Asia Art Archive welcomes Beirut-based researcher and writer Kristine Khouri to our Residency Programme.

Khouri’s main research interests include institutional networks, and the history of arts circulation and infrastructure in the Arab world. Her practice deals with various forms of dissemination of archives, publishing and mapping available resources and collections for research in the region. During her residency, Khouri will research digital platforms and alternative forms of knowledge dissemination in East Asia. 

Khouri is co-founder (with Rasha Salti) of the History of Arab Modernities in the Visual Arts Study Group, a research platform focused on the social history of art in the Arab world. Its main project over the last decade is “Past Disquiet,” which looks at the history of museums in exile in the 1970s and 1980s, and transnational networks of solidarity in the arts. The project began with the catalogue for the International Art Exhibition for Palestine (1978) in Beirut, and has since taken the form of presentations, a touring archival and documentary exhibition, and an edited volume published by the Museum of Modern Art in Warsaw in 2018.

Image: Slides of artworks exhibited at the exhibition <i>Chili, lorsque l'espoir s'exprime</i>, Centre Pompidou, Paris, 1983. Photograph taken at the Kandinsky Library, Centre Pompidou. Courtesy of Kristine Khouri.
Image: Slides of artworks exhibited at the exhibition Chili, lorsque l'espoir s'exprime, Centre Pompidou, Paris, 1983. Photograph taken at the Kandinsky Library, Centre Pompidou. Courtesy of Kristine Khouri.

Kristine Khouri is an independent researcher and writer based in Beirut. Together with Rasha Salti, she initiated “Past Disquiet,” a long term-research project which they transformed into an exhibition hosted by Museu d’Art Contemporani de Barcelona (2015), the Haus der Kulturen der Welt, Berlin (2016), the Museo de la Solidaridad Salvador Allende, Santiago (2018), and the Sursock Museum, Beirut (2018). Khouri also curated The Founding Years (1969–1973): A Selection of Works from the Sultan Gallery Archives at the Sultan Gallery, Kuwait (2012), and co-led a Digitising Archives Workshop with AAA Researcher Sabih Ahmed in Kuwait as part of Art Dubai’s Global Art Forum (2015). She is a member of the Arab Image Foundation, Beirut.

Khouri’s residency is a programme under The Ha Bik Chuen Archive Project (2016–19), generously supported by the Hong Kong Jockey Club Charities Trust.

亞洲藝術文獻庫歡迎駐貝魯特的研究員和作家Kristine Khouri參與我們的駐場計劃。

Khouri的主要研究範疇包括機構網絡以及藝術流通和阿拉伯世界基礎建設的歷史。其實踐涉及多種形式的檔案傳播、出版和繪製地區內可用資源和研究館藏的地圖。在駐場計劃期間,Khouri將研究東亞的電子平台和另類的知識傳播方式。

Khouri與Rasha Salti共同創立了阿拉伯現代歷史視覺藝術研究小組(History of Arab Modernities in the Visual Arts Study Group),主力研究阿拉伯藝術的社會歷史。「過去的焦慮」(Past Disquiet)為過去十年的主要項目,內容圍繞1970和1980年代的流亡博物館,以及以團結為目標的跨國藝術網絡。該項目始於巴勒斯坦國際藝術展(1978年)的展覽目錄,自此一直以匯報、巡迴展覽檔案、紀錄片,以及華沙現代藝術博物館於2018年出版的書籍等形式呈現。

圖片:《Chili,lorsque l'espoir s'exprime》,龐畢度藝術中心,巴黎,1983年,幻燈片藝術品。攝於龐畢度藝術中心康定斯基圖書館。 由Kristine Khouri提供。
圖片:《Chili,lorsque l'espoir s'exprime》,龐畢度藝術中心,巴黎,1983年,幻燈片藝術品。攝於龐畢度藝術中心康定斯基圖書館。 由Kristine Khouri提供。

Kristine Khouri是駐貝魯特的獨立研究員和作家。Khouri與Rasha Salti合辦了「過去的焦慮」這個長期研究項目,後來演變成展覽,曾展於巴塞羅那當代藝術博物館(2015年)、Haus der Kulturen der Welt(柏林,2016年)、Museo de la Solidaridad Salvador Allende(聖地亞哥,2018年)和Sursock博物館(貝魯特,2018年)。Khouri還策展了於科威特蘇丹畫廊舉行的《The Founding Years(1969-1973)︰蘇丹畫廊檔案館的作品選集》(2012年),並曾與亞洲藝術文獻庫研究員Sabih Ahmed共同帶領檔案電子化工作坊,作為Art Dubai’s 全球藝術論壇(2015)的活動之一。Khouri亦是是貝魯特阿拉伯圖像基金會的成員。

Khouri的駐場計劃為夏碧泉檔案研究項目(2016–19)的一部分,該項目獲香港賽馬會慈善信託基金慷慨贊助。

 

 

相關內容

FIELDNOTES04_JackPersekian_01
十七檔失落的展覽
藝文 | 文章

十七檔失落的展覽

Jack PERSEKIAN

habikchuen_today_1
夏碧泉文獻庫項目
活動

夏碧泉文獻庫項目

夏碧泉文獻庫項目由亞洲藝術文獻庫於2016年開展,為期三年。

PastDisquiet_talk_list
過去的焦慮:從文獻至(臆測的)展覽史 | Kristine Khouri及Rasha Salti
活動

過去的焦慮:從文獻至(臆測的)展覽史 | Kristine Khouri及Rasha Salti

2016年10月17日 (星期一)
下午7時至8時

rashasalti-homelist2.jpg
Rasha Salti | 策展人作為鴨嘴獸:自我批判筆記
活動

Rasha Salti | 策展人作為鴨嘴獸:自我批判筆記

2019年6月3日 (星期一)
下午7時至8時30分

Sites of Construction: Exhibitions and the Making of Recent Art History in Asia
Sites of Construction: Exhibitions and the Making of Recent Art History in Asia
參考書

Sites of Construction: Exhibitions and the Making of Recent Art History in Asia

建構場域
2013