Asia Art Archive (AAA) presents a public talk and two educator workshops responding to the growing discussion on the integration of technology in education and the need for educators to adapt to a rapidly changing media landscape. The talk will discuss the development of art in Hong Kong in the context of media development, while two workshops designed for educators will explore debates on using new media in art practice and education. These events are part of the 2024 Teaching Labs series, AAA’s teacher professional development programme focusing on art and evolving technology.

Talk | Retracing the Futures of Technology through Media Art Practice
Sat, 9 Mar 2024, 10:30am–12:30pm HKT

How has media development affected artistic creation in Hong Kong? This conversation brings together artist Ellen Pau and researcher Phoebe Wong to discuss the impact of technology on the development of media art in Hong Kong as it has evolved since the 1980s. Pau shares her perspective as a pioneer of video art in Hong Kong, outlining technological developments in media from the past few decades, while Wong will situate an overview of the evolution of media art in Hong Kong within this historical context. Together, anchored by the Ellen Pau Archive, they will then explore Pau’s use of media in her artistic practice, examining the contextual and technological influences on her work, and shedding light on the interconnected relationship between media, art, and technology. 

The talk is open to the public with registration. 

SPEAKERS
Ellen Pau, Artist
Phoebe Wong, Head of Research, Videotage 

LANGUAGE
Cantonese

Image: <i>The Spectre of the Will</i> i (detail) by Ellen Pau, Metal, paraffin wax, heater, thermal imaging camera, projection, dimension variable, edition of 3 + 1 AP, 2019. Courtesy of the artist and Edouard Malingue Gallery.
Image: The Spectre of the Will i (detail) by Ellen Pau, Metal, paraffin wax, heater, thermal imaging camera, projection, dimension variable, edition of 3 + 1 AP, 2019. Courtesy of the artist and Edouard Malingue Gallery.

Educators Workshop #1 | Ellen Pau: Critical Thinking on Artistic Concepts and Mediums
Sat, 9 Mar 2024, 2–4pm HKT

What motivates an artist to select a particular medium as a means of self-expression? How can we help our students think about the connection between artistic concepts and the mediums they employ?

In this workshop, artist Ellen Pau facilitates teachers to apply insights shared during the talk “Retracing the Futures of Technology through Media Art Practice.” Through a series of hands-on exercises, participants will delve into the elements of video as a medium and consider the relationship between artistic ideas and the selection of a medium. By exploring differences between moving and still images, and analogue and digital film, participants will gain a deeper understanding of the intricacies involved in constructing an artistic practice centred on its medium. Throughout the workshop, teachers will be enabled with frameworks to approach new media confidently in the classroom—a valuable tool for navigating the rapid development of technology.

The workshop, offered exclusively to teachers, is a continuation of the talk. Attending the talk is compulsory for teachers who wish to participate in the workshop

FACILITATOR
Ellen Pau, Artist 

LANGUAGE
Cantonese 

QUOTA
25

Images: Ellen Pau's portrait (left) and <i>Drained II</i> (Video Still) by Ellen Pau(right). Ellen Pau Archive, Asia Art Archive Collections.
Images: Ellen Pau's portrait (left) and Drained II (Video Still) by Ellen Pau(right). Ellen Pau Archive, Asia Art Archive Collections.

Educators Workshop #2 | Wang Peisheng: Unpacking Technology and Art in Class
Sat, 13 Apr 2024, 2–5pm HKT 

Artist-educator Wang Peisheng shares insights based on his own practice and teaching experience on how the development of contemporary digital art and AI has brought new changes and challenges to education.

Sharing anecdotes from his teaching experience in Guangzhou, Shenzhen and Macau, Wang facilitates teachers to explore how art can be used to bridge between other disciplines, and how project-based learning can build interdisciplinary knowledge. In this workshop, teachers complete mini exercises to unpack ways of integrating technological skills with arts and humanities knowledge. Teachers will learn to use various digital resources and applications to encourage students to think about a technologically oriented future, and ultimately to engage in study and creation through digital art.

The workshop is offered exclusively to teachers.  

FACILITATOR
Wang Peisheng, Artist-Educator 

LANGUAGE
Mandarin 

QUOTA
25

Image: <i>Data Silos</i> by Wang Peisheng. Mixed Media, 2020. Courtesy of the artist.
Image: Data Silos by Wang Peisheng. Mixed Media, 2020. Courtesy of the artist.

REGISTRATION DEADLINE 
Educators Workshop #1: Thu, 7 Mar 2024 
Educators Workshop #2: Thu, 11 Apr 2024

Both workshops are free with registration. If you would like to join, please register here.

School teachers and pre-service teachers from all disciplines are welcome. The Teachers’ Learning Community seeks teachers who are passionate about arts and culture, and are interested in taking part in discussions. A certificate will be given to participants upon request as proof of Continuing Professional Development of Teachers (CPD).

 

Ellen Pau is a self-taught video/media artist and curator. She co-founded Videotage in 1986 and Microwave International New Media Arts Festival in 1996. In 2001, she represented Hong Kong at the 49th Venice Biennale. Pau has collaborated on film productions with directors Evans Chan, Ann Hui, and Barbara Wong. She recently held a solo exhibition, What About Home Affairs?, curated by Freya Chou at Para Site (2019), and was commissioned for the video work The Shape of Light for M+ and Art Basel Hong Kong (2022). She is collected by various public institutions and private collectors worldwide. Pau studied radiography at Hong Kong Polytechnic and holds an MA in Visual Culture.

With a background in design and anthropology, Phoebe Wong is a researcher and critic with a particular interest in contemporary art, design, and visual media. Before going freelance in 2012, she was Head Researcher at Asia Art Archive. Her practice spans writing, archiving, and research. She is currently working on a wide range of topics, including postcolonial discourse, memory and alternate history, museonomics, archiving, data mapping, essay film, and art and technology. She currently works part-time as Head of Research at Videotage, overseeing the depository archive of their media collection.

Wang Peisheng is an emerging artist and Digital Art educator based in Shenzhen and Guangzhou. He was a guest lecturer at the 2021 Bo’ao Children’s Arts & Science Education Forum. Wang joined the Contemporary Art and Science (CAS) Lab in 2017, focusing primarily on the intersection of education through art and technology. Currently, he is researching the theme of the “future,” exploring concepts of reality and virtuality within individual and collective experiences in everyday spaces. His work encompasses various media, including mechanical interactive installation, public installation, and augmented reality (AR). Wang received a master’s degree from the Department of Experimental Art Department of the School of Intermedia Arts at Guangzhou Academy of Fine Arts.

The public talk and Educators Workshop #1 are part of the project Recalling Disappearance: Hong Kong Contemporary Art, financially supported by the Arts Capacity Development Funding Scheme of the Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region. The content of this programme does not reflect the views of the Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region.

AAA’s Learning and Participation Programme is supported by the S. H. Ho Foundation Limited.

 

Relevant content

ellen-pau-archive-cover
Ellen Pau Archive 鮑藹倫檔案
Collections

Ellen Pau Archive 鮑藹倫檔案

亞洲藝術文獻庫將舉辦一場公開講座以及兩場教師工作坊,回應有關教學和科技的結合,並探討教育工作者如何應對瞬息萬變的媒體生態。公開講座將以媒體發展作橫切面,梳理香港藝術發展脈絡,而教師工作坊則集中探討在藝術創作和教學中使用新媒體的挑戰和可能性。是次活動為2024年教學專業發展系列「教學實驗室」項目之一,本年度主題為藝術與科技發展。

講座 | 從回溯媒體藝術想像科技未來
202439日(星期六)
香港時間上午 1030分至中午 1230

藝術家鮑藹倫和研究員黃小燕將回溯科技與媒體的演變,分析兩者為本地藝術發展所帶來的影響。作爲香港錄像藝術先驅,鮑藹倫將分享她自1980 年代以來對不同媒體的研究和觀察;黃小燕則從歷史角度出發,概述香港媒體藝術的蛻變。二人將以文獻庫館藏中的鮑藹倫檔案爲切入點,共同探討鮑氏如何運用媒體進行創作,以之審視影響其作品的歷史背景和科技發展,揭示科技、媒體與藝術環環相扣的共生關係。

歡迎公眾參與,如欲參與,請按此登記。 

講者
鮑藹倫(藝術家)
黃小燕(錄映太奇研究主管)

語言
廣東話

圖片:鮑藹倫作品《現實的幽靈》,金屬、石蠟、加熱器、熱成像相機、投影、尺寸可變,3 + 1 AP版,2019年。由藝術家和Edouard Malingue畫廊提供。
圖片:鮑藹倫作品《現實的幽靈》,金屬、石蠟、加熱器、熱成像相機、投影、尺寸可變,3 + 1 AP版,2019年。由藝術家和Edouard Malingue畫廊提供。


工作坊 (一) | 鮑藹倫:藝術概念與媒介的慎思明辨
202439日(星期六)
香港時間下午 2時至4 

藝術家如何決定採用特定媒介來表達自我?我們又怎樣引導學生思考藝術概念與所用媒介之間的關係?

藝術家鮑藹倫將以講座内容為基礎,透過一系列親身練習,與參加者一同深入研究錄像媒介的特色,並思考藝術意念與媒介選取的關係。參加者藉探索流動影像、攝影、菲林和數碼電影之間的不同,將深入了解到以媒介為中心的藝術創作所涉及的複雜考量。工作坊將提供寶貴的教學框架,讓教師能夠與時俱進,在課堂上遊刃有餘地應對新媒體。

是次工作坊專為教育工作者而設。參加者必須參與當日上午的講座。 

導師
鮑藹倫(藝術家)

語言
廣東話 

名額
25位

圖片:藝術家鮑藹倫及其作品《借頭借路 II》(錄像截圖),鮑藹倫檔案,文獻庫館藏。
圖片:藝術家鮑藹倫及其作品《借頭借路 II》(錄像截圖),鮑藹倫檔案,文獻庫館藏。

教師工作坊(二) | 王培生拆解課堂中的科技與藝術

2024413日(星期六)
香港時間下午 2時至5

藝術家兼教育工作者王培生將從自身創作及教學實踐出發,分享當下科技藝術與人工智能的發展為教學帶來的變化和挑戰。

王培生將根據他在廣州、深圳、澳門等多地所累積的教學經驗,和老師一同探討藝術教育如何成為不同學科與應用科技之間的橋梁,並通過項目式學習(project-based learning)來擷取跨學科知識。他將以小練習拆解如何將科技、人文知識融入課堂,讓教師嘗試利用不同的線上資源和程式,引導和激發學生思考未來,透過科技藝術進行學習及創作。

是次工作坊專為教育工作者而設。

導師
王培生(藝術家兼教育工作者)

語言
普通話

名額
25位 

圖片:王培生作品《數據孤島》,2020年。由藝術家提供。
圖片:王培生作品《數據孤島》,2020年。由藝術家提供。

報名截止日期:

教師工作坊 (一):2024 年3月7日 (星期四)
教學工作坊(二):2024 年4月11日(星期四)

活動一律費用全免。如欲參與,請按此登記。

兩場工作坊專為教育工作者而設。歡迎所有學科的在校老師及職前老師參與,尤其是對文化及藝術充滿熱誠和興趣、積極投入的老師。如有需要,我們可向參加者頒發證書,作為教師持續專業發展的證明。

鮑藹倫是一位自學錄像/媒體藝術家兼策展人。1986年,她與友人共同成立錄映太奇。1996年,她創立微波國際新媒體藝術節。2001年,她代表香港參展第49屆威尼斯雙年展。鮑藹倫曾與陳耀成、許鞍華和黃真真合作製作電影。近期個人展覽包括由周安曼策劃在Para Site舉行的《當家當當家》回顧展(2019年),並受M+博物館及香港巴塞爾藝術展其同委約,創作流動影像作品《光之凝》(2022年)。其作品被世界各地不同的公共機構和私人收藏家收藏。鮑氏獲香港理工大學放射診斷專業文憑及香港中文大學視覺文化系碩士學位。

黃小燕為研究員及評論家,擁有設計和人類學背景,專注當代藝術、設計和視覺媒體研究。她曾任亞洲藝術文獻庫研究總監,於2012年轉為自由工作者,其創作形式涵蓋寫作、存檔和研究。其研究主題廣泛,包括後殖民論述、記憶與架空歷史、「繆思經濟學」(museonomics)、檔案、數據整合、散文電影,以及藝術與科技。目前兼任錄映太奇研究主管,負責監督其媒體藝術收藏。

王培生為新進藝術家兼科技藝術教育工作者,現於廣州和深圳居住和工作。2021博鼇全球少兒美育論壇特邀講師。王氏於2017年加入CAS Lab當代藝術與科學實驗室,探討個人與集體在日常空間中的真實與虛擬。目前的創作多以「未來」為切入點,作品類型涵蓋機械互動裝置、公共裝置、擴增實境(AR)等。他於廣州美術學院跨媒體藝術學院實驗藝術系獲研究生學位。

公開講座及教師工作坊 (一)為《似曾消失:香港當代藝術》項目的活動,獲香港特別行政區政府「藝能發展資助計劃」的資助。活動內容並不反映香港特別行政區政府的意見。

文獻庫「學習及參與計劃」由何善衡慈善基金會有限公司慷慨贊助。

相關內容

ellen-pau-archive-cover
Ellen Pau Archive 鮑藹倫檔案
館藏

Ellen Pau Archive 鮑藹倫檔案