The 2019 Teaching Labs series, part of AAA’s teacher professional development programme, focuses on performance art.

What is performance art, and why is it important? Using the Lee Wen Archive as a point of departure, this Teaching Labs programme gives an introduction to the history of performance art in Singapore and South East Asia. The talk will also introduce Lee Wen’s works, and discuss how his training in drawing and painting laid the foundation for his development as a performance artist.

The talk will begin with an overview of some key moments in the history of performance art in Singapore. We will then focus on Lee’s practice as a case study, looking at his sketchbooks, notebooks, and performances to understand how he thought about drawing as a time-based medium and performance as image-making. A tour of the exhibition Form Colour Action: Sketchbooks and Notebooks of Lee Wen is also offered to participating teachers.

Lee Wen (1957–2019) was a multidisciplinary artist who defined and shaped performance art in Asia. He had solo exhibitions at Singapore Art Museum, The Substation, and elsewhere. Group exhibitions included SunShower (2017), Secret Archipelago (2015), Singapore Biennale (2013), Asiatopia (2008 and 1998), Third Asia Pacific Triennial (1999), Sexta Bienal de La Habana (1997), and Gwangju Biennale (1995). Alongside his artistic practice, Lee was active in artist-run initiatives—in particular, the collective Black Market International, and the festivals Future of Imagination and Rooted in the Ephemeral Speak (R.I.T.E.S.).

 

Talk | Sat, 11 May 2019, 11am–12:30pm

SPEAKER
Chương-Đài Võ, Asia Art Archive Researcher

LANGUAGE
English

TARGET
Teachers from all disciplines are welcome. The talk is also open to members of the public.

A tour of the exhibition Form Colour Action will be offered to teachers who sign up for the talk, from 12:30–1pm. 

 

Teachers’ Learning Community

In the Teachers’ Learning Community, participating teachers will brainstorm ideas on using contemporary art materials in the classroom, design teaching plans, and try out new ideas in their schools. These proposals will be shared in order to encourage a peer-support learning community.

Teachers who signed up for the Teachers’ Learning Community are required to attend both the workshop and sharing session.

Workshop | Sat, 11 May 2019, 2–5pm

The Hong Kong artist and art critic Anthony Leung Po Shan will help teachers consolidate what they learned from the talk. Under her guidance, teachers will set a theme for their teaching plans, observe and reflect upon the performative nature of the classroom setting, as well as take part in experimental performances. The goal of the workshop is to support teachers who wish to make use of the Lee Wen Archive and other resources at AAA, and introduce performance art to students.

Teachers’ Sharing | Sat, 8 Jun 2019, 10:30am–1:30pm

Teachers will share their teaching plans in small groups, and discuss the challenges they face when introducing performance art to their classes. Anthony Leung Po Shan will lead the discussion and provide feedback to teachers.

FACILITATOR & SPEAKER
Anthony Leung Po Shan, Artist & Art Critic

LANGUAGE
Cantonese

TARGET
Teachers from all disciplines are welcome (Liberal Studies and Visual Arts teachers, in particular). The Teachers’ Learning Community seeks teachers who are passionate about arts and culture, and interested in taking part in discussions.

QUOTA
30

About Anthony Leung Po Shan
Belonging to the last generation of university students under the colonial rule, Leung studied Fine Arts at the Chinese University of Hong Kong but witnessed the Handover as a reporter. Weaving through art and politics, she teaches, writes, researches, cooks, meditates and takes to the streets. She was a member of Para/Site Art Space, In-Media (Hong Kong) and Hong Kong Culture Monitor. Her research interests include, among others, art ecology, city space and cultural politics. Her essays and commentaries have been published in the Hong Kong Economic Journal, InMedia (Hong Kong), City Magazine and etc. She is also a regular contributor to various cross-border Chinese platforms, including Leap, Art Newspaper (Chinese edition), Artouch and initium media. Publications edited by her include Modern Art in a Colony: Narrated by Hon Chi-fan at the Millennium, Odd One In: Hong Kong Diary (by Pak Sheung-cheun), QK – Specimen Collection of Chan Yuk Keung, The Red Twenty-years of Ricky Yeung Sau-churk, etc. She has finished her doctoral thesis on art labour at the Chinese University of Hong Kong in 2017. Her latest title I Love Art Basel: On Art and Capital is well received in Hong Kong and Taiwan. She is now a member of the art critic collective, Art Appraisal Club.

The exhibition Form Colour Action, featuring sketchbooks and notebooks of Lee Wen, is on view at AAA Library from 13 March to 29 June 2019.

The AAA Learning and Participation Programme is supported by the S. H. Ho Foundation Limited, and the C. K. & Kay Ho Foundation.

 

 

Relevant content

Lee Wen Archive
Lee Wen Archive
Collection

Lee Wen Archive

leewenhome3
Line Form Colour Action
Ideas | Essays

Line Form Colour Action

Chuong-Dai Vo uses Lee Wen’s notebooks to explore his work as performance and process

「教學實驗室」是亞洲藝術文獻庫(文獻庫)的教師專業發展活動之一,今年以行爲藝術為題。

行為藝術是甚麼,又為何重要?是次「教學實驗室」講座以李文檔案作為出發點,簡介行為藝術在新加坡以及東南亞地區的歷史。講座亦會介紹李文的作品,並探討他所接受的繪畫訓練如何影響他在行為藝術上的發展。

講座將首先概述新加坡行為藝術史上的重大事件,後以李文的藝術實踐作案例,審視其速寫本、筆記本和行為藝術,從而了解他如何將繪畫視為以時間為基礎的媒介、將行為藝術視為圖像形塑。同日亦會舉行李文檔案展覽「形.色.動」的導賞。

李文(1957–2019)與同世代藝術家定義並形塑了亞洲行爲藝術,其作品意義重大,影響深遠。除了獨立的藝術工作,李亦一直活躍於新加坡藝術家村、幻想的未來(Future of Imagination (FOI))、Rooted In The Ephemeral Speak(R.I.T.E.S.)、黑市國際(Black Market International)等藝術家群體和藝術節。2003年,新加坡國家藝術理事會放寬了針對行為藝術的十年禁令,減低了為之提供資金的限制,促使李隨後於同年創辦FOI以測試放寬成效。

 

講座 | 2019511日(星期六)上午11時至下午12時30分

講者
武洪章臺(亞洲藝術文獻庫研究員)

語言
英文

對象
教授任何學科的老師。亦歡迎公眾參與。

同日下午12時30分到1時將舉行「形.色.動」展覽導賞供教師參加。

 

教師學習社群

教師可在此社群中集思廣益,討論如何在課堂中應用亞洲當代藝術素材、設計教案,以及在學校嘗試實行新構思。參與的老師將互相分享不同的想法,以建構互助的學習平台。

成功報名參加「教師學習社群」的老師必需出席第一節工作坊及第二節分享會。

教學實踐工作坊 | 2019511日(星期六)下午2時至5

香港藝術家兼藝評人梁寶山將以生動的方式協助教師鞏固講座知識,帶領參加者設定教學主題、觀察並反思課室設置的表演性,以及與參加者即場分組進行實驗性行為藝術表演,從而學習如何靈活運用李文及其他藝術文獻,向學生講解行為藝術。

教師分享會 | 201968日(星期六)上午1030分至下午130

參與者將以小組形式分享各自的教學實踐,探討在課堂上與學生介紹行為藝術的經驗和所面對的困難。梁寶山將主持討論並就分享給予意見。

主持及講者
梁寶山(藝術家兼藝評人)

語言
廣東話

對象
所有學科的老師(特別歡迎通識科及視覺藝術科老師)。亦歡迎對文化及藝術充滿熱誠和興趣、積極投入的老師。

名額
30人

梁寶山
殖民地最後一代大學生,以記者身份見證回歸;關注藝術生態、城市空間及文化政治等議題。曾為「Para / Site 藝術空間」、「獨立媒體(香港)」、「伙炭」及「文化監察」成員。文章散見於《信報》、《獨立媒體》及《號外》;亦曾為《藝術界》(Leap)、《藝術新聞(中文版)》、「典藏」《今藝術》及《端傳媒》等華文平台撰稿;編著有《殖民地的現代藝術─韓志勲千禧自述》、《七一孖你遊香港》(白雙全作品集)、《Q[蹺]K[蹊]─陳育強標本集成》及《楊秀卓紅色二十年》等。現為藝評組織Art Appraisal Club成員。近年梁氏致力研究藝術勞動,並於2017年獲香港中文大學博士學位。新著《我愛Art Basel──論盡藝術與資本》在港、台大獲好評。

展覽「形.色.動」由3月13日至6月29日於文獻庫圖書館進行,期間展出李文的畫作、筆記及演出紀錄。

亞洲藝術文獻庫「學習及參與計劃」由何善衡慈善基金會有限公司及 C.K. & Kay Ho Foundation 贊助。

 

 

相關內容

Lee Wen Archive
李文檔案
館藏

李文檔案