Asia Art Archive welcomes London-based zine librarians Holly Callaghan, Nicola Cook, and Loesja Vigour to our Residency Programme, taking place in conjunction with the launch of our zine collection in AAA Library.

Callaghan has established and developed the zine collections at Stuart Hall Library and Tate Library; Cook and Vigour have built the zine collection at the Wellcome Collection. The common focus of their practice is to showcase zines as a representation of marginalised voices in public institutions. They are part of UK and Ireland Zine Librarians, a voluntary group set up in 2015 to lead discussions on zine collecting, cataloguing, and circulation in public libraries and private collections. They often collaborate to deliver zine reading groups and facilitate zine cataloguing workshops.

During their residency, Callaghan, Cook, and Vigour conduct research on zine practices in Hong Kong, and will give a public talk, “Cata-log-in Zines,” with Hong Kong–based art publishing collective Display Distribute on Tuesday, 9 April, at AAA.

Following the talk, a cataloguing workshop (by invitation only) will take place on Thursday, 11 April. If you are interested in the workshop, please contact Elaine Lin at elaine@aaa.org.hk.

This residency is developed by AAA in partnership with the Wellcome Trust. The programme is part of Contagious Cities, an international collaborative project that aims to support locally grounded conversations around the global challenges of epidemic preparedness. The project proposes a reading between the notion of contagion, and zines as an art medium that spreads ideas without control.

Image: Asia Art Archive zine collection. Photo: Stephen Lam.
Image: Asia Art Archive zine collection. Photo: Stephen Lam.

Holly Callaghan is Senior Liaison Librarian at Tate Library where she acquires, catalogues, and provides access to library materials focusing on contemporary international art. She developed the zine collection at Tate in 2014 and previously established the zine collection at INIVA’s Stuart Hall Library with Sonia Hope. In 2015, she co-founded the UK and Ireland Zine Librarians group with Leila Kassir and edited the first issue of the UK and Ireland Zine Librarians zine. Callaghan is also a maker of queer DIY zines and comics about class, body positivity, pop culture, and mental health.

Nicola Cook began sourcing and collecting zines for Wellcome Library in 2016, to complement the library's existing graphic medicine holdings and to diversify the perspectives of health in the collection. Along with Loesja Vigour, she devised cataloguing procedures and held a series of group cataloguing workshops, effectively working through and making available the hundreds of zines acquired during that time. In late 2018, Cook began a secondment at Tate Library, and currently works alongside Holly Callaghan as a Senior Liaison Librarian.

Loesja Vigour is a Librarian at Wellcome Collection, where she develops and manages the zine collection. She also oversees the journals collection, organises public programmes, and catalogues ephemera, grey literature, and rare pamphlets. She organised Wellcome’s first Pop-Up Zine Library and all-day Zine Club with Nicola Cook, showcasing the library’s growing collection of zines focused around the lived experience of the human condition and the links between science, medicine, life, and art.

 

Relevant content

Zine_002
Zine
Collection | Themes

Zine

AAA Library collects zines made by artists and art spaces, and also zines about recent art from Asia. Zines are not only a medium for artistic expression, but a space for unfiltered voices, with creators retaining complete control over the content, format, means of production, and distribution of their zines. The selection of zines on this page covers a wide range of topics—sociopolitical movements, activism, community, identity, gender, self-publishing, and more—showcasing diverse interests and contemporary concerns from an artistic perspective.

Shortlist | The Semi-Autonomous Zine
Shortlist | The Semi-Autonomous Zine: Charting Margins and Peripheries in Independent Publishing
Ideas | Collection Spotlight

Shortlist | The Semi-Autonomous Zine: Charting Margins and Peripheries in Independent Publishing

Recommended readings on zine and independent publishing cultures in East and South East Asia

Zine_009
Cata-log-in Zines
Programmes

Cata-log-in Zines

Tue, 9 Apr 2019, 7 – 8:30 PM

亞洲藝術文獻庫榮幸邀得駐倫敦小誌圖書管理員Holly Callaghan、Nicola Cook及Loesja Vigour參與我們的駐場計劃,其加盟亦標誌著文獻庫圖書館新小誌館藏的成立。

Callaghan 曾建立並發展Stuart Hall Library及Tate Library的小誌館藏;Cook及Vigour則曾為Wellcome Collection建立小誌館藏。他們同樣將小誌視為公共機構中代表邊緣化群眾的媒介,亦同為志願小組UK and Ireland Zine Librarians之成員。該小組於2015年成立,旨在引領有關公共圖書館及私人藏品之小誌收集、編目及流通的討論。他們經常與不同機構合作舉辦小誌閱讀小組及小誌編目工作坊。

在駐場計劃期間,Callaghan、Cook及Vigour將研究香港不同團體處理小誌的慣常做法,並與香港藝術出版群體「展銷場」在文獻庫於4月9日(星期二)舉行的講座「做咩Zine」中主講。

其後,三人亦會於4月11日(星期四)舉辦編目工作坊(憑邀請入場)。有意參加者請與林亦凌 (elaine@aaa.org.hk) 聯絡。

此講座及駐場計劃由文獻庫和Wellcome Trust聯合策劃,為疫症都市計劃的一部分。「疫症都市」旨在透過國際協作推動全球疫症預防的地區討論,並提倡小誌作為無限制意念傳播之藝術媒介和「傳染」此一概念的並置閱讀。

圖片:亞洲藝術文獻庫小誌館藏。林兆輝攝。
圖片:亞洲藝術文獻庫小誌館藏。林兆輝攝。

Holly Callaghan為Tate Library高級聯絡圖書管理員,負責搜集及編目有關國際當代藝術的圖書館藏,並提供檢索渠道。她於2014年在Tate建立了小誌館藏,又與 Sonia Hope在INIVA的Stuart Hall Library建立小誌館藏。2015年,她與Leila Kassir在英國及愛爾蘭創立Zine Librarians小組,同時為英國及愛爾蘭小誌Zine Librarians創刊號之編輯。Callaghan 亦曾創作酷兒DIY 小誌以及關於階級、身體正向、流行文化及精神健康的漫畫。

Nicola Cook於2016年開始為Wellcome Library蒐集小誌,補增該圖書館的醫學圖像藏品,更新「健康」相關的館藏。她曾與Loesja Vigour共同設計編目程序,並舉辦一系列的團體編目工作坊,有效地整理及公開當時所收集的數百本小誌。Cook在2018年下旬被調派至 Tate Library,現職該圖書館之高級聯絡圖書管理員,與Holly Callaghan共事。

Loesja Vigour為Wellcome Collection的圖書管理員,負責發展及管理小誌館藏。她亦負責監察期刊館藏、籌辦公眾活動,以及為印刷品、灰色文獻及稀有小册子編目。她曾與Nicola Cook共同籌辦Wellcome的首次期間限定小誌圖書館及全日 Zine Club,展示圖書館的小誌館藏,其內容圍繞人類處境中的生存經驗,以及科學、醫學、生命及藝術之間的連結。

 

相關內容

home zine
尋文覓藝 | 某年某月某地,某人想告訴你
藝文 | 館藏推介

尋文覓藝 | 某年某月某地,某人想告訴你

張嘉倫探索文獻庫中有關目前社會運動的小誌館藏。

Zine_009
做咩Zine
活動

做咩Zine

2019年4月9日 (星期二)
下午7時至8時30分

因應新冠病毒疫情現況,文獻庫圖書館將繼續暫時關閉至2月5日。