Want to help improve representation of women artists and practitioners on Wikipedia? Join our Wikipedia Edit-a-thon on Saturday, 9 March 2019—the day after International Women’s Day—at Asia Art Archive.

Following up on the previous two edit-a-thons on women in art and exhibition histories, AAA and M+ present Art+Feminism: Wikipedia Edit-a-thon on Women in Art in Asia. With the assistance of Wikimedia Community User Group Hong Kong, the event brings together participants to discuss, create, share, and improve Wikipedia articles about women artists and makers in and from Asia. Books and research materials—as well as coffee, tea, and refreshments—will be provided.

A 2011 study found that just around ten percent of Wikipedia editors are women. Meanwhile, women are consistently underrepresented in the art world, including in Hong Kong. We aim to address this discrepancy.

Aligned with Art+Feminism—“a campaign improving coverage of cis and transgender women, non-binary folks, feminism, and the arts on Wikipedia”—this edit-a-thon is part of an ongoing effort to contribute to discussions about the representation of art and visual culture in Asia on open-source knowledge platforms.

The event is free and open to the public with registration.

If you are in New York, please join us at the parallel edit-a-thon organised by Asia Art Archive in America and the Miriam and Ira D. Wallach Division of Art, Prints and Photographs of the New York Public Library on 23 March. Email info@aaa-a.org for more information.

Before the Event

1. Create a Wikipedia account.

2. Enroll as an editor on the event dashboard. (Passcode: womeninart)

3. Bring ideas for creating or improving articles on Wikipedia! We will provide books, articles, and other reference materials on the day, but please feel free to do your own research beforehand.

4. Please click here for our editing tutorial on Wikipedia, here for Art+Feminism’s short instructional videos and PowerPoint presentations on how to start contributing to Wikipedia, here for “Editing Wikipedia: A guide to improving content on the online encyclopedia,” here for “Illustrating Wikipedia: A guide to contributing content to Wikimedia Commons,” and here to read about gender bias on Wikipedia.

On the Day of the Edit-a-thon

The AAA and M+ teams will lead a thirty-minute tutorial at the beginning of the session. The Hong Kong Wikimedia User Group will be there to assist us with technical questions.

Please bring your laptop, a power cord, and, if you want to prepare beforehand, reference materials.

Snacks and beverages (including coffee and tea) will be provided during the event. Drinks and a light dinner will be served at the end.

Enquiries

editathon@aaa.org.hk; ellen.oredsson@mplus.org.hk

 

Special thanks to Wikimedia Community User Group Hong Kong, Art+Feminism, Wikimedia Taiwan, WikiWomen Taiwan, and Art+Feminism Ambassadors in Asia for their support and advice.

Relevant content

WikipediaHomeList
Wikipedia Asian Month: Edit-a-thon on Exhibition Histories
Programmes

Wikipedia Asian Month: Edit-a-thon on Exhibition Histories

Sat, 24 Nov 2018, 2 – 6 PM

Wikipedia_List
Wikipedia Edit-a-thon on Women in Art
Programmes

Wikipedia Edit-a-thon on Women in Art

Tutorial, 24 February 2018, 2–4pm; Edit-a-thon, 30 March 2018, 2–6pm

想幫助改進維基百科上有關女性藝術家及工作者的內容?歡迎大家參加我們的「維基百科編輯馬拉松」!活動將在婦女節翌日,即3月9日(星期六)舉行,地點是亞洲藝術文獻庫(文獻庫)的辦公室。

繼去年的「維基百科編輯馬拉松:女性藝術工作者」及「維基百科亞洲月:展覽歷史編輯馬拉松」之後,M+與文獻庫將合辦「藝術+女性主義:亞洲女性藝術工作者維基百科編輯馬拉松」。活動得到香港維基媒體用戶組的協助,將匯集各方參加者一同討論並分享居於或來自亞洲的女性藝術家及工作者的資料,並在維基百科上創建或改進有關條目。現場將提供相關書籍和研究資料,還備有咖啡、茶及小食招待。

2011年一項調查發現,維基百科的編者之中,僅一成為女性。與此同時,女性在藝術界的長期備受忽略,在香港亦是如此,故我們希望藉此活動促使大眾關注這種情況。

藝術+女性主義」這項運動旨在拓展維基百科上有關順性別女性、跨性別女性、非二元性別人士、女性主義及藝術的內容。是次編輯馬拉松響應此運動,推動有關亞洲藝術及視覺文化的討論,不斷令開源知識平台上關於這方面的資訊更加豐富。

活動費用全免,歡迎公眾報名參加。

如你身在紐約,歡迎於323日到紐約公共圖書館參加亞洲藝術文獻庫(美國)和Miriam and Ira D. Wallach Division of Art, Prints and Photographs共同舉辦的編輯馬拉松。如有任何查詢,請電郵至info@aaa-a.org

跟隨以下幾個簡單的步驟,為參與編輯馬拉松做好準備:

1. 建立維基百科帳戶

2. 於活動儀表板上註冊成為編輯。(密碼:womeninart)

3. 先整理好想法,到時便能動手編寫和改進維基百科的條目!我們將於活動當日提供相關的書籍、文章和參考資料,但參加者亦可預先自行搜集資料。

4. 請按此查看維基百科的編輯教學;按此觀看「藝術+女性主義」的示範短片及簡報(中文版請查閱「藝術與女性主義」編輯馬拉松的教學文件繁體中文版本),了解如何編輯維基百科的條目;按此查閱「維基百科編輯簡易入門教學」;按此查閱「如何妝點維基百科: 貢獻內容到維基共享資源的指引」,或按此到維基百科,閱讀指出此平台內容存有性別偏見的文章。

活動當天

M+與文獻庫的團隊將在活動開始時主持一個30分鐘的教學環節。香港維基媒體用戶組會在場協助解答技術上的疑難。

請自備手提電腦、電源線,或事先準備的參考資料。

現場將提供小食,以及茶或咖啡等飲料。我們亦將在活動尾聲提供飲品及簡單晚餐,以感謝各參加者的參與。

查詢:

editathon@aaa.org.hkellen.oredsson@mplus.org.hk

 

特別鳴謝香港維基媒體社群用戶組、藝術+女性主義、台灣維基媒體協會及台灣薇姬,支持活動舉辦並提供寶貴建議。

相關內容

WikipediaHomeList
維基百科亞洲月:展覽史編輯馬拉松
活動

維基百科亞洲月:展覽史編輯馬拉松

2018年11月24日 (星期六)
下午2時至6時

WikiEditathon_01
女性創藝記 | 維基百科編輯馬拉松:女性藝術工作者
活動

女性創藝記 | 維基百科編輯馬拉松:女性藝術工作者

教學工作坊:2018年2月24日(星期六),下午2時至4時;編輯馬拉松:2018年3月30日(星期五 ),下午2時至6時