The Changing Stakes of Exhibitions III: Yung Ma & Yang Yeung

Talk by Hong Kong-based curators Yung Ma and Yang Yeung.

Exhibitions are where artworks meet their publics. In Asia, with the general absence of systematic public collections and few academic art history departments, exhibitions are more than just sites of display and interaction. Exhibitions—and the curatorial strategies shaping them, institutional demands driving them, and art writing accompanying them—have become the primary sites of art historical construction.

 
Complementing the latest issue of Field Notes, 'Publics, Histories, Value: The Changing Stakes of Exhibitions' is a talk series featuring international and Hong Kong-based curators, educators, and artists responding to and enriching the contents of the e-journal.

The third and final talk in the series features Hong Kong-based curators Yung Ma and Yang Yeung, whose work with moving image, sound, and digital media questions standard presentation forms and practices to reimagine sites of interaction and engagement for artists and their publics.

Yung Ma is Associate Curator of Moving Image at M+, Hong Kong. Ma was Co-Curator for Lee Kit's 'You (you).' (2013) and Assistant Curator and Project Manager of Pak Sheung Chuen's 'Making (Perfect) Word: Harbour, Hong Kong, Alienated Cities and Dreams' (2009) at la Biennale di Venezia. Ma previously served as Assistant Curator for Para Site Art Space, Hong Kong, and also contributes regularly to publications and exhibition catalogues. He holds a MA in Curating Contemporary Art from the Royal College of Art in London, and a BA in Fine Art and Japanese from the University of Reading.


Yang Yeung is an independent curator, writer, and educator. She writes about art, teaches classics at the Chinese University of Hong Kong (CUHK), and organises exhibitions and related programmes. Yeung founded soundpocket in 2008 to promote interdisciplinary research, curatorial practices, and public education in sound, art, and culture. She holds an MA in Anthropology from Yale University and a PhD in Intercultural Studies at the Chinese University of Hong Kong.
__

The fourth issue of Field Notes'Publics, Histories, Value: The Changing Stakes of Exhibitions' takes as its point of departure, the 2013 symposium Sites of Construction: Exhibitions and the Making of Recent Art History in Asia, and carries the exploration forward to an expanded set of geographies, models, and ideas to emphasise alternative ways of seeing and approaching exhibitions, and their contribution to the writing of multiple histories of art today.

Relevant content

Special177
Francesca Dal Lago Archive 茀蘭檔案
Collection

Francesca Dal Lago Archive 茀蘭檔案

FN4
Publics, Histories, Value: The Changing Stakes of Exhibitions
Ideas | Essays

Publics, Histories, Value: The Changing Stakes of Exhibitions

Note from the Editors

sitesofConstruction_list
Sites of Construction
Programmes

Sites of Construction

August - October 2013

phonemaandimage_list
Image and Phenomena: The Development of Video Art in China, 1988-1998
Programmes

Image and Phenomena: The Development of Video Art in China, 1988-1998

Wed, 25 Jun 2014, 6:30 – 8 PM

展覽在藝術史書寫的位置(三)

講座由駐香港策展人馬容元及楊陽主講。

展覽是向大眾展示藝術作品的平台。亞洲向來缺乏有系統的藝術公共收藏和具規模的藝術史課程,因此區內歷年來的展覽,不單是陳列作品和與作品互動的場合。展覽背後的策展理念、籌辦機構的方針以及與展覽相關的書寫及文獻,統統成為建構地區當代藝術史的第一現場。 

為配合新一期《搜記》—主題為「公共、歷史、價值:展覽在藝術史書寫的位置」,文獻庫將舉辦一系列公開講座,由海外及本地策展人、教育工作者及藝術家回應及豐富此電子期刊的內容。

 第三個及最後一個講座由駐香港策展人馬容元及楊陽主講。二人以流動影像、聲音及數碼媒體為媒介所策劃的項目,不約而同地詰問行之已久的展示模式和實踐,亦就藝術家與公眾互動的場域提出新想像和可能性。

馬容元為香港 M+ 助理策展人,曾策劃李傑的個人展覽《你(你)。》(2013),並為白雙全於 2009 年的威尼斯雙年展《製造(完美的)世界:海洋、香港、異邦的城市和夢》擔任助理策展人和項目經理。馬氏曾於香港 Para/Site 藝術空間任職助理策展人,並一直積極參與藝術刊物和展覽圖錄的編撰工作。他於英國雷丁大學藝術及日語系取得文學士學位,及後為倫敦皇家藝術學院文學碩士,主修當代藝術策展。

楊陽為獨立策展人、文字及教育工作者。她撰寫以藝術為題的文章,同時籌劃展覽和相關項目,現任職香港中文大學大學通識教育部導師。楊陽於 2008 年創辦聲音掏腰包,推動與聲音、藝術和文化相關的跨界別研究、策展實踐及公眾教育。她於耶魯大學人類學取得文學碩士,及後獲香港中文大學跨文化研究頒授哲學博士 。

《搜記》第四期以「公共、歷史、價值:展覽在藝術史書寫的位置」為主題,以 2013 年舉行的研討會「建構場域:展覽與亞洲當代藝術史編寫」為起點,將研究延伸至更大範疇,包括地理、模式和理念,強調以另類方式審視和處理展覽相關議題,以及展覽對書寫多重當代藝術史的貢獻。

相關內容

Special177
Francesca Dal Lago Archive 茀蘭檔案
館藏

Francesca Dal Lago Archive 茀蘭檔案

FN4
公共、歷史、價值:展覽在藝術史書寫的位置
藝文 | 文章

公共、歷史、價值:展覽在藝術史書寫的位置

編者的話

sitesofConstruction_list
建構場域 : 展覽與亞洲當代藝術史編寫
活動

建構場域 : 展覽與亞洲當代藝術史編寫

2013年8月至10月