Life Lessons #10: Simon Leung and Valérie Portefaix | Post-Studio

Organised as part of AAA’s twentieth anniversary, Life Lessons is a series that enquires into models for education led by artists. We ask: What was the most influential lesson they learned in school? And how have they, in turn, passed on what they learned about forms of knowledge and care to their students or communities of learners?

Launched in spring 2020, Life Lessons presents online and offline conversations and workshops with artists and art collectives who teach at universities, build educational programmes at arts organisations, and run their own schools. Each session addresses their unique teaching methods. 

This session of Life Lessons features Simon Leung and Valérie Portefaix. The conversation will begin with some reflections on the two artists’ practices, based outside the traditional artist’s studio, and their longstanding careers as teachers within institutions of higher education. The conversation will also touch on how the place of Hong Kong relates to aspects of their artistic practices and thinking more broadly.

This series is part of AAA’s ongoing research about the role of academic and alternative pedagogy in the development of modern and contemporary art in Asia and beyond.

Simon Leung is an artist who lives in Brooklyn and Los Angeles. His projects include The Side of the Mountain, an on-going opera set in Los Angeles; a decades-long collaboration with the late Warren Niesłuchowski; art-workers’ theatre (ACTIONS!, at the Kitchen, 2013, and ACTIONS!/ADJUNCTS! at the Hammer Museum, 2016); and extended enactments of and meditations on the squatting body, often in relation to Hong Kong, his birthplace. He is Professor, New Genres Area Head, and co-Chair of the MFA programme at the University of California, Irvine Department of Studio Art. With Zoya Kocur, he is editor of Theory in Contemporary Art since 1985 (2nd edition, 2012).

Valérie Portefaix is, with Laurent Gutierrez, the co-founder of MAP Office, a multi-disciplinary platform established in Hong Kong in 1996. Portefaix received a BA in Fine Art, and a Master of Architecture and doctorate in Urbanism, and currently teaches in the Faculty of Architecture at the University of Hong Kong. MAP Office was founded and has been based in Hong Kong, and uses multiple methods, including drawings, photographs, videos, writings, and performances, as part of their practice. Among their many exhibitions, they represented Hong Kong at the 2007 Venice Biennale and also won the Sovereign Art Prize in 2013. Their publications include MAP Office: Where the Map is the Territory (2011), The Parrot’s Tale: Gutierrez + Portefaix (2007), and Mapping Hong Kong (2001). In 2021, MAP Office transformed into MAP Ocean, and is in the process of relocating to Ishigaki, Japan.   

Moderator: John Tain, Head of Research, Asia Art Archive

This event is part of the AAA Learning and Participation Programme, supported by the S. H. Ho Foundation Limited and C. K. and Kay Ho Foundation.

Relevant content

home
Part-time Pedagogies: Introducing Three Places for Emancipatory Learning
Ideas Journal | Notes

Part-time Pedagogies: Introducing Three Places for Emancipatory Learning

Through annotated illustrations, Michael Leung reflects on the potential for emancipatory learning in Hong Kong

mapoffice
Atlas of Asia Art Archive
Ideas Journal | Essays

Atlas of Asia Art Archive

Map Office explores how Asia is a point of arrival and departure

homelist
Art Schools of Asia
Programmes

Art Schools of Asia

October 2021–June 2022

Performance1983Homelist
Pedagogy as Practice
Programmes

Pedagogy as Practice

3 December 2019–4 July 2020

Map Office: The Chinese Box
Map Office: The Chinese Box
Artist Monograph

Map Office: The Chinese Box

2010

Three boys pose for a camera none of them are looking into
Three Boys Pose for a Camera None of Them are Looking Into
Artist Monograph

Three Boys Pose for a Camera None of Them are Looking Into

Simon LEUNG
2007

Theory in Contemporary Art since 1985
Theory in Contemporary Art since 1985
Reference

Theory in Contemporary Art since 1985

2005

Simon Leung: Proposal for <i>The Side of the Mountain</i>, An Opera by Michael Webster and Simon Leu
Simon Leung: Proposal for The Side of the Mountain, An Opera by Michael Webster and Simon Leung
Artist Monograph

Simon Leung: Proposal for The Side of the Mountain, An Opera by Michael Webster and Simon Leung

2002

AAA Library is currently closed for renovation. Please stay tuned on our social media for the opening date. We look forward to welcoming you back.

藝術人生課#10:梁碩恩與林海華 | 後工作坊

「藝術人生課」是亞洲藝術文獻庫二十週年誌慶推出的全新系列,探索由藝術家主導的各種教育模式,同時詰問:藝術家們在課堂中所學的,什麼對他們影響至深?他們如何將所學的知識和關懷傳承到學生以至學習社群身上? 

「藝術人生課」於2020年春季展開,邀請藝術家和藝術團體進行線上及線下的對談和工作坊,講者包涵在大學任教、為藝術機構籌辦教育活動,和自行辦學的創意工作者。他們會在不同環節中談及各自獨特的教學法。 

第十課由梁碩恩與林海華(Valérie Portefaix)主持。兩位藝術家將分反思自身於傳統工作室以外的環境進行創作的經驗,以及二人長期在高等教育機構任教的生涯。對話亦將觸及香港與其藝術實踐的各個層面產生連繫,並從更寬廣的角度進行思考。

文獻庫著力探討藝術學院及學院以外的教學法,對現代及當代藝術於亞洲及其他地區的發展有何影響。「藝術人生課」系列為研究之一部分。


梁碩恩是現居於布魯克林及洛杉磯的藝術家,其作品包括持續於洛杉磯進行的歌劇項目《The Side of the Mountain》、與已故的Warren Niesłuchowski長達數十年的合作、藝術工作者劇場( 2013年於Kitchen舉行的《ACTIONS!》和2016年於漢默博物館舉行的《ACTIONS!/ADJUNCTS!》),以及反覆以蹲坐的身體為題進行的創作和沉思,常與梁氏的出生地香港有關。梁現為加州大學爾灣分校工作室藝術系教授、新類型藝術教學主管及藝術碩士課程聯合主席。他與Zoya Kocur同為《Theory in Contemporary Art since 1985》(第二版,2012年)一書的編輯。 

林海華(Valérie Portefaix於1996年與古儒郎(Laurent Gutierrez)在香港創辦跨學科平台MAP Office。林海華修畢藝術文學士課程,並獲建築碩士及都市研究博士學位,現於香港大學建築系任教。MAP Office於香港成立,一直長駐香港,將繪圖、攝影、錄像、文字及表演等元素融入藝術實踐中。其作品曾於多個展覽中展出,包括2007年代表香港參與威尼斯雙年展,並於2013年贏得「Sovereign Art Prize」。二人的著作包括《MAP Office: Where the Map is the Territory》(2011年)、《The Parrot’s Tale: Gutierrez + Portefaix》(2007年)及《Mapping Hong Kong》(2001年)。MAP Office於2021年蛻變成MAP Ocean,並正逐步遷移到日本石垣島。

主持: 譚鴻鈞,亞洲藝術文獻庫研究總監

是次活動為文獻庫「教學與參與活動」之一部分,由何善衡慈善基金會有限公司及C. K. and Kay Ho Foundation慷慨贊助。

相關內容

home
業餘教育學︰為解放教育而設的三個場所
藝文 | 札記

業餘教育學︰為解放教育而設的三個場所

香港的解放教育有何潛力?以下為梁志剛透過圖文為你解答。

mapoffice
亞洲藝術文獻庫地圖集
藝文 | 文章

亞洲藝術文獻庫地圖集

MAP Office

homelist
亞洲藝術學院
活動

亞洲藝術學院

2021年10月 至 2022年6月

Performance1983Homelist
教育學作為實踐
活動

教育學作為實踐

2019年12月3日至2020年7月4日

Map Office: The Chinese Box
Map Office: The Chinese Box
藝術家專集

Map Office: The Chinese Box

2010

Three boys pose for a camera none of them are looking into
Three Boys Pose for a Camera None of Them are Looking Into
藝術家專集

Three Boys Pose for a Camera None of Them are Looking Into

Simon LEUNG
2007

Theory in Contemporary Art since 1985
Theory in Contemporary Art since 1985
參考書

Theory in Contemporary Art since 1985

2005

Simon Leung: Proposal for <i>The Side of the Mountain</i>, An Opera by Michael Webster and Simon Leu
Simon Leung: Proposal for The Side of the Mountain, An Opera by Michael Webster and Simon Leung
藝術家專集

Simon Leung: Proposal for The Side of the Mountain, An Opera by Michael Webster and Simon Leung

2002

文獻庫圖書館現正進行裝修工程,暫停開放。我們將會在社交媒體公布再度開放日期,請密切留意。我們期待以新面貌與閣下見面。