Six artist-educators and collectives from across Asia and the Asian diaspora have been selected through an Open Call for Artist Exercises. From February to June 2022, they will develop creative exercises for their communities of learners, drawing inspiration from AAA’s Collections. Throughout the process, the educators will work closely with AAA to explore the collections, and make meaningful connections between historical contexts, artistic practices, and their current needs in education. 

In a hybrid model, the small cohort of artist-educators will gather online with AAA and spend time with the digitised art archives. At the same time, they will generate ideas individually and carry out exercises onsite with their group of learners. Through this programme, we hope to build a community of educators across geographies and create tools for students and teachers to engage with art archives for creative and inquiry-based learning. We are interested in building dialogue around the specific urgencies of the artist-educators in the programme and supporting each other through different teaching and learning needs.

AAA initiated Artist Exercises in 2020 in response to the pandemic—the first batch themed “Learning at Home,” which invited local and international artists to design a range of educational activities students can carry out at home during school suspension. Artist Exercises 2022 takes this further by collaborating with artist-educators to find connections between their work in their specific contexts, using resources on modern and contemporary art from Asia. At the end of this project, we will feature the new exercises on AAA’s website as part of our Educator’s Resources, freely accessible for teachers and learners.

Applications were open to both early-career and experienced artist-educators, as well as collectives involved with art education and pedagogy. The selection of proposals was based on the urgency and relevance of the exercise for the community of learners, and the potential to be applied to teachers and learners in varied geographical contexts. This cohort has been composed with the intention of representing diverse regions.

 

2022 Artist Exercise Cohort


Assam-based Anga Art Collective was formed in 2010 as a self-led studio space that explores the possibilities of freedom in art as well as in life. The collective thinks and works through regional and cultural specificities within a process of decolonisation in making and learning. They develop aesthetic responses, and host lectures, talks, and pedagogical reach-out events. Their collaborators include village communities, river communities, forest situations, folk artists, ecologists, social scientists, and activists. The collective has developed images, site-specific installations, murals, videos in cross-ethnic contexts, and has also co-founded kNOw school—a post-academic process to reconsider art pedagogy. Another initiative is Granary, which focuses on creating a multicultural repository through publications, productions, and a community library space at Panjabari, Guwahati. For their exercise, they are interested in exploring co-learning in communities and site-specific engagements and materials in the archives. 

Image: Anga Art Collective. Courtesy of the collective.
Image: Anga Art Collective. Courtesy of the collective.

 

Anthony Miranti is a lecturer with the Faculty of Creative Industries (FCI) at Universiti Tunku Abdul Rahman (UTAR), Malaysia, where he teaches various audio and broadcasting courses. He has also led and developed curriculum for Social Media, Animation Theory, and Media Theory in his faculty. He is passionate about history, especially about stories of how people in different eras and cultures are connected via technologies of the time. His area of specialisation and research interests include the exploration of the various capacities of sound to influence people, capture historical information, preserve cultural heritage, and combine cultural identifiers with contemporary influences. For his exercise, he is interested in working with his colleagues to translate materials from our archival collections using sound and synesthetic techniques, and make them accessible for visually impaired users. 

Image: Anthony Miranti. Courtesy of the artist.
Image: Anthony Miranti. Courtesy of the artist.

 

Czar Kristoff is a Laguna–based artist, designer, educator, and publisher, interested in (re)construction of space and memory, through concepts of nesting and temporary architecture, for (pedagogical) occupation, using cottage industry publishing—blueprints, xerox, and other low- fidelity printing methods—as his current media of interest. He has exhibited at the Stedelijk Museum Amsterdam, Showroom MAMA (Rotterdam), Jogja National Museum, C3 Artspace (Melbourne), Bangkok Art and Culture Centre, De Appel (Amsterdam), Dansehallerne (Copenhagen), and Vargas Museum (Manila). Kristoff runs Temporary UnReLearning (URL) Academy, a school with no permanent address interested in queering art and cultural production in the Philippines. For their exercise, they are interested in exploring photography, virtuality, and queerness in the archival collections. 

Image: Czar Kristoff. Courtesy of the artist.
Image: Czar Kristoff. Courtesy of the artist.

 

Joey Chin is an artist and writer in Singapore. Her work is located at the intersections of text, narrative, and visual art, staged through poetry, acts and modes of reading, and various disruptions. Her key focus is in the development of personal communications between the self, markings of territoriality, and the inner conversations between the two. Joey holds an MFA in Creative Writing (Poetry) from the City University of Hong Kong, and her work has received scholarships, grants, and awards from numerous organisations including Arthub Asia, the Asia–Europe Foundation, and the Royal Over-Seas League Arts (United Kingdom). For her exercise, she is interested in exploring how writing and text are embedded in contemporary art practice, and how speakers of different languages can communicate to each other through art. 

Image: Joey Chin. Courtesy of the artist.
Image: Joey Chin. Courtesy of the artist.

 

Omnispace, together with Pupa and Lab Ngebon, merged into Omni Kolektif in 2021. Located in Bandung, Indonesia, Omni Kolektif is a contemporary art collective that focuses on education, knowledge exchange, and ideas. Their goal is to provide an inclusive space for actors in creative fields as well as for the general public, so as to create an environment conducive to collaboration, while considering the economic value needed to sustain the collective. Recently, Omnispace initiated the residency project Masa Subur: Awewe to support female artists in Bandung. The project facilitates young female artists to engage in intensive dialogue about critical thinking about art-making with the various contexts that accompany them, and to experiment in searching for fresh art practice forms. Omnispace also organises Perguruan Menengah Omni, a public class open to everyone who wants to learn about artistic practices. For their exercise, they are interested in locating histories of domestic spaces and the everyday lives of women and women artists in the archive, and engaging homemakers in their local communities. 

Image:  Omni Kollektif. Courtesy of the collective.
Image: Omni Kollektif. Courtesy of the collective.

 

Ponnapa Prakkamakul is a conceptual artist and landscape architect based in Massachusetts. As a third-generation Chinese born in Thailand, relocating to Hong Kong then the United States, her work explores the relationship between humans and their environment, focusing on cultural displacement and isolation among immigrants. Prakkamakul holds a master’s degree in Landscape Architecture from the Rhode Island School of Design, where she received the Lowthorpe Fellowship Award upon graduation. Her work has also been exhibited, published, and collected throughout the US and in Asia. Recently, Ponnapa has been engaging Asian American youth in Chinatown in Boston through programmes that explore the histories of their neighbourhood and diasporic cultural heritage. She will engage this demographic in her exercise, where she is interested in working with archival collections around urban heritage and how art responds to cities. 

Image: Ponnapa Prakkamakul, photo by Joe Haley. Courtesy of the artist.
Image: Ponnapa Prakkamakul, photo by Joe Haley. Courtesy of the artist.


This is part of the AAA Learning & Participation Programme, supported by the S. H. Ho Foundation Limited.

 

Relevant content

Apple 2
Open Call | Artist Exercises
Programmes

Open Call | Artist Exercises

Application Deadline: 20 Dec 2021

AAA Library is currently closed for renovation. Please stay tuned on our social media for the opening date. We look forward to welcoming you back.

六個響應公開徵集方案的單位獲邀參與藝術家練習,參與單位包括藝術家兼教育工作者、亞洲區內藝術團體及海外亞裔僑民。由 2022年2月至6月,他們將向文獻庫的館藏取材,為學習群體設計創意練習。過程中,各個獲邀單位將與文獻庫團隊緊密合作,探索文獻資料,將歷史背景、藝術實踐和當前的教學需要融會貫通,締造有意義的學習體驗。 

參與計劃的藝術家兼教育工作者將以共同協作的模式組成一個小型的同儕網絡,與文獻庫在線上共同探索數碼藝術文獻資料。與此同時,他們將各自醞釀構想,並就所得方案與各自的學員進行實體練習。計劃的目的是建構一個跨地域的教育工作者社群,並為教師和學員提供工具,利用藝術文獻和資料,進行以創作和研究為本的學習。我們希望透過計劃,就藝術家兼教育工作者所面對的迫切議題展開對話,讓面對不同的教學需求的參加者互相砥礪,彼此扶持。  

圖片:文獻庫與參與計劃的藝術家兼教育工作者第一次線上會議。
圖片:文獻庫與參與計劃的藝術家兼教育工作者第一次線上會議。

文獻庫因應疫症大流行,於2020年推出藝術家練習,第一批練習題為「在家學習」,邀請本地及國際藝術家設計一系列教學活動,供學生於停課期間在家學習。2022年藝術家練習旨在透過與藝術家兼教育工作者合作,試圖將其框定於特定語境中的教育工作與亞洲現代及當代藝術文獻連繫,進一步擴闊系列所帶出的體驗。我們將於計劃結束後,將擬好的新練習上載至文獻庫網站,作為「教學資源」,供教師和學員使用。

是次公開招募活動歡迎新晉及資深的藝術家兼教育工作者,以及從事藝術教育的團體參加。我們按方案的迫切性、對學習社群是否有切身關聯,以及於不同地域語境中的教學應用潛質,就建議書進行篩選。入圍的參加者已盡可能代表區內的多元地域。

 

2022年藝術家練習入圍名單

駐阿薩姆藝術團體Anga Art Collective2010年成立,是致力為藝術創作和生活尋求自由的藝術工作室,由參與的成員主導。團體從地域和文化特性出發,參與創作和學習的去殖過程。他們就議題作出自藝術角度出發的回應,並主持研討會、講座及外展教學活動。團體合作的對象包括鄉村、河濱或森林社區,以及民間藝術家、生態學家、社科學家及社運活躍人士。Anga Art Collective就跨民族語境創作圖像、特定場域裝置、壁畫和錄像,亦有份創辦kNOw學校,主導藝術教育改革的後學術過程。由Anga Art Collective倡議的另一項計劃是Granary,透過刊物出版、視像製作,以及位於古瓦哈提市Panjabari 的社區圖書館,建構一個多文化的藏品庫。他們在方案中將以文獻庫中的館藏,探索社區以及特定場域的社群參與和共學。

圖片:Anga Art Collective,由該藝術團體提供。
圖片:Anga Art Collective,由該藝術團體提供。

 

Anthony Miranti是馬來西亞拉曼大學 (UTAR) 創意產業學院 (FCI) 的講師,教授多個語音及廣播課程。他亦帶領學院就社交媒體、動畫理論及媒體理論設計課程。Anthony Miranti熱衷研究歷史,特別是不同文化的人在不同時代如何透過當時的技術互相連繫的故事。其研究範疇包括聲音對人的影響、史料的蒐集、文化遺產的保育,以及文化識別符號與當代影響的融合。在此次練習方案中,他將與同事合作,利用聲音和聯覺技術翻譯文獻庫部分館藏,令它們便於被視障用戶使用。

 圖片:Anthony Miranti,由藝術家提供。
圖片:Anthony Miranti,由藝術家提供。

 

Czar Kristoff是駐菲律賓南甘馬林的藝術家、設計師、教育工作者及出版人,專門透過進駐臨時及庇護建築 (作教學用途)(建構空間和記憶。在創作媒介方面,Czar Kristoff目前主要探索低技術印刷方式,包括藍紙打印和影印。其作品曾於阿姆斯特丹市立博物館 (Stedelijk Museum Amsterdam)、鹿特丹Showroom MAMA、日惹國家美術館 (Jogja National Museum)、墨爾本C3 Artspace、曼谷市立藝術文化中心、阿姆斯特丹De Appel、哥本哈根Dansehallerne及馬尼拉Vargas Museum展出。Kristoff亦營辦沒有永久校舍的 Temporary UnReLearning (URL) Academy,研究菲律賓酷兒藝術及文化生產。在此次練習方案中,他將探索文獻庫中與攝影、虛擬性以及酷兒相關的館藏。

 圖片:Czar Kristoff,由藝術家提供。
圖片:Czar Kristoff,由藝術家提供。

 

Joey Chin是新加坡藝術家和作家,其作品糅合文字、敘事及視覺藝術,以詩歌、行為及各種閱讀模式和干擾方式呈現,主要探討個人與自我的溝通、地域性質及兩者的內在對話如何形成。 Joey擁有香港城市大學創意寫作 (詩歌藝術碩士學位,曾獲多個團體頒贈獎助學金和獎項,包括Arthub AsiaAsia–Europe Foundation及英國的Royal Over-Seas League Arts。在此次練習方案中,她希望探索如何將寫作和文本嵌入當代藝術實踐中,以及使用不同語言的人如何通過藝術相互交流。

圖片:Joey Chin,由藝術家提供。
圖片:Joey Chin,由藝術家提供。

 

Omni KolektifOmnispacePupa and Lab Ngebon2021年合併而成。Omni Kolektif位於印尼萬隆,是聚焦於教育、知識交流和意念的當代藝術團體,旨在為創作業者和大眾提供一個共融的空間,以營造一個有利交流合作的環境,同時創造團體賴以持續的經濟價值。近年,Omnispace舉辦「Masa Subur: Awewe」駐場計劃,支持萬隆的女性藝術家。計劃協助年輕女性藝術家,就有關藝術創作的批評思考與身處的語境展開激烈對話,並實驗嶄新的藝術實踐形式。Omnispace亦為有志認識藝術實踐的公眾人士開辦公開課程Perguruan Menengah Omni。在他們的練習方案中,他們將探索文獻庫中與女性和女性藝術家的家庭空間和日常生活歷史相關的館藏,並邀請當地社區的家庭婦女參與互動。

 圖片:Omni Kolektif,由該藝術團體提供。
圖片:Omni Kolektif,由該藝術團體提供。

 

Ponnapa Prakkamakul是駐麻省的概念藝術家及園景建築師。她是出生於泰國的第三代華僑,先後移居至香港和美國。其作品探討人與環境的關係,集中討論移民面對的文化錯置和孤立。Prakkamakul畢業於羅德島設計學院園景建築碩士課程,並獲該校頒發Lowthorpe Fellowship Award研究獎學金。其作品曾於美國及亞洲展出及刊載,並獲兩地機構收藏。近年,Ponnapa活躍於波士頓唐人街的亞裔美籍年輕人社群,參與多項活動,探討當地的社區歷史和移民的文化傳統。 她將在此次練習方案中邀請該社群參與,並在文獻庫內探索和城市發展相關的館藏,以及研究如何以藝術的方式回應城市的發展。

圖片:Ponnapa Prakkamakul,由藝術家提供。
圖片:Ponnapa Prakkamakul,由藝術家提供。


本活動為文獻庫「學習及參與計劃」的一部分,由何善衡慈善基金會有限公司慷慨贊助。

 

相關內容

Apple 2
方案徵集:藝術家練習
活動

方案徵集:藝術家練習

申請截止日期:2021年12月20日

文獻庫圖書館現正進行裝修工程,暫停開放。我們將會在社交媒體公布再度開放日期,請密切留意。我們期待以新面貌與閣下見面。