Made in Commons

 

Talk by Marysia Lewandowska and Esther Lu

The conception and legitimisation of property delineates social relations and political struggles over the past few decades during the rapidly changing modernisation and globalisation process in Asia. To investigate the complexity and diversity of this subject and its consequences for public culture, artist Marysia Lewandowska (London/HK) and curator Esther Lu (Taipei) will open up a process of critical enquiry, launching a dialogue during this lunchtime talk that will build toward their next publishing project. The process of making this book in Asia is envisioned as a collective sharing platform through which to generate content via institutional partnerships and wider participation. Publishing, understood here as the creation of public*, will allow for discursive elements to determine the shape of the future book, actively involving a community of practitioners, researchers, and writers. The writers’ interests lie in creating conditions for an emergent practice and public discussion. This talk will serve as an invitation to form proposals and find new alliances, interventions, and imaginations in the production of the commons.

 

* ‘I am thinking maybe it is not appropriate to use the term "public" in Chinese at this stage, as this is one of the very terms we should work on further identifying in the Chinese language and Asian context through this process. The usual way of translating "public" in Chinese is  公共,and we also translate "common" into 公共。公共 (these two words together as a term) which form a modern concept introduced by the West in relation to the context of a nation or state, and it seems problematic not to distinguish the differences between the two.’ (Esther’s email to Marysia; 7 March 2014)

 

Image: Marysia Lewandowska, Undoing Property?, 2013.
Image: Marysia Lewandowska, Undoing Property?, 2013.
Courtesy of Marysia Lewandowska.

 

Marysia Lewandowska is an artist and visiting professor at the Fine Art Department of CUHK. She is, with Laurel Ptak, editor for Undoing Property? (Sternberg Press, 2013), which is a set of urgent reflections around issues of property, alternative economies, the public realm, and generosity in contemporary society. This talk will be an extension and exploration of Undoing Property? in the context of art, architecture, and design in Asia.

 

Esther Lu is an independent curator based in Taipei. She is interested in exploring practices to mobilise connections and conversations inside and outside of institutions. Her conceptual experiments often address the agency of art and initiate alternative artistic production in-between social scenes in reality and platforms of art in order to investigate the critical role of art today. Lu was the curator for the Taiwanese Pavilion at the 55th Venice Biennale.

Relevant content

15invitations_marysia
15 Invitations | Marysia Lewandowska | Property, Protest, Commons, and the Alternative Economies of Art
Programmes

15 Invitations | Marysia Lewandowska | Property, Protest, Commons, and the Alternative Economies of Art

Apr–May 2015

marysialewandowska_list
Residency Programme | Artist-in-Residence | Marysia Lewandowska
Programmes

Residency Programme | Artist-in-Residence | Marysia Lewandowska

Sep 2014–Aug 2015

Undoing Property?
Undoing Property?
Reference

Undoing Property?

2013

《公/共製造》

經歷過去數十年高速現代化和全球化的影響,「資產」的概念及其合法性之建立過程在亞洲亦相對描繪其中的社會關係及政治難題。為了探討此複雜多樣的議題以及對大眾文化造成的影響,駐香港及倫敦藝術家 Marysia Lewandowska 與來自台灣的策展人呂岱如,將於是次講座就她們新的出版項目展開對話。此出版項目擔當中介者和促進者的角色,在亞洲進行的編輯工作過程同時也是一個共同分享的平台,透過機構間的合作和更廣泛的參與來產生內容。在此前題下,出版項目是「public」(見註一) 的建立,透過積極邀請相關工作者、研究員及作家參與,並以他們所提出的不同觀點來引導此書生產的方向與內涵。此出版項目嘗試為這些處於萌芽階段的實踐及公開討論提供有利條件,通過本講座提出建議、建立新的聯繫、介入方式及想像來建立「commons」(見註一)。


註一:「『 Public 』及『 Common 』一般都翻譯為中文的『公共』,我仍在思考『公共』一詞在目前 ── 此研究的起步階段未必最為適用,這些重要的概念仍然有待我們於中文語境和亞洲脈絡中重新理解。『公共』作為翻譯,由『公』、『共』兩個單字組成,對應現代西方國家概念下有關公共的多重意義,而對此二者並無再作仔細的區分,則仍有所欠缺。」(翻譯及節錄自 2014 年 3 月 7 日呂岱如寄給 Marysia Lewandowska 的電郵)

Image: Marysia Lewandowska, Undoing Property?, 2013.
Image: Marysia Lewandowska, Undoing Property?, 2013.
Courtesy of Marysia Lewandowska.


Marysia Lewandowska 是一位藝術家,現時為香港中文大學藝術系訪問教授。她與 Laurel Ptak 合編的《Undoing Property?》(由 Sternberg Press 於 2013 年出版)反思當代社會中,圍繞資產、另類經濟、公共領域以及慷慨行為的迫切議題。是次講座以亞洲的藝術、建築與設計為背景,延續《Undoing Property?》的討論。

呂岱如現時為駐台北的獨立策展人,她致力於活化各種機制内外的連繫與對話,其觀念性的策展實踐關注藝術的能動性,啟動於現實社會與藝術平台間的另類藝術生產以探討今日藝術的批判角色。她擔任第 55 屆威尼斯雙年展台灣館策展人。

免費登記:registration@aaa.org.hk
名額有限,請先預約。將提供簡單午餐。

相關內容

15invitations_marysia
財產、抗爭、公/共以及藝術的另類經濟
活動 | 15份邀請

財產、抗爭、公/共以及藝術的另類經濟

2015年4月、5月及9月

marysialewandowska_list
駐場藝術家 | Marysia Lewandowska
活動 | 駐場計劃

駐場藝術家 | Marysia Lewandowska

2014年9月至2015年8月

Undoing Property?
Undoing Property?
參考書

Undoing Property?

2013

因應新冠病毒疫情現況,文獻庫圖書館將繼續暫時關閉至2月5日。