Asia Art Archive announces an Open Call for artist-educators based in Asia, as part of a project to develop creative exercises for their communities of learners. Participants will draw inspiration from AAA’s collections, which are freely accessible online, and contain a wide range of materials on recent art histories of the region. Artist-educators are invited to work with the AAA team to create exercises designed for their group of learners, and to make meaningful connections between historical contexts, artistic practices, and current needs in education.

Working together as a cohort for six months, this programme will create a small peer network of six-to-eight artist-educators from the region. In a hybrid model, artist-educators gather online with AAA, but generate ideas individually and carry out exercises onsite with their group of learners. Through this programme, we hope to create tools for students and teachers to engage with art archives and resources for creative and inquiry-based learning.

We are interested in building dialogue around the specific urgencies of the artist-educators in the programme and supporting each other despite the physical distance, based on different teaching and learning needs. 

The intention of this programme is to enable cross-cultural referencing between the multiple contexts and histories of the region, where, for instance, a teacher from Sri Lanka can connect to an archival photograph from Hong Kong, a student in Singapore can relate to a document on craft from Pakistan, and a module on gender and art in Nepal can reference a women-led biennale in Thailand.

To apply, artist-educators are invited to share an initial idea for an artist exercise around a theme they are interested in investigating for their community of learners. Prior to sharing their idea in the form that can be downloaded below, applicants are encouraged to explore AAA’s online collections, and consider the possibility of referencing art historical materials and research from across Asia as part of their exercises. Later on, we will provide support in exploring connections with our collections more deeply based on the interests of the selected participants.

The selected group of artist-educators will receive an honorarium of HK$10,000, and a budget to test their exercise with their group of learners onsite or online. At the end of the programme, we will feature the new exercises on AAA’s website as part of our Educator’s Resources so that they will be accessible for teachers and learners in the long run.

About AAA

With one of the most valuable growing collections of material on the recent history of art from Asia, freely available from our website and onsite library in Hong Kong, AAA builds tools and communities to collectively expand knowledge and learning through research, residencies, and educational programmes. Asia Art Archive’s collections, as well as extended areas of interest in programmes and research, emphasise art as an entry point to enrich and expand our understanding of the world. Through art, we are able to encounter unfamiliar visual vocabularies, and learn about multiple histories and contexts.

AAA’s Content Priorities

AAA drives the composition of its collections with key areas of concern called “content priorities,” which include examining sites where art history has been written in Asia through the lens of art writing, exhibition-making, and pedagogy; looking at ideas that connect people across national borders; considering tradition and contemporary expression in parallel; investigating ephemeral practices such as performance art; and addressing gaps in art history and in the organisation’s collection such as the underrepresentation of gender diversity.

Participants are invited to respond to the online collections, as well as thematically to these content priorities.

AAA’s Learning & Participation Programme

Established in 2009, AAA’s Learning & Participation has been shaping art and education in Hong Kong by offering programmes and online resources for teachers’ professional development. It strives to address the regional lack of contemporary art materials in education, and has been working closely with teachers and artists to explore the role of art and the possibilities it enables in twenty-first century education.

In 2020, in response to the pandemic, we launched a series of Artist Exercises—the first batch themed “Learning at Home,” which invited local and international artists to design a range of educational activities students can carry out at home during school suspension. This open call furthers our experience with this series by collaborating with artist-educators to find connections between their work in their specific contexts, and resources on modern and contemporary art from Asia.

Selection Criteria

This Open Call is open to both early career as well as experienced artist-educators. It is also open for collectives who are involved with art education and pedagogy, where it will be considered as one application. The selection of proposals will be based on the urgency and relevance of the exercise for the community of learners, and its potential to be applied to teachers and learners in varied geographical contexts. This cohort will be composed with the intention of representing diverse regions.

Application Guidelines

To apply, please do the following:

  1. Download this form and fill out the questions.
  2. Create a word document/PDF between 3-5 pages with images and captions of some of your artist-educator workshops and experiences

Please email the documents specified above to programmes@aaa.org.hk by Monday, 20 Dec 2021. Please list your name (last name, first name) and location in the subject line of the email. We will respond to applicants by Fri, 14 January 2022.


In order to enable you to access our online resources, we have created a video guide below. Please write to us if you are having any trouble navigating the collections on programmes@aaa.org.hk

Using the Asia Art Archive Collections | English

This is part of the AAA Learning and Participation Programme, supported by the S. H. Ho Foundation Limited and C. K. and Kay Ho Foundation.

亞洲藝術文獻庫現向駐亞洲的藝術家兼教育工作者徵集方案,為學習群體設計創意練習內容。參與者可自由索閱文獻庫的線上館藏,從大量有關近當代亞洲藝術史的文獻資料中擷取靈感。我們誠邀藝術家兼教育工作者與文獻庫團隊緊密合作,為學習群體設計教學練習,冀能將歷史背景、藝術實踐和當前的教學需要融會貫通,締造有意義的學習體驗。

為期六個月的計劃將取錄六至八位亞洲區內的藝術家兼教育工作者,以團隊形式共同協作,組成一個小型的同儕網絡,在線上互相討論協作,在線下醞釀初步構想并各自進行方案的實體練習。計劃的目的是為學員和教師提供工具,利用藝術文獻和資料,進行以創作和研究為本的學習。

我們希望透過計劃,就藝術家兼教育工作者所面對的迫切議題展開對話,讓身處不同地域、實踐不同教學方式及面對不同學習需求的參加者互相砥礪,彼此扶持。 

計劃旨在就區內多元的背景和歷史,進行跨文化的對照。例如,斯里蘭卡的教師可以連繫一幅來自香港的檔案照片;新加坡的學生可以將自身的經驗,比對巴基斯坦一篇以手工藝為題的文獻;而尼泊爾一個有關性別與藝術的課程單元,亦可以對照泰國一個由女性主導的雙年展。

有意參與計劃的藝術家兼教育工作者,請於建議書中闡述其藝術家練習的初步構想,並說明練習擬引導學習群體探討的主題。我們鼓勵申請人在提交建議書前,先行探索文獻庫的線上館藏,並考慮將比對亞洲各地藝術史料和研究納入其練習的可能性。我們將於稍後向獲選參加者提供協助,讓他們進一步探索練習主題與文獻庫館藏的連繫。

獲選的藝術家兼教育工作者,將可獲港幣10,000元酬金,與學員模擬線上或實地練習所需的預算開支,亦概由文獻庫承擔。我們將於計劃結束後,將擬好的新練習上載於文獻庫網站,作為「教學資源」,供教師和學員使用。

關於亞洲藝術文獻庫

亞洲藝術文獻庫擁有其中一系列最珍貴的亞洲近代藝術史料,與日俱增的館藏開放予公眾於線上及位於香港的實體圖書館免費索閱。文獻庫的宗旨是建立工具和社群,透過研究項目、駐場計劃及教育活動集思廣益,共同開闢更廣闊的知識領域。亞洲藝術文獻庫的館藏,以至觸及不同範疇的活動和研究,皆強調藝術作為增廣見聞、開拓眼界的切入點,豐富我們對世界的理解。透過藝術,我們得以接觸非一般的視覺語言,學習不同的歷史和文化語境。

亞洲藝術文獻庫重點議題

文獻庫的館藏建基於下列多個我們重點關注的範疇:亞洲區內的藝術書寫、展覽及教學如何建構亞洲藝術史;跨越以至凝聚不同國界的共同理念﹙地緣﹚;傳統如何豐富當代藝術的發表和創作;瞬間即逝的藝術實踐,如行為藝術;以及應對藝術史和文獻庫館藏未能涵蓋的範疇,如對多元性別論述的不足等。
我們邀請參加者回應我們的線上館藏,就上述題旨作出反響。

亞洲藝術文獻庫「學習與參與計劃」

亞洲藝術文獻庫學習與參與計劃始於2009年,我們希望透過為教師提供專業發展所需的教學活動及線上資源,為香港的藝術和教育提供更多元的發展方向。學習與參與計劃致力於填補亞洲區內當代藝術教材的不足,與教師和藝術家緊密合作,一同探索藝術在二十一世紀教育中的角色與可能。

我們於2020年發表一系列「藝術家練習」,因應疫情,以「在家學習」為首個主題,邀請本土及海外藝術家設計多個教學活動,讓學生可於停課期間在家學習。是次公開方案徵集,旨在透過與藝術家兼教育工作者合作,試圖將其框定於特定語境中的教育工作與亞洲現代及當代藝術文獻連繫,進一步擴闊系列所帶出的體驗。

入圍準則

是次公開招募活動歡迎新晉及資深的藝術家兼教育工作者參加。我們將按方案的迫切性、對學習社群是否有切身關聯,以及於不同地域語境中的教學應用潛質,就建議書進行篩選。入圍的參加者將盡可能代表區內的多元地域。

申請指南

有意參加者,請按以下步驟申請:

  1. 下載本表格(表格僅提供英文版),並回答表格內的問題。
  2. 提交三至五頁的個人簡歷,以圖片和說明文字簡介你作為藝術家兼教育工作者的經驗及曾帶領的工作坊,簡歷的格式須為文字檔/PDF檔案。

請於20211220日(星期一)或以前,將上述文件電郵至programmes@aaa.org.hk。請於電郵的主題欄中註明你的名字(姓氏及名字)和所在地區。我們將於2022114日(星期五或以前回覆各位申請者。(暫僅接受英語方案申請)

為確保你能使用我們的線上資源,請參考以下的視頻指南。如你於瀏覽館藏時有任何問題,請致函programmes@aaa.org.hk

Using the Asia Art Archive Collections | English

本活動為文獻庫「學習及參與計劃」的一部分,由何善衡慈善基金會有限公司及C. K. and Kay Ho Foundation慷慨贊助。