蘊含的各種可能性。駐期間,他們會探索身體連結所產生的親密感,創造身進行對話的安全空間,體驗身體的複雜結構,並以之喚起萬物同在的意識。 

Nicole M. Nepomuceno(Ning-Ning是作家研究員,尤其關注香港藝術和歷史中的移民和議題。她創作主要提出兩個如果我們從移民的視角來研究香港藝術史,是否能夠不受民族國家主義的框架所限書寫出多元豐富和歷史我們如何藝術領域中,支持非主流的經驗,他們創造出充實和可持續發展空間 

曉童及多媒體互動設計師插畫家。透過日常接觸到的媒材來傳遞思想,尤其是牽涉體驗她相信藝術具療癒人心力量生物和靈魂建立連結,傾聽、藝術、活與地之間的關係。她體為媒介,同時是充滿可能性的花園,事物在內折射與發酵。她以繪畫探索光、命的軌跡,以及與世界的關係。曾作品入圍意利威尼斯第17Arte Laguna Prize。她香港資助在台灣舉個展《我在看你的光合作》,並以藝術家參展2023年台北草率季藝術書展藝術書展。獲香港理工大學傳意設計(榮譽)文學士學位。現經營創作專Not.in.the.tank   

姜凱翎舞蹈藝術家,她的實踐圍繞教學、身體主導的空間探索活的創作氏強調藝術中的多元和共容。重視每個人身體的獨特性,致力確保所有人都能盡情參與舞蹈藝術曾於香港演藝學院Northern School of Contemporary Dance薩爾斯堡實驗舞蹈學院受訓。她曾作地域特定的個表演於法國南部的La Bas Cros作室演出,後於香港藝術中駐場藝術家現為不加鎖舞踊館的全駐團藝術家。 

鳴謝「不加鎖舞踊館」支持姜凱翎參與2024年小誌駐場計劃。

相關內容

zine-residency_try2_home list
公開招募 | 試下zine:2024年小誌駐場計劃
活動

公開招募 | 試下zine:2024年小誌駐場計劃

截止日期:2023年12月11日

zine-residents
試下Zine:小誌駐場計劃分享會
活動

試下Zine:小誌駐場計劃分享會

2023年5月7日 (星期日)
香港時間下午4時至6時30分

 Nam2 Haa5 Zine_homelist
諗吓Zine:小誌與書密密傾
活動

諗吓Zine:小誌與書密密傾

2021年5月21日至2021年7月23日

jic_Homelistimage
《別具一格: 新書上架》
活動

《別具一格: 新書上架》

2021年12月6日至2022年1月25日

Zine_009
做咩Zine
活動

做咩Zine

2019年4月9日 (星期二)
下午7時至8時30分

David Leung-home list
身心律動工作坊
活動

身心律動工作坊

2023年10月28日(星期六)
香港時間上午11時至下午1時

Crip Zine issue 01: How may I address you?
Crip Zine issue 01: How may I address you?
小誌

Crip Zine issue 01: How may I address you?

殘誌 01: 我可以如何稱呼你?

Intriguing
Intriguing
小誌

Intriguing

耐人尋味
Jay LAU Ka Chun, 劉家俊