Ideas

I Go South

Anthony Yung reflects on Cantonese art and the challenges of representation

“I Go South” is published in collaboration with the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art’s interdisciplinary arts and culture platform Open Space, as part of We the People, the eleventh issue of Open Space magazine, organised by Claudia La Rocco and Gordon Faylor.

 

Image: Yang Jiechang, <i>Crying Landscape</i>, 2003, painting and installation. ©Yang Jiechang.
Image: Yang Jiechang, Crying Landscape, 2003, painting and installation. ©Yang Jiechang.

 

I’ve only been to the Bay Area once, in 2011. The purpose was to screen From Jean-Paul Sartre to Teresa Teng, a documentary produced by Asia Art Archive (where I work as a researcher specialising on Greater China), at UC Berkeley. The film, produced from 2007 to 2010, tells the story of how contemporary art emerged in Guangdong in the 1980s, and how the regional specificities of Guangdong—like its remoteness to the political and cultural centres of China and its coastal proximity to Hong Kong, such that popular cultures and consumer goods could be accessed earlier than inland China—affected the artists here.1

I had one free day after the screening, and I wanted to spend it sightseeing in San Francisco. I left early and headed toward the city centre—walking without a plan is one of the best things to do in an unfamiliar city. While I’ve since forgotten the exact routes I took, I vividly remember arriving in Chinatown, totally by accident. It was uncanny: I had travelled halfway across the planet and all of a sudden I was back home. Only it wasn’t the home of my present. It was more like the home of my childhood memories, or even the home of my parents’ memories—at least how I imagined them to be. I’ve had the same feeling only once before. When I was fifteen, I visited Guangzhou for the first time, which looked to me exactly like the Hong Kong of my childhood. Somehow I was brought back to the past, both now and then.

It was noon. I walked into the least fancy-looking restaurant I came across, where a middle-aged lady greeted me in Cantonese with a lovely Taishanese accent (how could she tell so quickly that I was Cantonese?). I ordered steamed rice with pork ribs for $3. And it was delicious! When I visited New York, the first meal I had was a sandwich bought from a small shop on a side street. It cost $9.90, and the bread tasted like paper.

As I was eating that rice with pork ribs, observing the decorations and listening to people chit-chatting, I thought: how am I not in Guangdong? Language, food, rituals, values—all remained uncannily familiar. People have been migrating from China since the late nineteenth century, and among them a large proportion have been Cantonese. Today, in most Chinese communities across the world, Cantonese food and dialects are easy to find. 

 

Image: Zheng Guogu, architectural design of <i>Canton Express</i>, 2003. ©Zheng Guogu
Image: Zheng Guogu, architectural design of Canton Express, 2003. ©Zheng Guogu

 

This brings to mind a dilemma facing today’s globalised art world: artists, wherever they work, often struggle between finding (or maintaining) their own artistic languages and themes and adapting to global ones. It’s hard to tell which direction is better, or what “better” would even mean in this context.

In 1989, the Cantonese artist Yang Jiechang was invited to Paris to participate in the exhibition Magiciens de la terre, and while living there he bumped into the abstract painter Zao Wou-ki. At the time, Zao was one of the most successful Chinese artists in the West, while Yang was a new immigrant and, in Paris, an emerging artist. Zao gave Yang two pieces of advice: first, learn to speak French; second, do not hang out with the Chinese. Yang often bristles at what other people consider to be “correct.” He decided that he didn’t have to learn French, and would often mingle with fellow Chinese artists in Paris. After all, what’s interesting about walking a path whose destination has already been proven?

 

*   *   *

 

But back to my day in San Francisco.

After lunch, I made a point to visit Hou Hanru, who was then the Director of Exhibitions and Public Programs and Chair of Exhibition and Museum Studies at the San Francisco Art Institute. Hou was born and raised in Guangzhou, went to college in Beijing, moved to Paris in the early 1990s, and eventually became an influential curator. I admire Hou’s genuine respect and passion for art. He pays attention to everyday life, to its various pleasures and problems, and often produces exhibitions that try to capture these constantly changing forces of chaos and order in quotidian reality. Cities on the Move (1997–99), the 4th Gwangju Biennale (2002), and 10th International Istanbul Biennial (2007) are outstanding examples of this curatorial work.

  

Image: <i>Canton Express</i>, 2003. ©Zheng Guogu
Image: Canton Express, 2003. ©Zheng Guogu

 

Hou also curated Z.O.U. - Zone of Urgency for the 2003 Venice Biennale, for which he commissioned a group of artists to organise the mini-exhibition Canton Express, named after a Cantonese fast food restaurant in Glasgow that Hou liked. Canton Express was groundbreaking for thematising a region at a time when using nation-states as the unit of interpretation was still the mainstream. Interestingly enough, the PRC Ministry of Culture was about to host the inaugural China Pavilion exhibition that same year, but had to cancel due to the outbreak of SARS in China. So in a funny way, Canton Express became the “Chinese representation” at the Venice Biennale.2

But of course, Canton Express didn’t “represent” China, much less Guangdong—at best, it represented only the people who made it happen. And among them, some were Guangdong-born, some were not; some spoke Cantonese, some didn’t; some lived there, some had already left. That is to say, the community that this project suggested was very much an imagined one. What was it that grouped these people together, in the name of “Canton”? Was there a discernable commonality among their work?

 

Image: Duan Jianyu, <i>Art Chicken</i>, 2003.
Image: Duan Jianyu, Art Chicken, 2003.

 

Chen Shaoxiong’s contribution to Canton Express was a video in which skyscrapers were able to change their shape to dodge terrorist attacks. Duan Jianyu’s Art Chicken scattered nearly one hundred fiberglass (but somehow still life-like) chickens throughout the exhibition space, a referential wink at Cantonese free-range chickens. Zheng Guogu transformed his small space into a “sample room,” where he displayed a product for which his hometown, Yangjiang, is famous: kitchenware. Fragments of correspondence between those preparing Canton Express were also printed on the walls of his room.

Zheng designed the main architecture of the exhibition, which was painted with several bright colours and had a strange shape; I can only say that it looked a bit like a highway overpass, with the area underneath serving as the main exhibiting space. Though small in size, it made a big noise—mostly due to Crying Landscape, an installation work by Yang Jiechang featuring five gongbi paintings that were large-size triptychs (three-by-five meters each). Gorgeously and meticulously made, they depicted the House of Parliament in London, an oil refinery, the Three Gorges water dam, Las Vegas, and the Pentagon under terrorist attack. The paintings were accompanied by “The Blue Danube,” but this graceful Johann Strauss waltz was programmed to be interrupted by a frightening scream from time to time.

  

Image: Zheng Guogu, <i>Sample Room</i>, 2003, found objects and installation. ©Zheng Guogu.
Image: Zheng Guogu, Sample Room, 2003, found objects and installation. ©Zheng Guogu.

 

Is there a common thread that unites these works? Did they inherit anything from earlier contemporary art practices of the 1980s? Did they pass down anything to today’s Cantonese artists? These are interesting questions to think through; but I don’t believe the artists themselves ever wanted to establish a regional identity, so these sorts of inquiries don’t gain much traction with them. 

Still, as a researcher and Cantonese myself, I can’t help but see attributes that appear to have close relationships with the geography and culture of this place. Its political and cultural marginality since ancient times have influenced the way we understand and cherish our freedom; its subtropical climate and rich resources, especially when compared to northern China, can be said to relate to our optimism and passion for life; and the eccentric wit often seen in Cantonese art can be traced to the persistent influences of Daoism and Zen. Most Cantonese people, whether at home or in remote places, have a certain pride about who they are, and such pride can be represented even in the most vernacular and quotidian parts of life. 

 

Image: Chen Shaoxiong, <i>Anti-terror Variety</i>, 2000, video still. ©Chen Shaoxiong.
Image: Chen Shaoxiong, Anti-terror Variety, 2000, video still. ©Chen Shaoxiong.

 

These qualities, in my opinion—which is obviously not an objective one—are useful for surviving in the world today. In order to understand art, it’s important to understand sociopolitical and historical contexts—but might there also be some shared values we can point to, something beyond time and place? I have tried to describe such a value in Cantonese art, and I’ve previously referred to it as an “independent spirit.” This didn’t help anyone understand Cantonese art any better. So, perhaps the best I can do is repeat what Chen Tong, a great Cantonese artist, once declared: “You point east, I don’t go west. I go south.”

 

Anthony Yung is AAA's Researcher specialising in Greater China.

 

Notes

1. “Canton” was an old name for Guangzhou, the capital of Guangdong province, and “Cantonese” is generally used in English to describe people from Guangzhou as well as Guangdong. “Cantonese” also refers to the Yue dialect, the major dialect spoken in Guangzhou, Taishan, Hong Kong, Macau, and some other places in the Pearl River Delta region, Guangxi province, and Chinese communities around the world. The Yue dialect is very different from Mandarin Chinese. “Guangdong,” literally “at the East of the Expanse,” is now the official written way of referring to the province, which has a population of over one hundred million people.

2. It was also in Venice, in 1993, where the exhibition Passage to the Orient took place, significantly influencing the formation of a “contemporary Chinese art” canon in the West.  

 

Imprint

Author

Anthony YUNG, 翁子健

Topic
Notes
Date
Mon, 18 Mar 2019

Relevant content

JA Convo_edit
Building Asia Art Archive, Part 3
Ideas | Conversations

Building Asia Art Archive, Part 3

How does AAA make decisions about what it collects? Jane DeBevoise and Anthony Yung discuss AAA’s China projects in relation to this query

ren hang home image 2
Ren Hang in the Global City
Ideas | Essays

Ren Hang in the Global City

Nicholas Gamso considers Ren Hang’s engagement with urban space and queer body politics

Special248
Cities on the Move Exhibition Archive 《移動中的城市》檔案
Collection

Cities on the Move Exhibition Archive 《移動中的城市》檔案

Canton Express
Canton Express
Exhibition Catalogue

Canton Express

廣東快車
2003

Gwangju Biennale 2002
Gwangju Biennale 2002
59 Images

Gwangju Biennale 2002

2002

Magiciens de la terre
Magiciens de la terre
Exhibition Catalogue

Magiciens de la terre

Aline LUQUE, Andre MAGNIN, Bernard MARCADE, Homi K. BHABHA, Jacques SOULILLOU, Mark FRANCIS, Pierre GAUDIBERT, Thomas MCEVILLEY
1989

From Jean-Paul Sartre to Teresa Teng: Cantonese Contemporary Art in the 1980s (English subtitles)
1 Multimedia

From Jean-Paul Sartre to Teresa Teng: Cantonese Contemporary Art in the 1980s (English subtitles)

2010

From Jean-Paul Sartre to Teresa Teng: Cantonese Contemporary Art in the 1980s (Chinese subtitles)
1 Multimedia

From Jean-Paul Sartre to Teresa Teng: Cantonese Contemporary Art in the 1980s (Chinese subtitles)

薩特與鄧麗君:1980年代的廣東當代藝術
Anthony YUNG, 翁子健, Claire HSU, 徐文玠, Jane DEBEVOISE, 杜柏貞, Phoebe WONG, 黃小燕
2010

Accumulation: Canton Express Next Stop
Accumulation: Canton Express Next Stop
Exhibition Catalogue

Accumulation: Canton Express Next Stop

積累: 廣東快車下一站
Martina KOEPPEL-YANG, 楊天娜
2006

藝文

我往南

翁子健反思廣東藝術以及在表述上所面對的挑戰。

《我往南》由文獻庫《藝文》和三藩市現代藝術博物館旗下跨學科藝文平台《Open Space》聯合出版,為《Open Space》第十一期雜誌《We the People》的一部分。

 

Image: Yang Jiechang, <i>Crying Landscape</i>, 2003, painting and installation. ©Yang Jiechang.
圖片︰楊詰蒼,《會叫的風景》,2003年,畫作及裝置。版權屬楊詰蒼所有。

 

我唯一一次到加州灣區,是在2011年。此行的工作,是到加大柏克萊分校放映亞洲藝術文獻庫製作之紀錄片《薩特和鄧麗君》。此片在2007-2010年間製作,講述1980年代當代藝術在廣東地區之源起,及廣東之特殊性(如遠離國家政治及文化中心,和通過香港能比內地更早接觸到流行文化及消費品)如何影響此地的藝術家。

放映活動後,我有一天空閒,準備遊覽三藩市。當日我一早出門,到市中心閒逛——徒步閒逛是遊覽一個陌生城市的最好辦法。當時的行走路線,我早已忘掉,但是記憶猶新的是,我就這樣走著走著走到了唐人街。我本無計劃來唐人街,但正因為是不期而遇,那一刻的感覺才特別奇異 -- 明明在半個地球之外,卻一下子回家了,只是這不是現在的家,而是童年的家,甚至是我想像中的父母親記憶中的家。這種感覺我曾有過:十五歲那年,我第一次去廣州,當時廣州給我的深刻印象就是回到過去,回到童年時的香港。

我走進三藩市唐人街時已是中午。我選了一家外表最樸素的小飯店,一位中年女士用可愛的台山口音粵語招呼我(為什麼她一下子就認出我是廣東人?)我點一份一豉汁蒸排骨飯。女士說:「三蚊。」

現在我寫下這段記憶,大概有點不可思議。三蚊!不可能這麼便宜!但不會錯的是那是我在美國境內吃過最便宜的一頓飯,還很好吃!我第一次去紐約的第一頓飯,是在路邊小店買的一個三文治,九塊九毛。那面包味如稿紙。

吃著這碗排骨飯,看著店內裝潢,聽聽店內人閒聊,心裡想著,這難道不是廣東嗎?這些廣東人,移民到地球的另一邊,卻重建起家鄉的生活——語言、食物、習俗、倫理,幾乎一切依舊。十九世紀末以來,大量華人移居海外,其中廣東人佔一大部分,因此今天在世界各地的華人社區都能輕易找到粵菜餐廳、聽到粵語。

 

Image: Zheng Guogu, architectural design of <i>Canton Express</i>, 2003. ©Zheng Guogu
圖片︰鄭國谷,《廣東快車》的建築設計,2003年。版權屬鄭國谷所有。

 

從某個角度看,一個新移民不去學會當地語言,不入鄉隨俗,豈不可惜?從另一角度看,哪怕到了一個完全陌生的環境,這些人卻仍然可以保存自己喜歡的生活方式,甚至還能過得相當富裕,這何嘗又不是令人敬佩的堅韌的生命力?

這些移民在外國的生活方式讓我想到當下藝術界所面對的困境:不論有否移居外地,今天的藝術家皆面對一個全球化的藝術世界,都要在「尋找自己的藝術語言」及「順應全球化」兩個選項之間掙扎,也很難說哪一個途徑更好。

在1989年初,廣東人楊詰蒼獲邀赴法參加《大地魔術師》展覽。在1990年代初,楊定居巴黎。在一次展覽上,楊遇到了趙無極。當時,住在巴黎的抽象畫家趙無極,可算是西方最成功的華人藝術家。趙給予楊這位新移民及晚輩藝術家兩則忠告:一,學好法語;二,不要跟中國人來往。這的確是他在巴黎藝術圈獲得成功的寶貴經驗。可是,楊是一個不同的人。他的思考擅長於擺脫人們認為的「正確」。他沒有學好法語,也經常和中國人在一起。畢竟,已證明過能走向成功的路,再走一次還有什麼意思?

 

*   *   *

 

回到三藩市那一天。

下午,我去拜訪侯瀚如,當時他在三藩市藝術學院任美術館館長,主持展覽及美術館研究之課程。侯生於廣州、長於廣州,在北京讀大學,1990年代初移居巴黎,成為活躍的獨立策展人。在策展工作中,他最關注的主題包括全球化、移民、民族主義及其解構、建築、城市發展,以及另類文化。我敬佩侯對藝術的真正的尊重和熱愛。他重視生活中的愉悅和難題,非常欣賞街頭智慧。他製作的展覽現場往往能再現真實世界中混亂和秩序的拉扯角力。《移動中的城市》(1997–99)、第四屆光州雙年展(2002),以及第十屆伊斯坦布爾雙年展(2007)等策展項目都是他的代表作。

 

Image: <i>Canton Express</i>, 2003. ©Zheng Guogu
圖片︰《廣東快車》,2003年。版權屬鄭國谷所有。

 

在2003年的威尼斯雙年展中,侯瀚如負責策劃其中一個子展覽,題為《緊急地帶》,邀請了一幫藝術家來組織一個迷你展覽,即《廣東快車》(Canton Express)。「Canton Express」這個名字取自侯喜歡的一家格拉斯哥廣東快餐店。在西方機構大多仍以國家為單位籌辦展覽的大環境下,《廣東快車》以地區為主題此舉顯得極具開創性。有趣的是,同年,中華人民共和國文化部本打算首次承辦中國館展覽,後來因為國內爆發非典型肺炎疫情取消計劃;這樣一來,《廣東快車》竟成了當年威尼斯雙年展上的「中國代表」。2

但當然,《廣東快車》不代表中國,也不代表廣東,只代表參與它的這些人。這些人當中,有些生在廣東,有些不是;有些講粵語,有些不講;有些正住在廣東,有些已經離開。所以說,這是一個想像出來的社羣,不旨在代表某種身份。那麼,是什麼讓他們能以「廣東」的名義走在一起?是他們作品中某些共通之處嗎?

陳劭雄的作品是一個特效影片,片中的高樓大廈可以變型,以躲避恐佈襲擊。另一邊廂,段建宇帶去了一百隻體態各異、栩栩如生的玻璃鋼製雞,「散養」於展場各處,指涉廣東「走地雞」,作品名為《藝術雞》。而鄭國谷的作品則是展場裡一間改造成陽江(他老家)製廚具陳列室的細小房間,牆上印著籌備這次展覽期間不同人員之間溝通的片段。

 

Image: Duan Jianyu, <i>Art Chicken</i>, 2003.
圖片︰段建宇,《藝術雞》,1993年。

 

展覽的主體建築也是由鄭國谷設計,其形狀奇特,顏色明亮。如果硬要說它像些什麼,那只能說有點像一道過街天橋,而橋底便是展覽的主要空間。這個展覽雖小,噪音卻不少,主要來自楊詰蒼的作品《會叫的風景》:五幅工筆三聯,畫幅大(每幅3乘5米),卻畫得細緻入微,內容分別是倫敦的國會大廈、一家煉油廠、長江三峽大壩、拉斯維加斯和飛機撞毀的五角大樓。《藍色多瑙河》在一旁悠悠傳來,不時被驚恐的叫喊聲打斷。

 

Image: Zheng Guogu, <i>Sample Room</i>, 2003, found objects and installation. ©Zheng Guogu.
圖片︰鄭國谷,《樣品房》,2003年。版權屬鄭國谷所有。

 

這些作品之間有共通之處嗎?它們跟1980年代的廣東藝術有沒有一脈相承的地方?今天的廣東藝術又有沒有承繼到它們的任何特質?作為研究者,我總是反覆思考這個問題;但既然這些藝術家從沒希望建立一種地域身份,那麼這個問題也就不甚重要。

只是,作為一名廣東人兼研究員,我看廣東人的藝術中的某些偉大,的確與此地之文化及地理息息相關。廣東藝術中常見的奇詭念頭,大概孕育自對此地有悠久影響的道和禪;自古以來在政治及文化上的邊陲地位,造就了人們對自由的珍視;亞熱帶氣候和豐饒資源,有助建立人們對生活的熱愛及樂觀精神。無論是待在家鄉還是跑到天涯海角,大部分廣東人都抱持著對自身文化的驕傲,而這種驕傲即使在最市井最日常的生活中也能得到體現。

 

Image: Chen Shaoxiong, <i>Anti-terror Variety</i>, 2000, video still. ©Chen Shaoxiong.
圖片︰陳劭雄,《花樣反恐》,2000年,影像靜止畫面。版權屬陳劭雄所有。

 

這些品質,在我一點都不客觀地看來,是我們存活於世上面對種種難題時所必須具備的。理解藝術時,分析語境固然重要,但也總需要找到某種超越時空的普世性。我曾試圖將廣東藝術中的這個價值,歸納為一種「獨立精神」,但這種表述顯然並不能將廣東藝術明朗化。到頭來,還是陳侗——一位廣東藝術家 – 他的一句話把這種價值講得最清楚:「你指東,我不往西,我往南。」

  

翁子健為亞洲藝術文獻庫研究員,致力於大中華區研究。

 

1. 「廣東」是廣東省省會廣州的舊稱。

2. 1993年,同樣在威尼斯雙年展上舉辦的《東方之旅》展對「當代中國藝術」典範(Canon)在西方的形成影響深遠。  

 

版本

作者

Anthony YUNG, 翁子健

主題
札記
日期
2019年3月18日 (星期一)

相關內容

ren hang home image 2
任航︰走過全球城市
藝文 | 文章

任航︰走過全球城市

Nicholas Gamso 探討任航與城市空間及酷兒身體政治的互動。

JA Convo
建構亞洲藝術文獻庫——第三節
藝文 | 對話

建構亞洲藝術文獻庫——第三節

杜柏貞與文獻庫研究員翁子健討論亞洲藝術文獻庫在中國有關行為藝術、區域主義、女性藝術工作者和展覽歷史的項目

Special248
《移動中的城市》檔案
館藏

《移動中的城市》檔案

From Jean-Paul Sartre to Teresa Teng: Cantonese Contemporary Art in the 1980s (English subtitles)
1 視聽資料

From Jean-Paul Sartre to Teresa Teng: Cantonese Contemporary Art in the 1980s (English subtitles)

2010

Accumulation: Canton Express Next Stop
Accumulation: Canton Express Next Stop
展覽圖錄

Accumulation: Canton Express Next Stop

積累: 廣東快車下一站
Martina KOEPPEL-YANG, 楊天娜
2006

Canton Express
Canton Express
展覽圖錄

Canton Express

廣東快車
2003

Gwangju Biennale 2002
原生數碼資料

Gwangju Biennale 2002

2002

Magiciens de la terre
Magiciens de la terre
展覽圖錄

Magiciens de la terre

Aline LUQUE, Andre MAGNIN, Bernard MARCADE, Homi K. BHABHA, Jacques SOULILLOU, Mark FRANCIS, Pierre GAUDIBERT, Thomas MCEVILLEY
1989

From Jean-Paul Sartre to Teresa Teng: Cantonese Contemporary Art in the 1980s (Chinese subtitles)
1 視聽資料

From Jean-Paul Sartre to Teresa Teng: Cantonese Contemporary Art in the 1980s (Chinese subtitles)

薩特與鄧麗君:1980年代的廣東當代藝術
Anthony YUNG, 翁子健, Claire HSU, 徐文玠, Jane DEBEVOISE, 杜柏貞, Phoebe WONG, 黃小燕
2010