Organised as part of AAA’s twentieth anniversary, Life Lessons is a new series that enquires into models for education led by artists. We ask: What was the most influential lesson they learned in school? And how have they, in turn, passed on what they learned about forms of knowledge and care to their students or communities of learners?

Scheduled for spring 2020 to spring 2021, Life Lessons presents online and offline conversations and workshops with artists and art collectives who teach at universities, build educational programmes at arts organisations, and run their own schools. Each session addresses their unique teaching methods.

The fifth session invites Evelyna Liang and Anurupa Roy, two artists who have dedicated themselves to community art and education. Over the decades, they have worked with people in conflict zones and natural disasters, migrants and sex workers, as well as children and youth. In this session, Liang and Roy will discuss how they see art as a medium of expression that can transcend social norms, class, and gender to build connectivity and solidarity. They will also talk about the power of art to bring hope, empathy, and possibilities to transform people’s lives.

Evelyna Liang studied fine art at the University of British Columbia in the early 1970s and since then, she has spearheaded several community projects in Hong Kong and beyond. In the late 1980s, she initiated the Art in the Camp project, where she developed art activities with her students in Vietnamese detention camps in Hong Kong. In the early 1990s, she founded Art in Hospital to organise therapeutic arts projects for health workers, patients, and artists. In the early 2000s, she created Art for All, an organisation that uses art to empower communities, including ethnic minorities and migrant workers. She also trains social and community workers to employ art as part of community development.

Anurupa Roy received training in the art of puppetry from Dramatiska Institutet at the University of Stockholm, and in the Guaratelle tradition of glove puppetry from the Scuola Della Guarattelle in Naples. In 1998, she established Katkatha, a travelling puppet theatre company that performs at international and Indian puppet, performing arts, and theatre festivals. A major aspect of her work is using puppets for psycho-social interventions in conflict sites ranging from Kashmir, Sri Lanka, and Manipur, to juvenile remand homes. She has worked with youth and women across India, using puppets to create discussions around reproductive health and sexuality, the stigma around HIV/AIDS, gender discrimination, and violence.

This series is part of AAA’s ongoing research about the role of academic and alternative pedagogy in the development of modern and contemporary art in Asia and beyond.

Evelyna Liang is an artist, art educator, and community art facilitator based in Hong Kong. She is the founder of Art in the Camp, Art in Hospital, and Art for All—organisations that focus on art therapy and community building. Liang's works have been exhibited around Hong Kong and Asia, including Bandages for You: An Art Project at the Gwangju Biennial and Hong Kong Arts Centre in 2002, and To copy or to steal, or is it merely artwork? at the Hong Kong Contemporary Art Biennial Awards in 2009. She received her BA in fine art at the University of British Columbia, as well as MFA and DFA from the Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology University.

Anurupa Roy is a puppeteer, puppet designer, and puppet theatre director based in New Delhi. She has directed numerous shows for children and adults, from the Ramayana and Mahabharata to Shakespearean comedy and the Humayun-Nama. With her theatre company Katkatha, she participated in numerous festivals across Europe, East Asia, and South Asia. She was a recipient of the Ustad Bismillah Khan Yuva Puraskar in Puppetry in 2006. She was previously a visiting faculty at the University of California Los Angeles and an artist-in-residence at Pro Helvetia Swiss Arts Council.

This event is part of the AAA Learning and Participation Programme, supported by the S. H. Ho Foundation Limited and C. K. and Kay Ho Foundation.

Relevant content

Bandages for You: An Art Project by Evelyna Liang Kan
Bandages for You: An Art Project by Evelyna Liang Kan
Artist Monograph

Bandages for You: An Art Project by Evelyna Liang Kan

2006

Community Art: The Politics of Trespassing
Community Art: The Politics of Trespassing
Reference

Community Art: The Politics of Trespassing

2011

Art as Social Action
Art as Social Action
Reference

Art as Social Action

Chloë BASS, Gregory SHOLETTE

Conversation Pieces: Community and Communication in Modern Art
Conversation Pieces: Community and Communication in Modern Art
Reference

Conversation Pieces: Community and Communication in Modern Art

Grant H. KESTER
2004

Social Works: Performing Art, Supporting Publics
Social Works: Performing Art, Supporting Publics
Reference

Social Works: Performing Art, Supporting Publics

Shannon JACKSON
2011

Innocent HART for Hospital Heroes: A Children's Picture Book Project
Innocent HART for Hospital Heroes: A Children's Picture Book Project
Artist Monograph

Innocent HART for Hospital Heroes: A Children's Picture Book Project

純真童心

藝術人生課#5:梁以瑚與Anurupa Roy | 連繫社群

「藝術人生課」是亞洲藝術文獻庫二十週年誌慶推出的全新系列,探索由藝術家主導的各種教育模式,同時詰問:藝術家們在課堂中所學的,什麼對他們影響至深?他們如何將所學的知識和關懷傳承到學生以至學習社群身上?

「藝術人生課」於2020年春季至2021年春季舉行,邀請藝術家和藝術團體進行線上及線下的對談和工作坊,講者包涵在大學任教、為藝術機構籌辦教育活動,和自行辦學的創意工作者。他們會在不同環節中談及各自獨特的教學法。

第五課邀請梁以瑚及Anurupa Roy主講,兩位藝術家均從事社群藝術和教育工作,過去數十年,二人皆致力服務難民、災民、新移民、性工作者以至兒童及青少年。兩位講者將於這一節藝術人生課中各抒己見,討論藝術作為表達工具,其超越社會規範和階級壁壘,達致溝通和團結的作用。二人亦會論及藝術在啟發希望、同理心及發掘改善生活的契機方面的力量。

梁以瑚在1970年代初於英屬哥倫比亞大學修讀藝術,自此一直致力在香港和海外籌劃社群項目。1980年代末,她發起「越營藝穗」計劃,帶領學生於香港越南難民營舉辦藝術活動。至1990年代初,她成立了「藝術在醫院」,為醫護人員、病人和藝術家舉辦具治療性質的藝術項目。2000年代初,她創辦「全人藝動」,利用藝術為不同的社群充權,包括小數族裔和新移民勞工階層。她亦培訓社工和社區工作者,讓他們活用藝術推動社群發展。

Anurupa Roy曾於斯德哥爾摩大學戲劇學院修讀木偶藝術,並於那不勒斯布袋戲學院(Scuola Della Guarattelle) 學習傳統布袋戲。她於1998年創立「Katkatha」巡迴木偶劇團,在國際及印度木偶節、表演藝術節和戲劇節中演出。Roy活躍於衝突地區,包括喀什米爾、斯里蘭卡、曼尼普爾邦 ,以至青少年羈押所,利用木偶作為社會心理介入的工具。她亦透過木偶與印度全國的年輕人和婦女展開對話,探討生育保健、性向、愛滋病患者或HIV病毒帶原者的污名化、性別歧視及性暴力議題。

文獻庫著力探討藝術學院及學院以外的教學法,在現、當代亞洲藝術及之外所扮演的角色。「藝術人生課」系列為研究之一部分。

梁以瑚是駐香港的藝術家、藝術教育工作者及社群藝術籌劃者,她創辦了「越營藝穗」、「藝術在醫院」及「全人藝動」,旨在推動藝術治療和連繫社群。梁氏的作品曾於香港及亞洲多個展覽中展出,包括2002年在光州雙年展和香港藝術中心展出的《給您一少片紗布》,以及2009年香港當代藝術雙年獎參展作品《臨摹、偷取或只是藝術工?》。梁以瑚於英屬哥倫比亞大學取得藝術學士學位,並取得墨爾本皇家理工大學藝術碩士及博士學位。

Anurupa Roy是駐印度新德里的木偶師、木偶設計師和木偶劇導演,她曾執導多齣成人及兒童木偶劇,包括《羅摩衍那》、《摩訶婆羅多》,以至莎士比亞喜劇和《胡馬雍本紀》。她與名下劇團「Katkatha」曾參與歐洲、東亞及南亞多個藝術節。Roy於2006年獲頒Ustad Bismillah Khan Yuva Puraskar木偶類別獎項。她曾為加州大學洛杉磯分校的訪問學人,及瑞士藝術委員會Pro Helvetia 基金會駐場藝術家。

是次活動為文獻庫「教學與參與活動」之一部分,由何善衡慈善基金會有限公司及C. K. and Kay Ho Foundation慷慨贊助。

相關內容

Bandages for You: An Art Project by Evelyna Liang Kan
Bandages for You: An Art Project by Evelyna Liang Kan
藝術家專集

Bandages for You: An Art Project by Evelyna Liang Kan

2006

Community Art: The Politics of Trespassing
Community Art: The Politics of Trespassing
參考書

Community Art: The Politics of Trespassing

2011

Art as Social Action
Art as Social Action
參考書

Art as Social Action

Chloë BASS, Gregory SHOLETTE

Conversation Pieces: Community and Communication in Modern Art
Conversation Pieces: Community and Communication in Modern Art
參考書

Conversation Pieces: Community and Communication in Modern Art

Grant H. KESTER
2004

Social Works: Performing Art, Supporting Publics
Social Works: Performing Art, Supporting Publics
參考書

Social Works: Performing Art, Supporting Publics

Shannon JACKSON
2011

Innocent HART for Hospital Heroes: A Children's Picture Book Project
Innocent HART for Hospital Heroes: A Children's Picture Book Project
藝術家專集

Innocent HART for Hospital Heroes: A Children's Picture Book Project

純真童心

因應新冠病毒疫情現況,文獻庫圖書館將繼續暫時關閉至2月5日。