Learning What Can’t Be Taught reflects on changes in art education in China from the 1950s to the 2000s. It focuses on six artists from three generations who were each other’s teachers and students at the Zhejiang Academy of Fine Arts in Hangzhou. The school, now called China Academy of Art, was established in 1928 as the first art academy in the country. The exhibition explores how Chinese artists across generations learnt in and outside of classrooms, and proposes lines of continuity among these artists: what guidance did they receive from their teachers, and how did this, in turn, influence the way they taught art? On display are rarely seen artworks, archival materials, and video interviews with Zheng Shengtian, Jin Yide, Zhang Peili, Geng Jianyi, Lu Yang, and Jiang Zhuyun.

The Zhejiang Academy is renowned for the number of graduates who went on to become leading artists in the landmark Avant-Garde Movement of 1985 and 1986, which emerged after the Cultural Revolution. These artists include Zhang Peili and Geng Jianyi, who respectively graduated from the Zhejiang Academy in 1984 and 1985. Zhang and Geng tested the limits of their training in Socialist Realism, creating works that were criticised for having “too much emphasis on individualism.”

The sense of individualism was partly made possible with the ethos embodied by two of the most influential artist-teachers, Zheng Shengtian and Jin Yide, who had studied at the Academy in the 1950s, when China’s art education was heavily influenced by the Soviet system. After China’s split with the Soviet Union in 1960, many artists sought inspiration from Eastern Europe and Latin America. However, freedom in art education was short-lived. Following the Great Leap Forward and the Cultural Revolution, art became instrumentalised by politics. Those who survived the campaigns became the main driving force for reforming art education.

In the 2000s, China’s economy grew significantly with the impact of globalisation, and university education expanded. Founded in 2003 at the China Academy of Art, the New Media Department became a pioneer in formalising contemporary art education. Zhang Peili served as the head of department, and Geng Jianyi was among the outstanding professors. At the end of the seven years of operation, the department had more than 300 graduates—including Lu Yang and Jiang Zhuyun, who are two of the most prominent artists of their generation.

Learning What Can’t Be Taught contributes to a history of art education in China and traces the relationships between these six artists within a pedagogical context. While the Zhejiang Academy of Fine Arts promoted diversity and artistic innovation, inspiring generations of artists since the 1930s, its administration and education policies have also been dominated by the Communist Party since the 1950s. This exhibition explores how these six artists were able to carve out space for experimentation for themselves and for others. While they each work with different styles and methods, this project proposes that educational backgrounds can reveal lineages of artistic attitudes, while also complicating conventional narratives about art history in China.

Image: Reviewing admission applications to Zhejiang Academy of Fine Arts, 1977, detail. Zheng Shengtian Archive, AAA Collection.
Image: Reviewing admission applications to Zhejiang Academy of Fine Arts, 1977, detail. Zheng Shengtian Archive, AAA Collection.

Jin Yide (b. 1935, Shaoxing, Zhejiang) graduated from the Oil Painting Department at the Zhejiang Academy of Fine Arts in 1959. Jin studied with Romanian painter Eugen Popa from 1960 to 1962 and was Ni Yide's teaching assistant in 1962 and 1963. He worked as a teacher of the Oil Painting Department from the 1960s to the 1990s. He lives and works in Hangzhou.

Zheng Shengtian (b. 1938, Luoshan, Henan) graduated from the Oil Painting Department at the Zhejiang Academy of Fine Arts in 1958. He was a visiting professor at the University of Minnesota from 1981 to 1983. He taught oil painting at his alma mater and served as the department chair in the 1980s. He moved to Vancouver in the 1990s and co-founded Yishu: Journal of Contemporary Chinese Art, the first English magazine on contemporary Chinese art, in 2002. Zheng lives and works in Vancouver.

Geng Jianyi (b. 1962, Zhengzhou, Henan; d. 2017, Hangzhou) graduated from the Oil Painting Department at the Zhejiang Academy of Fine Arts in 1985. Geng was a co-founder of the Pond Society, a Hangzhou-based artist collective active from 1986 to 1989, and an important figure in China's '85 New Wave movement. He was a professor in the New Media Department at his alma mater from 2004 to 2010.

Zhang Peili (b. 1957, Hangzhou) graduated from the Oil Painting Department at the Zhejiang Academy of Fine Arts in 1984. He was a co-founder of the Pond Society, a Hangzhou-based artist collective active from 1986 to 1989. Zhang served as the director of the New Media Department at the China Academy of Arts from 2003 to 2010. He lives and works in Hangzhou.

Jiang Zhuyun (b. 1984, Hangzhou) graduated from the New Media Department at the China Academy of Arts in 2007 and received a master's degree from the School of Intermedia Art in 2014. Based in Hangzhou, he currently teaches at the School of Intermedia Art.

Lu Yang (b. 1984, Shanghai) received a BA and MA from the New Media Art Department at the China Academy of Art in 2007 and 2010, respectively. She is currently pursuing a PhD at the School of Intermedia Art at the China Academy of Art. Lu lives and works in Shanghai.

Learning What Can’t Be Taught is curated by Anthony Yung with Özge Ersoy, with the production support of Young One Cheung and Helena Halim.

Sponsors:
Wendy Lee & Stephen Li; Virginia & Wellington Yee

Relevant content

Contemporary Oil Paintings from the People's Republic of China (Exhibition Opening)
Zheng Shengtian Archive 鄭勝天檔案
Collection

Zheng Shengtian Archive 鄭勝天檔案

Special29
Materials of the Future: Documenting Contemporary Chinese Art from 1980-1990 未來的材料:記錄1980-1990年的中國當代藝術
Collection

Materials of the Future: Documenting Contemporary Chinese Art from 1980-1990 未來的材料:記錄1980-1990年的中國當代藝術

Special49
Zhang Peili Archive 張培力檔案
Collection

Zhang Peili Archive 張培力檔案

JA Convo_edit
Building Asia Art Archive, Part 3
Ideas | Conversations

Building Asia Art Archive, Part 3

How does AAA make decisions about what it collects? Jane DeBevoise and Anthony Yung discuss AAA’s China projects in relation to this query

Performance1983Homelist
Pedagogy as Practice
Programmes

Pedagogy as Practice

3 December 2019–4 July 2020

Shapes of Knowledge
Shapes of Knowledge
Exhibition Catalogue

Shapes of Knowledge

《學不可教》探討1950年代至2000年代中國藝術教育的轉變,展覽聚焦於六位藝術家的經歷,他們曾於浙江美術學院就讀或任教,是該校來自三個年代的師生。該學院於1928年成立,可算是現代中國最早的一所美術學院,現名為中國美術學院。展覽探索藝術家在不同年代的求學歷程,並就他們所學如何影響日後的傳承,提供解讀脈絡。展覽包括罕見的藝術品和文獻資料,以及參展藝術家,即鄭勝天、金一德、張培力、耿建翌、陸揚和蔣竹韵的訪問片段。

在文化大革命後當年活躍於運動中有不少浙江美術學院的畢業生,包括張培力和耿建翌。張、耿二人於1984年和1985年先後從浙江美院畢業,他們在老師鼓勵下,嘗試挑戰社會現實主義藝術訓練的界限,創作出的作品卻被保守派批評為「太著重個人主義」。

張培力和耿建翌的老師當中,要數金一德和鄭勝天最具影響力。他們於1950年代修讀藝術,當時中國藝術教育深受蘇聯影響。1960年代初中蘇決裂,一些中國藝術家在東歐及拉丁美洲藝術中尋找新靈感。然而,藝術教育只經歷短暫的自由。在大躍進和文化大革命中,藝術只能作為政治宣傳工具。1976年文革結束,在極端政治運動後幸存的藝術家,即成為新時期革新藝術教育的主導力量。金、鄭二人即屬此輩人物中的翹楚。

步入千禧年代,中國受惠於全球化,經濟飛快增長,繼而帶動了社會轉型,大學教育亦相應擴張。中國藝術學院的新媒體藝術系於2003年創立,成為塑造當代藝術教育的先驅。張培力為該系系主任,而耿建翌為學系中傑出的藝術教育家。經過七年的運作,學系畢業生超過300人,包括活躍於當今藝壇的藝術家陸揚及蔣竹韻。

《學不可教》為中國藝術教育史增補缺漏,在教學法層面追蹤六位藝術家之間的傳承脈絡。縱然浙江美術學院提倡創新多元,自1930年代起啟發不同世代的藝術家,但其行政及教育政策自1950年代起遭受極端政治運動主導。展覽探索六位藝術家如何在困難環境下開拓實驗空間,他們的創作風格和方法縱然迥異,但此展覽透視出教育背景如何揭示藝術態度的傳承,及在常規中國藝術史論述中展現複雜面向。

英語展覽導賞|翁子健及Özge Ersoy
廣東話展覽導賞|翁子健
Video: Interview with the artists about the 1980s, 12'27''. Produced by AAA in 2020.
Video: Interview with the artists about the 1960s, 19'54''. Produced by AAA in 2020.

金一德(1935年生於浙江紹興)於1959年從浙江美術學院油畫系畢業。金氏由1960年至1962年跟隨羅馬尼亞畫家Eugen Popa學習,1962年至1963年為倪貽德的教學助理。他自1960年代起至1990年代任教於油畫系,現於杭州居住及工作。

鄭勝天(1938年生於河南羅山)於1958年從浙江美術學院油畫系畢業。他由1981年至1983年為明尼蘇達大學的訪問教授。他於母校教授油畫,並為該系1980年代之系主任。於1990年代,鄭氏移居溫哥華,並於2002年共同創辦首份英語的中國當代藝術雜誌《Yishu: Journal of Contemporary Chinese Art》。鄭氏現於溫哥華居住及工作。

耿建翌(1962年生於河南鄭州,2017年卒於杭州)於1985年從浙江美術學院油畫系畢業。耿氏為「池社」之共同創辦人,此為於1986年至1989年活躍於杭州的藝術團體,亦是中國 '85新潮的重要成員。他於2004年至2010年曾任其母校新媒體藝術系的教授。

張培力(1957年生於杭州)於1984年從浙江美術學院油畫系畢業。他是「池社」(1986年至1989年活躍於杭州的藝術團體)之共同創辦人。張氏於2003年至2010年為中國藝術學院新媒體藝術系之系主任。他現於杭州居住及工作。

蔣竹韻(1984年生於杭州)於2007年從中國美術學院新媒體藝術系畢業,2014年獲跨媒體藝術系碩士學位。他現居杭州,並任教於跨媒體藝術系。

陸揚(1984年生於上海)於2007年及2010年取得中國美術學院新媒體藝術系的學士及碩士學位。她現於該學院跨媒體藝術系攻讀博士學位,於上海居住及工作。

 

《學不可教》為亞洲藝術文獻庫二十周年慶典活動之一,由翁子健及Özge Ersoy策展,並由林心儀和張恩韻提供製作支援。

贊助:

Wendy Lee & Stephen Li; Virginia & Wellington Yee

設計夥伴:

UUH OOH; Going Merry Studio Ltd.

支持:

聖軒藝術服務

 

相關內容

Contemporary Oil Paintings from the People's Republic of China (Exhibition Opening)
Zheng Shengtian Archive 鄭勝天檔案
館藏

Zheng Shengtian Archive 鄭勝天檔案

Special29
Materials of the Future: Documenting Contemporary Chinese Art from 1980-1990 未來的材料:記錄1980-1990年的中國當代藝術
館藏

Materials of the Future: Documenting Contemporary Chinese Art from 1980-1990 未來的材料:記錄1980-1990年的中國當代藝術

Special49
Zhang Peili Archive 張培力檔案
館藏

Zhang Peili Archive 張培力檔案

JA Convo
建構亞洲藝術文獻庫——第三節
藝文 | 對話

建構亞洲藝術文獻庫——第三節

杜柏貞與文獻庫研究員翁子健討論亞洲藝術文獻庫在中國有關行為藝術、區域主義、女性藝術工作者和展覽歷史的項目

Teaching Labs_2019_Frog King
建構亞洲藝術文獻庫——第四節
藝文 | 對話

建構亞洲藝術文獻庫——第四節

鍾玉文與郭清夷分享怎樣將當代藝術帶進課室,並關顧受「Zoom 倦怠」煎熬的教育工作者

10
從六位中國藝術家的故事,看藝術教育
藝文 | 文章

從六位中國藝術家的故事,看藝術教育

《學不可教》的策展人翁子健與 Özge Ersoy談藝術教育中的精神傳承

thubmnail
把學過的都忘掉——上篇
藝文 | 對話

把學過的都忘掉——上篇

耶蘇、蔣竹韻、娜布其及苗穎討論中國的美術學院於千禧年代的社會及意識形態轉變

Performance1983Homelist
教育學作為實踐
活動

教育學作為實踐

2019年12月3日至2020年7月4日

 Chen Haiyan, Dream, 4 May 1986 — In the Front Desk, 1986 Leah Lihua Wang, Exchange, 1985_600x500
講座 | 學不可教:與王麗華和陳海燕對話
活動

講座 | 學不可教:與王麗華和陳海燕對話

2021年2月6日 (星期六)
香港時間上午10時至11時30分

Shapes of Knowledge
Shapes of Knowledge
展覽圖錄

Shapes of Knowledge

Mei Shu (Vol 1, 1982)
Mei Shu (Vol 1, 1982)
小誌

Mei Shu (Vol 1, 1982)

Mei Shu (Vol 5, 1983)
Mei Shu (Vol 5, 1983)
小誌

Mei Shu (Vol 5, 1983)

文獻庫圖書館現正進行裝修工程,暫停開放。我們將會在社交媒體公布再度開放日期,請密切留意。我們期待以新面貌與閣下見面。