Asia Art Archive welcomes educator Caroline Yee Ka Lin to our Residency Programme.

During her residency, Yee will explore inquiry-based learning and creativity through art education by making use of AAA Collections. Yee believes the focus of art and education in the twenty-first century will be on fostering students’ creativity and innovation. Targeting pre-service teachers and new teachers who wish to develop their creative teaching skills, Yee will introduce arts- and learning-based pedagogies through archival resources.

Caroline Yee Ka Lin has been engaged in education in Hong Kong for forty years. She obtained her Art Education Degree in Canada in the 1970s. She was invited by the Education Department and the Examination Authority of Hong Kong to take part in the committee for Art Syllabus review. After serving on the art subject panel of CCC Fung Leung Kit Memorial Secondary School for twenty years, she was appointed principal of the school in 2007, until her retirement in 2015.

Yee served as an adjudicator of the Chief Executive’s Award for Teaching Excellence in 2006 and 2011, and the art education consultant of the Hong Kong Arts Development Council for more than ten years. She has coordinated and promoted the Tai Po NSS Curriculum Networking Programme, which aims at sharing resources amongst schools under the Education Bureau. She also founded the Supply Chain Center of Science and Technology (Tai Po and North District) to promote STEAM education. After retiring in 2015, she served as a consultant at her school, and a school manager of several other schools. She is also committed to the promotion of arts education through partnerships with schools and participating in community mural painting projects.

Yee is now an education consultant at The Education University of Hong Kong and a member of the Jockey Club Creative Arts Centre Management Committee, as well as the executive director of C & S Creative Arts Education Center and the education consultant of Motive Force Technology Limited.

This residency is part of the AAA Learning and Participation Programme, supported by the S. H. Ho Foundation Limited and C. K. and Kay Ho Foundation.

亞洲藝術文獻庫歡迎教育家余嘉蓮參與我們的駐場計劃。

在駐場期間,余嘉蓮將利用文獻庫館藏,探討以研習為本的學習和藝術創作模式。余氏相信 21世紀的藝術和教育將集中於培養學生的創意和創新精神。她將透過文獻資料,向有志發展創意教學技能的職前和新任教師,介紹以藝術和學習為本的教學法。

余嘉蓮在香港從事教育工作40年,於1970年代在加拿大考獲藝術教育學士學位。她曾獲香港教育局及考評局邀請,出任視藝課程檢討委員。余氏曾任中華基督教會馮梁結紀念中學視藝科科主任20多年,後於2007年出任該校校長直至2015年榮休。 

余氏於2006及2011年兩度擔任「行政長官卓越教學獎」評審,亦曾為香港藝術發展局藝術教育顧問逾十年。由她統籌和推廣的「大埔區高中課程聯網計劃」,旨在與教育局轄下學校共享資源。她亦曾創辦科學科技教育供應鏈中心(大埔及北區),推廣STEAM(科學、技術、工程、藝術及數學)教育。余氏於2015年退休後,曾於同校出任顧問,亦先後為多間學校擔任校董。現時,她與多間學校開展合作企劃,推廣藝術教育,亦積極參與多個社區壁畫項目。

余氏現為香港教育大學教育顧問、賽馬會創意藝術中心管理委員會委員、思語創藝教育中心行政總監,以及原動力科技有限公司教育顧問。

本駐場計劃為文獻庫「教育及參與計劃」的一部分,由何善衡慈善基金會有限公司及C. K. and Kay Ho Foundation慷慨贊助。

 

亞洲藝術文獻庫全新圖書館將由10月3日(星期一)起試營,屆時《群策群學》展覽亦會開放參觀,按此預約到訪。