Song Dong | 36 Calenders
Artist Statement

In 2011, I had the privilege of being an Artist-in-residence at Asia Art Archive and the opportunity to explore the vastness of its collection. When I found material connected to my personal growth which was dear to me, I realised what an important role an archive plays in our lives, existing in both a visible and invisible form.

I am a person who writes his diary with water; I find meaning in both tangible and intangible expression. Therefore, I began this project by asking 'what is an archive?' The 'making of an archive' became my initial concept.

2012 was a special year. The Mayan Calendar came to an end on 21 December 2012. Many considered this date the end of our civilisation, a phenomenon we also experienced in 1999. Though we cannot be certain when the actual end will come, it is sure to come some day. Meanwhile, we still have to live each day before the ending. My attitude is to embrace the end as well as the beginning, to take every end as a sort of new beginning.

There is no objective time. The Mayans have their own calendar and I believe that as the world is basically defined by different concepts of time, everybody can have his/her own way to experience time. We mark time in an attempt to prove its existence. And yet, it still exists regardless of any documentation.

- Song Dong

 

Conceived and initiated during his residency at Asia Art Archive in October 2011 and January 2012, Beijing-based artist Song Dong spent more than a year to realise his first solo exhibition in Hong Kong, 'Song Dong: 36 Calendars'. This ambitious participatory project involved the re-writing of the last 36 years of history (1978-2013) from his personal perspective in the form of 36 years of hand-drawn, wire-bound annual household wall calendars. Each of the 432 months was accompanied by a sketch of a significant historical event, relaying Song's long-time interest in socio-political history, individual experience, and art history. During the exhibition opening on 21 January 2013, the artist invited over 400 members of the public to collaborate with him to complete the project by adding, changing, or editing individual months according to their own memories of historical events. Alongside Song's version of the calendar, participants' creations added another layer to the artwork, on display throughout the exhibition period. This exhibition was co-presented by Asia Art Archive (AAA) and Mobile M+ of the West Kowloon Cultural District Authority at ArtisTree, TaiKoo Place, Island East in Hong Kong from 22 January to 8 February 2013. 

About Song Dong

Song Dong was born in Beijing in 1966. He graduated from the Fine Arts Department of Capital Normal University in 1989 and has since become one of China's leading conceptual artists. Song has utilized a great range of artistic approaches—from performance to photography, projection, video, and installation—to question our notions of perception and articulate the ephemeral nature of existence and tradition. Bridging the divides between the poetic and the political, the personal and the universal, Song uses art as a means of exploring or unlocking the relationships within his family, the public, and even objects, physical spaces, and history.

Song Dong has participated in numerous international exhibitions including Documenta (2012), the Venice Biennale (2011), Liverpool Biennial (2010), São Paolo Biennale (2004), Istanbul Biennale (2003), Gwangju Biennale (1995, 2002, and 2006), Asia-Pacific Triennale of Contemporary Art (2002), Guangzhou Triennial (2002), Taipei Biennale (2002), and 18th World Wide Video Festival (2000). In 2009, the solo exhibition, 'Project 90: Song Dong' was unveiled at The Museum of Modern Art, New York. In 2001, Song set up the collaborative project 'The Way of Chopsticks' with artist Yin Xiuzhen and in 2005 he co-founded the artist group Polit-Sheer-Form-Office with Hong Hao, Xiao Yu, Liu Jianhua, and Leng Lin. Song was a UNESCO/ASCHBERG Bursary Laureate in 2000 and received the Grand Award from the 2006 Gwangju Biennale, the Annual Award from the Fifth Artron Art China in 2010, and Certificate of Honor from the Board of Supervisors of the City and County of San Francisco in 2011. Song Dong currently lives and works in Beijing.

 

Co-presented with 
Mobile M+ of the West Kowloon Cultural District Authority


Venue Sponsor 
Swire Properties 

Special Thanks to 
Ronald & Johanna Arculli
Burger Collection
Ali & Amna Naqvi
Sovereign Art Foundation
Spring Workshop

Exclusive Newspaper Partner 
South China Morning Post 

Media Partners 
The House News 
Milk Magazine
Time Out
Hong Kong Timable

Affiliated Programme Partners 
30SGroup 
artmatters
Luke Ching 
Adam Bobbette, Melissa Cate Christ, and Andrew Toland, Division of Landscape Architecture, HKU General Education Unit, The University of Hong Kong
Hong Kong Society For Education In Art 
Leung Mee Ping 
MAD 

Supported by 
Sutton PR Asia
YOUC1000
 

Relevant content

Song Dong: 36 Calendars (English Translation)
Song Dong: 36 Calendars (English Translation)
Artist Monograph

Song Dong: 36 Calendars (English Translation)

2012

Song Dong: 36 Calendars (Traditional Chinese Version)
Song Dong: 36 Calendars (Traditional Chinese Version)
Artist Monograph

Song Dong: 36 Calendars (Traditional Chinese Version)

宋冬:三十六曆(繁體中文版本)
2012

AAA relies on your generous support to grow, activate, and make freely accessible our collection of materials on art in Asia. Please consider making a small donation to our 2021 Annual Fundraiser, ending on 29 Oct.

《宋冬:三十六 曆》
藝術家自述 

2011 年我有幸到亞洲藝術文獻庫做駐場藝術家,一頭紮到文獻堆中探究,尤其是看到與自己成長有關的文獻感到格外親切,文獻確實在我們的生活中佔有重要位置,她以有形或無形的各種方式呈現著。

我是水寫日記的人,「無」對於我來說是極大的「有」,而「有」也是極大的「無」。什麼是文獻?「製造文獻」也就成了我這個提問的開始。

2012 是一個特殊的年份,瑪雅曆到了2012 年12 月21日就結束了。很多人把這天當作「世界末日」。其實這種「末日心態」,在1999 年也出現過。我們並不確定這一天何時到來,但終有一天它將降臨。但無論是哪天,我們仍然要度過那之前的日子。我喜歡「無始無終」,「終結」是另一個「開始」。

瑪雅人有自己的「曆」,而我們每個人也都有自己的「曆」,世界就是由這些無數的不同的「曆」構成。其實並沒有絕對意義上的客觀。記了,似乎就在了。但不記,仍然也存在。我們與時間似乎是無縫地粘在一起,但我們留下的只是若干個片段,我從這些文獻中獲得靈感,並把我多年來對掛曆的記憶和研究融入到這個「製造文獻」的工作中。在我的記憶中,「掛曆」從六七十年代的「權力奢侈品」,到八十年代的「時尚藝術品」,再到今天被「過度包裝」的沒人待見的「奢華禮品」的發展過程,儼然成為了這個快速變化時代的縮影。這個曾給人們以未來的「時間刻度」,又成為人們看過去的
「時間文獻」。

— 宋冬

 

此項目的概念源於2011年10月及2012年1月在文獻庫的駐場計劃,駐北京藝術家宋冬以超過一年的時間籌備於香港舉辦的首個個展《宋冬:三十六  曆》。於這個龐大項目中,他以手繪的家居鐵線圈掛曆,重寫記憶中過去36年(1978-2013)的歷史。這432個月中,每一個月份他都繪畫一件重大的歷史事件,反映了藝術家對社會政治歷史、個人經驗以及藝術史等議題的長期關注。於2013年1月21日展覽開幕當日,藝術家邀請了超過400位公眾,按個人經歷增刪補改掛曆的內容。展覽分別展出宋冬原初的版本,以及經公眾參與修改的另一版本。是次展覽由亞洲藝術文獻庫(文獻庫)與西九文化區管理局M+進行合辦於香港太古坊 ArtisTree 舉行,展期為2013年1月22日至2月8日。

 

關於宋冬

宋冬1966年出生於北京,1989年畢業於北京首都師範大學美術系,是中國重要的當代藝術家。宋冬在作品中融入多種藝術手法,包括行為藝術、攝影、投影、錄影和裝置,並以此來質疑感知的概念、表述存在和傳統的短暫本質。宋冬利用藝術來探索或解放自己和家人、公眾、甚至物理空間、歷史、物體之間的關係,並為詩歌與政治、個人與宇宙之間搭建起溝通的橋樑。

宋冬參與多個國際大型展覽,包括卡塞爾文獻展(2012)、威尼斯雙年展(2011)、利物浦雙年展(2010)、聖保羅雙年展(2004)、伊斯坦堡雙年展(2003)、光州國際當代藝術雙年展(1995、2002及2006)、亞太當代藝術三年展(2002)、廣州三年展(2002)、台北雙年展(2002)及第十八屆全球錄像節(2000)。2009年於紐約現代藝術博物館舉行個展《物盡其用》。2001年與藝術家尹秀珍合作項目《筷道》。2005年與洪浩、簫昱、劉建華、冷林成立藝術家團體「政治純形式辦公室」。宋冬獲聯合國教科文組織頒發青年藝術家獎(2000)、光州國際當代藝術雙年展大獎(2006)、AAC 藝術中國年度影響力評選(2010)以及美國舊金山市榮譽證書(2011)。宋冬現於北京生活及工作。

相關內容

Song Dong: 36 Calendars (English Translation)
Song Dong: 36 Calendars (English Translation)
藝術家專集

Song Dong: 36 Calendars (English Translation)

2012

Song Dong: 36 Calendars (Traditional Chinese Version)
Song Dong: 36 Calendars (Traditional Chinese Version)
藝術家專集

Song Dong: 36 Calendars (Traditional Chinese Version)

宋冬:三十六曆(繁體中文版本)
2012

亞洲藝術文獻庫全新圖書館將由10月3日(星期一)起試營,屆時《群策群學》展覽亦會開放參觀,按此預約到訪。